Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Games, Gaming & Game-demos
Games, Gaming & Game-demos You can talk about the latest games here and more ..


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Any software to force low res (320 x 240) gaming?
Old
  (#1)
adawe
Newbie
 
Videocard: 7700
Processor: amd
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: cx430
Default Any software to force low res (320 x 240) gaming? - 03-28-2013, 21:18 | posts: 20

i want to play modern games at 320 by 240 or 640/480 resolution software rendering (yes, pixelated). Of course I don't actually want to use my CPU to render the graphics, I just want to emulate that pixelated affect.

are there any filters out there that will allow me to do this?

I tried sweet FX new CRT filter and I think it is a great start. However, when I would eventually like to see is a fully pixelated non-blurred lo-res look without any scanline effects.


if u ask me why, my answer is because i enjoy this graphics style. i played alot of the original duke3d, quake, and half-life 1 at 320 by 240 on my 17 inch monitor when i was a kid. and i guess i still prefer that style of graphics.

for example (im not refering to low poly models, but only the pixelated low resolution)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_ELRv06sa-c

Last edited by adawe; 03-29-2013 at 09:50.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
RPGgamesplayer
Maha Guru
 
RPGgamesplayer's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 980 G-SYNC 144HZ
Processor: 4790K
Mainboard: ASUS GENE Z97
Memory: CORSAIR 2400MHZ 16GB PRO
Soundcard: Soundblaster Xfi Fatality
PSU: Superflower 1000w Plat
Default 03-28-2013, 21:25 | posts: 1,240 | Location: London

:-0 dude i want some of what you been smoking
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Mufflore
Ancient Guru
 
Mufflore's Avatar
 
Videocard: KFA2 Anarchy 580@930/4650
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHz - blew it!
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67 UD4 B3
Memory: 8G Kngston 2.2GHz CL11 1T
Soundcard: Minimax+ & Dexa Opamps !!
PSU: Corsair Pro AX750
Default 03-28-2013, 21:27 | posts: 9,769 | Location: UK

Whats stopping you?
Have you tried custom resolutions?

Downsampling may be possible, but I havent tried this so am not sure.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
lucidus
Ancient Guru
 
lucidus's Avatar
 
Videocard: 780
Processor: i7 920 3.5GHz
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe
Memory: 6GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair TX750
Default 03-28-2013, 21:28 | posts: 6,876 | Location: Dubai

In compatibility settings there is a 640x480 setting. Never had to use it though.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
fr33jack
Master Guru
 
fr33jack's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX760 OC
Processor: i5 3570k 4.6GHz
Mainboard: MSI Z77MA|45
Memory: 8Gb 1866Mhz XMP
Soundcard: Realtek|ALC892
PSU: Zalman 660XT
Default 03-29-2013, 06:33 | posts: 505 | Location: Moscow | Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by RPGgamesplayer View Post
:-0 dude i want some of what you been smoking
...count me in too! - I'm deadly serious
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Raiga
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: GPU
Processor: CPU
Mainboard: Chipset
Memory: RAM
Soundcard:
PSU: PSU
Default 03-29-2013, 06:53 | posts: 1,053

Quote:
Originally Posted by adawe View Post
i want to force bioshock infinite into that pixelated style.
Not worth the effort, because you can't read any text or UI in the game.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
MaXThReAT
Member Guru
 
MaXThReAT's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX660 OC 2GB
Processor: Intel i5 3470 @ 4.0Ghz
Mainboard: Asrock z77 Extreme3
Memory: DDR3-1600 / 8Gig Ripjaw
Soundcard: SB X-Fi--FPS/Z-5500
PSU: CoolMaX 600W
Default 03-29-2013, 08:00 | posts: 59 | Location: Earth

I'm able to select 640x480 in Bioshock Infinite and most other games. How...I still use a CRT. 640x480-2048x1536 I gave it a go. It actually still looks pretty good, I could still read the text. Nothing like that video but there you go get a CRT.

Last edited by MaXThReAT; 03-29-2013 at 08:06.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
(.)(.)
Ancient Guru
 
(.)(.)'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 580sli (water)
Processor: 2600k @ 4.7
Mainboard: Asus M4E
Memory: Corsair Vengence
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: Enermax Rev 1250w
Default 03-29-2013, 22:43 | posts: 5,110 | Location: Logd n jst 2 change avatar

There always glaucoma, you could give that a go.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
RPGgamesplayer
Maha Guru
 
RPGgamesplayer's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 980 G-SYNC 144HZ
Processor: 4790K
Mainboard: ASUS GENE Z97
Memory: CORSAIR 2400MHZ 16GB PRO
Soundcard: Soundblaster Xfi Fatality
PSU: Superflower 1000w Plat
Default 03-30-2013, 00:31 | posts: 1,240 | Location: London

Quote:
Originally Posted by (.)(.) View Post
There always glaucoma, you could give that a go.
looool
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
adawe
Newbie
 
Videocard: 7700
Processor: amd
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: cx430
Default 03-30-2013, 03:29 | posts: 20

lol glaucoma gonna take too long. and crt's soo heavy and i got no space. i doubt its hard to make some downsampling resolution filter. arrrgh wish i was good programmer


i aint talking juist 640 by 480. i'm talking 320 by 240 man
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
mohiuddin
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Asus directcu hd6850
Processor: intel core 2 quad q6600
Mainboard: Intel dg33fb
Memory: 6gb ddr2 800bus
Soundcard:
PSU: GIGABYTE 1200w Odin pro
Default 03-30-2013, 03:40 | posts: 545

Why? Why u like things to be at low resolution?
Peculiar.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
adawe
Newbie
 
Videocard: 7700
Processor: amd
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: cx430
Default 03-30-2013, 07:26 | posts: 20

yeah i do. same as the genre of lo-fi music. it's an artistic preference.

just like u got various painting styles. there is the photo-realistic paintings like Da Vinci, and then there are the blurry impressionist paintings like monet. i would think of Van Gogh as 320 by 240
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
kapu
Ancient Guru
 
kapu's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte HD7970 GHz TOP
Processor: Intel i5 750 @ 4.0 /1.38v
Mainboard: Asus P7P55D
Memory: GoodRAM 8GB , 1600 MHz
Soundcard: X-Fi Gamer|Siberia V2
PSU: Be Quiet! E9 680W
Default 03-30-2013, 09:50 | posts: 3,642 | Location: Poland

Quote:
Originally Posted by adawe View Post
yeah i do. same as the genre of lo-fi music. it's an artistic preference.

just like u got various painting styles. there is the photo-realistic paintings like Da Vinci, and then there are the blurry impressionist paintings like monet. i would think of Van Gogh as 320 by 240
I don't think its good comparison. New games were never designed for such low resolutions and thus might not be even playable.

Technology advanced , graphics they advanced alot since 1990 .
If you want such low res. You should play older games like they were ment to.

There is nothing artistic in it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
getsuga12
Ancient Guru
 
getsuga12's Avatar
 
Videocard: Geforce GTX870M
Processor: Intel i7 4810MQ, 2.8Ghz
Mainboard: MSI GT60 2PC Dominator
Memory: 2x4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: Realtek Audio Card
PSU: MSI GT60 2PC Dominator
Default 03-30-2013, 09:53 | posts: 4,358

or you can go play Proteus, though that's more of an immersion simulation than a game
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Neo Cyrus
Ancient Guru
 
Neo Cyrus's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX HD 6970 @ 1015/6400
Processor: Xeon W3530 @ 4GHz
Mainboard: GA-X58A-UD3R Rev. 2.0
Memory: 6GB DDR3-2000 9-9-9-24-1T
Soundcard: SB ZxR + DT 990 Pro-250
PSU: Antec High Current 900W
Default 03-30-2013, 11:42 | posts: 7,511 | Location: GTA, Canada

You want a low res looking game play Superbrothers: Swords and Sworcery EP.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
adawe
Newbie
 
Videocard: 7700
Processor: amd
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: cx430
Default 03-30-2013, 18:35 | posts: 20

ah, buit beauty is in the eye of the beholder! how can u say there is nothing artistic about it when i enjoy it immensely?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
MaXThReAT
Member Guru
 
MaXThReAT's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX660 OC 2GB
Processor: Intel i5 3470 @ 4.0Ghz
Mainboard: Asrock z77 Extreme3
Memory: DDR3-1600 / 8Gig Ripjaw
Soundcard: SB X-Fi--FPS/Z-5500
PSU: CoolMaX 600W
Default 03-30-2013, 23:54 | posts: 59 | Location: Earth

I give you Bioshock Infinite @ 320x240

 Click to show spoiler


Last edited by MaXThReAT; 03-30-2013 at 23:56.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
nanogenesis
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 970 Soon
Processor: Intel i5-4670k @ 4.85Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z87X-OC
Memory: 8Gb 2400Mhz Vengeance
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair TX850V2
Default 03-31-2013, 00:03 | posts: 589 | Location: Antarctica

Lol, I tried it.

In nvidia its pretty simple, you have to create a custom resolution, same as downsampling.

For AMD though I don't know. Read up a Downsampling guide, and there instead of 2560x1440, punch in 320x180 (16:9). Should probably give you what you want. I am not responsible if you screw something up and have to reformat
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
SoloCreep
Master Guru
 
SoloCreep's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 680 SC Signature
Processor: AMD FX-6200 BE 4.4 Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: CorsairXMS3 DDR3 1600 8gb
Soundcard: SupremeFX X-Fi 2
PSU: CORSAIR HX750 80+ Gold
Default 04-01-2013, 03:41 | posts: 476 | Location: Wa

What the hell, never heard of anyone wanting to make their games look like **** on purpose. I am 41 and played pixally games in my time but damn I'm glad those days are gone.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
(.)(.)
Ancient Guru
 
(.)(.)'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 580sli (water)
Processor: 2600k @ 4.7
Mainboard: Asus M4E
Memory: Corsair Vengence
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: Enermax Rev 1250w
Default 04-01-2013, 03:54 | posts: 5,110 | Location: Logd n jst 2 change avatar

After seeing those screens above, i now have a genuine concern for your eyesite, Please reconsider. It was all good for games back in the day when there wasnt so much detail on-screen, but now...well 1080p kinda happened.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
Memorian
Maha Guru
 
Memorian's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX970 Gaming 4G
Processor: i5-3570K@4.4Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77X UD3H
Memory: 8GB G.Skill
Soundcard: SB Audigy
PSU: TT 750W
Default 04-01-2013, 04:03 | posts: 1,936 | Location: Beyond the coast

Wtf ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
lucidus
Ancient Guru
 
lucidus's Avatar
 
Videocard: 780
Processor: i7 920 3.5GHz
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe
Memory: 6GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair TX750
Default 04-01-2013, 04:08 | posts: 6,876 | Location: Dubai

It's his way of creating empathy for people who have to use spectacles.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
(.)(.)
Ancient Guru
 
(.)(.)'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 580sli (water)
Processor: 2600k @ 4.7
Mainboard: Asus M4E
Memory: Corsair Vengence
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: Enermax Rev 1250w
Default 04-01-2013, 04:10 | posts: 5,110 | Location: Logd n jst 2 change avatar

Just sayin, looks like bad idea is all.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
kanej2007
Ancient Guru
 
kanej2007's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 580 SLI 900/1800/4200
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z68-VPro
Memory: 12Gb Corsair Vengeance C8
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X Ultra 7.1
PSU: Fractal Design R2 1000W
Default 04-01-2013, 06:01 | posts: 6,855 | Location: Dubai, UAE / London, UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by lucidus View Post
It's his way of creating empathy for people who have to use spectacles.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 04-01-2013, 06:25 | posts: 24,203 | Location: NZ

   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.