Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI
Videocards - AMD - ATI AMD Radeon graphics cards. Do you have one or want to buy one? Use this forum to discuss anything concerning products using Radeon graphics cards, CrossFireX, from Radeon 9800 to HD 6900


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Is 5850 good nuff for i5?
Old
  (#1)
Australis
Master Guru
 
Australis's Avatar
 
Videocard: PowerColor R9 290 4GB
Processor: Intel Core i5 3550
Mainboard: Asrock H77 Pro4/M mATX
Memory: Kingston DDR3-1600 8GB
Soundcard: LCD: ASUS VG248QE 144hz
PSU: Antec HCG 620M
Post Is 5850 good nuff for i5? - 03-04-2013, 09:17 | posts: 567 | Location: Hong Kong

Countless hardware failures (likely to do with the mobo)! And now I have no choice but to do a major upgrade to the PC after 5 years.

I will be keeping the 600W power supply, DVD drive and the WD Cavier Black 1TB HDD.

Here is a list compiled by a netizen from another forum for me:

Intel Core i5-3330 Ivy Bridge
ASUS P8H77-M H77
Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600MHz 8GB
MSI GTX660Ti TWIN FROZR 3GB GDDR5
SSD Plextor 256GB M5S Series 2.5" SATA3

However, I read that the 192-bit memory bus would handicap a GTX660 Ti so it is not that better than the 256-bit 5850?

If I kept it, is the 5850 good enough for an i5 CPU and not be a painful bottleneck?

Please educate me.

P.S. I plan to play Battlefield 3 on 1920 x 1200, no AA, HQ.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
XBEAST
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 770 Gaming
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68A-D3
Memory: Patriot 12GB 1600MHz CL9
Soundcard: Realtek On-Board
PSU: Seasonic S12II-620 Bronze
Default 03-04-2013, 09:35 | posts: 1,600 | Location: Unknown

Bus width is just one of many specifications. Alone it means close to nothing. GTX 660 Ti is much faster than HD 5850. You can buy a HD 7950 if you want. Or keep HD 5850, if you think it's enough.

I'd switch CPU and MB to i5 3470 and ASRock Z75 Pro3 and OC CPU to around 4 GHz. Should help, since BF3 is quite CPU heavy.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Mufflore
Ancient Guru
 
Mufflore's Avatar
 
Videocard: KFA2 Anarchy 580@930/4650
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHz - blew it!
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67 UD4 B3
Memory: 8G Kngston 2.2GHz CL11 1T
Soundcard: Minimax+ & Dexa Opamps !!
PSU: Corsair Pro AX750
Default 03-04-2013, 09:40 | posts: 9,769 | Location: UK

As Xbeast said, the bus width is a small part of the specs, it may not have any impact on performance when other features change also.

Choose a gfx card for the games you play.
Read some reviews, thats what they are for!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Deathchild
Maha Guru
 
Deathchild's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950CFX+Qnix2710
Processor: 3770K@4.8GHz delid
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77X D3H 1.1
Memory: C Vengeance 8GB 1866
Soundcard: VIA VT2021
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 760W
Default 03-04-2013, 09:41 | posts: 2,062 | Location: Estonia

Yeah that 5850 should still serve you well. I would suggest to wait and see how the 5850 does with all the new components, if you feel it's too slow or you want more, you can upgrade. And definitely get the 7950.

However, doesn't it fit your budget to get the 3570k? Would be a bit safer with the OC capability, in the future, if it's necessary.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Australis
Master Guru
 
Australis's Avatar
 
Videocard: PowerColor R9 290 4GB
Processor: Intel Core i5 3550
Mainboard: Asrock H77 Pro4/M mATX
Memory: Kingston DDR3-1600 8GB
Soundcard: LCD: ASUS VG248QE 144hz
PSU: Antec HCG 620M
Default 03-04-2013, 10:11 | posts: 567 | Location: Hong Kong

Thanks everyone ^. But no, I ain't overclocking. So I might just pay more for a higher clock speed i5.

That makes a lot of sense to put the VGA as the last component to swap.

I'll do the upgrade in a week and we will see what this 5850 achieves with its new friends.

Last edited by Australis; 03-04-2013 at 10:16.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Deathchild
Maha Guru
 
Deathchild's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950CFX+Qnix2710
Processor: 3770K@4.8GHz delid
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77X D3H 1.1
Memory: C Vengeance 8GB 1866
Soundcard: VIA VT2021
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 760W
Default 03-04-2013, 10:17 | posts: 2,062 | Location: Estonia

Yeah, sure, good idea. I'm sure you will notice that the 5850 still does fairly well.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
XBEAST
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 770 Gaming
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68A-D3
Memory: Patriot 12GB 1600MHz CL9
Soundcard: Realtek On-Board
PSU: Seasonic S12II-620 Bronze
Default 03-04-2013, 10:18 | posts: 1,600 | Location: Unknown

You should overclock, but not too much. It's very easy to do. i5 3470/3570 can be overclocked to about 4.0-4.2 GHz very easily. This would be a nice improvement over i5 3330's stock 3.0-3.2 GHz in a CPU heavy game like BF3.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
angmar
Maha Guru
 
angmar's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 290X Tri-X
Processor: i7 3770k@ 4.7ghz h20
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: Mushkin DDR3 1600 16GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: OCZ 600 Watt 80 Plus
Default 03-04-2013, 11:42 | posts: 1,136 | Location: Monmouth County, NJ

A 5850 is pretty slow to be putting in a computer in 2013....The card that your friend picked for you is def way faster or you can get a 7950 at the very least a Radeon 7800 series card. This is assuming money is not a major issue. If you just don't have the money to buy the GPU an thats why you want to stick the 5850 back in then yea itll work fine but only 1GB of VRAM is a serious limitation at this point even at 1080p.

I guess the question really is weather or not it's good enough for you. I personally would not stick a station wagon motor in a Ferrari.

Last edited by angmar; 03-04-2013 at 11:48.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
IcE
Ancient Guru
 
IcE's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 780
Processor: i5 3570K @4.0
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: 8GB G.Skill Sniper 1866
Soundcard: SBZ + Aune T1 + CAL
PSU: Enermax NAXN 82+ 750W
Default 03-04-2013, 12:09 | posts: 9,188 | Location: Toledo

Quote:
Originally Posted by angmar View Post
A 5850 is pretty slow to be putting in a computer in 2013....The card that your friend picked for you is def way faster or you can get a 7950 at the very least a Radeon 7800 series card. This is assuming money is not a major issue. If you just don't have the money to buy the GPU an thats why you want to stick the 5850 back in then yea itll work fine but only 1GB of VRAM is a serious limitation at this point even at 1080p.

I guess the question really is weather or not it's good enough for you. I personally would not stick a station wagon motor in a Ferrari.
In what game does 1GB of RAM actually limit your ability to play at 1080P? It's not like using tons of antialiasing is a requirement to play games. It's not "pretty slow" either. Games haven't changed much in terms of performance requirement since the 5850's release, and excluding a handful of titles like Crysis 3, you aren't going to have to lower settings for the vast majority of games. I mean, I guess when you're on Cloud9 hardware wise, a 5850 would seem slow to you, but it's really not.

No doubt something like a 7950 is going to be much faster, but I think the OP will find once he gets his new system assembled that he won't really find a need for one. A 5850 can easily play BF3 on high quality at 1080P pretty smoothly.

Last edited by IcE; 03-04-2013 at 12:12.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Deathchild
Maha Guru
 
Deathchild's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950CFX+Qnix2710
Processor: 3770K@4.8GHz delid
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77X D3H 1.1
Memory: C Vengeance 8GB 1866
Soundcard: VIA VT2021
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 760W
Default 03-04-2013, 13:21 | posts: 2,062 | Location: Estonia

Yeah, exactly.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Australis
Master Guru
 
Australis's Avatar
 
Videocard: PowerColor R9 290 4GB
Processor: Intel Core i5 3550
Mainboard: Asrock H77 Pro4/M mATX
Memory: Kingston DDR3-1600 8GB
Soundcard: LCD: ASUS VG248QE 144hz
PSU: Antec HCG 620M
Default 03-10-2013, 11:11 | posts: 567 | Location: Hong Kong

OP back. Now using Win 8 32-bit (bought the upgrade version), I saw the climb in 3DMark 11 score isn't impressive after the upgrade.

At least my PC is up and running again. Thanks for all your suggestions. My HD5850 lives to see another day thanks to you guys.


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Heuchler
Newbie
 
Videocard: ATI 5850 CrossFire
Processor: Phenom II X6 1045T @4GHz
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth 990FX
Memory: DDR3-1600 7-7-7 1T @1.50v
Soundcard: M&K Bookshelf custom XO
PSU: Corsair 750TX
Default 03-10-2013, 19:18 | posts: 13

you can always crossfire your HD 5850 if you find a good deal on a used card.
Plays BF3 at 1920x1200 just fine.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Zarich
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Galaxy GC 670
Processor: q9550 @ 3.4
Mainboard: p5q se
Memory: 6gigs DDR2 Sync
Soundcard: Xtreme Gamer
PSU: antec trupower 750
Default 03-10-2013, 20:56 | posts: 159

People are telling me to wait for haswell.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Australis
Master Guru
 
Australis's Avatar
 
Videocard: PowerColor R9 290 4GB
Processor: Intel Core i5 3550
Mainboard: Asrock H77 Pro4/M mATX
Memory: Kingston DDR3-1600 8GB
Soundcard: LCD: ASUS VG248QE 144hz
PSU: Antec HCG 620M
Default 03-11-2013, 04:00 | posts: 567 | Location: Hong Kong

Quote:
Originally Posted by Heuchler View Post
you can always crossfire your HD 5850 if you find a good deal on a used card.
Plays BF3 at 1920x1200 just fine.
As much as I wish, my mid-tower just wouldn't have enough space.

Also, this mobo [asrock h77 pro4/mvp] is actually broken - the front audio port gets in the way of the PCI-E 3.0 slot, which is a must use for a Crossfire set up.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
5850, 660ti

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.