Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Frontpage news
Frontpage news Perhaps you have some news to report or want to check out the latest Guru3D headlines and comment ? Check it in here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
EK shows De-Lidded Ivy Bridge CPU Cooling Solution
Old
  (#1)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 4770K
Mainboard: Z77
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default EK shows De-Lidded Ivy Bridge CPU Cooling Solution - 03-29-2013, 07:08 | posts: 20,784 | Location: Guru3D testlab

EK Water Blocks introduces the Supremacy PreciseMount Add-on Naked Ivy. This product is world-first of it's kind - it is the mounting mechanism upgrade for existing cooling device, designed to suppor...

EK shows De-Lidded Ivy Bridge CPU Cooling Solution
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Chillin
Ancient Guru
 
Chillin's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 560 930/2300
Processor: i5-2500K@4.4GHz 1.2v H60
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Pro4
Memory: G.Skill 2X4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeGamer+Z506 5.1
PSU: Corsair TX 750w v2
Default 03-29-2013, 07:32 | posts: 6,446 | Location: Chilling

Is there even a market for such a product?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
SLI-756
Ancient Guru
 
SLI-756's Avatar
 
Videocard: 760 SLI ftw bios
Processor: Devil's Canyon i5 @4.9
Mainboard: gigabyte z97 G1 Sniper
Memory: 8gb dominator gt @2450
Soundcard: asus xonar dx
PSU: xfx 850
Default 03-29-2013, 07:34 | posts: 6,799 | Location: Sunny Scotland

This will fill the gap a removed IHS leaves, letting you sit the cooler on the cpu die, not bad but the tests are in already with direct die mounting and it's only 1 - 3C better than if you had left the IHS in place (after de-lidding ), especially if the IHS has been lapped.

Last edited by SLI-756; 03-29-2013 at 07:38.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
sverek
Maha Guru
 
sverek's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7850
Processor: i5 2500k
Mainboard: P8Z68-V
Memory: Corsair Ven. 8GB
Soundcard: Xonar DG
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 03-29-2013, 08:00 | posts: 1,428 | Location: Japan, Soka

Or just buy Sandy Bridge...
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
SLI-756
Ancient Guru
 
SLI-756's Avatar
 
Videocard: 760 SLI ftw bios
Processor: Devil's Canyon i5 @4.9
Mainboard: gigabyte z97 G1 Sniper
Memory: 8gb dominator gt @2450
Soundcard: asus xonar dx
PSU: xfx 850
Default 03-29-2013, 08:02 | posts: 6,799 | Location: Sunny Scotland

Quote:
Originally Posted by sverek View Post
Or just buy Sandy Bridge...
Meh, x8 x8 on a gen2 mobo is pants, <2133 ram is pants too.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
PhazeDelta1
Ancient Guru
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 780 Lightning SLI
Processor: Intel i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z87
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Creative SB Z
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 1300 G2
Default 03-29-2013, 13:39 | posts: 13,219 | Location: USA

Intel is dumb. Why not just solder the IHS on?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Denial
Ancient Guru
 
Denial's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 690
Processor: i7-3770K
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus 5 Formula
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR3 2133
Soundcard: ZxR & HD800 Lyr/PC350SE
PSU: Seasonic 1000w
Default 03-29-2013, 13:56 | posts: 6,964 | Location: Above Earth in a Big Rocket Ship

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhazeDelta1 View Post
Intel is dumb. Why not just solder the IHS on?
They obviously had a reason for doing it as they would have to retool to make it happen. Regardless the TIM isn't the problem, it's the gap. Haswell will probably not be soldered but they fixed the heat problems supposedly.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
vbetts
Don Vincenzo
 
vbetts's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon HD 7790
Processor: AMD 5800k
Mainboard: Biostar a85 hudson
Memory: 8gb ddr3 1600mhz
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: 550 watt psu
Default 03-29-2013, 15:29 | posts: 10,393 | Location: Toledo Ohio

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chillin View Post
Is there even a market for such a product?
If intel continues this trend then there will be a market created for it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Vtech
Member Guru
 
Vtech's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus GTX 560Ti DiCUII OC
Processor: Intel i5-4670K
Mainboard: MSI Z87-G43
Memory: 16GB Kingston Beast
Soundcard: X-Fi Extreme Gammer
PSU: PC Power & Cooling 610W
Default 03-29-2013, 20:20 | posts: 84 | Location: Portugal

Probably is Intel just saying, "Hey guys if you want to over-clock our processors feel free to void the warranty first".
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Neo Cyrus
Ancient Guru
 
Neo Cyrus's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX HD 6970 @ 1015/6400
Processor: Xeon W3530 @ 4GHz
Mainboard: GA-X58A-UD3R Rev. 2.0
Memory: 6GB DDR3-2000 9-9-9-24-1T
Soundcard: SB ZxR + DT 990 Pro-250
PSU: Antec High Current 900W
Default 03-30-2013, 06:57 | posts: 7,499 | Location: GTA, Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhazeDelta1 View Post
Intel is dumb. Why not just solder the IHS on?
Most likely to intentionally hinder overclockers while saving a penny at the same time.

Intel have no competition, the high end CPU market is a monopoly, they can do whatever they want.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Mufflore
Ancient Guru
 
Mufflore's Avatar
 
Videocard: KFA2 Anarchy 580@930/4650
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHz - blew it!
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67 UD4 B3
Memory: 8G Kngston 2.2GHz CL11 1T
Soundcard: Minimax+ & Dexa Opamps !!
PSU: Corsair Pro AX750
Default 03-30-2013, 08:23 | posts: 9,775 | Location: UK

It makes no sense for Intel to hinder overclocking in this way unless they have another motive and this is the only way to achieve it.
If they were to deliberately hinder overclocking for the sake of it, it would surely be done in a way that keeps the chips from harm, rather than a way that causes harm.
Otherwise what is the point?


Its possible that they have restricted overclocking, not to save the chips, but to prevent their performance being so high that future generations have no value.
But rather than inflame the enthusiast crowd with the lock of a bus, they chose to make it look like an insurmountable problem, which turned out not to be so.

They didnt do enough to restrict performance though, as the next gen truly isnt worth the upgrade from even Sandybridge for most.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Vtech
Member Guru
 
Vtech's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus GTX 560Ti DiCUII OC
Processor: Intel i5-4670K
Mainboard: MSI Z87-G43
Memory: 16GB Kingston Beast
Soundcard: X-Fi Extreme Gammer
PSU: PC Power & Cooling 610W
Default 03-30-2013, 10:46 | posts: 84 | Location: Portugal

And they have a good reason, is the more expensive LGA 2011 platform, they don't want the lower platform interfere with the more expensive. Is the same in the netbook's market, they don't allow vendors to put more than 1GB of Ram otherwise they sell then the chips at a higher price, in this case they donīt want netbooks to compete in the same market of the cheapest notebooks.

I don't believe they do this inadvertently, they have plenty of testing of course they know the chips doesn't have the best cooling solution.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Neo Cyrus
Ancient Guru
 
Neo Cyrus's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX HD 6970 @ 1015/6400
Processor: Xeon W3530 @ 4GHz
Mainboard: GA-X58A-UD3R Rev. 2.0
Memory: 6GB DDR3-2000 9-9-9-24-1T
Soundcard: SB ZxR + DT 990 Pro-250
PSU: Antec High Current 900W
Default 03-30-2013, 10:54 | posts: 7,499 | Location: GTA, Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mufflore View Post
They didnt do enough to restrict performance though, as the next gen truly isnt worth the upgrade from even Sandybridge for most.
Well imagine how much worse it would be for them if everyone could squeeze another 300-700MHz out of their Ivy Bridge chips.

I just hope Haswell doesn't have the same BS cheapassery, I've waited for so long there isn't much sense in upgrading to anything other than Haswell at this point.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Mufflore
Ancient Guru
 
Mufflore's Avatar
 
Videocard: KFA2 Anarchy 580@930/4650
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHz - blew it!
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67 UD4 B3
Memory: 8G Kngston 2.2GHz CL11 1T
Soundcard: Minimax+ & Dexa Opamps !!
PSU: Corsair Pro AX750
Default 03-30-2013, 11:34 | posts: 9,775 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neo Cyrus View Post
Well imagine how much worse it would be for them if everyone could squeeze another 300-700MHz out of their Ivy Bridge chips.

I just hope Haswell doesn't have the same BS cheapassery, I've waited for so long there isn't much sense in upgrading to anything other than Haswell at this point.
Yeah, that was part of what I was saying.
They at least managed to prevent that unless you are prepared to de-lid your chip.

From what I have read, the first releases of Haswell at least, arent a lot quicker than IB.
Without looking them up, they are about as fast again as IB was to SB.
I just wouldnt upgrade unless it really is necessary.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vtech View Post
I don't believe they do this inadvertently, they have plenty of testing of course they know the chips doesn't have the best cooling solution.
Aye
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Neo Cyrus
Ancient Guru
 
Neo Cyrus's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX HD 6970 @ 1015/6400
Processor: Xeon W3530 @ 4GHz
Mainboard: GA-X58A-UD3R Rev. 2.0
Memory: 6GB DDR3-2000 9-9-9-24-1T
Soundcard: SB ZxR + DT 990 Pro-250
PSU: Antec High Current 900W
Default 03-30-2013, 11:38 | posts: 7,499 | Location: GTA, Canada

It isn't really necessary, upgrading is a matter of want rather than need, lol.

I want much better single threaded performance, a W3530 is a first gen i7, Nehalem/Bloomfield/whatever. A Haswell chip will offer a significant clock for clock improvement over this thing.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.