Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Frontpage news
Frontpage news Perhaps you have some news to report or want to check out the latest Guru3D headlines and comment ? Check it in here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
NVIDIA on Tomb Raider performance issues
Old
  (#1)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 4770K
Mainboard: Z77
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default NVIDIA on Tomb Raider performance issues - 03-10-2013, 18:45 | posts: 21,323 | Location: Guru3D testlab

NVIDIA made a small statement that acknowledges the performance issues of Tomb Raider on GeForce graphics cards. The new Tomb Raider game is an AMD Gaming Evolved title, and NVIDIA claims it didn't r...

NVIDIA on Tomb Raider performance issues
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
WhiteLightning
Ancient Guru
 
WhiteLightning's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780GTX ACX
Processor: i7-2600k HT @ 4.5 +H70 PP
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 GAMING
Memory: Gskill 2133Mhz 8GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair 1000 watt
Default 03-10-2013, 18:47 | posts: 23,446 | Location: Hoek van Holland, Netherlands

"we recommend you do not test Tomb Raider until all of the above issues have been resolved."

Too late Nvidia , ive already finished the game. Cant keep people waiting you hear!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
mcarr6
Newbie
 
Videocard: ATI 3870
Processor: AMD Phenom 9600
Mainboard: Gigabyte
Memory: 2gig DDR2 6400
Soundcard: Realtek HDMI
PSU: Zalman 600
Default 03-10-2013, 19:02 | posts: 13 | Location: Los Angeles

I personally don't care about the blame game, but crashes so obvious makes you wonder if CD actually even tested with an Nvidia card.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
deathfrag
Master Guru
 
deathfrag's Avatar
 
Videocard: leadtek gtx780@1215/6400
Processor: I5 3570 @4.2 H100i
Mainboard: ASUS MAXIMUS V GENE
Memory: 8 GB vengeance 1600
Soundcard: ONBOARD
PSU: 800 Watt Aerocool
Default 03-10-2013, 19:14 | posts: 273 | Location: ALGERIA

"we would like to apologize to GeForce users that are not able to have a great experience playing Tomb Raider"
WTF !!! where is the driver fix ??? your "apologize" can't fix my game problemes .....
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Mufflore
Ancient Guru
 
Mufflore's Avatar
 
Videocard: KFA2 Anarchy 580@930/4650
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHz - blew it!
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67 UD4 B3
Memory: 8G Kngston 2.2GHz CL11 1T
Soundcard: Minimax+ & Dexa Opamps !!
PSU: Corsair Pro AX750
Default 03-10-2013, 19:22 | posts: 9,769 | Location: UK

If it matters that much to you, you should read up.
The game needs a patch as well as a driver update.
How can NVidia help what has happened?

Oh wait, you wouldnt know, yet you still spout
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Neo Cyrus
Ancient Guru
 
Neo Cyrus's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX HD 6970 @ 1015/6400
Processor: Xeon W3530 @ 4GHz
Mainboard: GA-X58A-UD3R Rev. 2.0
Memory: 6GB DDR3-2000 9-9-9-24-1T
Soundcard: SB ZxR + DT 990 Pro-250
PSU: Antec High Current 900W
Default 03-10-2013, 19:34 | posts: 7,512 | Location: GTA, Canada

Hey at least you guys will get a driver fix and a game patch. I still can't run RAGE without it constantly crashing and being glitched up the wazoo in seemingly random ways.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX780 OC AmpFan
Processor: i7 4770K OC 4.7GHz @1.28v
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe
Memory: Crucial BLE 16GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: Chieftec NTRO88+ 650W
Default 03-10-2013, 19:42 | posts: 8,035 | Location: Urban`Jungle

^
AMD 7000 series has some hw addons for ID5 engine, guess AMD couldnt fix it with driver.

@ Mufflore

Imo nvidia could have reacted faster and demanded that retail game code sooner, not "tweaking" with some old code for this long.
That's way I think its kinda weak excuse..

I bet it would be much better if they asked for this new code 2-3weeks before release

Last edited by -Tj-; 03-10-2013 at 20:15.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Mufflore
Ancient Guru
 
Mufflore's Avatar
 
Videocard: KFA2 Anarchy 580@930/4650
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHz - blew it!
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67 UD4 B3
Memory: 8G Kngston 2.2GHz CL11 1T
Soundcard: Minimax+ & Dexa Opamps !!
PSU: Corsair Pro AX750
Default 03-10-2013, 19:44 | posts: 9,769 | Location: UK

Surely you read what NVidia said?
They werent given the new code until the game was released.
They created a driver based on the older code they were given.
How are they to know that code wont be used in game?

Even if they had received the right code, the game needed a patch anyway.
NVidia couldnt have sorted this out without the game devs providing information they can use AND fixing the code they released.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Aura89
Ancient Guru
 
Aura89's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 770 OC Twin Frozr
Processor: AMD FX 4100 @ 4.2Ghz
Mainboard: Asrock 970 Extreme3
Memory: GeIL 8Gb DDR3 1600
Soundcard: Sounblaster Z/DT 990 Pro
PSU: Antec 650 Watt
Default 03-10-2013, 19:46 | posts: 5,038 | Location: Washington State, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by -Tj- View Post
^
AMD 7000 series some hw addons for ID5 engine, guess AMD couldnt fix it with driver.

@ Mufflore

Imo nvidia could have reacted faster and demanded that retail game code sooner, not "tweaking" with some old code for this long.
That's way I think its kinda weak excuse..

I bet it would be much better if they asked for this new code 2-3weeks before release
how exactly do you know they didn't?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Neo Cyrus
Ancient Guru
 
Neo Cyrus's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX HD 6970 @ 1015/6400
Processor: Xeon W3530 @ 4GHz
Mainboard: GA-X58A-UD3R Rev. 2.0
Memory: 6GB DDR3-2000 9-9-9-24-1T
Soundcard: SB ZxR + DT 990 Pro-250
PSU: Antec High Current 900W
Default 03-10-2013, 19:57 | posts: 7,512 | Location: GTA, Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by -Tj- View Post
AMD 7000 series some hw addons for ID5 engine, guess AMD couldnt fix it with driver.
I went to read up on that and couldn't find anything through Bing or Google. Got a link?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
deathfrag
Master Guru
 
deathfrag's Avatar
 
Videocard: leadtek gtx780@1215/6400
Processor: I5 3570 @4.2 H100i
Mainboard: ASUS MAXIMUS V GENE
Memory: 8 GB vengeance 1600
Soundcard: ONBOARD
PSU: 800 Watt Aerocool
Default 03-10-2013, 20:13 | posts: 273 | Location: ALGERIA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mufflore View Post
If it matters that much to you, you should read up.
The game needs a patch as well as a driver update.
How can NVidia help what has happened?

Oh wait, you wouldnt know, yet you still spout
the patch is already released ! and there is no driver yet
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX780 OC AmpFan
Processor: i7 4770K OC 4.7GHz @1.28v
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe
Memory: Crucial BLE 16GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: Chieftec NTRO88+ 650W
Default 03-10-2013, 20:15 | posts: 8,035 | Location: Urban`Jungle

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aura89 View Post
how exactly do you know they didn't?
Well Im guessing, they are a big corp. they should have asked more.

Or do you really think SuqareEnix & Eidos said u nvidia you cant have it, AMD said so.
It can be but I kinda doubt it, this sounds more like nvidia's scenario. Remember BatmanAA lol they actually made anti AMD antialiasing hehe xD

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mufflore View Post
Surely you read what NVidia said?
They werent given the new code until the game was released.
They created a driver based on the older code they were given.
How are they to know that code wont be used in game?

Even if they had received the right code, the game needed a patch anyway.
NVidia couldnt have sorted this out without the game devs providing information they can use AND fixing the code they released.
and yet the game released a 1.8gb patch at release day, I mean if nvidia asked more frequently then those bugs could have been resolved as well, wouldn't you agree?

Ah well.. it is what it is, Imo both messed up - Nvidia, AMD and now its us users that get a ****ty experience in the end


@ Neo Cyrus

"Support for Partially Resident Textures,[9] which enable virtual memory support through DirectX and OpenGL extensions."
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Radeon_HD_7000_Series

&
http://mrelusive.com/publications/pr...ware_final.pdf

Last edited by -Tj-; 03-10-2013 at 20:25.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
3dPlayer
Banned
 
Videocard: Have
Processor: a
Mainboard: good
Memory: day
Soundcard: or
PSU: not
Default 03-10-2013, 20:17 | posts: 1,822

I finished the game with my 650ti 2gb with no problems at all.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Mufflore
Ancient Guru
 
Mufflore's Avatar
 
Videocard: KFA2 Anarchy 580@930/4650
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHz - blew it!
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67 UD4 B3
Memory: 8G Kngston 2.2GHz CL11 1T
Soundcard: Minimax+ & Dexa Opamps !!
PSU: Corsair Pro AX750
Default 03-10-2013, 20:17 | posts: 9,769 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by deathfrag View Post
the patch is already released ! and there is no driver yet
Um and how long do you think it takes to write a driver, test it, make sure it works with the new patch that was released when? ...

Your not with stupid, you are it
The IQ level here is definitely dropping.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
WhiteLightning
Ancient Guru
 
WhiteLightning's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780GTX ACX
Processor: i7-2600k HT @ 4.5 +H70 PP
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 GAMING
Memory: Gskill 2133Mhz 8GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair 1000 watt
Default 03-10-2013, 20:21 | posts: 23,446 | Location: Hoek van Holland, Netherlands

Why pick Nvidia and developers side and not the people who play the game ? it should work at launch
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Mufflore
Ancient Guru
 
Mufflore's Avatar
 
Videocard: KFA2 Anarchy 580@930/4650
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHz - blew it!
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67 UD4 B3
Memory: 8G Kngston 2.2GHz CL11 1T
Soundcard: Minimax+ & Dexa Opamps !!
PSU: Corsair Pro AX750
Default 03-10-2013, 20:21 | posts: 9,769 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by -Tj- View Post
and yet the game released a 1.8gb patch at release day, I mean if nvidia asked more frequently then those bugs could have been resolved as well, wouldn't you agree?
Huh?
If they dont know they need to ask, why would they ask.
Its up to the devs to release the code to NVidia if its changed, thats their job.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
SLI-756
Yellow Card (timeout)
 
Videocard: 760 SLI 4gb 1215/ 7000
Processor: Devil's Canyon i5 @4.8
Mainboard: gigabyte z97 G1 Sniper
Memory: 8gb dominator gt @2400
Soundcard: asus xonar dx
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
Default 03-10-2013, 20:24 | posts: 7,534 | Location: Sunny Scotland

Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteLightning View Post
"we recommend you do not test Tomb Raider until all of the above issues have been resolved."

Too late Nvidia , ive already finished the game. Cant keep people waiting you hear!
Talk to CD, not nvidia cause nvidia are one of the victims in this pitiful show of arrogance.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
WhiteLightning
Ancient Guru
 
WhiteLightning's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780GTX ACX
Processor: i7-2600k HT @ 4.5 +H70 PP
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 GAMING
Memory: Gskill 2133Mhz 8GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair 1000 watt
Default 03-10-2013, 20:25 | posts: 23,446 | Location: Hoek van Holland, Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by SLI-756 View Post
Talk to CD, not nvidia cause nvidia are one of the victims in this pityful show of arrogance.
the only victims are the people who want to play the game and cant.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
SLI-756
Yellow Card (timeout)
 
Videocard: 760 SLI 4gb 1215/ 7000
Processor: Devil's Canyon i5 @4.8
Mainboard: gigabyte z97 G1 Sniper
Memory: 8gb dominator gt @2400
Soundcard: asus xonar dx
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
Default 03-10-2013, 20:27 | posts: 7,534 | Location: Sunny Scotland

Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteLightning View Post
the only victims are the people who want to play the game and cant.
Huh?

so if every new game that got released played crap on AMD cards for weeks then there would be no damage done to AMD reputation then? business as usual eh?
fair play is all we ask, not exclusion.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
Mufflore
Ancient Guru
 
Mufflore's Avatar
 
Videocard: KFA2 Anarchy 580@930/4650
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHz - blew it!
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67 UD4 B3
Memory: 8G Kngston 2.2GHz CL11 1T
Soundcard: Minimax+ & Dexa Opamps !!
PSU: Corsair Pro AX750
Default 03-10-2013, 20:29 | posts: 9,769 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteLightning View Post
the only victims are the people who want to play the game and cant.
CD shot themselves in the foot as well because initial sales will be slower due to these issues.
NVidia sales will be slowest.
I havent bought it yet due to them.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
WhiteLightning
Ancient Guru
 
WhiteLightning's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780GTX ACX
Processor: i7-2600k HT @ 4.5 +H70 PP
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 GAMING
Memory: Gskill 2133Mhz 8GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair 1000 watt
Default 03-10-2013, 20:32 | posts: 23,446 | Location: Hoek van Holland, Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by SLI-756 View Post
Huh?

so if every new game that got released played crap on AMD cards for weeks then there would be no damage done to AMD reputation then? business as usual eh?
fair play is all we ask, not exclusion.
Dont see why it would damage the reputation. Allot of games run crap at launch in case you havent noticed. this is no different.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
WhiteLightning
Ancient Guru
 
WhiteLightning's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780GTX ACX
Processor: i7-2600k HT @ 4.5 +H70 PP
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 GAMING
Memory: Gskill 2133Mhz 8GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair 1000 watt
Default 03-10-2013, 20:34 | posts: 23,446 | Location: Hoek van Holland, Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mufflore View Post
CD shot themselves in the foot as well because initial sales will be slower due to these issues.
NVidia sales will be slowest.
I havent bought it yet due to them.
Nvidia sales will also be slower because that awesome game program where you get the game for free and 2 other games. its not just this problem that causes slow sales.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
SLI-756
Yellow Card (timeout)
 
Videocard: 760 SLI 4gb 1215/ 7000
Processor: Devil's Canyon i5 @4.8
Mainboard: gigabyte z97 G1 Sniper
Memory: 8gb dominator gt @2400
Soundcard: asus xonar dx
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
Default 03-10-2013, 20:37 | posts: 7,534 | Location: Sunny Scotland

Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteLightning View Post
Dont see why it would damage the reputation. Allot of games run crap at launch in case you havent noticed. this is no different.
Yeah i pre-ordered this, you know what? well you see the next amd sponsored game, you suppose i'm gonna pre-order that?
you know two thirds of gamers use nvidias cards?
LOL
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
WhiteLightning
Ancient Guru
 
WhiteLightning's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780GTX ACX
Processor: i7-2600k HT @ 4.5 +H70 PP
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 GAMING
Memory: Gskill 2133Mhz 8GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair 1000 watt
Default 03-10-2013, 20:43 | posts: 23,446 | Location: Hoek van Holland, Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by SLI-756 View Post
Yeah i pre-ordered this, you know what? well you see the next amd sponsored game, you suppose i'm gonna pre-order that?
you know two thirds of gamers use nvidias cards?
LOL
Well ordering a few weeks later is always better then pre-ordering.
i wonder how long you will keep it up though , ive tried myself
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
Mufflore
Ancient Guru
 
Mufflore's Avatar
 
Videocard: KFA2 Anarchy 580@930/4650
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHz - blew it!
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67 UD4 B3
Memory: 8G Kngston 2.2GHz CL11 1T
Soundcard: Minimax+ & Dexa Opamps !!
PSU: Corsair Pro AX750
Default 03-10-2013, 20:43 | posts: 9,769 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteLightning View Post
Nvidia sales will also be slower because that awesome game program where you get the game for free and 2 other games. its not just this problem that causes slow sales.
Are you arguing for the sake of it?
That has no effect on what is happening due to the code and driver issues.
I could say that sales will be less because of the recession, but it has nothing to do with what is being discussed.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.