Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA
Videocards - NVIDIA This forum is all about NVIDIA graphics cards and their technology. Do you have a question regarding an older GeForce videocard? Want to tell people how stylish a game works on that new shiny watercooled GeForce GTX 580 or SLI gaming rig? Get in here!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
What is Max Pre-Rendered Frames?
Old
  (#1)
Hummus
Newbie
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX 580 direct cu II
Processor: Intel core i5-2500 @3.3Gh
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: ThermaltakeToughpower875W
Default What is Max Pre-Rendered Frames? - 03-04-2013, 16:57 | posts: 4

Before you tell me the obvious read this: Setting the value "Max Pre-rendered Frames" in the Nvidia Control Panel to "1" solves almost all of my frame stuttering issues. By frame stuttering I don't mean low framerate, I mean when games continually freeze for split seconds, when it feels as if skipping a frame every second. It fixed stuttering in games like Dota 2(where it would stutter whenever scrolling the map), dishonored(fixed stuttering when looking around with the mouse), and a few dozen other games. Actually it had effect on almost all the games I owned. It also fixes some other problems, like the VATS delay in Fallout 3.
Why does setting this value to 1 fix frame stuttering? And why the heck isn't it set to 1 by default?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Hummus
Newbie
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX 580 direct cu II
Processor: Intel core i5-2500 @3.3Gh
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: ThermaltakeToughpower875W
Default 03-08-2013, 23:08 | posts: 4

Bumper cars.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
PhazeDelta1
Ancient Guru
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 770 Classified SLI
Processor: Intel i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z87
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Creative SB Z
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 1300 G2
Default 03-08-2013, 23:15 | posts: 12,899 | Location: USA

Quote:
Maximum Pre-Rendered Frames:

If available, this option - previously known as 'Max Frames to Render Ahead' - controls the number of frames the CPU prepares in advanced of being rendered by the GPU. The default value is 3 - higher values tend to result in smoother but more laggy gameplay, while lower values can help reduce mouse and keyboard lag. However extremely low values such as 0 may hurt performance, so I recommend this option be kept at its default of 3 globally, and only adjusted downwards in specific game profiles. Remember, in most cases mouse lag is due to low framerates, so adjusting this option is not an automatic cure to lag issues, nor should it be the first thing you try. Finally, it only works in DirectX games, not OpenGL games.
http://www.tweakguides.com/NVFORCE_6.html
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Hummus
Newbie
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX 580 direct cu II
Processor: Intel core i5-2500 @3.3Gh
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: ThermaltakeToughpower875W
Default 03-08-2013, 23:36 | posts: 4

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhazeDelta1 View Post
Thanks for the answer to the question that you have not even read.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
PhazeDelta1
Ancient Guru
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 770 Classified SLI
Processor: Intel i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z87
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Creative SB Z
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 1300 G2
Default 03-08-2013, 23:39 | posts: 12,899 | Location: USA

The answer to your question is in what I quoted
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.5Ghz HT On
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 03-08-2013, 23:41 | posts: 17,829 | Location: New Jersey, USA

I see this thread ending badly
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Hummus
Newbie
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX 580 direct cu II
Processor: Intel core i5-2500 @3.3Gh
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: ThermaltakeToughpower875W
Default 03-08-2013, 23:44 | posts: 4

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhazeDelta1 View Post
The answer to your question is in what I quoted
Do you see that tiny little paragraph right below the title? You know, those few sentences right below "What is Max Pre-Rendered Frames?"? It's actually there to be read, though it's optional, maybe you only want to read half of it that's fine.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
PhazeDelta1
Ancient Guru
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 770 Classified SLI
Processor: Intel i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z87
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Creative SB Z
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 1300 G2
Default 03-08-2013, 23:49 | posts: 12,899 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hummus View Post
Do you see that tiny little paragraph right below the title? You know, those few sentences right below "What is Max Pre-Rendered Frames?"? It's actually there to be read, though it's optional, maybe you only want to read half of it that's fine.
FML. I honestly didn't see where you wrote anything. I swear im usually not this blind.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.