Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section
Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything Catalyst related. AMD Catalyst drivers are for all AMD ATI based graphics cards. This is also the place to discuss modified Catalyst drivers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Tomb Raider - Tressfx flickering in crossfire
Old
  (#1)
Scout
Member Guru
 
Scout's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x7950 Sapphire Vapor-x
Processor: i7 980x
Mainboard: Asus R3 Extreme
Memory: 12gb ddr3
Soundcard: X-Fi
PSU: Corsair HX1000
Default Tomb Raider - Tressfx flickering in crossfire - 03-05-2013, 17:30 | posts: 126

So yeah, I'm using two 7950's in crossfire and the shadows from the hair flicker a lot in crossfire mode, hair also flickers all over the place sometimes.

Using latest beta drivers, anyone else with the same problem ?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Eastcoasthandle
Maha Guru
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 03-05-2013, 17:53 | posts: 1,550

You have a video you can post?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Zurvan
Member Guru
 
Zurvan's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX HD 7870
Processor: i5-3470
Mainboard: ASRock H77 Pro4/MVP
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8 GB
Soundcard:
PSU: XFX Core Edition PRO550W
Default 03-05-2013, 18:05 | posts: 75

I was also getting some hair flickering when turning the camera around till the point Lara is almost bald lol.

Tressfx is really performance hungry so I hope AMD releases a beta driver soon.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Plug2k
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: MSI -R9-295X2 8GB -4GB
Processor: i7 4790k @4.8ghz [Delid]
Mainboard: Gigabyte-z97soc Force
Memory: 2x Averix 2133 CL9 8GB 16
Soundcard: Creative ZXR + Sen650s
PSU: OCZ ZX 1250w PSU
Default 03-05-2013, 18:57 | posts: 1,084 | Location: Uk

there is defo performance issues in crossfire with 4xaa all maxed out but 2xaa all maxed out is much better like double the frames lol but the game has annoying random moments of pure slowdown during ingame fmv`s, think its to do with tressfx issue.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Scout
Member Guru
 
Scout's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x7950 Sapphire Vapor-x
Processor: i7 980x
Mainboard: Asus R3 Extreme
Memory: 12gb ddr3
Soundcard: X-Fi
PSU: Corsair HX1000
Default 03-05-2013, 19:37 | posts: 126

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eastcoasthandle View Post
You have a video you can post?
That would take ages since my upload is crappy, it's basically flickering shadows, have to turn off either crossfire or tressfx, but without crossfire it's unplayable..

On my setup with mild overclock I'm having 90%~ gpu usage from both cards with everything on ultra + tressfx and fsaa @ 2560x1440 & 60fps vsync
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
teleguy
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 780 GHz/HD7970
Processor: i7 3770K/Phenom 1055T
Mainboard: P8Z77-V/880G Extreme3
Memory: DDR3 8 GB/DDR3 8 GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DS
PSU: Corsair 750W/Coolerm 800W
Default 03-05-2013, 20:03 | posts: 1,115

Like this?

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Scout
Member Guru
 
Scout's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x7950 Sapphire Vapor-x
Processor: i7 980x
Mainboard: Asus R3 Extreme
Memory: 12gb ddr3
Soundcard: X-Fi
PSU: Corsair HX1000
Default 03-05-2013, 20:08 | posts: 126

yeah, but the shadow in that gif is not flickering/blinking

hair glitches sometimes like that but not often
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Kaaskop
Newbie
 
Videocard: Palit GTX770 4GB Jetstrea
Processor: i7-2600k@4.2GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z68AP-D3
Memory: 8GB HyperX DDR3-1333
Soundcard:
PSU: HX650w
Default 03-05-2013, 20:14 | posts: 16 | Location: .nl

Well it seems that the second GPU cannot keep up with DirectCompute calculations that are needed for TressFX.

Did some testing and at 720p and 1080p with 1 card it's fine, on 1080p it's only a 10fps loss even compared to "normal" hair.
With BOTH cards, at 720p it's fine-ish, only a little flickering and such, but on 1080p the horror starts. Massive slowdowns, massive flickering and benchmarked, 20 fps difference compared to "normal" hair.

So GG AMD, they created an AMD feature that doesn't work with AMD CrossfireX feature...

1 card @720p: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=chTDhBr_KdU
2 cards @720p: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qE_NYPDtvfc
2 cards @1080p: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GWYHjhqy4WI
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Sketche
Newbie
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD7970 3GB
Processor: Intel i7 950
Mainboard: Rampage II Extreme
Memory: DDR3 12GB Corsair
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi
PSU: 750W Corsair
Default 03-05-2013, 23:06 | posts: 28

I have dual 7970's and this isn't happening. Running the benchmark, at least.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
BIGGRIMTIM
Newbie
 
BIGGRIMTIM's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus R9290-DC2OC-4GD5 X 2
Processor: AMD FX8350 @ 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: Crosshair V Formula-Z
Memory: 16GB DDR3 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair HX1050
Default 03-06-2013, 03:33 | posts: 44

I have dual 7970's and this happening for me with latest 13.2 beta 7 drivers.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
scatterlogical
Newbie
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 03-06-2013, 13:53 | posts: 1

I'm experiencing this problem. Twin 7850's.
The hair is flickering all over the place like a caffeinated child with tourette's.
When the camera is way back, it settles right down and is quite fine, but closeups can get really nasty, even killing the framerate.
Seems that there's a problem in how the hair is synced frame-to-frame - using RadeonPro, I switched the crossfire mode to supertile, and this helps a lot - but still not completely. Also, disabling vsync helps too, but even so it still flickers a little close-up.
If I alt-enter and run the game in a window (disabling crossfire in the process) tada, totally fixed. Of course this nixes my lovely framerate.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Wag
Newbie
 
Videocard: 2GB 6950 Tri-Fire
Processor: 2600k@4.8GHz
Mainboard: ASRock P67 Extreme4
Memory: Patriot Gamer2 DDR3 16GB
Soundcard:
PSU: 1200w OCX Gold
Default 03-06-2013, 15:10 | posts: 34

Yeah, I have the same flickering problem on my tri-crossfire 6950 setup. 13.2 beta 6. Not only that, it appears that only 1 GPU out of 3 is supported (or at least seems that way). I would have waited to buy it had I known. It runs pretty crappy on my 4.4GHz setup.

I'm really getting tired of the lagging tri-crossfire support. I'm going to jump ship pretty soon and probably go Nvidia.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
kenzt
Newbie
 
kenzt's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS 6990 @ 950/1350
Processor: i7 2600K @ 4.5
Mainboard: ASUS P8P67 3.0
Memory: G.SKILL 1886 8GB
Soundcard: SennHeiser 380 Pro
PSU: Thermaltake 875w
Default 03-06-2013, 18:08 | posts: 34 | Location: Portugal

Having the exact same problem with TressFX. Sometimes Lara's ponytail vanishes hahah
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
John Dolan
Maha Guru
 
John Dolan's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x GTX 780 SLI
Processor: 2600K EK H2o
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 PRO Intel P67
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8GB
Soundcard: x-fi platinum fatality 7.
PSU: Corsair AX1200i Digital
Default 03-06-2013, 19:10 | posts: 2,248 | Location: uk nottingham

Im getting this with my 6990 plus 6970 also the game crashes often when using it but the crashing stopped with hair set to normal.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Sketche
Newbie
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD7970 3GB
Processor: Intel i7 950
Mainboard: Rampage II Extreme
Memory: DDR3 12GB Corsair
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi
PSU: 750W Corsair
Default 03-07-2013, 03:35 | posts: 28

Strange.

Maybe do a completely clean install of 13.2's betas?

I haven't had a problem (not doubting that you guys are, of course)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Enmity
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: 2x 7970 Vapor-x GE 3GB
Processor: intel i5 3570k@4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V
Memory: 8GB Mushkin Frostbyte
Soundcard: Creative Z/HD485/Studios
PSU: Corsair HX850 v2
Default 03-07-2013, 05:15 | posts: 1,243 | Location: New Zealand

I had this problem too but thats coz i was playing with vsync enabled. Disabled it and the flicker stopped. Try disabling vsync guys
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
John Dolan
Maha Guru
 
John Dolan's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x GTX 780 SLI
Processor: 2600K EK H2o
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 PRO Intel P67
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8GB
Soundcard: x-fi platinum fatality 7.
PSU: Corsair AX1200i Digital
Default 03-07-2013, 08:14 | posts: 2,248 | Location: uk nottingham

Mine has always been disabled.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Offler2
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte HD 7970OC, 3gb
Processor: Intel xeon X3360
Mainboard: Asus Rampage Extreme 1
Memory: Adata XPG2 4x2gb
Soundcard: Creative Xfi
PSU: Corsair HX-650w
Default 03-07-2013, 08:17 | posts: 185

Please try this:

Tomb Raider:
Flickering
http://cdn.overclock.net/e/e4/e43a8d...ors_beta3.jpeg
Status: to be verified.
Possible fix: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2670838
Links to discussion:
http://www.overclock.net/t/1351650/w...#post_19451944

http://www.overclock.net/t/1351650/w...#post_19455494

And tell it if also helped...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
The Creator
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 290X
Processor: Core i7 920
Mainboard: Rampage II Extreme
Memory: 6GB A-Data 1600+ DDR3
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty
PSU: Enermax Galaxy 1000W
Default 03-07-2013, 09:13 | posts: 121

I have the same flickering issue on my 6990 with 13.2 beta7 drivers.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
John Dolan
Maha Guru
 
John Dolan's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x GTX 780 SLI
Processor: 2600K EK H2o
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 PRO Intel P67
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8GB
Soundcard: x-fi platinum fatality 7.
PSU: Corsair AX1200i Digital
Default 03-07-2013, 20:00 | posts: 2,248 | Location: uk nottingham

Very good game this im enjoying playing it very much so its a shame about this hair problem as its a strong reason I bought the game certainly its a strong selling point so its a shame ive nearly finished the game and not been able to see it in all its glory.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
Fox2232
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Accelero7970 1125/1500MHz
Processor: i5-2500k@4.5GHz NH-D14
Mainboard: MSI Z68A-GD80[g3]
Memory: 4x4GB 1600MHz 9,9,9,24
Soundcard: Essence ST / AKG K-701
PSU: FSP Gold series 750W
Default 03-07-2013, 21:36 | posts: 1,493 | Location: EU, CZ, Brno

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Dolan View Post
Very good game this im enjoying playing it very much so its a shame about this hair problem as its a strong reason I bought the game certainly its a strong selling point so its a shame ive nearly finished the game and not been able to see it in all its glory.
Right after you run/jump through falling bridge to fall in some hole and to end up in water (and avoiding being impaled). There in cut scene I had quite problem to distinct those hairs from real ones.

Otherwise they are just nice thing to have in game. Sometimes bit wild, sometimes they split into separate hairs so much I feel she just got electrified.
But in general it's really good work, if they add some stickiness chance so they are not so "live" they would be very close to real hair physics.

But on single card they are even in worst moment much better than Alice's Hairs controlled by PhysX.

And as someone mentioned that so much shooting is not TR... I remember pretty well time when Lara had in TR 1 dual Magnums, in TR 2 she upgraded to M16 and grenades, and finally in TR 3 she eventually used Rocket Launcher

And here, She and that Bow, it's just very enjoyable combat.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
John Dolan
Maha Guru
 
John Dolan's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x GTX 780 SLI
Processor: 2600K EK H2o
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 PRO Intel P67
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8GB
Soundcard: x-fi platinum fatality 7.
PSU: Corsair AX1200i Digital
Default 03-08-2013, 00:58 | posts: 2,248 | Location: uk nottingham

Im stuck at the minute with a end boss maybe end of the game but its been very good gaming much o fun.

I do know what the super hair looks like I ran the game with it on for the first half hour or so but the flickering spoiled the game and made it crash often so just turned it off which cured most of the crashes.

Im running highest settings and I think the benchmark was like 98 fps avg and with the super hair it was 50 odd so it was a big fps hit but still playable fps on my cards but I spoiled by the flickering.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
The Mac
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
Processor: i7-4970K
Mainboard: Asus Z97-A
Memory: Corsair Vengence Pro 16GB
Soundcard: X-Fi Titianum HD
PSU: Corasir AX750
Default 03-08-2013, 01:12 | posts: 2,363 | Location: USA

We should call it Uberhair....like Ubersampling in witcher2...

turn it on and watch your framrates plummet....

lol
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
John Dolan
Maha Guru
 
John Dolan's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x GTX 780 SLI
Processor: 2600K EK H2o
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 PRO Intel P67
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8GB
Soundcard: x-fi platinum fatality 7.
PSU: Corsair AX1200i Digital
Default 03-08-2013, 01:55 | posts: 2,248 | Location: uk nottingham

My benchmark with highest settings and Uberhair

Low 6.7

Avg 68.2

Highest 89.3

Just finished the game very good game this well worth the money imo.

Last edited by John Dolan; 03-08-2013 at 03:23.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
The Mac
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
Processor: i7-4970K
Mainboard: Asus Z97-A
Memory: Corsair Vengence Pro 16GB
Soundcard: X-Fi Titianum HD
PSU: Corasir AX750
Default 03-08-2013, 06:51 | posts: 2,363 | Location: USA

was that low noticeable?
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.