Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > SSD and HDD storage
SSD and HDD storage This section covers storage hardware like SSDs HDDs, RAID chatter and everything related


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Samsung magican 4.0
Old
  (#1)
ToBbErT
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 2x sapphire 7870
Processor: i5 3570k
Mainboard: p8z77-v le plus
Memory: 16gb 2400mhz Kingston
Soundcard: xonar dgx
PSU: xfx 850w be silver
Default Samsung magican 4.0 - 03-14-2013, 11:04 | posts: 148

Samsung just released a new version of samsung magican. I really like the changes Ive one problem though. I tried the OS optimization option. Set the performance to extreme and applied the changes but now the program seems to be stuck. Its been frozen for 30 min doing nothing. In my taskmanager samsung magican is using 25% cpu and doesnt show the program stopped working. Im a little bit afraid to closed the application in my taskmanager becouse it might be still optimizing my OS and might screw things up. Just wondering what your guys expierence with the new app is.

I ended up closing samsung magican in my taskmanager and rebooted. Everything is fine and samsung magican states its configured for max performance. Im also unable to use ssd authtenticity. Its showing authentication not supported by selected drive and ive have my 830 selected. Program seems really buggy for me.

Last edited by ToBbErT; 03-14-2013 at 11:34.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
CronoGraal
Ancient Guru
 
CronoGraal's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX Radeon HD6870 1GB
Processor: Intel Q9450 @ 3.4ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte X48-DQ6
Memory: 2x2GB Corsair Dominator
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar Essence STX
PSU: Corsair 750W TX
Default 03-14-2013, 14:17 | posts: 3,843 | Location: Sweden

Yeah, I didn't touch the OS optimization section. Just do those by hand based on that one big forum thread. Other than that, the program itself looks a lot better than before. Hats off to the guys who did the GUI.

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Barry J
Maha Guru
 
Barry J's Avatar
 
Videocard: X2 EVGA 660ti SC SLi 3D
Processor: i5 4690K H100i @4.5 1.3v
Mainboard: Asus Z97 MAXIMUS VII Hero
Memory: 16GB 1600 4x4GB
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 1300w G2
Default 03-14-2013, 15:09 | posts: 1,644 | Location: Ipswich UK

I agree version 4 is much better just bought another Samsung SSD will use non pro for games as it requires less writes but is quicker than pro at reads

840 250gb new is replacing OCZ vertex2 60gb
840 pro 128gb
830 128gb
M4 128gb
M4 64gb
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
AndyMutz
Master Guru
 
AndyMutz's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 780 @ 1200/7000 MHz
Processor: i7-4790K @ 4600 MHz
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth Z97 Mark2
Memory: G.Skill 4x4 GB DDR3-2133
Soundcard: 2x Nubert nuPro A-20
PSU: Corsair HX 750W
Default 03-14-2013, 15:58 | posts: 209 | Location: Earth

the magician 4.0 software has been released more than a month ago and authenticity works only with the 840 series drives.

-andy-
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
freeZ
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 670 PE
Processor: i7 3770K @ 4.5GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H
Memory: G.Skill RipjawsX 8GB 1600
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar STX + HD 600's
PSU: Corsair AX860i
Default 03-15-2013, 07:16 | posts: 658

Downloaded this a few days ago for the first time and was impressed.

Similar to what Intel has.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
anticupidon
Maha Guru
 
anticupidon's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD5850 Extreme
Processor: i7 860 3.6 Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P7PP5D
Memory: 2x4 GB Kingston HyperX
Soundcard: Via on-board
PSU: Corsair HX 750
Default 03-15-2013, 08:18 | posts: 2,203 | Location: far,far from home

Indeed,the 830 seems to have a bug with authenticity routine within Magician.
I have both 830 and 840 series,and i was a bit worried why my 256 gb 830 is not confirmed to be authentificated as,,,samsung genuine!?
But it is a know issue,so no worry.
More to it,one doesn't need to have Magician software running in background ,or when windows starts.
Once you modified the parameters you needed,you are good.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Arctucas
Maha Guru
 
Arctucas's Avatar
 
Videocard: SLI nVIDIA 560Ti
Processor: i7 950 @ 4.2GHz
Mainboard: eVGA 141-GT-E770-A1
Memory: Mushkin998966 Radioactive
Soundcard: X-Meridian 7.1 2G/ Z-5500
PSU: Corsair AX1200
Default 03-15-2013, 20:52 | posts: 1,871

I installed it; not impressed.

Other applications such as Crystal Disk Info and AIDA64 can retrieve S.M.A.R.T. info from my four 830 RAID0 array, but Magician says it cannot even find any Samsung devices.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
skare
Newbie
 
Videocard: Nvidia 1000M
Processor: 3520m Intel
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Battery
Default 03-31-2013, 00:05 | posts: 3

could I flash something to run Samsung Magician on my drive MZ7PC256HAFU-0001H? my present firmware is CXM05H1Q, it is oem version with hp firmware, how could I can flash it with CXM03B1Q? I found out that is not possible in Samsung Magician.is there any other way, just to run samsung magician with full features.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Syidi
Master Guru
 
Syidi's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD 6870 -new GPU soon-
Processor: i5 3570K
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77X-D3H
Memory: HyperX 1866MHz 4GBx4
Soundcard: Creative SB X-FI Titanium
PSU: Enermax Revolution87+ 750
Default 04-10-2013, 04:55 | posts: 299 | Location: Kedah, Malaysia

I own a 128gb 830 series ssd... I'm having the same problem with samsung magician software where it can't detect my ssd as samsung brand
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.