Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA
Videocards - NVIDIA This forum is all about NVIDIA graphics cards and their technology. Do you have a question regarding an older GeForce videocard? Want to tell people how stylish a game works on that new shiny watercooled GeForce GTX 580 or SLI gaming rig? Get in here!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Card for 2560 x 1440
Old
  (#1)
Rikus
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTX 560 Ti
Processor: 3570K
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V LE
Memory: G.Skill Ares 8GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair TX 650 V2
Default Card for 2560 x 1440 - 03-27-2013, 12:33 | posts: 24

Wich card i need to play at 2560 x 1440 with High settings (not ultra) and AA x2

Playing at 2560 x 1440, do i need AA x2 or at this resolution is enough with no AA

Greetings
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
killer_939
Maha Guru
 
killer_939's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon 7950 @ 1100/1500
Processor: i5 2500k @ 4.6GHz 1.36v
Mainboard: ASRock P67 Extreme6
Memory: 8gb DDR3 1600MHz
Soundcard: Xonar Essence STX + AD700
PSU: 720w
Default 03-27-2013, 12:40 | posts: 2,598 | Location: Australia

My 7950 is fine at that res in all games and i would highly recommend it as they are great value. I think FXAA is plenty at this res. I upgraded from a GTX 560Ti too.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Deathchild
Maha Guru
 
Deathchild's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950CFX+Qnix2710
Processor: 3770K@4.8GHz delid
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77X D3H 1.1
Memory: C Vengeance 8GB 1866
Soundcard: VIA VT2021
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 760W
Default 03-27-2013, 12:51 | posts: 2,019 | Location: Estonia

2560x1440 is display port right, how is that working out for you guys? I'm thinking of doing a switch.. would be nice to have a bigger monitor after all tbh.. XD
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
angmar
Maha Guru
 
angmar's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 290X Tri-X
Processor: i7 3770k@ 4.7ghz h20
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: Mushkin DDR3 1600 16GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: OCZ 600 Watt 80 Plus
Default 03-27-2013, 13:06 | posts: 1,136 | Location: Monmouth County, NJ

I wouldn't get anything less then GTX 670 SLI or Titan or equivalent for that res. Especially with new consoles on the verge of being released in a few months. Will one card work...yea but honestly there is even times at 1080p that I wish I had just a bit more gpu power let alone at the res your planning on using!
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
hallryu
Don Altobello
 
hallryu's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x HD7970 - QNIX/U2711
Processor: 3770k delid@4.6GHz - H320
Mainboard: GA-Z77X-UP7 (F5)
Memory: Dominator GT 2133 2x4GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X + SP2500
PSU: BeQuiet! DP Pro 1200W
Default 03-27-2013, 13:10 | posts: 11,377 | Location: England

Quote:
Originally Posted by angmar View Post
I wouldn't get anything less then GTX 670 SLI or Titan or equivalent for that res. Especially with new consoles on the verge of being released in a few months. Will one card work...yea but honestly there is even times at 1080p that I wish I had just a bit more gpu power let alone at the res your planning on using!
Overkill, unless your hammering the textures in a handful of games. A single top of the range card is fine at 1440p
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Deathchild
Maha Guru
 
Deathchild's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950CFX+Qnix2710
Processor: 3770K@4.8GHz delid
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77X D3H 1.1
Memory: C Vengeance 8GB 1866
Soundcard: VIA VT2021
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 760W
Default 03-27-2013, 13:15 | posts: 2,019 | Location: Estonia

Yeah exactly what I thought. That's the spirit hall.

I be gettin' a display port baby.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
BLEH!
Ancient Guru
 
BLEH!'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970 CF @ Stock
Processor: 980X @ 4 GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P6T7 WS-SC
Memory: 12 GB Corsair @ 1866 MHz
Soundcard: Saffire Pro40/KRK Rokit 5
PSU: Enermax Revo 1500W
Default 03-27-2013, 13:21 | posts: 4,903 | Location: London

7970 should do the job. I have Xfire for epic AA, but one would probably do it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
SLI-756
Yellow Card (timeout)
 
Videocard: 760 SLI 4gb 1215/ 7000
Processor: Devil's Canyon i5 @4.8
Mainboard: gigabyte z97 G1 Sniper
Memory: 8gb dominator gt @2400
Soundcard: asus xonar dx
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
Default 03-27-2013, 13:23 | posts: 7,534 | Location: Sunny Scotland

seeing as OP posted this in nvidia section i'd recommend a 4gb 680.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Loophole35
Ancient Guru
 
Loophole35's Avatar
 
Videocard: 670 FTW Sli H2O/780 TFIV
Processor: 2600k@4.8 H2O/2500k@4.5
Mainboard: P8Z68-V PRO/P8Z77-V
Memory: corsair ddr3 8GB@1866
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus/onboard
PSU: Corsair HX850w/TX850w
Default 03-27-2013, 16:56 | posts: 5,421 | Location: FLA,USA

A EVGA 670 FTW+ 4GB is a good choice too about $100 less than the 680 4GB and only slightly slower. Another good choice would be the 7950/7970 3GB but seeing as your in the nvidia section I say the 670.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming 970 1450/7800
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1. AD700. DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 03-27-2013, 17:08 | posts: 26,671 | Location: Hampshire, UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by SLI-756 View Post
seeing as OP posted this in nvidia section i'd recommend a 4gb 680.
waste of money, you can get 2x hd 7950 for less and that setup will rape gtx 680 in both holes. I know he posted in nvidia section, but maybe he will listen to recommendations coming from the red corner. Sometimes people just open threads in the wrong section by mistake. if he's keen on nvidia, I agree with Loophole, the gtx 670 4gb is a more reasonable buy. Again, depends of the OP's budget, if he's made of money, I'll say buy a titan.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Weecka
Master Guru
 
Weecka's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 780 3GB
Processor: i7 2700k @ 4.7GHz H2O
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65
Memory: Corsair Plat 16GB 1866Mhz
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar D2X PCI-E 7.1
PSU: Corsair AX860
Default 03-27-2013, 17:16 | posts: 267 | Location: UK

Just like most ppl are saying: 4gb 670 or 680 will be more or less fine. I know this is nvidia section, but at this point 7970 ghz edition is a real bargain aswell. Plus it has 3gb VRAM so it should be more or less enough.
Sli is not really worth the investment for single Monitor,neither is (in my opinion) GTX Titan, unless u have alot of spare money and want to play games maxed out...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SC SLI/Qnix 2710
Processor: 2600k 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 03-27-2013, 18:44 | posts: 18,731 | Location: New Jersey, USA

For that resolution I would get 670/80 4gb sli or single Titan. Crappy ports we are getting now will be replaced by ps4, Xbox 720 ports.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming 970 1450/7800
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1. AD700. DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 03-27-2013, 18:52 | posts: 26,671 | Location: Hampshire, UK

hence why I would take a hd 7950 cfx over a single gtx 680 4gb, he would even save money.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
CPC_RedDawn
Ancient Guru
 
CPC_RedDawn's Avatar
 
Videocard: 3GB HD7970OC/2GB HD7770
Processor: 4770K@4.5GHz/Q6600@3.6GHz
Mainboard: Z87-GD65 / P5K PREMIUM
Memory: 16GB@1866MHz/4GB@1066MHz
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster Z
PSU: 1200W/900W
Default 03-27-2013, 18:59 | posts: 5,958 | Location: Wolverhampton/United Kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by BLEH! View Post
7970 should do the job. I have Xfire for epic AA, but one would probably do it.
PLEASE PLEASE SHOW US SOME PICS AND BENCHMARKS OF YOUR 8970 Xfire!!!

LOL check your sig
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX Titan H20 1472/7600
Processor: i7 5820K 4.7GHz H20
Mainboard: ASUS X99-A
Memory: Crucial 4x4GB 2666
Soundcard: Xonar Phoebus-PC360/HD598
PSU: SeaSonic Platinum-1000
Default 03-27-2013, 19:38 | posts: 6,798 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by eclap View Post
hence why I would take a hd 7950 cfx over a single gtx 680 4gb, he would even save money.
how does spending money equate to saving money? you can get a 680 4gb for $520
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
southamptonfc
Maha Guru
 
southamptonfc's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI TF 780TI
Processor: 2700k @ 4.7
Mainboard: Asus P8P67
Memory: 16Gb 1866
Soundcard: SB XFI
PSU: Seasonic X-750W
Default 03-27-2013, 20:00 | posts: 956 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rikus View Post
Wich card i need to play at 2560 x 1440 with High settings (not ultra) and AA x2

Playing at 2560 x 1440, do i need AA x2 or at this resolution is enough with no AA

Greetings
Nobody has asked the important questions.

What framerate do you expect/require? 30fps, 60fps, 120fps?

Do you want to turn all details to maximum or are you happy to reduce game's detail settings in order to get a good framerate?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
BLEH!
Ancient Guru
 
BLEH!'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970 CF @ Stock
Processor: 980X @ 4 GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P6T7 WS-SC
Memory: 12 GB Corsair @ 1866 MHz
Soundcard: Saffire Pro40/KRK Rokit 5
PSU: Enermax Revo 1500W
Default 03-27-2013, 20:02 | posts: 4,903 | Location: London

Quote:
Originally Posted by CPC_RedDawn View Post
PLEASE PLEASE SHOW US SOME PICS AND BENCHMARKS OF YOUR 8970 Xfire!!!

LOL check your sig
It's a joke on the "OEM 8970 = 7970 GHz Eds". They're actually stock 7970s OCed to 7970 GHz ed levels. It's just amusing seeing peoples reactions
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SC SLI/Qnix 2710
Processor: 2600k 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 03-27-2013, 20:16 | posts: 18,731 | Location: New Jersey, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by eclap View Post
hence why I would take a hd 7950 cfx over a single gtx 680 4gb, he would even save money.
I would not recommend xfire, I am very suseptable to microstuttering. I hate it with a passion, if the op wants to go with a single amd card that alright by me, but multi gpu I recommend nvidia
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming 970 1450/7800
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1. AD700. DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 03-27-2013, 22:47 | posts: 26,671 | Location: Hampshire, UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Agent-A01 View Post
how does spending money equate to saving money? you can get a 680 4gb for $520
depends on where he lives of course, but over here a 4gb gtx 680 costs around 480 and you can buy 2 of hd 7950 for that price. and they will rape the gtx 680.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming 970 1450/7800
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1. AD700. DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 03-27-2013, 22:49 | posts: 26,671 | Location: Hampshire, UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
I would not recommend xfire, I am very suseptable to microstuttering. I hate it with a passion, if the op wants to go with a single amd card that alright by me, but multi gpu I recommend nvidia
and if he's going single card, I'll recommend AMD. the hd 7970 costs almost 200 less than a gtx 680
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
Loophole35
Ancient Guru
 
Loophole35's Avatar
 
Videocard: 670 FTW Sli H2O/780 TFIV
Processor: 2600k@4.8 H2O/2500k@4.5
Mainboard: P8Z68-V PRO/P8Z77-V
Memory: corsair ddr3 8GB@1866
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus/onboard
PSU: Corsair HX850w/TX850w
Default 03-28-2013, 00:00 | posts: 5,421 | Location: FLA,USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by southamptonfc View Post
Nobody has asked the important questions.

What framerate do you expect/require? 30fps, 60fps, 120fps?

Do you want to turn all details to maximum or are you happy to reduce game's detail settings in order to get a good framerate?
I would assume with that ressolution 30fps is unexceptible and if you had read the post you quoted you would see he stated high settings not ultra (or maxed out) and x2 AA or no AA at all. That is why alot of us are suggesting the higher end single cards and not really the dual cadrs or Titan.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
angmar
Maha Guru
 
angmar's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 290X Tri-X
Processor: i7 3770k@ 4.7ghz h20
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: Mushkin DDR3 1600 16GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: OCZ 600 Watt 80 Plus
Default 03-28-2013, 01:52 | posts: 1,136 | Location: Monmouth County, NJ

Quote:
Originally Posted by hallryu View Post
Overkill, unless your hammering the textures in a handful of games. A single top of the range card is fine at 1440p
If you consider playing at 45 fps in a game like Bioshock Infinite let alone whatever else is in the pipeline good then yea it's overkill. Personally if i'm buying a new PC and right out of the box it can't play current games at 60fps at my monitors res let alone whatevers coming in the next year I would consider that under powered.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
Bentez
Maha Guru
 
Bentez's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 780 SLI | U2711
Processor: i5 2500K @ 4.8GHz | H100
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DX
PSU: Corsair HX1050
Default 03-28-2013, 09:43 | posts: 1,193 | Location: Southampton, UK

GTX 670 2GB SLI has served me well at 1440p, I would agree that one isn't enough at this res. I haven't had to worry about Vram limits so far, though the 4GB versions weren't out when I picked these up. Wouldn't hurt to have a couple more gigs to play with down the line I guess.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
southamptonfc
Maha Guru
 
southamptonfc's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI TF 780TI
Processor: 2700k @ 4.7
Mainboard: Asus P8P67
Memory: 16Gb 1866
Soundcard: SB XFI
PSU: Seasonic X-750W
Default 03-28-2013, 09:57 | posts: 956 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Loophole35 View Post
I would assume with that ressolution 30fps is unexceptible and if you had read the post you quoted you would see he stated high settings not ultra (or maxed out) and x2 AA or no AA at all. That is why alot of us are suggesting the higher end single cards and not really the dual cadrs or Titan.
I see you've removed me from your ignore list then, such a relief for me.

Isn't it much nicer this way? You can read my post and then have a little dig at me

I can't see why a bigger screen would require no AA, the pixel size is roughly the same as a smaller screen with lower res, I would expect some AA to be needed.

A GTX680 is just about enough to push 60FPS (average) in FarCry3 and Crysis3 not on ultra settings. Minimum framerate is going to dip down into the 30s though which may not be acceptable.

I would say GTX680 and you'll probably need to add another one or upgrade in a year or so when the next-gen console ports are coming out.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
Greyleroux
Member Guru
 
Greyleroux's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gtx660 Sli_U2713
Processor: 3570K@4.4_H80i
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: 16G DDR3 @1600
Soundcard: SB ZxR_ATH-AD-500X
PSU: 850W
Default 03-28-2013, 11:09 | posts: 76 | Location: Japan

My 2gtx 660's do the job extremely well. i,ve upgraded from a 1080p monitor recently the performance loss is about 30%.My advice gtx 680 or above .
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.