Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > The HTPC, HDTV & High Definition section
The HTPC, HDTV & High Definition section Home Theater PC Enthusiasts or want to talk in High-Definition ? This is Guru3Ds Premier Community of HD and HTPC.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
120hz from htpc
Old
  (#1)
Megabigd
Master Guru
 
Megabigd's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2 x eVGA 780 GTX SC
Processor: i7 3770K/H80i
Mainboard: eVGA z77 FTW
Memory: 16G CORSAIRVengeance 2133
Soundcard: X-Fi Platinum Fatal1ty
PSU: Rosewill 1300
Default 120hz from htpc - 03-05-2013, 02:21 | posts: 409 | Location: Baltimore, MD

I have a Vizio E3d420vx tv. I built a powerful mini computer to play games. Everything works great except thru hdmi I can only get 24hz at 1920x1080 or 60 @ 720. I know you need a dual link dvi which I have but I just realized that my tv only has an old blue analog connection. Can I still achieve 120 with an adapter or am I screwed? Thanks
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Megabigd
Master Guru
 
Megabigd's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2 x eVGA 780 GTX SC
Processor: i7 3770K/H80i
Mainboard: eVGA z77 FTW
Memory: 16G CORSAIRVengeance 2133
Soundcard: X-Fi Platinum Fatal1ty
PSU: Rosewill 1300
Default 03-06-2013, 19:33 | posts: 409 | Location: Baltimore, MD

Bump
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Mufflore
Ancient Guru
 
Mufflore's Avatar
 
Videocard: KFA2 Anarchy 580@930/4650
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHz - blew it!
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67 UD4 B3
Memory: 8G Kngston 2.2GHz CL11 1T
Soundcard: Minimax+ & Dexa Opamps !!
PSU: Corsair Pro AX750
Default 03-06-2013, 19:37 | posts: 9,775 | Location: UK

Its not a true 120Hz TV.
The marketing got you I'm afraid.
Its 120Hz output but not 120Hz input.
The 120Hz is got through interpolation, as with nearly all TVs.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Megabigd
Master Guru
 
Megabigd's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2 x eVGA 780 GTX SC
Processor: i7 3770K/H80i
Mainboard: eVGA z77 FTW
Memory: 16G CORSAIRVengeance 2133
Soundcard: X-Fi Platinum Fatal1ty
PSU: Rosewill 1300
Default 03-06-2013, 21:00 | posts: 409 | Location: Baltimore, MD

Ok cool. Thanks
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
JaylumX
Master Guru
 
JaylumX's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD 7950 @ 1150/1600
Processor: i5 760 @ 3.8
Mainboard: ASUS P7P55D-E
Memory: 12GB Corsair 9-9-9-24
Soundcard: Xonar HDAV 1.3/AV40
PSU: Corsair 750W PSU
Default 03-07-2013, 13:45 | posts: 481 | Location: Somewhere Else

Linkage
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Mufflore
Ancient Guru
 
Mufflore's Avatar
 
Videocard: KFA2 Anarchy 580@930/4650
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHz - blew it!
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67 UD4 B3
Memory: 8G Kngston 2.2GHz CL11 1T
Soundcard: Minimax+ & Dexa Opamps !!
PSU: Corsair Pro AX750
Default 03-07-2013, 14:15 | posts: 9,775 | Location: UK

Their legs are being pulled
HDMI did not expose the modes to do this and the HDMI chips used in 2009 definitely dont have the bandwidth to support it either.


In theory the bandwidth was available as an option:
The HDMI spec from V1.3 has supported as an option, up to 48bit colour @ 1920x1200 @ 60Hz, which is equivalent to 24bit colour @ 1920x1200 @120Hz.
But the HDMI chips havent been capable of supporting this until quite recently.
Only since HDMI 1.4b, released on 2011 has 1080p @ 120Hz been available as a useable mode.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hdmi

This is why you need 2xHDMI equivalent (ie Dual Link DVI) to use 120Hz on a PC.
Most TVs dont have Dual Link DVI so cant do this.
Even with newer HDMI 1.4b TVs, its rare to find 120Hz @1080p.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.