Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Want to talk about anything Hardware related? This is the place, you can discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
So confused please assist?
Old
  (#1)
Improv
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Patriot 8gb DDR3 ram
Processor: Intel core i5 2500k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default So confused please assist? - 03-23-2013, 06:06 | posts: 63

Hey guys I am really confused about something.

So I just bought a Maximus V Formula and i7 3770k with windows 8

My question is it seems that my CPU is stuck at its turbo speed of 3900MHz.

However, if I set my power options to balanced as opposed to max it starts to make use of the power saving features such as EIST.

Now what I'm confused about is in my last build even if I had power settings set to max power it would still downclock when it wasn't being stressed.

Is something wrong? Or is this normal.

Thank you
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
IcE
Don Snow
 
IcE's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 780
Processor: Intel i7 4790K
Mainboard: MSI Z97 Gaming 5
Memory: 8GB G.Skill Sniper 1866
Soundcard: SBZ + Aune T1 + CAL
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 750 G2
Default 03-23-2013, 06:10 | posts: 9,422 | Location: Toledo

If Windows can, it will keep the CPU from downclocking. By default the max performance profile has the "minimum CPU" setting set to 100%. What you're seeing is normal. Set it to high performance, customize, and set minimum CPU to 5% instead of 100%. Balanced has link state power management on by default which you don't want.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Improv
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Patriot 8gb DDR3 ram
Processor: Intel core i5 2500k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 03-23-2013, 06:30 | posts: 63

Okay thank you very much. I just don't remember this happening with my Win 7 build with a i5 2500k.

Max Performance still had it downclock.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
IcE
Don Snow
 
IcE's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 780
Processor: Intel i7 4790K
Mainboard: MSI Z97 Gaming 5
Memory: 8GB G.Skill Sniper 1866
Soundcard: SBZ + Aune T1 + CAL
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 750 G2
Default 03-23-2013, 06:37 | posts: 9,422 | Location: Toledo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Improv View Post
Okay thank you very much. I just don't remember this happening with my Win 7 build with a i5 2500k.

Max Performance still had it downclock.
It shouldn't have, is the thing. Not sure why it was doing that before, but who knows. You may have had some other software overriding Windows.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Improv
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Patriot 8gb DDR3 ram
Processor: Intel core i5 2500k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 03-23-2013, 06:47 | posts: 63

Thanks mate =)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
SLI-756
Ancient Guru
 
SLI-756's Avatar
 
Videocard: 760 SLI 4gb 1215/ 6800
Processor: Devil's Canyon i5 @4.8
Mainboard: gigabyte z97 G1 Sniper
Memory: 8gb dominator gt @2400
Soundcard: asus xonar dx
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
Default 03-23-2013, 08:49 | posts: 7,606 | Location: Sunny Scotland

What IcE said, ASus mobos have always looked way too complicated to me, no doubt there'll be a setting in there somewhere if it's not windows causing it.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.