Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Processors and motherboards Intel
Processors and motherboards Intel Is that Core 2 or i7 giving you a hard time? Enter this forum, this is all about Intel baby.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
3770k OC voltage.
Old
  (#1)
tw1st
Member Guru
 
tw1st's Avatar
 
Videocard: SLI GTX780 Classified 3GB
Processor: i7 3770k @ 4.3Ghz -1.2v
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth z77
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: Realtek HD
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 3770k OC voltage. - 03-08-2013, 12:17 | posts: 144 | Location: NJ

Right now I'm sitting @ 4.3Ghz with a voltage of 1.185. Temps are good, everything is stable.

I could probably push it a little bit more, and get 4.5-4.6, but my system wont stay stable for some reason.

If I'm at 1.185 volts for 4.3ghz, wouldn't it make sense that 1.200 would be stable for 4.4? Its not, I cant even get 1.285v to be stable to 4.4Ghz, is this normal? I know every CPU is different, but I just can seem to keep my system stable after 4.3Ghz.

Last edited by tw1st; 03-08-2013 at 12:31.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
The Phoenix
Maha Guru
 
The Phoenix's Avatar
 
Videocard: 4870 temp
Processor: 3770k@4.8ghz/hyper212+
Mainboard: biostar tz68a+ z68
Memory: 8 gig g-skill DDR3
Soundcard: onboard hd audio
PSU: CORSAIR 650w
Default 03-08-2013, 16:48 | posts: 950

yeah that is pretty odd, at 1.212v im runnin 4.6ghz stable,so you should definatly be stable at 1.285,4.4ghz i would think,what cooler are you using?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
tw1st
Member Guru
 
tw1st's Avatar
 
Videocard: SLI GTX780 Classified 3GB
Processor: i7 3770k @ 4.3Ghz -1.2v
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth z77
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: Realtek HD
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 03-08-2013, 17:18 | posts: 144 | Location: NJ

Hey, thanks for the reply.

I am using a Hyper 212 Evo with a push/pull config.

Your OC is basically what I would want, what sort of temps are you getting?

The only thing I can think of is that the "CPU Currency Throttling" BIOS setting is somehow screwing me up. I keep it at 100% most of the time, but I see people recommend 120-140%.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
The Phoenix
Maha Guru
 
The Phoenix's Avatar
 
Videocard: 4870 temp
Processor: 3770k@4.8ghz/hyper212+
Mainboard: biostar tz68a+ z68
Memory: 8 gig g-skill DDR3
Soundcard: onboard hd audio
PSU: CORSAIR 650w
Default 03-08-2013, 20:50 | posts: 950

i ran prime for about 5mins an got up to around 85c,and i only use push on my evo,also using prolimatech pk1 trim
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Octopuss
Master Guru
 
Octopuss's Avatar
 
Videocard: -
Processor: -
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: -
Default 03-08-2013, 22:09 | posts: 204 | Location: Czech republic

That's weird voltage.
I am at 4.2GHz at 1.044V under load.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 7970CF @ Qnix 1440p 110Hz
Processor: i7 930
Mainboard: ASUS P6X58D Premium
Memory: 6GB Corsair Dominators
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default 03-09-2013, 08:02 | posts: 3,095 | Location: Lebanon

What cooling do you have, OP?

What about your other system specs? Mobo, RAM, etc...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
tw1st
Member Guru
 
tw1st's Avatar
 
Videocard: SLI GTX780 Classified 3GB
Processor: i7 3770k @ 4.3Ghz -1.2v
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth z77
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: Realtek HD
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 03-09-2013, 12:27 | posts: 144 | Location: NJ

Using a hyper 212 evo push/pull config, Asus sabertooth z77, 16gb corsair vengeance, 850w ax850.

It's just so strange to me that 4.3ghz is completely stable at 1.185v and I can't get anything higher than that. Tried again last night, even 4.4ghz @ 1.295v won't run without a bsod :/
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Weecka
Master Guru
 
Weecka's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 780 3GB
Processor: i7 2700k @ 4.7GHz H2O
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65
Memory: Corsair Plat 16GB 1866Mhz
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar D2X PCI-E 7.1
PSU: Corsair AX860
Default 03-10-2013, 09:37 | posts: 267 | Location: UK

Are you only changing vcore? what BSOD are you getting when you increase the voltage for 4.4 GHz? if u're getting BSOD 101 it is vcore, but if you are getting BSOD 124, it might be PLL or VCCIO or VCCSA. therefore even if you push your vcore further it doesn't improve stability.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
tw1st
Member Guru
 
tw1st's Avatar
 
Videocard: SLI GTX780 Classified 3GB
Processor: i7 3770k @ 4.3Ghz -1.2v
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth z77
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: Realtek HD
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 03-11-2013, 12:35 | posts: 144 | Location: NJ

didn't really pay attention to the error code, is there a list somewhere I can look at to compare it to? Thanks.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
freeZ
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 670 PE
Processor: i7 3770K @ 4.5GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H
Memory: G.Skill RipjawsX 8GB 1600
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar STX + HD 600's
PSU: Corsair AX860i
Default 03-11-2013, 17:45 | posts: 658

At 4.5GHz on 1.2 (bumped it up to 1.25 for good measure) on the same cooler (push only). Is your ram on proper timings? Maybe just your luck of the draw. To be honest, the 200MHz won't offer you anything negligible in real world use.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Weecka
Master Guru
 
Weecka's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 780 3GB
Processor: i7 2700k @ 4.7GHz H2O
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65
Memory: Corsair Plat 16GB 1866Mhz
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar D2X PCI-E 7.1
PSU: Corsair AX860
Default 03-11-2013, 18:04 | posts: 267 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by tw1st View Post
didn't really pay attention to the error code, is there a list somewhere I can look at to compare it to? Thanks.
If you're using windows (which i guess you are) type in "view all problem reports" in start menu search and it will show you all the BSOD's/program crashes that happened recently. then you can right-click and view technical details for the crash. it shows you all details, including BSOD code.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
tw1st
Member Guru
 
tw1st's Avatar
 
Videocard: SLI GTX780 Classified 3GB
Processor: i7 3770k @ 4.3Ghz -1.2v
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth z77
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: Realtek HD
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 03-11-2013, 18:09 | posts: 144 | Location: NJ

Awesome! thanks for that info, that is actually very helpful to know. I can check out why my tomb raider has been crashing to I guess.

I'll check when I get home and report my findings. Thanks again!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
main_shoby
Maha Guru
 
main_shoby's Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 90Hz
Processor: 3930k 4.8ghz (water)
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: Gskill Sniper 16gb 2400
Soundcard: Xonar STX & DT 880 Prem
PSU: Corsair Ax1200
Default 03-14-2013, 13:53 | posts: 974 | Location: Miami

im at 4.5ghz and 1.20v 24/7 since 3770k 1st came out.
never crashed on 1.20v and 4.5ghz (ht on)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
The Phoenix
Maha Guru
 
The Phoenix's Avatar
 
Videocard: 4870 temp
Processor: 3770k@4.8ghz/hyper212+
Mainboard: biostar tz68a+ z68
Memory: 8 gig g-skill DDR3
Soundcard: onboard hd audio
PSU: CORSAIR 650w
Default 03-14-2013, 16:22 | posts: 950

Quote:
Originally Posted by tw1st View Post
Awesome! thanks for that info, that is actually very helpful to know. I can check out why my tomb raider has been crashing to I guess.

I'll check when I get home and report my findings. Thanks again!
tomb raider has bugs that crash on nvidia hardware,til they get that fixed i wont even finish the game
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
angmar
Maha Guru
 
angmar's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 290X Tri-X
Processor: i7 3770k@ 4.7ghz h20
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: Mushkin DDR3 1600 16GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: OCZ 600 Watt 80 Plus
Default 03-15-2013, 13:25 | posts: 1,107 | Location: Monmouth County, NJ

Well my cpu requires a substantial bump in voltage to go from 4.4 to 4.5 and it takes roughly 1.3 to get to 4.7. You may just have a bad chip. Honestly your not going to tell the difference between 4.3 and 4.4 or 4.5. In all seriousness you prob can't even tell the difference from 3.5 to 4.5 in most cases.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
angmar
Maha Guru
 
angmar's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 290X Tri-X
Processor: i7 3770k@ 4.7ghz h20
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: Mushkin DDR3 1600 16GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: OCZ 600 Watt 80 Plus
Default 03-15-2013, 13:27 | posts: 1,107 | Location: Monmouth County, NJ

Quote:
Originally Posted by tw1st View Post
Awesome! thanks for that info, that is actually very helpful to know. I can check out why my tomb raider has been crashing to I guess.

I'll check when I get home and report my findings. Thanks again!

Turn off tesselation if your tomb raider is crashing it fixed it for me. After disabling Tess I finished the game from start to finish without a single crash.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
tw1st
Member Guru
 
tw1st's Avatar
 
Videocard: SLI GTX780 Classified 3GB
Processor: i7 3770k @ 4.3Ghz -1.2v
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth z77
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: Realtek HD
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 03-15-2013, 14:15 | posts: 144 | Location: NJ

Still unable to get past 4.3Ghz, no matter what voltage I try, went upto 1.3v and I was still crashing.

Got 0x3b and 0x1a errors, one of them said possible bad memory, I checked with memtest and everything is fine, also my ram is set at 1.5v so I'm pretty sure it's not that.

the other error 0x3b said I might need more voltage, but if I need more than 1.3v for a stable 4.5OC, it doesn't seem like it would be worth it anymore.

I just can't understand how 4.3 sits perfectly fine on 1.185v, and 4.5 would need more than 1.3v... doesn't make any sense.

All my BIOS options are set correctly for OC, spread spectrum disabled, LLC on auto, CPU power on 100%, DDR is set @ 1600 and 1.5v, Static voltage.... whatever.... I think I've given up guys.

Thanks for all the tips in here, but I think I'm just going to blame the chip on this one
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
daffy101
Member Guru
 
daffy101's Avatar
 
Videocard: 670GTX with TT 2 cooler
Processor: I5 2500k@4.6ghz H80
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65
Memory: 16gb 1600mhz DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: 850w
Default 03-15-2013, 18:15 | posts: 69

I know my CPU is sandy bridge but I had a similar problem. I have run 1.3v 24/7 for 4.6Ghz (Clocked down to 4.4ghz at 1.28v at the moment) but I have never been able to get it to run at 4.7Ghz no matter what combination of voltages I try it seems that some chips might just be so close to the minimum requirement that they don't overclock as well. You either live with it or you could go mad looking for a Golden sample chip. The performance gain is nominal though really for day to day things.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX Titan H20 1398/7600
Processor: i7 3770K@5Ghz HT H20
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-WS
Memory: G.Skill 8GBx2 2400
Soundcard: Xonar Phoebus-PC360/HD598
PSU: SeaSonic Platinum-1000
Default 03-15-2013, 18:40 | posts: 6,194 | Location: USA

Got 0x3b and 0x1a..

Thats ram, not cpu. Try raising VTT voltage to 1.1
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
tw1st
Member Guru
 
tw1st's Avatar
 
Videocard: SLI GTX780 Classified 3GB
Processor: i7 3770k @ 4.3Ghz -1.2v
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth z77
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: Realtek HD
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 03-16-2013, 15:37 | posts: 144 | Location: NJ

Quote:
Originally Posted by Agent-A01 View Post
Got 0x3b and 0x1a..

Thats ram, not cpu. Try raising VTT voltage to 1.1
Hmm ram eh? My ram is set for correct timing and voltages, not sure how it would be affected with a higher overclock though since I am not touching it at all.

I will give the VVT voltage a shot, is that somehow related to the RAM? Thanks.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX Titan H20 1398/7600
Processor: i7 3770K@5Ghz HT H20
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-WS
Memory: G.Skill 8GBx2 2400
Soundcard: Xonar Phoebus-PC360/HD598
PSU: SeaSonic Platinum-1000
Default 03-16-2013, 18:36 | posts: 6,194 | Location: USA

VTT is memory controller voltage. Guarantee you something related to ram is holding you back. If you're using 4 sticks, take two out just for testing CPU oc
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
tw1st
Member Guru
 
tw1st's Avatar
 
Videocard: SLI GTX780 Classified 3GB
Processor: i7 3770k @ 4.3Ghz -1.2v
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth z77
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: Realtek HD
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 03-17-2013, 16:02 | posts: 144 | Location: NJ

Quote:
Originally Posted by Agent-A01 View Post
VTT is memory controller voltage. Guarantee you something related to ram is holding you back. If you're using 4 sticks, take two out just for testing CPU oc
I bet that's its too, I can't find the vtt option anywhere in my bios, using an asus sabertooth z77, is it maybe called something else?

*edit*

yup, can't find anything that says VTT in my BIOS, tried google and it said it might be called IMC as well. Further investigation gave me nothing, I don't think VTT/IMC is something I am able to change on an Asus mobo...

Last edited by tw1st; 03-17-2013 at 17:39.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX Titan H20 1398/7600
Processor: i7 3770K@5Ghz HT H20
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-WS
Memory: G.Skill 8GBx2 2400
Soundcard: Xonar Phoebus-PC360/HD598
PSU: SeaSonic Platinum-1000
Default 03-17-2013, 18:00 | posts: 6,194 | Location: USA

Sry for asus it's vccio voltage
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
toomi1982
Newbie
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 680 Lightning
Processor: I7 3770K@4.2Ghz 1.150v
Mainboard: MSI Z77 MPOWER
Memory: 16GB AVEXIR MPOWER 1600
Soundcard: Creative T20 S2
PSU: CM SILENT PRO 850
Default 03-29-2013, 13:06 | posts: 42 | Location: Poland

Hello. I have similar problem. I have I7 3770K + custom WC , MSI Z77 MPOWER and 2x8 AVEXIR MPOWER SERIES 1600Mhz XMP. 4.2 Ghz at 1.150v is max that i can get. Please help me with correct bios settings.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.