Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI
Videocards - AMD - ATI AMD Radeon graphics cards. Do you have one or want to buy one? Use this forum to discuss anything concerning products using Radeon graphics cards, CrossFireX, from Radeon 9800 to HD 6900


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
High latency - boost problem?
Old
  (#1)
3dPlayer
Banned
 
Videocard: Have
Processor: a
Mainboard: good
Memory: day
Soundcard: or
PSU: not
Default High latency - boost problem? - 03-18-2013, 18:51 | posts: 1,824

Has this been fixed?The cause of the problem was behind the boost tech?

I'm talking about this:

Quote:
13.2 beta 4 vs 313.96
16.02.2013
http://translate.google.com.br/trans...2F7%2F&act=url
   
 
Old
  (#2)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 03-18-2013, 19:26 | posts: 23,950 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by dr.noob View Post
Has this been fixed?The cause of the problem was behind the boost tech?

I'm talking about this:



http://translate.google.com.br/trans...2F7%2F&act=url
Try reading the whole article.

Quote:
However, can not generally say that the weaknesses identified in the frame latency are always noticeable and thus negatively affect the gameplay. So we can confirm the resultant using the frame latency chart image in Far Cry 3 is not, for example - the Radeon HD 7970 Edition GHz is not noticeably worse than the GeForce GTX 680th
...
   
Old
  (#3)
IcE
Ancient Guru
 
IcE's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 780
Processor: i5 3570K @4.0
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: 8GB G.Skill Sniper 1866
Soundcard: SBZ + Aune T1 + CAL
PSU: Enermax NAXN 82+ 750W
Default 03-18-2013, 19:46 | posts: 9,051 | Location: Toledo

Why do you bring this up constantly? You don't even have an AMD card, I don't understand why this is such an issue to you.
   
Old
  (#4)
3dPlayer
Banned
 
Videocard: Have
Processor: a
Mainboard: good
Memory: day
Soundcard: or
PSU: not
Default 03-18-2013, 20:08 | posts: 1,824

How do you know i don't have one?One month ago i had one HD7850 2GB and i changed to Nvidia because of the flickering problem.

I'm gathering feedback, that's all.

And i was trying to get a point in the other thread, it seems no one is denying the possibility that this was not solved yet.

Last edited by 3dPlayer; 03-18-2013 at 20:15.
   
 
Old
  (#5)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.5Ghz HT On
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 03-18-2013, 20:16 | posts: 18,098 | Location: New Jersey, USA

that article is older than the other article from march 2013
   
Old
  (#6)
3dPlayer
Banned
 
Videocard: Have
Processor: a
Mainboard: good
Memory: day
Soundcard: or
PSU: not
Default 03-18-2013, 20:21 | posts: 1,824

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
that article is older than the other article from march 2013
That's correct, it's about one month older.But it's still 13.2 beta which is not that old.
   
Old
  (#7)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.5Ghz HT On
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 03-18-2013, 20:30 | posts: 18,098 | Location: New Jersey, USA

is there a specif reason you wanna know if its fixed or not?
   
Old
  (#8)
3dPlayer
Banned
 
Videocard: Have
Processor: a
Mainboard: good
Memory: day
Soundcard: or
PSU: not
Default 03-18-2013, 20:35 | posts: 1,824

Actually there is, i wanna know if suggesting AMD cards for a gaming build, for a hardcore player is a safe choice or not, because every penny counts in Portugal.And after having that flickering problem and noticing that my GTS450 vs 7850 was faster loading textures on Dishonored i'm am still not convinced even after the thread i opened(this one) some weeks ago.
   
Old
  (#9)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.5Ghz HT On
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 03-18-2013, 20:41 | posts: 18,098 | Location: New Jersey, USA

dunno man this thread aint going to end well
   
Old
  (#10)
Fox2232
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Accelero7970 1125/1500MHz
Processor: i5-2500k@4.5GHz NH-D14
Mainboard: MSI Z68A-GD80[g3]
Memory: 4x4GB 1600MHz 9,9,9,24
Soundcard: Essence ST / AKG K-701
PSU: FSP Gold series 750W
Default 03-18-2013, 21:13 | posts: 1,363 | Location: EU, CZ, Brno

Quote:
Originally Posted by dr.noob View Post
Actually there is, i wanna know if suggesting AMD cards for a gaming build, for a hardcore player is a safe choice or not, because every penny counts in Portugal.And after having that flickering problem and noticing that my GTS450 vs 7850 was faster loading textures on Dishonored i'm am still not convinced even after the thread i opened(this one) some weeks ago.
So you really believe that graphics card on PCIe 2.0 x16 interface is loading textures at speed bellow your hardrive SATA 3.0 connection limit and therefore you are able to distinct which loads faster?

Well SATA 3.0 max transfer rate is 0.75GBps = 6Gbps.
PCIe 2.0 max transfer rate is 16GBps = 128Gbps. (21x higher bandwidth)

Even if you had SSD card on PCIe 2.0 x4 lane you would get with modern tech 2.5GBps = 20Gbps. And that would still be 6.4x slower than full data rate of PCIe 2.0 x16.

And then usual Joe have in his PC 7200rpm HDD with peak transfer rate 140MB/s = 1.1Gbps only. But that is out of picture because texture datapack is fragmented like hell and Joe's CPU and system memory is so slow that it chokes at decompression.
And due to low amount of memory stuff which gets loaded is afterwards swapped back to HDD further reducing it operational speed close to 60MB/s = 0.47Gbps. Which would fit 272 times into PCIe 2.0 x16 max transfer rate.
   
 
Old
  (#11)
rflair
Don Commisso
 
rflair's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 290x/670 GTX
Processor: 3770K@4.4/Q9550@3.83
Mainboard: Asus P877V-Pro/Asus P5K-E
Memory: 16G 2GHz/8G 900MHz
Soundcard: Onboard/Fiio E10
PSU: Corsair HX850/PPC 860
Default 03-18-2013, 21:21 | posts: 2,896 | Location: Canada

Hmmm.
   
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.