Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Die-hard Overclocking & Case Modifications 
Die-hard Overclocking & Case Modifications  Want to overclock that processor, videocard or even mainboard ? Wanna tweak the best out of your piece of hardware or have the means to design a killer case ? Get in here and pimp that rig man.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
NEED ADVICE: Running TWO different PSU!
Old
  (#1)
Crash
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Palit GTX 560 OC 1024 MB
Processor: AMD FX 8350 4.6GHz 1.38v
Mainboard:
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 1666
Soundcard:
PSU: Silverstone 650W
Default NEED ADVICE: Running TWO different PSU! - 03-24-2013, 19:30 | posts: 66 | Location: Asia Pacific

Hi,

I am planning to use 2 different power supplies for my pc. Actually, I am already running 2 psu (600W Quality 80% = mobo,pcx,cpu)+(Cheapo 300W=HDDs,rom,fan) at the moment. Now, I want to take it further.

I wonder if i could take out the cheap 300W psu and replace it with another good quality 500W 80% certified psu to power up the HDDs,pcx and rom. My main concern is the graphic card. It requires 2x 6 pin power. Since it is already drawing some power from the motherboard with certain amp, could it be a problem if i use 2x 6pin external power from another psu with different amp?

Currently 600W psu is not sufficient since the overclocked fx8350 4.6Ghz would draw at least 280W and the pcx would draw 300W on full load.

Buying 1000W PSU is out of question, even getting a highend 800W psu will cost a fortune to me.

Last edited by Crash; 03-24-2013 at 19:33.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Nichtswisser
Master Guru
 
Nichtswisser's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX 670 DC2 4GB
Processor: i5 2500K @4.2GHz @1,160V
Mainboard: ASUS P8P67 Pro Rev 3.0
Memory: GeIL Value Plus 8GB
Soundcard: DT 990 Pro @ASUS Xonar DX
PSU: OCZ ModX Pro 700W
Default 03-24-2013, 20:14 | posts: 263

You don't actually need a second PSU, the one you have should be able to handle your PC. It's somewhat close, yet it should be well within tolerance levels.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Crash
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Palit GTX 560 OC 1024 MB
Processor: AMD FX 8350 4.6GHz 1.38v
Mainboard:
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 1666
Soundcard:
PSU: Silverstone 650W
Default 03-24-2013, 20:29 | posts: 66 | Location: Asia Pacific

i doubt that, the cpu itself takes 280w+,pcx 300w@stock, how about the motherboard?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Crash
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Palit GTX 560 OC 1024 MB
Processor: AMD FX 8350 4.6GHz 1.38v
Mainboard:
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 1666
Soundcard:
PSU: Silverstone 650W
Default 03-24-2013, 20:37 | posts: 66 | Location: Asia Pacific

i felt some jitters in graphic performance, eventhough i am using external psu to remove some load from the system. i think the juice is still lacking, therefore anyone knows running a graphic card using external psu with different amp?will it fries the pcx?

TY
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Mufflore
Ancient Guru
 
Mufflore's Avatar
 
Videocard: KFA2 Anarchy 580@930/4650
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHz - blew it!
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67 UD4 B3
Memory: 8G Kngston 2.2GHz CL11 1T
Soundcard: Minimax+ & Dexa Opamps !!
PSU: Corsair Pro AX750
Default 03-24-2013, 21:59 | posts: 9,775 | Location: UK

Its fine to use a separate PSU for the gfx card, as long as the voltages are within ATX specs.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Crash
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Palit GTX 560 OC 1024 MB
Processor: AMD FX 8350 4.6GHz 1.38v
Mainboard:
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 1666
Soundcard:
PSU: Silverstone 650W
Default 03-24-2013, 22:24 | posts: 66 | Location: Asia Pacific

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mufflore View Post
Its fine to use a separate PSU for the gfx card, as long as the voltages are within ATX specs.
thx,now i can proceed to find a good solution for powering up and shutting the PSUs
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Mufflore
Ancient Guru
 
Mufflore's Avatar
 
Videocard: KFA2 Anarchy 580@930/4650
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHz - blew it!
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67 UD4 B3
Memory: 8G Kngston 2.2GHz CL11 1T
Soundcard: Minimax+ & Dexa Opamps !!
PSU: Corsair Pro AX750
Default 03-25-2013, 05:59 | posts: 9,775 | Location: UK

Thats easy.
On the main connector to the motherboard from the PSU, there is a green wire.
When this is connected to ground, the PSU will fire up.
This is what the power on switch does, it connects the green wire to ground.

You can connect the green connections of both PSUs together, this should be enough for your motherboard to trigger both PSUs to power up if the second PSU is already hooked up to the gfx card.
If the 2nd PSU isnt hooked up to anything, you may have to connect the gnd (black) connections together from both PSUs as well, to test the powering on.
(all the black connections go to the same place, so you can use any of them)

DONT connect any other connections together.

You may need to manually turn off the second PSU after you shut down the PC.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Mr_ALLroy
Maha Guru
 
Mr_ALLroy's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX780 Gaming SLI
Processor: Intel i7-4770k @4.4
Mainboard: Asus Z87-Deluxe
Memory: Dominator Plat 1866 16Gig
Soundcard: Soundblaster Zx
PSU: Silverstone Gold 1000W
Default 03-25-2013, 10:16 | posts: 1,798 | Location: Calgary Canada®

This guy can help you with the wiring.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vRwIr...ture=fvwp&NR=1
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Crash
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Palit GTX 560 OC 1024 MB
Processor: AMD FX 8350 4.6GHz 1.38v
Mainboard:
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 1666
Soundcard:
PSU: Silverstone 650W
Default 03-25-2013, 22:13 | posts: 66 | Location: Asia Pacific

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_ALLroy View Post
This guy can help you with the wiring.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vRwIr...ture=fvwp&NR=1
Hahaha, that is funny. apart from manual wiring, there is adapter like add2psu but it is not really reliable or safe as claimed. I am planning to build a good electronic kit for this purpose.

I dont know much about electronics/electricity, but i have a rough idea about it.

Last edited by Crash; 03-25-2013 at 22:17.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Crash
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Palit GTX 560 OC 1024 MB
Processor: AMD FX 8350 4.6GHz 1.38v
Mainboard:
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 1666
Soundcard:
PSU: Silverstone 650W
Default 03-28-2013, 12:35 | posts: 66 | Location: Asia Pacific

just an update...

i did it with the electronic thingy, secondary psu now turn off when the main psu is off and the other way around.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
angmar
Maha Guru
 
angmar's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 290X Tri-X
Processor: i7 3770k@ 4.7ghz h20
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: Mushkin DDR3 1600 16GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: OCZ 600 Watt 80 Plus
Default 03-29-2013, 12:13 | posts: 1,107 | Location: Monmouth County, NJ

Umm...your silverstone 650 is powerful enough to run your pc without the cheapo psu. Trust me if my old GTX 480 could run on a 600 watt psu with overclocked GPU and CPU you could easily run a much lower wattage 560 and 8350 and still have plenty of power headroom for overclocking.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
angmar
Maha Guru
 
angmar's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 290X Tri-X
Processor: i7 3770k@ 4.7ghz h20
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: Mushkin DDR3 1600 16GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: OCZ 600 Watt 80 Plus
Default 03-29-2013, 12:15 | posts: 1,107 | Location: Monmouth County, NJ

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crash View Post
i doubt that, the cpu itself takes 280w+,pcx 300w@stock, how about the motherboard?
Your cpu most certainly does NOT use 280 watts at stock settings..not even close. I am not sure where you are getting your information from. Toms hardware has the wattage at full load tested at a 180 watts.... I doubt even when OC'd it would reach 280 watts....if it did it would be HELL to keep it cool.

Last edited by angmar; 03-29-2013 at 12:17.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Crash
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Palit GTX 560 OC 1024 MB
Processor: AMD FX 8350 4.6GHz 1.38v
Mainboard:
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 1666
Soundcard:
PSU: Silverstone 650W
Default 03-30-2013, 02:17 | posts: 66 | Location: Asia Pacific

Quote:
Originally Posted by angmar View Post
if it did it would be HELL to keep it cool.
Its a hell, when i hit prime it will shot to 67'C, 4.6GHz and the windows will locked up. However, for normal use, it barely reaches 45'C under load.

I take it from Guru3D:

Quote:
The power draw however is intense as at this stage we consume roughly 356 Watts by stressing all eight CPU cores.
http://www.guru3d.com/articles_pages...review,20.html

I am not sure if its the entire system or just the CPU. However the same was written at Anandtech FX8350 review, 4.8Ghz will consume just under 300W.

Last edited by Crash; 03-30-2013 at 02:19.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Tat3
Ancient Guru
 
Tat3's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX480 w/ 244T
Processor: i7 920 @ 4,4GHz | Water
Mainboard: DFI UT X58 T3eH8
Memory: 3*2Gb 8-8-8-20 @ 1680MHz
Soundcard: UA-55 -> 2*Genelec 8030B
PSU: Defo not modular (TX950W)
Default 03-30-2013, 15:34 | posts: 11,245 | Location: Finland

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crash View Post
Its a hell, when i hit prime it will shot to 67'C, 4.6GHz and the windows will locked up. However, for normal use, it barely reaches 45'C under load.

I take it from Guru3D:



http://www.guru3d.com/articles_pages...review,20.html

I am not sure if its the entire system or just the CPU. However the same was written at Anandtech FX8350 review, 4.8Ghz will consume just under 300W.
Quote:
Originally Posted by http://www.guru3d.com/articles_pages/amd_fx_8350_processor_review,7.html
In an IDLE state the PC (990FX / FX 8350 / 8GB memory / GeForce GTX 580 / SSD) consumes 101 Watts.

When we place load on the CPU and we see the power draw rise, the system now consumes roughly 239 Watts. This is with merely an SSD and 8GB memory and the GTX580 installed. Your average PC will draw a little more power if you add optical drives, HDDs, soundcards etc.
So 300w with those other parts. I'm not sure if that is 300W from wall or what PSU is delivering. 300W from wall with 80% efficiency (300W*0.8) = 240W load for the PSU.

Anyways, about using the second PSU, I did read from somewhere that it's not recommended to use other PSU to only power GPU as PSU's are not designed to be loaded that way, adding load to other lines might be good idea. This was what I did read few years ago from place which I cant remember and not sure how reliable that information is. Worth investigating btw.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Crash
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Palit GTX 560 OC 1024 MB
Processor: AMD FX 8350 4.6GHz 1.38v
Mainboard:
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 1666
Soundcard:
PSU: Silverstone 650W
Default 03-30-2013, 16:29 | posts: 66 | Location: Asia Pacific

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tat3 View Post
I did read from somewhere that it's not recommended to use other PSU to only power GPU as PSU's are not designed to be loaded that way...Worth investigating btw.
I see, so its for the entire system? Yes we do need to investigate, people normally do this for Quad Sli system,Quad Crossfire with load of HDDs and Watercooling systems.

Not sure if it safe, but there is something call "Power Booster" to boost GPU power on sale at newegg and basically it is the same mod that i did with a 10 bucks electronic switch plus I have a control over which PSU to choose.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104054

Last edited by Crash; 03-30-2013 at 16:54.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
anon
Newbie
 
Videocard: Gainward GTX680
Processor: Intel Core i7 3820
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Formula
Memory: @1866/16gb
Soundcard:
PSU: Antec 900w
Default 04-03-2013, 12:16 | posts: 32

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crash View Post
Hi,

I am planning to use 2 different power supplies for my pc. Actually, I am already running 2 psu (600W Quality 80% = mobo,pcx,cpu)+(Cheapo 300W=HDDs,rom,fan) at the moment. Now, I want to take it further.

I wonder if i could take out the cheap 300W psu and replace it with another good quality 500W 80% certified psu to power up the HDDs,pcx and rom. My main concern is the graphic card. It requires 2x 6 pin power. Since it is already drawing some power from the motherboard with certain amp, could it be a problem if i use 2x 6pin external power from another psu with different amp?

Currently 600W psu is not sufficient since the overclocked fx8350 4.6Ghz would draw at least 280W and the pcx would draw 300W on full load.

Buying 1000W PSU is out of question, even getting a highend 800W psu will cost a fortune to me.
You could always try something like thermaltake power express its basically a 2nd psu but just for GFX so you could have your standard PSU for mobo hdds and what ever else you need and the other for GFX only i picked on up 650w pretty cheap
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.