Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Games, Gaming & Game-demos
Games, Gaming & Game-demos You can talk about the latest games here and more ..


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Euro Truck Simulator 2
Old
  (#1)
Darren Hodgson
Ancient Guru
 
Darren Hodgson's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA NVIDIA GTX 780
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe
Memory: 16GB Corsair Veng 1600MHz
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: XFX Pro B.E. 850W
Default Euro Truck Simulator 2 - 03-25-2013, 16:05 | posts: 11,624 | Location: England

Anyone else bought/playing this?

Ever since I saw and tried the demo on Steam, I've been wanting to play the full game but was a bit apprehensive about paying full price for it in case the thrill was short-lived. Well, last week Steam had it on offer for 50% off so it less than 13 so I bought it. Believe it or not, I've been playing this more than anything else and have barely touched Resident Evil 6, a game I got at the same time as this.

Now I'm not even interested in trucks or even simulations especially but this game is bizarrely addictive and I find myself wanting to come back to it for some unfathomable reason. Graphically the game is very pleasant maxed out with forced 4xMSAA/4xSGSSAA but not jaw-dropping and the audio does the job without being astounding either (the cabin sound is a bit lacking though unless you listen to music). So what makes this game so compelling then? For me, it's a relaxing game picking a job and then delivering goods to various locations in the UK and Europe. The game has a large selection of radio stations (plus you can add your own) and supports custom music too (just drop a shortcut to your Music Library to the game's music folder) that all make for a pleasant driving experience. It is surprisingly immersive, particularly with the night time and wet weather, and the game is structured in a way that allows for eventually owning your own truck, business and drivers with 'upgrades' allowing you to take on more profitable and even dangerous deliveries.

I implore people to try out the demo because you may find the game oddly appealing like I did.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
villa_youth
Master Guru
 
villa_youth's Avatar
 
Videocard: 780 GTX
Processor: Intel i7
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68-V
Memory: Corsair Vengence 8GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X
PSU: OCZ 900 watt
Default 03-25-2013, 16:35 | posts: 729 | Location: England

Been meaning to download the demo for ages.
Got 85% in PC Gamer and they don't give out high scores easily.
Does it support gamepad does anybody know ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Darren Hodgson
Ancient Guru
 
Darren Hodgson's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA NVIDIA GTX 780
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe
Memory: 16GB Corsair Veng 1600MHz
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: XFX Pro B.E. 850W
Default 03-25-2013, 16:49 | posts: 11,624 | Location: England

Quote:
Originally Posted by villa_youth View Post
Does it support gamepad does anybody know ?
Yes, but not automatically like many games do. You have to set the controls up manually but it has extensive support for a wide range of inputs, including steering wheels, etc.

I have my Xbox 360 controller setup using some suggestions on a web site and it works just great. If you want then I can post the layout I'm using later on?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Gembel
Master Guru
 
Gembel's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus GTX660 DirectCU 2
Processor: i5 2500K
Mainboard: MSI Z77MA-G45
Memory: 16GB CORSAIR Vengeance
Soundcard: Realtek - Edifier S330D
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX
Default 03-25-2013, 18:06 | posts: 776 | Location: Indonesia

So the mission is cargo deliveries..and you don't have to park your truck Darren?
Parking an 18 wheel truck is very frustrating to me
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Darren Hodgson
Ancient Guru
 
Darren Hodgson's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA NVIDIA GTX 780
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe
Memory: 16GB Corsair Veng 1600MHz
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: XFX Pro B.E. 850W
Default 03-25-2013, 19:55 | posts: 11,624 | Location: England

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gembel View Post
So the mission is cargo deliveries..and you don't have to park your truck Darren?
Parking an 18 wheel truck is very frustrating to me
It is frustrating but challenging. However, you can skip it at the expense of a bit less cash. The game is basically as hard or easy as you want it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Tat3
Ancient Guru
 
Tat3's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX480 w/ 244T
Processor: i7 920 @ 4,4GHz | Water
Mainboard: DFI UT X58 T3eH8
Memory: 3*2Gb 8-8-8-20 @ 1680MHz
Soundcard: UA-55 -> 2*Genelec 8030B
PSU: Defo not modular (TX950W)
Default 03-25-2013, 20:11 | posts: 11,245 | Location: Finland

I have also played it, few hours at friends house. Was not expecting much from that game but it was really good! Should buy it when it comes on sale, would buy it at the price it's now if I had more time to play.

Highly recommended to give it a go.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Gembel
Master Guru
 
Gembel's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus GTX660 DirectCU 2
Processor: i5 2500K
Mainboard: MSI Z77MA-G45
Memory: 16GB CORSAIR Vengeance
Soundcard: Realtek - Edifier S330D
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX
Default 03-26-2013, 09:46 | posts: 776 | Location: Indonesia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darren Hodgson View Post
It is frustrating but challenging. However, you can skip it at the expense of a bit less cash. The game is basically as hard or easy as you want it.
Aha skip maybe the best option I also enjoy the moment just you, the long road and relaxing music
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Nato.dbnz
Ancient Guru
 
Nato.dbnz's Avatar
 
Videocard: 5870 Crossfire
Processor: 2500k 4.5GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P8P67 Pro
Memory: 8Gb Dominator 1600
Soundcard: Xonar STX + HD598
PSU: Silverstone Strider 1000W
Default 03-26-2013, 19:45 | posts: 3,261 | Location: Auckland NZ

I'm glad I saw this thread. This is the perfect game to unwind with from the sofa.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
PCElite
Master Guru
 
PCElite's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI R9 280X Gaming
Processor: i5 4670K
Mainboard: Asus Gryphon Z87
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8GB
Soundcard:
PSU: AX Series 760
Default 03-26-2013, 20:40 | posts: 322

I just love Mercedes-Benz Actros MP4

http://ets2-mods.com/
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
EpicLoss
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX560Ti DirectCU II
Processor: FX6300@4.5Ghz 1.4375v
Mainboard: ASUS M5A97 EVO R2.0
Memory: 8gb Team Vulcan 2400Mhz
Soundcard: Onboard Realtek ALC887
PSU: Cooler master GX 550
Default 03-27-2013, 10:59 | posts: 1,084 | Location: Midlands/UK

LOVE this game!!! although i dont know why lol

i too got it in a sale and it strangly keeps me playing for hours, i guess it is just the relaxing feeling of the open road and some chillout music + my sofa = bliss
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
AndreasGuido
Ancient Guru
 
AndreasGuido's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7850 TF3 1050/1450
Processor: Core i5 2500K 3.8GHz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3 Soc
Memory: 8GB DDR3 1600Mhz RipjawsX
Soundcard: Integrated 5.1
PSU: OCZ ZX Series 850W
Default 03-27-2013, 11:19 | posts: 3,309 | Location: Bristol, UK

How big is the map? i used to play Hard Truck 2 when i was younger. its a Russian game and it was so damn fun! Race, police, hidden paths.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
INSTG8R
Maha Guru
 
INSTG8R's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7970 OC Edition
Processor: i7 2600K@4.6/AC Kryos H20
Mainboard: ASUS P67 Sabertooth
Memory: 8GB Corsair Vengence 1600
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatality Champion
PSU: Seasonic X-1050 80+ Gold
Default 03-27-2013, 11:49 | posts: 1,262 | Location: Lost in Norway

50K of roads behind me and still loving it. I use my G25 to drive very fun rowing thru the gears on the H-Shifter. Also play with TrackIR which totally adds another level to it.

I only run a few mods mostly for added realism like real companies and cars having correct logos.

@Darren you might like this mod to raise up the cabin sounds.

http://ets2-mods.com/sounds/657-loud...-ambient-noise

I agree it is too quiet but I use another mod that I modified myself for more volume.

Last edited by INSTG8R; 03-27-2013 at 11:52.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Darren Hodgson
Ancient Guru
 
Darren Hodgson's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA NVIDIA GTX 780
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe
Memory: 16GB Corsair Veng 1600MHz
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: XFX Pro B.E. 850W
Default 03-27-2013, 13:09 | posts: 11,624 | Location: England

Thanks for the link, INSTG8R, I will install that later on. I've also found some colour images for the drivers (odd that the ones included are black & white only).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Mr.Bigtime
Ancient Guru
 
Mr.Bigtime's Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX 680 @ 27" SA950
Processor: I7 4770K @ 3.5 GHZ
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 PRO
Memory: 16GB DDR3 1600 MHZ
Soundcard: ONBOARD & LOGITECH Z906
PSU: Coolermaster something
Default 04-10-2013, 08:10 | posts: 18,328 | Location: Turkey

bought on Greenmangaming. Such a charming game. i played with xbox360 controller but need my G27. my wife is whining about G27 mess. cant use it. it sleeps in attic damn it

anyway, i want to use more AA in the game but how please? i use nvidia control panel and OVERRIDE mode. but nope. wont work. any help? thanks.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Darren Hodgson
Ancient Guru
 
Darren Hodgson's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA NVIDIA GTX 780
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe
Memory: 16GB Corsair Veng 1600MHz
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: XFX Pro B.E. 850W
Default 04-10-2013, 08:26 | posts: 11,624 | Location: England

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Bigtime View Post
anyway, i want to use more AA in the game but how please? i use nvidia control panel and OVERRIDE mode. but nope. wont work. any help? thanks.
Create a profile for the game and add this AA flag: 0x000010C5. You can now use Overide and MSAA+SGSSAA to improve the anti-aliasing. Make sure the scaling is at 100% otherwise it won't work and disable in-game MLAA.

Alternatively, you can up the in-game scaling to 400% (effectively downsampling) and use MLAA which improves the AA significantly.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Mr.Bigtime
Ancient Guru
 
Mr.Bigtime's Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX 680 @ 27" SA950
Processor: I7 4770K @ 3.5 GHZ
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 PRO
Memory: 16GB DDR3 1600 MHZ
Soundcard: ONBOARD & LOGITECH Z906
PSU: Coolermaster something
Default 04-10-2013, 08:39 | posts: 18,328 | Location: Turkey

Thank you for your reply.

unfortunately i have no idea how to create a flag. but didn't know that SCALING those that thing. i will use SCALING then . and in game MLAA thank you

ohh and iam getting really HARD TIMES to get my truck reverse parking ..damn it..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Darren Hodgson
Ancient Guru
 
Darren Hodgson's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA NVIDIA GTX 780
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe
Memory: 16GB Corsair Veng 1600MHz
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: XFX Pro B.E. 850W
Default 04-10-2013, 08:44 | posts: 11,624 | Location: England

You can skip the parking bit if you want. I think I've only bothered to do it once.

In-game scaling + MLAA is the easiest option. The higher the percentage is for scaling the better the downsampling looks but 400% might be too much for a single GTX 680. You might have to settle for 150%/200%.

It isn't difficult to create a profile using NVIDIA Inspector. You'll need that application to add the AA flag anyway as it cannot be done from the NVIDIA control panel.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Mr.Bigtime
Ancient Guru
 
Mr.Bigtime's Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX 680 @ 27" SA950
Processor: I7 4770K @ 3.5 GHZ
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 PRO
Memory: 16GB DDR3 1600 MHZ
Soundcard: ONBOARD & LOGITECH Z906
PSU: Coolermaster something
Default 04-10-2013, 08:49 | posts: 18,328 | Location: Turkey

i was TOYING with options , and tried scaling 400..well, didnt notice a performance drop that huge.. will try it tonight properly. thank you. it is good to not KILL enemies in a game but just Drive and drive
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
AndreasGuido
Ancient Guru
 
AndreasGuido's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7850 TF3 1050/1450
Processor: Core i5 2500K 3.8GHz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3 Soc
Memory: 8GB DDR3 1600Mhz RipjawsX
Soundcard: Integrated 5.1
PSU: OCZ ZX Series 850W
Default 04-10-2013, 09:56 | posts: 3,309 | Location: Bristol, UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Bigtime View Post
my wife is whining about G27 mess. cant use it. it sleeps in attic damn it thanks.
you can always send it my way, ill look after it
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
Mr.Bigtime
Ancient Guru
 
Mr.Bigtime's Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX 680 @ 27" SA950
Processor: I7 4770K @ 3.5 GHZ
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 PRO
Memory: 16GB DDR3 1600 MHZ
Soundcard: ONBOARD & LOGITECH Z906
PSU: Coolermaster something
Default 04-10-2013, 10:08 | posts: 18,328 | Location: Turkey

Quote:
Originally Posted by AndreasGuido View Post
you can always send it my way, ill look after it
i would ask for just 275 euros for it .. i bought at 450 euros damn it. everything is expensive here..

By the way. G25 looks more, MESS..wish i bought it

Today my WMS wireless receiver for windows will arrive i presume. so i can play with my xbox360 controller.

No idea if Wireless steering wheel for xbox360 will work either.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
drandiiski
Master Guru
 
drandiiski's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX460 768M @800/2000
Processor: Intel C2Q Q6600 @3.2Ghz
Mainboard: Jetway I35P-SG
Memory: 2x2Gb DDR2 Kingston
Soundcard: Creative Audigy
PSU: CM 500W eXtreme Power
Default 04-10-2013, 10:12 | posts: 264 | Location: Bulgaria

Well you guys got me excited about this game. I'll try the demo tonight with my DFGT.
BTW @Mr.Bigtime what do you mean by MESS ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Mr.Bigtime
Ancient Guru
 
Mr.Bigtime's Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX 680 @ 27" SA950
Processor: I7 4770K @ 3.5 GHZ
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 PRO
Memory: 16GB DDR3 1600 MHZ
Soundcard: ONBOARD & LOGITECH Z906
PSU: Coolermaster something
Default 04-10-2013, 10:55 | posts: 18,328 | Location: Turkey

Quote:
Originally Posted by drandiiski View Post
Well you guys got me excited about this game. I'll try the demo tonight with my DFGT.
BTW .Bigtime what do you mean by MESS ?
alot of STUFF lying around. or how u call it. cables, steering wheel, clutch, pedals.. wife is complaining man.

anyway, my receiver just arrived . if it works iam gonna use xbox360 steering wheel. or wireless steering wheel. i think i cant be very suitable with wireless one as it is motions sensor. long road driving may be hard wit hit i mean.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
AndreasGuido
Ancient Guru
 
AndreasGuido's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7850 TF3 1050/1450
Processor: Core i5 2500K 3.8GHz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3 Soc
Memory: 8GB DDR3 1600Mhz RipjawsX
Soundcard: Integrated 5.1
PSU: OCZ ZX Series 850W
Default 04-10-2013, 11:16 | posts: 3,309 | Location: Bristol, UK

I have xbox wireless steering wheel and it works fine with the dongle in F1, let me know how it works with this
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
drandiiski
Master Guru
 
drandiiski's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX460 768M @800/2000
Processor: Intel C2Q Q6600 @3.2Ghz
Mainboard: Jetway I35P-SG
Memory: 2x2Gb DDR2 Kingston
Soundcard: Creative Audigy
PSU: CM 500W eXtreme Power
Default 04-10-2013, 11:26 | posts: 264 | Location: Bulgaria

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Bigtime View Post
alot of STUFF lying around. or how u call it. cables, steering wheel, clutch, pedals.. wife is complaining man.

anyway, my receiver just arrived . if it works iam gonna use xbox360 steering wheel. or wireless steering wheel. i think i cant be very suitable with wireless one as it is motions sensor. long road driving may be hard wit hit i mean.
Ahh! I see. Thought you mean something else about the wheel. Nevermind
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
Mr.Bigtime
Ancient Guru
 
Mr.Bigtime's Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX 680 @ 27" SA950
Processor: I7 4770K @ 3.5 GHZ
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 PRO
Memory: 16GB DDR3 1600 MHZ
Soundcard: ONBOARD & LOGITECH Z906
PSU: Coolermaster something
Default 04-10-2013, 11:42 | posts: 18,328 | Location: Turkey

Quote:
Originally Posted by AndreasGuido View Post
I have xbox wireless steering wheel and it works fine with the dongle in F1, let me know how it works with this
iam pretty sure it will work, but wont be comfortable? i presume. long distance driving with ur two hands r holding this in the air? must be hard? or not?
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.