Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Frontpage news
Frontpage news Perhaps you have some news to report or want to check out the latest Guru3D headlines and comment ? Check it in here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Corsair Vengeance K70 Mechanical Gaming Keyboard
Old
  (#1)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 4770K
Mainboard: Z77
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default Corsair Vengeance K70 Mechanical Gaming Keyboard - 03-21-2013, 07:26 | posts: 20,525 | Location: Guru3D testlab

Corsair announced the Vengeance K70 fully mechanical gaming keyboard. The new Vengeance K70 gaming keyboard is built on a rugged, brushed, aluminum chassis and features highly responsive Cherry MX Red...

Corsair Vengeance K70 Mechanical Gaming Keyboard
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Fusion_XT
Maha Guru
 
Fusion_XT's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX TITAN HO
Processor: Intel i7 980X HO
Mainboard: Gigabyte X58A-UD7
Memory: 6GB Corsair Dominator 1T
Soundcard: AuzenTech Forte w/ Z-5400
PSU: Corsair HX1000
Default 03-21-2013, 09:39 | posts: 812 | Location: Netherlands

No dedicated palm rest and WSAD, 12345 keys ?!

I have the K60 and wanted backlight keys!, now they do have it but not the rest ....... Corsair deliverd .. right
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950 CFX + Qnix QX2710
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: SB Z/Aune T1/AD700/DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 03-21-2013, 10:32 | posts: 25,848 | Location: Hampshire UK

no macro keys?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Mato87
Member Guru
 
Mato87's Avatar
 
Videocard: SLI Gigabyte GTX 670 2GB
Processor: core i5-3570K ~ 4.6 ghz
Mainboard: Asus Maximus V Formula
Memory: Kingston 16GB DDR3 2133
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium Champion
PSU: SS 860 W XP F3 platinum
Default 03-21-2013, 11:50 | posts: 126 | Location: on planet earth

Quote:
Originally Posted by eclap View Post
no macro keys?
that is the point of this keyboard.
A few months back I asked their customer support service if they will make a backlit mechanical keyboard without the macro keys, and voila !
It is a shame though, because I went for the gigabyte osmium aivia instead a few months back.
But this keyboard looks neat and tidy, just as I like it.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Loobyluggs
Maha Guru
 
Loobyluggs's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 670 FTW
Processor: Intel 3770k
Mainboard: Asus P8z77-v pro
Memory: DDR3 16GB Corsair
Soundcard: Creative Labs Recon 3D
PSU: Corsair
Default 03-21-2013, 12:55 | posts: 1,130 | Location: UK

Nice look to it, but that final picture suggest to me that snack food will get under the keys and jam.

The Logitech mech has a nicer look to it, but I plopped for the TT G-unit about a year back.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
drac
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX780 ACX SLI
Processor: i7 2600K
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 PRO V3
Memory: Geil 16GB 1866mhz
Soundcard: Essence STX II/G4ME One
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 03-22-2013, 04:20 | posts: 1,335 | Location: Australia, QLD

"When we launched the Vengeance K60, customers loved the look and quality, but some wanted a backlit version,"

lol yeah right, more like you couldn't fix the k60 repeating key bug so just made a new keyboard.

On a side note, there is supposed to be a firmware fix to address this bug, I'm still waiting. If anyone has found it let me know lol.

Ok ignore all that. Not sure how I missed this!

http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?t=115831

Last edited by drac; 03-22-2013 at 04:35.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
k1net1cs
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: Radeon HD 5650m (550/800)
Processor: Intel Core i5-520M 2.4GHz
Mainboard: Sony VAIO VPCEA16FG
Memory: 2x4GB CMSO4GX3M1A1333C9
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar U3
PSU: n/a
Default 03-22-2013, 07:01 | posts: 3,714

Nothing but Brown ones for me; Reds are too clickety.




Interested in folding with fellow gurus? Click here to get you started!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
-=WolverinE=-
Member Guru
 
-=WolverinE=-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus GTX560Ti DirectCu II
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K
Mainboard: Asrock P67 Extreme6
Memory: Corsair Dominator 8GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar Essence STX
PSU: Fractal Design Newton R3
Default 03-22-2013, 07:38 | posts: 68

The K60 was so horrible I returned it the day I got it. I'm using Qpad MK-50 with MX Red Switches and the feel is a lot smoother even though it's a cheaper keyboard. Never had issues with it except that my WASD cluster is starting to fade slowly over 6 (or more) months of use. I was looking at the Logitech mech, but it's too expensive for me... We'll see...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Fusion_XT
Maha Guru
 
Fusion_XT's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX TITAN HO
Processor: Intel i7 980X HO
Mainboard: Gigabyte X58A-UD7
Memory: 6GB Corsair Dominator 1T
Soundcard: AuzenTech Forte w/ Z-5400
PSU: Corsair HX1000
Default 03-22-2013, 07:44 | posts: 812 | Location: Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by drac View Post
"When we launched the Vengeance K60, customers loved the look and quality, but some wanted a backlit version,"

lol yeah right, more like you couldn't fix the k60 repeating key bug so just made a new keyboard.

On a side note, there is supposed to be a firmware fix to address this bug, I'm still waiting. If anyone has found it let me know lol.

Ok ignore all that. Not sure how I missed this!

http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?t=115831
Repeat issue? Never heard or experienced it and i have a K60.

Its one of the best keyboards i ever ownd !
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
drac
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX780 ACX SLI
Processor: i7 2600K
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 PRO V3
Memory: Geil 16GB 1866mhz
Soundcard: Essence STX II/G4ME One
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 03-22-2013, 08:01 | posts: 1,335 | Location: Australia, QLD

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fusion_XT View Post
Repeat issue? Never heard or experienced it and i have a K60.

Its one of the best keyboards i ever ownd !
Your lucky It was annoying as hell!

Only took a year or something for them to firmware fix it. But yeah, other than this problem, love this kb.
This certainly doesn't change my opinion of Corsair, that they are one of the best brands out there and this is a very rare occurrence.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
drac
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX780 ACX SLI
Processor: i7 2600K
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 PRO V3
Memory: Geil 16GB 1866mhz
Soundcard: Essence STX II/G4ME One
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 03-22-2013, 08:07 | posts: 1,335 | Location: Australia, QLD

Quote:
Originally Posted by k1net1cs View Post
Nothing but Brown ones for me; Reds are too clickety.
Erm, red has no tactile feedback or click. What your hearing must be the keys bottoming out. I use Rubber O-Ring Switch Dampeners on my keys to stop that, got em from wasdkeyboards.com.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.