Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Games, Gaming & Game-demos
Games, Gaming & Game-demos You can talk about the latest games here and more ..


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Nvidia Official Response on Tomb Raider
Old
  (#1)
SLI-756
Ancient Guru
 
SLI-756's Avatar
 
Videocard: 760 FTW
Processor: 3570k @4.8
Mainboard: gigabyte z77x up4
Memory: dominator gt @2400mhz
Soundcard: asus xonar dx
PSU: xfx 850
Default Nvidia Official Response on Tomb Raider - 03-05-2013, 19:29 | posts: 5,780 | Location: Sunny Scotland

We are aware of major performance and stability issues with GeForce GPUs running Tomb Raider with maximum settings. Unfortunately, NVIDIA didnít receive final code until this past weekend which substantially decreased stability, image quality and performance over a build we were previously provided. We are working closely with Crystal Dynamics to address and resolve all game issues as quickly as possible.
In the meantime, we would like to apologize to GeForce users that are not able to have a great experience playing Tomb Raider, as they have come to expect with all of their favorite PC games.


ManuelG

https://forums.geforce.com/default/t...52523/#3752523
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
PhazeDelta1
Ancient Guru
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 770 Classified SLI
Processor: Intel i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z87
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Creative SB Z
PSU: Seasonic X-1050
Default 03-05-2013, 19:32 | posts: 12,043 | Location: USA

Gotta love MannyG
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
JonasBeckman
Ancient Guru
 
JonasBeckman's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 280X Dual-X
Processor: i7-3930K @ 4.1Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: Asus ROG Phoebus
PSU: Corsair AX 1200W
Default 03-05-2013, 19:33 | posts: 9,078 | Location: Sweden

It's unfortunate that the competition between AMD and Nvidia results in these little annoyances though hopefully it can be resolved either with a driver update, game patch or both.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
SLI-756
Ancient Guru
 
SLI-756's Avatar
 
Videocard: 760 FTW
Processor: 3570k @4.8
Mainboard: gigabyte z77x up4
Memory: dominator gt @2400mhz
Soundcard: asus xonar dx
PSU: xfx 850
Default 03-05-2013, 19:34 | posts: 5,780 | Location: Sunny Scotland

Quote:
Originally Posted by phazedelta1 View Post
gotta love mannyg
+1
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
jim2point0
Maha Guru
 
jim2point0's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x-SLI GTX680 4GB
Processor: i7-3770K @ 4.4 GHz
Mainboard: Asus Maximus V
Memory: 16GB DDR3 @ 1866 MHz
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 750W Gold Cert
Default 03-05-2013, 19:43 | posts: 1,014

I'm im no hurry to give them my money. I'll wait for them to fix up some stuff before I even attempt the game...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Uncle Dude
Maha Guru
 
Uncle Dude's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX680 SLI
Processor: 2600k/H100i @ 4.8
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Memory: Vengeance 16GB@1866
Soundcard: Avid Eleven Rack
PSU: Corsair AX860i
Default 03-05-2013, 19:47 | posts: 2,227 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by jim2point0 View Post
I'm im no hurry to give them my money. I'll wait for them to fix up some stuff before I even attempt the game...
The Hitman:Absolution SLI bits work great and the game will run flawlessly maxed-out on your setup.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: Inno3D GTX580 1.53GB
Processor: Intel i7 4770K OC 4.7GHz
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 - Deluxe
Memory: Crucial BLE 4x4GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: Chieftec NTRO88+ 650W
Default 03-05-2013, 19:59 | posts: 5,663 | Location: Urban`Jungle

Weak excuse.


Although its ok once I disable TressFx, rest maxed with FXAA.. At least something
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Major Melchett
Maha Guru
 
Major Melchett's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 480 is ALIVE!!!.
Processor: AMD X3 450 @ X4 3.875ghz
Mainboard: GA-MA770T-UD3
Memory: 8GB Muskin 1666 CL9
Soundcard: Onboard Nvidia
PSU: High Power 1000w (100a)
Default 03-05-2013, 20:11 | posts: 2,253 | Location: Manchester, UK

A weak excuse?, how?.

They received new code over the weekend that was different to the code they had been given before - a code that was less stable, had worse image quality and less performance from the previous code.

I'm not quite understanding how that translates to a weak excuse for the issues NVidia cards are having, in fact it sounds like a perfectly valid one to me.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
jim2point0
Maha Guru
 
jim2point0's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x-SLI GTX680 4GB
Processor: i7-3770K @ 4.4 GHz
Mainboard: Asus Maximus V
Memory: 16GB DDR3 @ 1866 MHz
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 750W Gold Cert
Default 03-05-2013, 20:24 | posts: 1,014

Quote:
Originally Posted by -Tj- View Post
Weak excuse.
*facepalm*
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Rich_Guy
Ancient Guru
 
Rich_Guy's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSi Gaming 290X 1080/1250
Processor: i7 920 D0
Mainboard: Biostar Tpower x58
Memory: 6Gb Corsair DDR3
Soundcard: Xonar DX + Logi.X-530's
PSU: Corsair AX860w
Default 03-05-2013, 20:33 | posts: 8,184 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Major Melchett View Post
A weak excuse?, how?.

They received new code over the weekend that was different to the code they had been given before - a code that was less stable, had worse image quality and less performance from the previous code.

I'm not quite understanding how that translates to a weak excuse for the issues NVidia cards are having, in fact it sounds like a perfectly valid one to me.
Yup, perfectly valid, it happens to us AMD users to, when Nvidia won't give them code till late on for their TWIMTBP games.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: Inno3D GTX580 1.53GB
Processor: Intel i7 4770K OC 4.7GHz
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 - Deluxe
Memory: Crucial BLE 4x4GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: Chieftec NTRO88+ 650W
Default 03-05-2013, 21:40 | posts: 5,663 | Location: Urban`Jungle

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich_Guy View Post
Yup, perfectly valid, it happens to us AMD users to, when Nvidia won't give them code till late on for their TWIMTBP games.
yeah my point exactly.. Then i see all these silly NV fans comments nvidia had to little time, blame SquareEnix/Edios/AMD and the code too,.. excuse upon excuse


Idc for any excuses I just want a working game TWIMTBP or AMD evolved. Funny thing was a TWIMTBP game had more issues then AMD evolved and response from nvidia? it starts blaming developers, even though its their TWIMTBP - COD5 WAW and Avatar to name a few. Or what's worse then they go AMD has this issue too so its not nvidia fault.. Ok, I mean why promote TWIMTBP then?


Anyway I hope Nvidia gets their **** together in the future, let this Tombraider issue be a lesson to them.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
WhiteLightning
Ancient Guru
 
WhiteLightning's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780GTX ACX 1215/1750
Processor: i7-2600k HT @ 4.5 +H70 PP
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 GAMING
Memory: Gskill 2133Mhz 8GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair 1000 watt
Default 03-05-2013, 21:47 | posts: 22,519 | Location: Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich_Guy View Post
Yup, perfectly valid, it happens to us AMD users to, when Nvidia won't give them code till late on for their TWIMTBP games.
oh right, when amd users were going on about nvidia paying off developers to cripple performance. yeah i remember that
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
PhazeDelta1
Ancient Guru
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 770 Classified SLI
Processor: Intel i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z87
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Creative SB Z
PSU: Seasonic X-1050
Default 03-05-2013, 22:07 | posts: 12,043 | Location: USA

AMD paid off Crystyal Dynamics to cripple performance for Nvidia users.

There. I said it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
WhiteLightning
Ancient Guru
 
WhiteLightning's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780GTX ACX 1215/1750
Processor: i7-2600k HT @ 4.5 +H70 PP
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 GAMING
Memory: Gskill 2133Mhz 8GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair 1000 watt
Default 03-05-2013, 22:10 | posts: 22,519 | Location: Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhazeDelta1 View Post
AMD paid off Crystyal Dynamics to cripple performance for Nvidia users.

There. I said it.
lol
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Aura89
Ancient Guru
 
Aura89's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 770 OC Twin Frozr
Processor: AMD FX 4100 @ 4.2Ghz
Mainboard: Asrock 970 Extreme3
Memory: GeIL 8Gb DDR3 1600
Soundcard: Sounblaster Z/DT 990 Pro
PSU: Antec 650 Watt
Default 03-05-2013, 22:18 | posts: 4,934 | Location: Washington State, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by -Tj- View Post
yeah my point exactly.. Then i see all these silly NV fans comments nvidia had to little time, blame SquareEnix/Edios/AMD and the code too,.. excuse upon excuse


Idc for any excuses I just want a working game TWIMTBP or AMD evolved. Funny thing was a TWIMTBP game had more issues then AMD evolved and response from nvidia? it starts blaming developers, even though its their TWIMTBP - COD5 WAW and Avatar to name a few. Or what's worse then they go AMD has this issue too so its not nvidia fault.. Ok, I mean why promote TWIMTBP then?


Anyway I hope Nvidia gets their **** together in the future, let this Tombraider issue be a lesson to them.
...you sir make absolutely no sense

You're basically blaming nvidia for bad performance in the same way that a some kid gets blamed for a bad grade on a piece of paper when in reality that kid did great on the piece of paper, if it werent for the fact that the instructor changed the parameters/etc. of the paper at the last minute, making most work to done on the paper to become invalid, or partially invalid

how exactly should nvidia get their **** together when the build they had worked just fine and therefore means they had their **** together?

Some people have no logic i see.... I see no "lesson" to be learned here aside from "be weary of developers, they may screw the pooch in the end with our work"
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 03-05-2013, 22:25 | posts: 17,187 | Location: New Jersey, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhazeDelta1 View Post
AMD paid off Crystyal Dynamics to cripple performance for Nvidia users.

There. I said it.
is the game even worth it? havent read any reviews, I really dont give a rats ass about hair fx or wtf its called
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
PhazeDelta1
Ancient Guru
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 770 Classified SLI
Processor: Intel i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z87
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Creative SB Z
PSU: Seasonic X-1050
Default 03-05-2013, 22:38 | posts: 12,043 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
is the game even worth it? havent read any reviews, I really dont give a rats ass about hair fx or wtf its called
IDK man. I only played it for 10 mins then went back to what I was playing beforehand. I only tested for functionality and what I did test, worked fine. I have a few games to finish before I can even start on this one.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: Inno3D GTX580 1.53GB
Processor: Intel i7 4770K OC 4.7GHz
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 - Deluxe
Memory: Crucial BLE 4x4GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: Chieftec NTRO88+ 650W
Default 03-05-2013, 22:48 | posts: 5,663 | Location: Urban`Jungle

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aura89 View Post
...you sir make absolutely no sense

You're basically blaming nvidia for bad performance in the same way that a some kid gets blamed for a bad grade on a piece of paper when in reality that kid did great on the piece of paper, if it werent for the fact that the instructor changed the parameters/etc. of the paper at the last minute, making most work to done on the paper to become invalid, or partially invalid

how exactly should nvidia get their **** together when the build they had worked just fine and therefore means they had their **** together?

Some people have no logic i see.... I see no "lesson" to be learned here aside from "be weary of developers, they may screw the pooch in the end with our work"
I made enough sense to rage some nv fans, you included.


btw your comparison is flawed too, remember the days when a game just played, now we need driver optimizations for this game, game optimizations for that gpu.. And what would happen if you had a AMD gpu and it played terrible in certain game, who would you blame then? AMD or say nah its nvidia fault they had better game code xD


Imo nvidia had enough time to do their homework (slightly changed code or not), but they didnt want to prioritize it, they rather optimize it for Crysis3, Hawken or SniperElite2


Edit:
And dont get me wrong it plays fine, just not with TressFX ON. With ON it has some abnormal latency issues by direct compute and it starts leaking memory.

Last edited by -Tj-; 03-05-2013 at 23:15.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Icanium
Maha Guru
 
Icanium's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 670 Sli / nVidia 3D
Processor: i7 3770K
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77 V-Pro
Memory: 16 gb G.SKILL DDR3 2400
Soundcard: Asus Xonar Xense
PSU: CORSAIR AX1200
Default 03-05-2013, 23:09 | posts: 1,028 | Location: Detroit,MI.USA

If memory serves me correctly, nvidia's game day support is superior to their competition, so they failed in this case to live up to expectations.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
ricardonuno1980
Ancient Guru
 
ricardonuno1980's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX480 - new CRT 21"
Processor: i5-2500K@4.5GHz CM212EVO
Mainboard: ASUS P8P67 REV 3.0
Memory: HyperX 2x4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: NOX 1000W
Smile 03-05-2013, 23:22 | posts: 3,927 | Location: Carvalhos (Gaia)

I played "new" TR no problems during ~1 hour with all max settings except post disabled at 1280x720@FXAA-16xAF running Win 7 x64 SP1 with 313.96beta (HQ), sorry. And I got 45-60 fps but I dropped to 15-20 fps due to close to hair TressFX. But GF 600-series have problems.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 03-05-2013, 23:54 | posts: 17,187 | Location: New Jersey, USA

thats a major resolution your playing at there ric
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
(.)(.)
Ancient Guru
 
(.)(.)'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 580sli (water)
Processor: 2600k @ 4.7
Mainboard: Asus M4E
Memory: Corsair Vengence
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: Enermax Rev 1250w
Default 03-05-2013, 23:56 | posts: 3,874 | Location: Logd n jst 2 change avatar

This is why exclusives need to be dropped on an open platform like the pc, it just hurts performance for end users no different to drm, imo.

Save exclusive wars for consoles.

Also, it hurts my head as to how much attention this tressFx thing got, at least PhysX and tesselation can be applied to almost everything and not just.....friggin hair!....really! Is this what were doing now.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
ricardonuno1980
Ancient Guru
 
ricardonuno1980's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX480 - new CRT 21"
Processor: i5-2500K@4.5GHz CM212EVO
Mainboard: ASUS P8P67 REV 3.0
Memory: HyperX 2x4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: NOX 1000W
Default 03-06-2013, 00:17 | posts: 3,927 | Location: Carvalhos (Gaia)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
thats a major resolution your playing at there ric
"ric" - bad but I'm Ricardo Nuno.

Why do I change from 720p to higher resolution? I don't want that because higher resolution drops performance for GTX 480. lool But I got pure-smooth motion (vsync enabled only but double buffering) during medium or long time at 720p.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
Uncle Dude
Maha Guru
 
Uncle Dude's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX680 SLI
Processor: 2600k/H100i @ 4.8
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Memory: Vengeance 16GB@1866
Soundcard: Avid Eleven Rack
PSU: Corsair AX860i
Default 03-06-2013, 00:46 | posts: 2,227 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
thats a major resolution your playing at there ric
Admit it, you just wanted Ricardo to say the magic words.


Pure-smooth...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
Placebo_Tony
Master Guru
 
Placebo_Tony's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 680 SLI
Processor: 3770k @4.5
Mainboard:
Memory: 16GB hyperX 1600mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: Seasonic 1000w platinum
Default 03-06-2013, 00:49 | posts: 166

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uncle Dude View Post
The Hitman:Absolution SLI bits work great and the game will run flawlessly maxed-out on your setup.
Yep, I've tested this and it solves the crashing.
Thanx man!
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.