Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI
Videocards - AMD - ATI AMD Radeon graphics cards. Do you have one or want to buy one? Use this forum to discuss anything concerning products using Radeon graphics cards, CrossFireX, from Radeon 9800 to HD 6900


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
7970 standard vs Ghz Edition
Old
  (#1)
brutlern
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Asus GTX760 DirectCUII
Processor: Intel i5-2500K @ 4 Ghz
Mainboard: Asrock Z68 Ex3 Gen3
Memory: 2 x 4 GB DDR3 1600Mhz
Soundcard: onboard Realtek HD audio
PSU: Corsair VX550
Default 7970 standard vs Ghz Edition - 03-21-2013, 12:06 | posts: 164 | Location: Romania

Other than stock clock being at 1000 mhz, is there any other difference? If I OC a standard 7970 to 1000, will it get the same performance? (obviously mem clocks oc'd as well) If so, is there a reason to pay the premium for the Ghz Edition?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 03-21-2013, 12:20 | posts: 23,872 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by brutlern View Post
Other than stock clock being at 1000 mhz, is there any other difference? If I OC a standard 7970 to 1000, will it get the same performance? (obviously mem clocks oc'd as well) If so, is there a reason to pay the premium for the Ghz Edition?
Only difference is the clock speed.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Mr Terry Turnip
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Intel iGPU
Processor: Intel 4670K @4.3Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Z87 Pro
Memory: 8GB Corsair
Soundcard: ATI HD Audio
PSU: Corsair RM850W
Default 03-21-2013, 12:28 | posts: 247 | Location: UK

Your basically buying a guaranteed clock speed, which is why I payed extra for 1100Mhz.

If I purchased a standard card the chances of me getting two which would clock to 1150+ would be so small no words can describe (in all my years of PC building I have never had one single ANYTHING that is not bare average at best, that's CPU's GPU's)

I would rather pay a bit more and be 100% I am able to get minimum 1100Mhz.

SUPPOSEDLY the Ghz editions are cherry picked however likely a load of ballz not to mention a lot is simply BIOS vcore.

OH HI PILL - hows the JL obsession today? when it wears off a bit I put 100 quid you regret that thread. LOL
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 7970CF @ Qnix 1440p 110Hz
Processor: i7 930
Mainboard: ASUS P6X58D Premium
Memory: 6GB Corsair Dominators
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default 03-21-2013, 12:29 | posts: 3,156 | Location: Lebanon

As far as I know, the two cards are exactly the same except for a Tahiti XT2 chip on the GHz edition that runs at a rated 1000MHz. The chips *should* be different, though both cards seem to OC to similar levels, given all things equal.

I haven't seen GHz editions have the particularly higher OCs out there.

The memory chips, well they run at a stock 1500MHz instead of 1375MHz, but I haven't seen anyone mentioning those memory chips are different. If they are different, then they might OC to different levels (given there isn't much tolerance in VRAM compared to core), and if they are the same, then this is a green light that you can run your memory chips on the standard 7970 at 1500MHz, given that the memory controller hasn't undergone any changes (which it shouldn't have).


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Terry Turnip View Post
Your basically buying a guaranteed clock speed, which is why I payed extra for 1100Mhz.

If I purchased a standard card the chances of me getting two which would clock to 1150+ would be so small no words can describe (in all my years of PC building I have never had one single ANYTHING that is not bare average at best, that's CPU's GPU's)

I would rather pay a bit more and be 100% I am able to get minimum 1100Mhz.

SUPPOSEDLY the Ghz editions are cherry picked however likely a load of ballz not to mention a lot is simply BIOS vcore.
The GHz editions will not necessarily clock further than standard 7970s. If they have a lower ASIC and higher stock voltage, it would mean they overclock worse without additional voltage.

If they had a higher ASIC and lower stock voltage (better yields related to lower stock voltage?), then they would overclock better at stock voltage and worse with OV than low ASIC 7970s generally.

I got the 7970s because I knew what they OC to and I wasn't sure, before the release of the GHz Edition, how far they overclock. There was going to be quite a wait for availability too.

Last edited by yasamoka; 03-21-2013 at 12:31.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Lowki
Master Guru
 
Lowki's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970/7950 crossfirex
Processor: i5 3570k
Mainboard: msi z77a-ga45
Memory: corsair vengence 8gb
Soundcard: sound blaster z
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 03-21-2013, 12:31 | posts: 506 | Location: miami

Also the memory clock is up to 1500 from 1375. I have the ghz BIOS in my second BIOS bank so i can tell you the core clock speed stays at 1050 90% of the time.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
brutlern
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Asus GTX760 DirectCUII
Processor: Intel i5-2500K @ 4 Ghz
Mainboard: Asrock Z68 Ex3 Gen3
Memory: 2 x 4 GB DDR3 1600Mhz
Soundcard: onboard Realtek HD audio
PSU: Corsair VX550
Default 03-21-2013, 12:36 | posts: 164 | Location: Romania

Ok, so there is nothing extra under the hood? just cherry picked factory oc'd cards?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Deathchild
Maha Guru
 
Deathchild's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950CFX+Qnix2710
Processor: 3770K@4.8GHz delid
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77X D3H 1.1
Memory: C Vengeance 8GB 1866
Soundcard: VIA VT2021
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 760W
Default 03-21-2013, 12:38 | posts: 1,922 | Location: Estonia

There is no difference. They're just pre factory-OCed (and come with a higher voltage - another bios). And also they may be cherry picked.

There's no point to pay for the extra, just get a normal 7970 one and OC it yourself.

I have a 7950 (1200/1700) and it pretty much almost performs the same as a maxed out OC 7970. The difference is always at best 400-600 points in 3dmark11. Anyone got anything to compare with? Any 7970 users with their max OC, how much have you gotten for a 3dmark11 graphics score?

Last edited by Deathchild; 03-21-2013 at 12:43.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 7970CF @ Qnix 1440p 110Hz
Processor: i7 930
Mainboard: ASUS P6X58D Premium
Memory: 6GB Corsair Dominators
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default 03-21-2013, 12:41 | posts: 3,156 | Location: Lebanon

I just said:
Quote:
As far as I know, the two cards are exactly the same except for a Tahiti XT2 chip on the GHz edition that runs at a rated 1000MHz. The chips *should* be different, though both cards seem to OC to similar levels, given all things equal.
The 7970 has a Tahiti XT chip.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
brutlern
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Asus GTX760 DirectCUII
Processor: Intel i5-2500K @ 4 Ghz
Mainboard: Asrock Z68 Ex3 Gen3
Memory: 2 x 4 GB DDR3 1600Mhz
Soundcard: onboard Realtek HD audio
PSU: Corsair VX550
Default 03-21-2013, 12:41 | posts: 164 | Location: Romania

Ok, thanks guys, appreciate the quick enlightenment.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Predator
Newbie
 
Predator's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 780 Gaming @1100/1600
Processor: 2600k @ 5000 Mhz
Mainboard: Gigabyte z77 UD3H
Memory: GSkill RipjawsX 16 Gb
Soundcard: Creative Titanium HD
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 1000W
Default 03-21-2013, 20:59 | posts: 19 | Location: Spain

Non ghz version here, Sapphire Dual-X (one of the cheapest 7970 you can find) and i'm running a solid 1100/1600 overclock across any game at stock voltages and keeping it under 50șC (full load) with fan at auto

there's no point imo to spend the extra for a "guaranteed" 1000 mhz clocked card, they are supposed to be binned but that doesn't mean a regular one cannot achieve same or more clocks, i didn't hear about any single 7970 card that cannot hit 1ghz

save your $$ and just go for a "normal" one, choose one with a good cooling solution and you're set

i encourage you to grab a Dual-X from Sapphire

Last edited by Predator; 03-21-2013 at 21:11.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Deathchild
Maha Guru
 
Deathchild's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950CFX+Qnix2710
Processor: 3770K@4.8GHz delid
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77X D3H 1.1
Memory: C Vengeance 8GB 1866
Soundcard: VIA VT2021
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 760W
Default 03-22-2013, 12:19 | posts: 1,922 | Location: Estonia

Yeah they seem to be pretty solid.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
millibyte
Master Guru
 
millibyte's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970 cfx
Processor: i5 2500K @4.5 ghz
Mainboard: Asus PZ68-V Gen3
Memory: 8 GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair HX750
Default 03-23-2013, 15:23 | posts: 462 | Location: Novyy Yeropol

Quote:
Originally Posted by Predator View Post
Non ghz version here, Sapphire Dual-X (one of the cheapest 7970 you can find) and i'm running a solid 1100/1600 overclock across any game at stock voltages and keeping it under 50șC (full load) with fan at auto
Seriously?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950 CFX + Qnix QX2710
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: SB Z/Aune T1/AD700/DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 03-23-2013, 15:29 | posts: 26,049 | Location: Hampshire UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by millibyte View Post
Seriously?
don't think so either.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Darkest
Ancient Guru
 
Darkest's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950
Processor: i5 3570k
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77 D3H
Memory: G-Skill Ripjaws 8gb 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1 + HD650/DT990 Pro
PSU: OCZ ZS 550w
Default 03-23-2013, 16:41 | posts: 7,392

Maybe he has a lot of case fans? Although I find that hard to believe under full load, would like to see temps after a few loops of Heaven or some such. Still, he's right in recommending Sapphire cards. They don't have a bad 7900 card out at the moment, you'll get decent results from whichever you choose.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.5Ghz HT On
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 03-23-2013, 17:19 | posts: 18,003 | Location: New Jersey, USA

Maybe he plays pacman or something with that load temp
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
IcE
Ancient Guru
 
IcE's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 780
Processor: i5 3570K @4.0
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme 6
Memory: 8GB G.Skill Sniper 1866
Soundcard: SBZ + Aune T1 + CAL
PSU: Enermax NAXN 82+ 750W
Default 03-23-2013, 19:46 | posts: 9,010 | Location: Toledo

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
Maybe he plays pacman or something with that load temp
In b4 he tells us how his computer has lots of copper keeping his temps down.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950 CFX + Qnix QX2710
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: SB Z/Aune T1/AD700/DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 03-23-2013, 19:58 | posts: 26,049 | Location: Hampshire UK

haha, that guy was hilarious. real life hero/expert haha. 50C would be possible with a great case and lots of fun in some less demanding games. I only hit 57C max playing ME2, still, I have 6 case fans and a vapor-x with pretty mild overclock. under proper load it goes over 60C of course. so yeah, 50C definitely sounds too low. unless he has copper. of course :p

Last edited by eclap; 03-23-2013 at 20:01.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
millibyte
Master Guru
 
millibyte's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970 cfx
Processor: i5 2500K @4.5 ghz
Mainboard: Asus PZ68-V Gen3
Memory: 8 GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair HX750
Default 03-23-2013, 21:02 | posts: 462 | Location: Novyy Yeropol

Why make things up, though? I have the same card and it's great although I think the vapor x cooler is a few degrees better. I run a moderate overclock of 1125/1575 and usually cap games at 60fps but my temps get into the mid 60's. At full load it gets close to 70 degrees and I'm sure it will go up in the hotter months.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950 CFX + Qnix QX2710
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: SB Z/Aune T1/AD700/DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 03-23-2013, 21:19 | posts: 26,049 | Location: Hampshire UK

don't think he knows what load means or he monitors it wrong.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
Predator
Newbie
 
Predator's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 780 Gaming @1100/1600
Processor: 2600k @ 5000 Mhz
Mainboard: Gigabyte z77 UD3H
Memory: GSkill RipjawsX 16 Gb
Soundcard: Creative Titanium HD
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 1000W
Default 03-24-2013, 10:32 | posts: 19 | Location: Spain

Quote:
Originally Posted by eclap View Post
don't think he knows what load means or he monitors it wrong.
lol what's up with all this???

are you telling me i don't know what load means? i have hold several overclocking World Records in the past, super pi, 3DMark, Aquamark, etc, etc, i know how to monitor temps and i know how to keep my computer cooled down
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950 CFX + Qnix QX2710
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: SB Z/Aune T1/AD700/DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 03-24-2013, 10:46 | posts: 26,049 | Location: Hampshire UK

show us some pics of inside your case and some proof that you only get 50C max load temps. it's not just me who finds those temps a bit low. and I don't know you so excuse me thinking you don't know what you're talking about. sometimes people just don't.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
brutlern
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Asus GTX760 DirectCUII
Processor: Intel i5-2500K @ 4 Ghz
Mainboard: Asrock Z68 Ex3 Gen3
Memory: 2 x 4 GB DDR3 1600Mhz
Soundcard: onboard Realtek HD audio
PSU: Corsair VX550
Default 03-24-2013, 10:59 | posts: 164 | Location: Romania

You guys have gone a little bit off topic a bit

But here's a small piece of information I didn't know: "Tahiti XT2 chip on the GHz edition". So there is a difference. Interesting.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
IcE
Ancient Guru
 
IcE's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 780
Processor: i5 3570K @4.0
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme 6
Memory: 8GB G.Skill Sniper 1866
Soundcard: SBZ + Aune T1 + CAL
PSU: Enermax NAXN 82+ 750W
Default 03-24-2013, 11:19 | posts: 9,010 | Location: Toledo

Quote:
Originally Posted by brutlern View Post
You guys have gone a little bit off topic a bit

But here's a small piece of information I didn't know: "Tahiti XT2 chip on the GHz edition". So there is a difference. Interesting.
It's most likely an internal binning designation used by AMD rather than an actual different design. My two cents.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 7970CF @ Qnix 1440p 110Hz
Processor: i7 930
Mainboard: ASUS P6X58D Premium
Memory: 6GB Corsair Dominators
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default 03-24-2013, 12:06 | posts: 3,156 | Location: Lebanon

Quote:
Originally Posted by IcE View Post
It's most likely an internal binning designation used by AMD rather than an actual different design. My two cents.
Yes, it's definitely not a new design. Just better yields.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
bboy-mass
Master Guru
 
bboy-mass's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 780 SLI (3Dv2)
Processor: Intel 2600K OC 4.6G HT of
Mainboard: P8Z68 Deluxe
Memory: 8G G.Skill Ripjaw
Soundcard: X-FI
PSU: Corsair AX1200
Default 07-21-2013, 09:23 | posts: 338 | Location: Birmingham

Hello.

Im currently running an msi lightning 7970 (not boosted edition) and a HIS icq 7970 (not ghz edition). Im returning msi card because it keeps overheating and im concerned that msi may credit me with a voucher to purchase another msi card. If they do im going to end up with a boosted lightning card and my standard HIS.

So will I run into problems mixing 2 types of chip?

They may have access to old stock, but I dont think so.

Any thoughts?

Regards.
Bboy
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.