Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI
Videocards - AMD - ATI AMD Radeon graphics cards. Do you have one or want to buy one? Use this forum to discuss anything concerning products using Radeon graphics cards, CrossFireX, from Radeon 9800 to HD 6900


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
7970 back up pc
Old
  (#1)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 7970 back up pc - 03-23-2013, 23:03 | posts: 17,148 | Location: New Jersey, USA

I just got this in the mail in a trade. Ran driver cleaner junk for nvidia drivers. Installed latest driver and both heaven and valley both go to black screen exactly the same time 4 seconds or so necessitating a reboot. It is a powercolor vortex with core clock 1100. My 480 runs flawlessly in the rig so I don't think its a psu problem. Its a PC p and c 7520 Watt with 60 amps on the 12v rail
   
 
Old
  (#2)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950 CFX + Qnix QX2710
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: SB Z/Aune T1/AD700/DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 03-23-2013, 23:46 | posts: 24,321 | Location: Hampshire UK

what is the memory clock? is it overclocked?
   
Old
  (#3)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 03-24-2013, 00:10 | posts: 17,148 | Location: New Jersey, USA

1100/1425 default settings
   
Old
  (#4)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950 CFX + Qnix QX2710
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: SB Z/Aune T1/AD700/DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 03-24-2013, 00:43 | posts: 24,321 | Location: Hampshire UK

hmmm. try different drivers, try fresh Windows install if you can. try forcing constant voltages in msia.
   
 
Old
  (#5)
IcE
Ancient Guru
 
IcE's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 780
Processor: i5 3570K
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: 16GB G.Skill Sniper 1866
Soundcard: Soundblaster Z + CAL
PSU: Enermax NAXN 82+ 750W
Default 03-24-2013, 01:42 | posts: 8,476 | Location: London, Ontario

What a wonderful first experience for an AMD product, eh Tommy? Lmao.
   
Old
  (#6)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 03-24-2013, 02:03 | posts: 17,148 | Location: New Jersey, USA

no its not hopefully I can troubleshoot it with some help here, because this card has a lot of horsepower
   
Old
  (#7)
Lowki
Master Guru
 
Lowki's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970/7950 crossfirex
Processor: i5 3570k
Mainboard: msi z77a-ga45
Memory: corsair vengence 8gb
Soundcard: sound blaster z
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 03-24-2013, 02:14 | posts: 502 | Location: miami

Clean windows install should do it. Sucks but its the surest way to attain stability with a new system configuration.
   
Old
  (#8)
Darkest
Ancient Guru
 
Darkest's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950
Processor: i5 3570k
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77 D3H
Memory: G-Skill Ripjaws 8gb 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1 + HD650/DT990 Pro
PSU: OCZ ZS 550w
Default 03-24-2013, 02:39 | posts: 6,689

According to newegg reviews that card has an almost one in three failure rate from verified buyers. While statistics on sites like that aren't fantastic to go by, that's still a pretty high margin. Hopefully it is something that is easily fixed. Before trying a fresh Windows install I'd try it in another PC.
   
Old
  (#9)
killer_939
Maha Guru
 
killer_939's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon 7950 @ 1100/1500
Processor: i5 2500k @ 4.6GHz 1.36v
Mainboard: ASRock P67 Extreme6
Memory: 8gb DDR3 1600MHz
Soundcard: Xonar Essence STX + AD700
PSU: 720w
Default 03-24-2013, 02:41 | posts: 2,599 | Location: Australia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkest View Post
According to newegg reviews that card has an almost one in three failure rate from verified buyers.
Powercolor ftl.

edit: I would replace it under warranty, sell the replacement and get a sapphire 79x0 if it's just for backup.

Last edited by killer_939; 03-24-2013 at 02:44.
   
Old
  (#10)
IcE
Ancient Guru
 
IcE's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 780
Processor: i5 3570K
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: 16GB G.Skill Sniper 1866
Soundcard: Soundblaster Z + CAL
PSU: Enermax NAXN 82+ 750W
Default 03-24-2013, 02:49 | posts: 8,476 | Location: London, Ontario

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
no its not hopefully I can troubleshoot it with some help here, because this card has a lot of horsepower
If it's losing signal during 3D games/benchmarks, it's almost assuredly defective. Like, 99% guarantee. At least it's an easy diagnosis. With mine, it was a bit harder to figure out.
   
 
Old
  (#11)
millibyte
Master Guru
 
millibyte's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970 cfx
Processor: i5 2500K @4.5 ghz
Mainboard: Asus PZ68-V Gen3
Memory: 8 GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair HX750
Default 03-24-2013, 02:54 | posts: 386 | Location: Novyy Yeropol

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkest View Post
According to newegg reviews that card has an almost one in three failure rate from verified buyers. While statistics on sites like that aren't fantastic to go by, that's still a pretty high margin. Hopefully it is something that is easily fixed. Before trying a fresh Windows install I'd try it in another PC.
Wow, that's pretty awful.

@TK, is the card visibly sagging in the PCI express slot? Mine used to BSOD until I supported it with a homemade stand and I haven't had any trouble since.
   
Old
  (#12)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 03-24-2013, 05:18 | posts: 23,465 | Location: NZ

Dude why did you buy a Powercolor? They always have vram problems.....the Vortex is factory overclocked so try reducing the memory clock.

Can you return it?

Last edited by Pill Monster; 03-24-2013 at 05:36.
   
Old
  (#13)
cowie
Ancient Guru
 
cowie's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX
Processor: 2600k
Mainboard: gigabyte p67 UD7
Memory: 2x4g 1600 ddr3
Soundcard:
PSU: pcp&c 1200 watt
Default 03-24-2013, 09:51 | posts: 11,740 | Location: new jersey

Quote:
Originally Posted by IcE View Post
If it's losing signal during 3D games/benchmarks, it's almost assuredly defective. Like, 99% guarantee. At least it's an easy diagnosis. With mine, it was a bit harder to figure out.
It worked fine before i sent it out

is dx9/dx10 ok tommy

And yes he can return it
   
Old
  (#14)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 7970CF@QX2710 1440p 110Hz
Processor: i7 930 @3.61GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P6X58D Premium
Memory: 6GB Corsair Dominators
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 03-24-2013, 10:38 | posts: 2,884 | Location: Lebanon

What are the GPU usage, VRM temperatures, and voltages in those 4 seconds? Can you catch them before it black screens?
   
Old
  (#15)
IcE
Ancient Guru
 
IcE's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 780
Processor: i5 3570K
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: 16GB G.Skill Sniper 1866
Soundcard: Soundblaster Z + CAL
PSU: Enermax NAXN 82+ 750W
Default 03-24-2013, 11:18 | posts: 8,476 | Location: London, Ontario

Quote:
Originally Posted by cowie View Post
It worked fine before i sent it out

is dx9/dx10 ok tommy

And yes he can return it
Interesting then....

Maybe something happened in transit? ESD damage perhaps? I know you wouldn't knowingly send anyone something that didn't work, but what he's describing is an extremely bad sign.
   
Old
  (#16)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 03-24-2013, 12:33 | posts: 17,148 | Location: New Jersey, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by cowie View Post
It worked fine before i sent it out

is dx9/dx10 ok tommy

And yes he can return it
Only tried dx 11 I will try that out.
dx9 same, latest mb bios. qx9650 oc and stock same, dl many windows updates and will try again
dx says its updated to latest

Last edited by ---TK---; 03-24-2013 at 14:08.
   
Old
  (#17)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950 CFX + Qnix QX2710
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: SB Z/Aune T1/AD700/DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 03-24-2013, 14:23 | posts: 24,321 | Location: Hampshire UK

have you tried any games?
   
Old
  (#18)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 03-24-2013, 14:29 | posts: 17,148 | Location: New Jersey, USA

yeah same, I still got some nvidia junk left over like physx, after the windows updates finish going to uninstall and run driver cleaner and try again
   
Old
  (#19)
cowie
Ancient Guru
 
cowie's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX
Processor: 2600k
Mainboard: gigabyte p67 UD7
Memory: 2x4g 1600 ddr3
Soundcard:
PSU: pcp&c 1200 watt
Default 03-24-2013, 14:55 | posts: 11,740 | Location: new jersey

Well i hope you can get it to work man that was a good card.
Tommy if all else fails take cooler off to take off the back plate put cooler back on and try again.
Dont have anything else besides gpuz open to monitor vrm and core temps(no osd).


Really sucky night this card is down and kovi is down....it cant get much worser
   
Old
  (#20)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 03-24-2013, 15:00 | posts: 17,148 | Location: New Jersey, USA

Ill chuck her in the main rig later to see if I can reproduce the black screen if I dont get her going on this. I dont want to reinstall windows if that aint the prob
   
Old
  (#21)
Lowki
Master Guru
 
Lowki's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970/7950 crossfirex
Processor: i5 3570k
Mainboard: msi z77a-ga45
Memory: corsair vengence 8gb
Soundcard: sound blaster z
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 03-24-2013, 15:55 | posts: 502 | Location: miami

Let us know what you think about it once you get it running.
   
Old
  (#22)
Fox2232
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Accelero7970 1125/1500MHz
Processor: i5-2500k@4.5GHz
Mainboard: MSI Z68A-GD80[g3]
Memory: 4x4GB 1600MHz 9,9,9,24
Soundcard: Essence ST / AKG K-701
PSU: FSP Gold series 750W
Default 03-24-2013, 20:16 | posts: 1,172 | Location: EU, CZ, Brno

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
Ill chuck her in the main rig later to see if I can reproduce the black screen if I dont get her going on this. I dont want to reinstall windows if that aint the prob
Reinstall of windows takes 15minutes, software/drivers another 15.

ICE solved it by his way, just sent it back without trying to do clean OS install.
A lot of people gave him advices to try. Well, I have no idea why he asked for help anyway.
Quote:
Originally Posted by IcE View Post
I reseated the card and checked a few things. If it happens again, back it goes.
And 2 days later he had GTX680.

Transition from nV to AMD or back may be problematic as are sometimes updated or downgrading of drivers once you manage to get running nV+AMD in one system w/ nV as PhysX card.

Here on guru3d we are people with abilities...
So use them, reinstall OS, if it's W7 then update to SP1. And after that install new drivers since they require SP1. If it's broken, at least you would know that it is.
   
Old
  (#23)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 03-24-2013, 20:33 | posts: 17,148 | Location: New Jersey, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fox2232 View Post
Reinstall of windows takes 15minutes, software/drivers another 15.

ICE solved it by his way, just sent it back without trying to do clean OS install.
A lot of people gave him advices to try. Well, I have no idea why he asked for help anyway.

And 2 days later he had GTX680.

Transition from nV to AMD or back may be problematic as are sometimes updated or downgrading of drivers once you manage to get running nV+AMD in one system w/ nV as PhysX card.

Here on guru3d we are people with abilities...
So use them, reinstall OS, if it's W7 then update to SP1. And after that install new drivers since they require SP1. If it's broken, at least you would know that it is.
its not a windows problem, I duplicated the problem on 2 pc`s.
maybe it got banged around during shipping cus I know cowie would not of sent me a bad card, he sent it to me without anything in return on a try first basis

Last edited by ---TK---; 03-24-2013 at 20:39.
   
Old
  (#24)
Fox2232
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Accelero7970 1125/1500MHz
Processor: i5-2500k@4.5GHz
Mainboard: MSI Z68A-GD80[g3]
Memory: 4x4GB 1600MHz 9,9,9,24
Soundcard: Essence ST / AKG K-701
PSU: FSP Gold series 750W
Default 03-24-2013, 20:41 | posts: 1,172 | Location: EU, CZ, Brno

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
its not a windows problem, I duplicated the problem on 2 pc`s
Was previous card in 2nd test system AMD? But yes, if it does exactly same thing, it may be cold contact at some VRM or along the lane not providing enough current.

I always wonder about behavior of such system. (each is bit different)
Does sound loops when it happens, or system continue to respond w/ just unresponsive GA.
Not that it really matters. One of test would be limit card to much lower clock in 3D.

Edit: For things between known and electrons I have backup image of clean OS which I can deploy on USB stick/HDD to do testing.

Last edited by Fox2232; 03-24-2013 at 20:44.
   
Old
  (#25)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 03-24-2013, 20:57 | posts: 17,148 | Location: New Jersey, USA

thanks everybody for the help
mod: please close thread
   
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.