Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA Drivers Section
Videocards - NVIDIA Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything ForceWare driver related. ForceWare (Detonator) drivers are for NVIDIA TNT, Quadro and all GeForce based videocards.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
gtx 680/670 users whats your tomb raider settings
Old
  (#1)
RPGgamesplayer
Maha Guru
 
RPGgamesplayer's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gtx 780 Ti sli
Processor: 4770k
Mainboard: msi z87 gaming-m
Memory: Corsair 2400mhz 16gb Pro
Soundcard: Soundblaster Xfi Fatality
PSU: Superflower 1000w Plat
Default gtx 680/670 users whats your tomb raider settings - 03-15-2013, 13:38 | posts: 1,054 | Location: London

just wanted to see what settings work best so everyone can help tweak the game for each other.

so far i can run it well and stay above 60 fps minimum when
setting it to ultra and turning of tesselation

1920x1080
64hz
double buffering
fxxa

tress fx off as this takes a huge hit unfortunately,
it looks awesome on though

Last edited by RPGgamesplayer; 03-15-2013 at 13:41.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
KingpinZero
Maha Guru
 
KingpinZero's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabite GTX680 2GB SLI
Processor: i7-3770k @4.6/Hyper 212+E
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 extreme 3
Memory: G.Skill ARES 1600mhz 8gb
Soundcard: Realtek Crystal HD
PSU: CX750W 80+
Default 03-15-2013, 15:36 | posts: 847 | Location: Rome

314.14 betas
Game exe renamed and added to Hitman Absolution profile
Ultra preset (fxaa, Tessellation is ON naturally)
1080p/60Hz
TressFX off
Gpu runs at +120/+350

Solid 60fps most of the time, with sporadic dips into 55/50fps in some instances.
As i pointed out a few times already, if you rename the exe to what you want and add it to hitman absolution profile it fixes the crashes.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
yosef019
Maha Guru
 
yosef019's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX670 @1267 Gigabyte
Processor: i5 3570k 4.6 1.2v NH-D14
Mainboard: P8Z68-V
Memory: 8GB 2133 ARES CL9 2T
Soundcard: SB Recon3D Pro Fatality
PSU: TX 650W
Default 03-15-2013, 17:26 | posts: 1,587 | Location: Israel - Haifa

Quote:
Originally Posted by KingpinZero View Post
314.14 betas
Game exe renamed and added to Hitman Absolution profile
Ultra preset (fxaa, Tessellation is ON naturally)
1080p/60Hz
TressFX off
Gpu runs at +120/+350

Solid 60fps most of the time, with sporadic dips into 55/50fps in some instances.
As i pointed out a few times already, if you rename the exe to what you want and add it to hitman absolution profile it fixes the crashes.
how you mange overclock it to 120???
mine gpu crashes at 100
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
nakquada
Master Guru
 
nakquada's Avatar
 
Videocard: GeForce GTX 680 SLI
Processor: Core i7 3770K
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z77
Memory: 16GB G.Skill DDR3-1600
Soundcard: SB Zx + Edifier S550 5.1
PSU: Antec 1000w
Default 03-15-2013, 17:31 | posts: 271 | Location: Kildare, Ireland

GTX 680 (stock)

Ultra,
Tesselation and TressFX on, getting between 90 and 100+ fps

EDIT: every now and again I do get a random hiccup where the framerate crashes for a second

Never had a crash yet though
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
KingpinZero
Maha Guru
 
KingpinZero's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabite GTX680 2GB SLI
Processor: i7-3770k @4.6/Hyper 212+E
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 extreme 3
Memory: G.Skill ARES 1600mhz 8gb
Soundcard: Realtek Crystal HD
PSU: CX750W 80+
Default 03-15-2013, 17:34 | posts: 847 | Location: Rome

Quote:
Originally Posted by yosef019 View Post
how you mange overclock it to 120???
mine gpu crashes at 100
Dunno, my friend also can oc only up to 100. Maybe i got a lucky card, my ASIC is 86.3%. His one is 65.2%.
That should explain why mine oc higher without even overvolting.
Check your ASIC quality using GPU-Z.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Darren Hodgson
Ancient Guru
 
Darren Hodgson's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA NVIDIA GTX 780
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe
Memory: 16GB Corsair Veng 1600MHz
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: CM Silent Pro M 850W
Default 03-15-2013, 17:34 | posts: 11,258 | Location: England

Quote:
Originally Posted by KingpinZero View Post
As i pointed out a few times already, if you rename the exe to what you want and add it to hitman absolution profile it fixes the crashes.
Sorry but why do you have to rename the game executable?

If the game really is more stable with a different name that would suggest that the game is deliberately running worse if it detects an NVIDIA card with the original TombRaider.exe file. Surely not? Otherwise why would a game be more stable just by renaming it?!?!?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
KingpinZero
Maha Guru
 
KingpinZero's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabite GTX680 2GB SLI
Processor: i7-3770k @4.6/Hyper 212+E
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 extreme 3
Memory: G.Skill ARES 1600mhz 8gb
Soundcard: Realtek Crystal HD
PSU: CX750W 80+
Default 03-15-2013, 17:45 | posts: 847 | Location: Rome

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darren Hodgson View Post
Sorry but why do you have to rename the game executable?

If the game really is more stable with a different name that would suggest that the game is deliberately running worse if it detects an NVIDIA card with the original TombRaider.exe file. Surely not? Otherwise why would a game be more stable just by renaming it?!?!?
So if you leave the original name, the driver loads up the nvidia profile of tomb raider.

If you rename it to something else, lets say TR.exe AND add it to hitman absolution profile with Inspector, you dont get any crashes. At all (at least here).

Which means that profiles arent merely profiles per-se, they actually have some kind of optimizations.
Or they call some driver implementations based on the profile.

Try it. Backup your original exe, then rename it to TR.exe and add it to hitman profile.

As i said, this has been pointed out a few times already, but sometimes it gets lost. I thought you noticed it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
juke
Maha Guru
 
juke's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit GTX680 Jetstream
Processor: i5-3570k w/ TRUE120 Rev.A
Mainboard: Asrock z77 Extreme6
Memory: 2x4GB + 2x2GB G-Skill Eco
Soundcard: Logitech X-540
PSU: Corsair HX620W
Default 03-15-2013, 17:50 | posts: 1,281

I'm running single stock Palit GTX680 Jetstream at Ultimate setting and getting this. Not really a problem for me since it is not noticeable in the actual game.

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
deathfrag
Master Guru
 
deathfrag's Avatar
 
Videocard: leadtek gtx780@1215/6400
Processor: I5 3570 @4.2 Kuhler 920
Mainboard: ASUS MAXIMUS V GENE
Memory: 8 GB vengeance 1600
Soundcard: ONBOARD
PSU: 800 Watt Aerocool
Default 03-15-2013, 18:48 | posts: 241 | Location: ALGERIA

60 fps 90% of time ,lowest is 38 fps in some area

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
thefunkyone
Newbie
 
thefunkyone's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x MSI Geforce 670 SLI
Processor: Intel i7 860
Mainboard: EVGA P55 SLI
Memory: Corsair 8GB DDR 3
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair 750 watt
Default 03-15-2013, 19:08 | posts: 34

with a screen res of 1680x1050 with tressFX turned on and everything maxed running FXAA i get min 58, max 96, with tressfx turned off i get min 96, max 130...

I haven't bothered to optimize the sli profile or the drivers yet... :/
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
eternitykh
Master Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 670 FTW+ 4GB SLI
Processor: 3770K @ 4.8Ghz on Water
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth z77
Memory: 16GB 4xDIMM Vengeance1866
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DX
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 03-15-2013, 20:07 | posts: 321

i'd use tressfx if it wasn't for stupid flickering in SLI

otherwise max everything else
6080x1080
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Dr.Puschkin
Member Guru
 
Dr.Puschkin's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX TITAN SLi(HO)
Processor: Core i7 980X@4.5GHz(HO)
Mainboard: EVGA X58 4-Way SLi
Memory: Dominator GT 12GB DHX+
Soundcard: External-AQ-Z5500
PSU: Corsair AX1200 Gold
Default 03-15-2013, 21:06 | posts: 57 | Location: N/A

You don't need to rename the .exe at all. Just remove the tombraider.exe from it's profile (via Inspector), or delete the profile entirely and add the .exe to Absolution profile. However with 314.07 you'll get no crashes and more accurate rendering of ambient occlusion - it's really bad in current beta.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
juke
Maha Guru
 
juke's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit GTX680 Jetstream
Processor: i5-3570k w/ TRUE120 Rev.A
Mainboard: Asrock z77 Extreme6
Memory: 2x4GB + 2x2GB G-Skill Eco
Soundcard: Logitech X-540
PSU: Corsair HX620W
Default 03-16-2013, 01:33 | posts: 1,281

I haven't experienced any crashes since my GTX680 was replaced last week. I don't know if the card was faulty but I have it rma'd because I experienced crashes in different games lately and I already used tried drivers. The crashes just occurred in January and the card was bought in April 2012, so that's roughly 9 months. The said card was never overclocked, any attempt to overclock it even with 5MHz will result in a driver crash.

The distributor replaced my card with a new one.
The ASIC was down from 79.6 to 79.1 but it can now be overclocked by 50MHz. And hadn't crashed even once yet.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Greatskeem67
Newbie
 
Videocard: GB GTX 670 OC 4GB SLI
Processor: i7 2600K@ 4.6GHZ
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Pro
Memory: 8GB DDR3@1600MHZ
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 850
Default 03-16-2013, 08:17 | posts: 14

Hey Guys, I have the following system:

i7 2600K@4.6GHZ
8GB DDR@1600MHZ
GB OC GTX 670 4GB SLI
DRIVER: 314.21

I enabled everything as high as it can go, with TressFX and 2xSAA this is my result:

34 Min
54 AVG
70 MAX

However I can not select anything higher then Normal for the Shadow setting, anyone know what is going on?


No TressFX but same settings as above:

MIN:71.6
MAX:108
AVG:89.7

Last edited by Greatskeem67; 03-16-2013 at 08:24.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
milamber
Master Guru
 
milamber's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x EVGA GTX 780 SC
Processor: Intel i7-3820 @4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth X79
Memory: 16Gb Gskill Sniper @1666
Soundcard: Logitech Z623 / onboard
PSU: Corsair AX-850
Default 03-16-2013, 11:42 | posts: 782 | Location: Australia

1080p@120hz, Ultimate settings, 4xSSAA, Tessellation enabled, SweetFX sharpening, Triple Buffering, 60fps limited. DOF disabled (personal preference). Minimum 60fps!

SSAO on Normal - On Ultra the game drops from 120fps to 60fps.
TressFX disabled - Enabled the game drops from 120fps to a slideshow.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
RPGgamesplayer
Maha Guru
 
RPGgamesplayer's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gtx 780 Ti sli
Processor: 4770k
Mainboard: msi z87 gaming-m
Memory: Corsair 2400mhz 16gb Pro
Soundcard: Soundblaster Xfi Fatality
PSU: Superflower 1000w Plat
Default 03-16-2013, 11:47 | posts: 1,054 | Location: London

Quote:
Originally Posted by milamber View Post
1080p@120hz, Ultimate settings, 4xSSAA, Tessellation enabled, SweetFX sharpening, Triple Buffering, 60fps limited. DOF disabled (personal preference). Minimum 60fps!

SSAO on Normal - On Ultra the game drops from 120fps to 60fps.
TressFX disabled - Enabled the game drops from 120fps to a slideshow.
sweet fx sharpening how do you do this?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
mbonadio
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTX 80
Processor: AMD FX8350
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth FX990 R2
Memory: 16GB DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: Cooler Master 600W
Default 03-18-2013, 14:07 | posts: 1 | Location: Phoenix

I cannot enableTressFX... When I do Lara's hair just renders as a giant blob of nothing. How are you all getting past this?

Running a GTX 680 with the latest NVIDIA beta drivers and Tomb Raider patch released this weekend.

I do run in Surround mode across 3 monitors, so I don't know if that's contributing. But I do get 45FPS with TresFX turned off and everything else at highest settings including the shadows.

MB

Last edited by mbonadio; 03-19-2013 at 13:37.
   
Reply With Quote
well
Old
  (#18)
duenor
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTX460V2
Processor: 965BE Phenom II
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: OCZ500W
Default well - 04-28-2013, 11:30 | posts: 5

what's odd for me is that in game my 670 runs only at 760 mhz (or 720, forget which). obviously it can go much higher (galaxy oc model) and in kombuster does 1176 easy.

but the game plays very well on 760, frames about 45 to 60, so I really don't mind.

anybody else get this too?

oh and settings are at max on everything at 1080p
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Netherwind
Maha Guru
 
Netherwind's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780Ti ACX @1252/7600
Processor: Intel i5 3570K @ 4,4GHz
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD55
Memory: Corsair 16GB Ven. 1600MHz
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DX
PSU: Corsair 850W HX
Default 04-29-2013, 09:52 | posts: 824 | Location: Sweden

Ultra @ 1200p (60Hz) Vsync enabled - FXAA - Triple Buffering, rest default
Benchmark says 60fps and it definitely feels like constant 60fps while playing too.

Tried TressFX yesterday (Ultimate settings) and bench said 58-60fps which amazed me since I thought TressFX would dump my FPS down to 20-30 something.

Driver 320.00
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
lukas_1987_dion
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 660 Ti Phantom II OC!
Processor: THUBAN X6 1100T @ 4.0GHz
Mainboard: MSI 990FXA-GD65 AM3+
Memory: A-DATA 8GB DDR3 @ 1676MHz
Soundcard: 660 Ti HDMI 7.1/Onkyo 608
PSU: Thermaltake 700w
Default 04-29-2013, 17:35 | posts: 302 | Location: Poland

Ultra settings, TressFX ON, FXAA OFF, Game AA OFF, but SweatFX AA ON, 1920x1080@69Hz.
Solid 50+ fps with 320.00 drivers.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
Anarion
Ancient Guru
 
Anarion's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS GeForce GTX 780 DC2
Processor: Intel Core i7 3770K
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V
Memory: G.SKILL RipjawsX 16 GB
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Zx + HD 595
PSU: SF Golden Green Pro 600W
Default 04-29-2013, 17:52 | posts: 10,520 | Location: Finland

Everything maxed out except no in game AA (even 4xSSAA looks like turd) and no motion blur, I play at 1080p 75Hz with triple buffering v-sync and custom SMAA. Exclusive fullscreen mode seems to perform much better.

In benchmark I get this (when running without v-sync):
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Zarich
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Galaxy GC 670
Processor: q9550 @ 3.4
Mainboard: p5q se
Memory: 6gigs DDR2 Sync
Soundcard: Xtreme Gamer
PSU: antec trupower 750
Default 04-29-2013, 18:53 | posts: 158

I have it on ultra except shadows at normal because I don't care about ultra amazing shadows.
Seems to run just fine with tressfx. Though the hair goes nuts on occasion, but so does my wifes.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
eternitykh
Master Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 670 FTW+ 4GB SLI
Processor: 3770K @ 4.8Ghz on Water
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth z77
Memory: 16GB 4xDIMM Vengeance1866
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DX
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 05-03-2013, 00:25 | posts: 321

looks like they actually fixed the flickering issue when tressfx is enabled with sli.
and very playable framerates.

maybe i'll actually go back to finish the game now.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
signas_86
Master Guru
 
signas_86's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX670 SLI Watercooled
Processor: i7 2700k 4.5Ghz H20
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 OC Formula
Memory: Corsair Veng. 8GB 1600mhz
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: Seasonic X1050w Gold
Default 05-03-2013, 15:16 | posts: 372 | Location: Malaysia

all max setting except tressfx normal..gaming @ 1080p
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.