Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Frontpage news
Frontpage news Perhaps you have some news to report or want to check out the latest Guru3D headlines and comment ? Check it in here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Intel publishes early build of Android 4.2.2 for x86
Old
  (#1)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 4770K
Mainboard: Z77
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default Intel publishes early build of Android 4.2.2 for x86 - 03-16-2013, 08:12 | posts: 21,311 | Location: Guru3D testlab

Intel has released an early build of the x86 version of Android 4.2.2. The release is intended solely for developers, Intel states on its website that the current build doesn't even meet its alpha re...

Intel publishes early build of Android 4.2.2 for x86
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
BLEH!
Ancient Guru
 
BLEH!'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970 CF @ Stock
Processor: 980X @ 4 GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P6T7 WS-SC
Memory: 12 GB Corsair @ 1866 MHz
Soundcard: Saffire Pro40/KRK Rokit 5
PSU: Enermax Revo 1500W
Default 03-16-2013, 11:04 | posts: 4,900 | Location: London

I take it the non-UEFI thing means it won't work on X58...?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
FerCamô
Master Guru
 
Videocard: R9 290X
Processor: i7 4820k 4.6GHz
Mainboard: Asus Rampage Formula IV
Memory: 4x4GB CorsairVant 2133GHz
Soundcard: Xonar DX+Homemade Amp
PSU: Corsair HX-850 v2 gold
Default 03-16-2013, 13:06 | posts: 153 | Location: Portugal

I have the same doubt.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon R7 240
Processor: AMD Athlon 5350
Mainboard: Asus AM1M-A
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Go!
PSU: Unk 300watt
Default 03-16-2013, 15:05 | posts: 16,594 | Location: US East Coast

Quote:
Originally Posted by BLEH! View Post
I take it the non-UEFI thing means it won't work on X58...?
Not unless your X58 board supports UEFI....


   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX R9 295X2 8GB
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.9GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: 5.1 Surround
PSU: Corsair TX950
Default 03-16-2013, 15:36 | posts: 6,997 | Location: 127.0.0.1

My board has UEFI BIOS but I'm not installing Android on it lol

I would have played about with it on my laptop
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
(.)(.)
Ancient Guru
 
(.)(.)'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 580sli (water)
Processor: 2600k @ 4.7
Mainboard: Asus M4E
Memory: Corsair Vengence
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: Enermax Rev 1250w
Default 03-16-2013, 20:43 | posts: 5,138 | Location: Logd n jst 2 change avatar

WAhT!!!
Android for pc?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Lane
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 2x HD7970 - EK Waterblock
Processor: I7 4930K H2o EK Supremacy
Mainboard: Asus X79 Deluxe
Memory: G-Skill C9 2133mhz 16GB
Soundcard: X-FI Titanium HD + SP2500
PSU: CM 1000W
Default 03-16-2013, 20:55 | posts: 5,588 | Location: Switzerland

Its more for developpers of Android appliccations for the tablet and smartphone made with an Intel CPU .
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
deltatux
Ancient Guru
 
deltatux's Avatar
 
Videocard: GIGABYTE Radeon R9 280
Processor: Intel Core i5 3570K @4.5
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD5H
Memory: Patriot 4 x 4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: Auzentech X-Raider 7.1
PSU: OCZ ModXStream Pro 500W
Default 03-16-2013, 21:14 | posts: 19,054 | Location: Toronto, Canada

At least the Linux kernel for x86 is newer than the Android 4.2.2 kernel for Qualcomm's Snapdragon SoCs. They're still stuck with 3.4.0 while the Intel build is updated at 3.8.0.

deltatux
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Watcher
Maha Guru
 
Watcher's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 6850 OC CYCLONE 1 GB
Processor: Phenom IIX6 1090T@4.1ghz
Mainboard: ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0
Memory: G.SKILL RIPJAWS 8GB @1866
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
PSU: OCZ StealthXStream 2 600W
Default 03-16-2013, 21:59 | posts: 2,183 | Location: Canada

If you are looking to run Android apps on your PC right now, try:

BlueStacks App Player

http://www.bluestacks.com/app-player.html < Watch the introduction video for more details on BlueStacks App Player.

http://www.bluestacks.com/

Quote:
Use all 750,000 Mobile Apps on PC or Mac

Last edited by Watcher; 03-16-2013 at 22:04.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
chilly willy
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Vapor-X R9-270X
Processor: AMD FX 8350
Mainboard: ASUS M5A97 AM3+
Memory: 16gb ddr3 1866
Soundcard:
PSU: Seasonic M12II 750W
Default 03-17-2013, 10:01 | posts: 513 | Location: chicago area

Quote:
Originally Posted by Watcher View Post
If you are looking to run Android apps on your PC right now, try:

BlueStacks App Player

http://www.bluestacks.com/app-player.html < Watch the introduction video for more details on BlueStacks App Player.

http://www.bluestacks.com/
i use this because im too cheap to buy a tablet. i want to get one though looking at galaxy tab 3 if its really going to release at 150$. you can use bluestacks to sync your mobile device to it as well so you dont lose anything. i was just playing some castle defense game on it while watching a movie. good stuff works great.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
deltatux
Ancient Guru
 
deltatux's Avatar
 
Videocard: GIGABYTE Radeon R9 280
Processor: Intel Core i5 3570K @4.5
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD5H
Memory: Patriot 4 x 4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: Auzentech X-Raider 7.1
PSU: OCZ ModXStream Pro 500W
Default 03-17-2013, 19:55 | posts: 19,054 | Location: Toronto, Canada

Looks like they only published img, that means they are meant for use using fastboot to flash to the hardware directly, it doesn't seem there's a way to boot these into VMs.

deltatux
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon R7 240
Processor: AMD Athlon 5350
Mainboard: Asus AM1M-A
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Go!
PSU: Unk 300watt
Default 03-17-2013, 20:13 | posts: 16,594 | Location: US East Coast

Quote:
Originally Posted by chilly willy View Post
i use this because im too cheap to buy a tablet. i want to get one though looking at galaxy tab 3 if its really going to release at 150$. you can use bluestacks to sync your mobile device to it as well so you dont lose anything. i was just playing some castle defense game on it while watching a movie. good stuff works great.
Don't feel bad... A lot of us are too cheap to buy tablets. I'm waiting for there to be a quality tablet in the $100-150 range...


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
chilly willy
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Vapor-X R9-270X
Processor: AMD FX 8350
Mainboard: ASUS M5A97 AM3+
Memory: 16gb ddr3 1866
Soundcard:
PSU: Seasonic M12II 750W
Default 03-17-2013, 21:10 | posts: 513 | Location: chicago area

Quote:
Originally Posted by sykozis View Post
Don't feel bad... A lot of us are too cheap to buy tablets. I'm waiting for there to be a quality tablet in the $100-150 range...
nice thats my price range too. any more doesn't even seem worth it. i am also going to get a tablet so i can keep my basic phone. data plans seem like such a massive waste of cash right now. about 30ish bucks per month for internet speeds i had in like 2005-2006 with a data cap? **** that.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
deltatux
Ancient Guru
 
deltatux's Avatar
 
Videocard: GIGABYTE Radeon R9 280
Processor: Intel Core i5 3570K @4.5
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD5H
Memory: Patriot 4 x 4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: Auzentech X-Raider 7.1
PSU: OCZ ModXStream Pro 500W
Default 03-17-2013, 21:22 | posts: 19,054 | Location: Toronto, Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by sykozis View Post
Don't feel bad... A lot of us are too cheap to buy tablets. I'm waiting for there to be a quality tablet in the $100-150 range...
Quote:
Originally Posted by chilly willy View Post
nice thats my price range too. any more doesn't even seem worth it. i am also going to get a tablet so i can keep my basic phone. data plans seem like such a massive waste of cash right now. about 30ish bucks per month for internet speeds i had in like 2005-2006 with a data cap? **** that.
Nexus 7 is rather cheap and is built very well. Runner up would be the Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 7.0.

deltatux
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
dcx_badass
Ancient Guru
 
dcx_badass's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX570 1280mb
Processor: I5 4670k
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z87X-D3H
Memory: 8GB DDR3 1333mhz
Soundcard: Realtek ALC892
PSU: 600w OCZ StealthXstream
Default 03-17-2013, 22:20 | posts: 9,869 | Location: Yorkshire [UK]

Quote:
Originally Posted by sykozis View Post
Don't feel bad... A lot of us are too cheap to buy tablets. I'm waiting for there to be a quality tablet in the $100-150 range...
HP Touchpad was in that price range, I got two of them, great tablet and running Jellybean.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
chilly willy
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Vapor-X R9-270X
Processor: AMD FX 8350
Mainboard: ASUS M5A97 AM3+
Memory: 16gb ddr3 1866
Soundcard:
PSU: Seasonic M12II 750W
Default 03-18-2013, 02:33 | posts: 513 | Location: chicago area

Quote:
Originally Posted by deltatux View Post
Nexus 7 is rather cheap and is built very well. Runner up would be the Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 7.0.

deltatux
i was thinking about the nexus 7 but its about 199-250$ and for essentially playing games on the toilet and words with friends and such from the couch and whatnot i would rather spend hundreds of dollars on a gpu or something. or hell a couple more bucks and a next gen console. 100-150 is more of my comfort spot. the galaxy tab 3 has pretty nice specs and is rumored to be about 150$ on release. if that is true i will probably jump on that.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
vbetts
Don Vincenzo
 
vbetts's Avatar
 
Videocard: Geforce 760
Processor: Intel Xeon W3680
Mainboard: Mac Pro 5.1
Memory: 6gb ddr3 1333
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: Mac PRO PSU
Default 03-18-2013, 12:21 | posts: 10,442 | Location: Toledo Ohio

Quote:
Originally Posted by dcx_badass View Post
HP Touchpad was in that price range, I got two of them, great tablet and running Jellybean.
That doesn't really count though, that price was a liquidation price to get rid of what they had left, and you have to root and hack the thing to run jellybean on it which to this day isn't 100% stable.

I've ran x86 android on my little dell net book before, it's perfect for the Internet and music and videos. Didn't side load any apps though with it, I may try here soon enough.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
dcx_badass
Ancient Guru
 
dcx_badass's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX570 1280mb
Processor: I5 4670k
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z87X-D3H
Memory: 8GB DDR3 1333mhz
Soundcard: Realtek ALC892
PSU: 600w OCZ StealthXstream
Default 03-18-2013, 14:51 | posts: 9,869 | Location: Yorkshire [UK]

Quote:
Originally Posted by vbetts View Post
That doesn't really count though, that price was a liquidation price to get rid of what they had left, and you have to root and hack the thing to run jellybean on it which to this day isn't 100% stable.
It is 100% stable, I've never had a single crash or problem, and by root and hack you mean copy and paste 3 files and a line of text?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
vbetts
Don Vincenzo
 
vbetts's Avatar
 
Videocard: Geforce 760
Processor: Intel Xeon W3680
Mainboard: Mac Pro 5.1
Memory: 6gb ddr3 1333
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: Mac PRO PSU
Default 03-18-2013, 16:29 | posts: 10,442 | Location: Toledo Ohio

Quote:
Originally Posted by dcx_badass View Post
It is 100% stable, I've never had a single crash or problem, and by root and hack you mean copy and paste 3 files and a line of text?
Funny, because most roms I've seen for the touchpad have all had at least one major issue, being the wifi, and most of them having a deep sleep issue. Also, doing this will void any warranty or support that hp will offer. Not a good idea to offer a solution that'll kill support of a product to the average consumer.

Also, you're not the only one with a touchpad. I highly doubt you've never had a single crash, but even if you really didn't that doesn't mean that others running android on their touchpads are 100% stable(which anyone in android communities will tell you, there isn't one 100% stable working rom for the touchpad).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
dcx_badass
Ancient Guru
 
dcx_badass's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX570 1280mb
Processor: I5 4670k
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z87X-D3H
Memory: 8GB DDR3 1333mhz
Soundcard: Realtek ALC892
PSU: 600w OCZ StealthXstream
Default 03-22-2013, 23:48 | posts: 9,869 | Location: Yorkshire [UK]

Wifi has worked fine for at least 9 months, all touchpads are at least 6 months out of warranty now anyway. I have two touchpads and my friend also has one, I can honestly say it's never crashed and runs better than my ipod touch, and my dad's galaxy s2.
I don't game on it, but all my normal use apps run great (xbmc, mx player, opera, etc).

No sleep issues here, I can sleep for 8 hours and not even lose 1% battery.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.