Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section
Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything Catalyst related. AMD Catalyst drivers are for all AMD ATI based graphics cards. This is also the place to discuss modified Catalyst drivers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
2x4870x2 Best Driver ????
Old
  (#1)
Constant
Member Guru
 
Constant's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX680 SC 2GB
Processor: Intel i7 3770K @4.7
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z77
Memory: Corsair DDR3 2x4g 1600mhz
Soundcard: Onboard + Logitech
PSU: Tt Toughpower 1500w
Default 2x4870x2 Best Driver ???? - 03-02-2013, 23:22 | posts: 48 | Location: Athens Greece

Hello ,

i use 2x4870x2 cards ,

once i changed to 13.1 catalyst from 12.6 i noticed a huge fps drop .

what is the best catalyst driver version you would recommend for my setup ? (windows8)

also , is there a way to force quad crossfire ? even battlefield 3 uses 2 out of 4 cards and fps is very low...

i tried radeonpro but does not work in all games , and when it does its mostly buggy (tried scissors and tiles)

thanks


EDIT : Changed to Windows7 x64 . And so far the best driver pack for me is kevsamiga's ,

crossfire works great (manual setting AFR in CCC) with POSITIVE results on quadGPU (sometimes needs alt-tab in-out of game to be activated) and its stable

here is the link ! :

****http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=370745****


Last edited by Constant; 03-08-2013 at 18:21.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
The Postman
Maha Guru
 
The Postman's Avatar
 
Videocard: 290x CF EK H2O
Processor: I7 4770k 4.6ghz
Mainboard: Z87X-UD5H
Memory: Corsair 16GB DDR3
Soundcard: Soundblaster Z
PSU: Antec HCP 1200w
Default 03-04-2013, 00:40 | posts: 1,666 | Location: Boston

I was once a proud owner of a 4870x2. I loved the card.

My advice is to sell those cards and buy a single card solution like 7950/7970. It is gonna make a huge difference in everything.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
kn00tcn
Maha Guru
 
kn00tcn's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 4870x2
Processor: Intel Q9550 3.6ghz
Mainboard: Asus P5Q-E
Memory: OCZ 2x2gb 5-4-4-15 840mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 750TX
Default 03-04-2013, 06:34 | posts: 1,555 | Location: Toronto

you could force AFR & it might end up using 4 gpus that way? it's always been 2 all this time on all drivers?

single 4870x2 should be getting around 40fps without MSAA at near ultra settings at 1080p (i'd know, i tried beta, plus it's in line with 5870/6870 numbers)

dont bother with trying other CF modes with RP, they're not supposed to work properly (at the driver level), in fact be careful when forcing like that, have backups of your game saves & GFWL profile if doing it to a GFWL game (everything got wiped when i forced scissor in section8p & it had a hard lock)

what else are you playing, what dropped? it shouldnt have... the 3d dlls are almost the same

http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=370745 seen this thread? but certain things really depend on what game you're trying to play

single 7970 is the way to go yes, that's my plan eventually

oh & your cpu is holding things back for sure
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
kevsamiga1974
Master Guru
 
kevsamiga1974's Avatar
 
Videocard: ULA
Processor: Z80A
Mainboard: 1982 Sinclair Research
Memory: Bubble Memory
Soundcard: Piezoelectric speakers
PSU: Solar Powered
Default 03-04-2013, 06:44 | posts: 741 | Location: England

Post 188 is the latest build without having to dig through the entire thread of releases, conjecture, and posts.

http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.ph...&postcount=188

Includes everything in the package as standard & profiles. For Discrete or Mobility.

Let me know how you find them to work in crossfire...

But they are not for Windows 8 for a reason. Although they will install under a Windows 7 compatibility mode install.

Last edited by kevsamiga1974; 03-04-2013 at 06:50.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Constant
Member Guru
 
Constant's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX680 SC 2GB
Processor: Intel i7 3770K @4.7
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z77
Memory: Corsair DDR3 2x4g 1600mhz
Soundcard: Onboard + Logitech
PSU: Tt Toughpower 1500w
Default 03-04-2013, 07:27 | posts: 48 | Location: Athens Greece

well , i know 7970 will be better for sure... (modern card , better ati support , single core...) but i've invested so much on those 2 4870x2 (watercooling , psu etc) and when i run Furmark at 1080p they make me proud , i am simply not ready to get them out of my life yet...

Cpu doesnt seem to be bottlenecking them ,now that i oc'ed it to 3.3Ghz.. during gaming maximum cpu core usage is aroung 80-85% , ofc that could be my systems incapability of arranging resources ,cause 2x4870x2 when paired to a i7 literaly fly in benchmarks.....

I forced AFR in RadeonPro but Bf3 used only 2 out of 4 gpus , fps was indeed around 40 without MSAA-antialiasing-postprocessing , perhaps i did something wrong setting radeonpro.. (postproc KILLs my fps....)

thank you guys for your replies , i used to run old games like GRID , Rainbow six etc and with vsync on i never saw other than 60fps... It all started with bf3 , tried different drivers and noticed HUGE fps differences between them..

I will try the before-mentioned driver pack later this evening and come back to you
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Constant
Member Guru
 
Constant's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX680 SC 2GB
Processor: Intel i7 3770K @4.7
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z77
Memory: Corsair DDR3 2x4g 1600mhz
Soundcard: Onboard + Logitech
PSU: Tt Toughpower 1500w
Default 03-04-2013, 17:28 | posts: 48 | Location: Athens Greece

I tried your driver pack kevsamiga1974 ,

I had to disable driver signing and run setup exe in windows 7 mode.

Unfortunately quad crossfire scaling has issues..

in furmark benchmark GPU usage on all 4 cores doesn't exceed 30% and result was 14 avg fps.

using 12.6 catalyst I get 98-99% usage and 48 avg fps
and with 13.1 I get 95-97% and 44 avg fps

i will try bf3 later and see how that goes
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Ruslu
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire Radeon X1950 Pro
Processor: Intel Core i7 920 C0
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5
Memory: A-Data 3x2GB DDR3 1600mhz
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DX
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 03-04-2013, 18:11 | posts: 69 | Location: Tallinn, Estonia

Been using the 11.12 Hybrid with a single 4870 X2 on Windows 8 for a while and so far so good - performance is good and the driver is stable.

Last edited by Ruslu; 03-04-2013 at 19:16.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
trocio2
Master Guru
 
trocio2's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire
Processor: Core 2 Duo
Mainboard: Intel DQ35JO
Memory: ddr2 800 mhz, 3x2gb= 6gb
Soundcard: Logitech H390
PSU: Cooler Master
Default 03-04-2013, 18:21 | posts: 354

Why are multigpu setups so problematic?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Constant
Member Guru
 
Constant's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX680 SC 2GB
Processor: Intel i7 3770K @4.7
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z77
Memory: Corsair DDR3 2x4g 1600mhz
Soundcard: Onboard + Logitech
PSU: Tt Toughpower 1500w
Default 03-04-2013, 19:29 | posts: 48 | Location: Athens Greece

bf3 uses all 4 cores but I get negative fps results ....

apparently that doesn't work for my setup...

going back to official 12.6 for now... just need to find a way forcing 4 core gpu processing...

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
kevsamiga1974
Master Guru
 
kevsamiga1974's Avatar
 
Videocard: ULA
Processor: Z80A
Mainboard: 1982 Sinclair Research
Memory: Bubble Memory
Soundcard: Piezoelectric speakers
PSU: Solar Powered
Default 03-04-2013, 21:21 | posts: 741 | Location: England

Quote:
Originally Posted by Constant View Post
I tried your driver pack kevsamiga1974 ,

I had to disable driver signing and run setup exe in windows 7 mode.

Unfortunately quad crossfire scaling has issues..

in furmark benchmark GPU usage on all 4 cores doesn't exceed 30% and result was 14 avg fps.

using 12.6 catalyst I get 98-99% usage and 48 avg fps
and with 13.1 I get 95-97% and 44 avg fps

i will try bf3 later and see how that goes
Well, specifically first..11.12 is tested and intended for Vista/Windows 7 x64 only.

Secondly using furmark on 4870x2 is a big no no if you value the cards.

There is an artificial restriction in Catalyst drivers when running furmark on 4870x2 which classes it as a power virus, and can trip the cards and shut them down unrestricted. This in turn leads to less FPS in turn by analysing OpenGL traffic. So in this case, 11774 might work slowing the FPS, and the originals forgot to do it. !

http://www.geeks3d.com/20090914/cata...ainst-furmark/

The power supply part or VRM (Voltage Regulation Module) of Radeon HD 4850 / 4870 is under-sized and thus are not able to support the current needed by the GPU when FurMark / OCCT are running. The VRM is under-sized because it has been designed to match the TDP (Thermal Design Power) of RV770-based graphics boards. And this TDP can be see as the highest reasonable load a card can support.

OCCT doesn't have this restriction on current drivers and will knockout the cards and shut them down on the gfx stress test by current overload, which didn't have hardware protection until the 5K series, so it's not possible to kill the cards with gfx stressors unlike 4K series.

Thirdly, looking at crossfire gpu usage figures isn't enough, sometimes this can be relatively low compared to other drivers yet still have good fps (skyrim on modern drivers is one example)

Furmark is OpenGL, so it seems then that .11774 does have issues with furmark FPS after all.

It was always included as a test, but clearly .11672 of 13.1 is better in furmark here, or maybe they just don't have the furmark protection that .11774 does. Easily fixed...

I don't want to touch furmark (Also have 2x 4870x2), because it doesn't do anything apart from burn out 48xx/x2 cards, and on something 5 years old I don't want to risk these tests on mine.

BF3 performance on legacy is and always will always be crap...

Last edited by kevsamiga1974; 03-04-2013 at 21:48.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Constant
Member Guru
 
Constant's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX680 SC 2GB
Processor: Intel i7 3770K @4.7
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z77
Memory: Corsair DDR3 2x4g 1600mhz
Soundcard: Onboard + Logitech
PSU: Tt Toughpower 1500w
Default 03-04-2013, 22:08 | posts: 48 | Location: Athens Greece

Thanks a lot for your reply !

Honestly I had no clue that furmark could burn my cards ! I'm glad you mentioned it out!!!

However I gave 11.12 a try with bf3 and Nfs most wanted 2012... Unfortunately results where the same , less fps... 12.6 gives me the best performance and stability.

Your driver pack seems really good , but I'm on windows 8 64bit so it is not for me..

If only I could force quad crossfire with 12.6....
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
kevsamiga1974
Master Guru
 
kevsamiga1974's Avatar
 
Videocard: ULA
Processor: Z80A
Mainboard: 1982 Sinclair Research
Memory: Bubble Memory
Soundcard: Piezoelectric speakers
PSU: Solar Powered
Default 03-04-2013, 22:12 | posts: 741 | Location: England

There is always 13.1 Reloaded instead if you're bored, working on Win8 from an unsigned normal install.

These do include the latest files (mostly)

DX10 stuff is even higher version that 13.1.

Tell me...do you get 0x116 BSOD's on 13.1 or 12.6 from coldstart (power switch start, warm restart is fine) under Windows 8 attributed to atikmpag.sys in 4870x2 quadfire ? And is your Windows 8 x86 or x64 ?

And if not, what is your 4870x2 BIOS version numbers.

I'm curious since I have intel cpu and you have AMD but I get BSOD every time with single card 4870 or 4870x2, but same driver under Windows 7 x64 works wiithout BSOD on cold start.

Last edited by kevsamiga1974; 03-04-2013 at 22:24.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Constant
Member Guru
 
Constant's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX680 SC 2GB
Processor: Intel i7 3770K @4.7
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z77
Memory: Corsair DDR3 2x4g 1600mhz
Soundcard: Onboard + Logitech
PSU: Tt Toughpower 1500w
Default 03-04-2013, 22:21 | posts: 48 | Location: Athens Greece

hmm i only had BSOD's when i manually started and stoped ati services... official 12.6 and 13.1 work great on my rig , i had issues trying to install the modified 12.6 uploaded here , where i had BSOD's during driver installation.

i tried almost any bios i could find online for my cards , and i must admit im very pleased with my findings. the clock speeds mentioned on my profile are the stock bios ones and if you keep the cards below 80c they will run happy , problem free. Ill check it out tomorrow and let you know , i can even upload it for you.

Last edited by Constant; 03-04-2013 at 22:26.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
kevsamiga1974
Master Guru
 
kevsamiga1974's Avatar
 
Videocard: ULA
Processor: Z80A
Mainboard: 1982 Sinclair Research
Memory: Bubble Memory
Soundcard: Piezoelectric speakers
PSU: Solar Powered
Default 03-04-2013, 22:24 | posts: 741 | Location: England

This was the real link I was looking for about overcurrent shutdown
on 4870x2 but my memory isn't what it once was, see :

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...-new-GPU-test-!

"Click "Go" and watch your screen go black. Your card has gone into protection mode. Frequencies dropped to 200Mhz. Reboot is needed."

82/83A border line...Scary stuff...

I tried OCCT gfx test and faded to black once, and *only* once.

My cards idle at 55c with PhobyaXT 7w/mk pads and Artic MX4 paste, they get dismanted and cleaned every 6 months.

Last edited by kevsamiga1974; 03-04-2013 at 22:35.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Constant
Member Guru
 
Constant's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX680 SC 2GB
Processor: Intel i7 3770K @4.7
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z77
Memory: Corsair DDR3 2x4g 1600mhz
Soundcard: Onboard + Logitech
PSU: Tt Toughpower 1500w
Default 03-04-2013, 22:30 | posts: 48 | Location: Athens Greece

now that you mention it ...

i once stressed a 4870x2 with furmark and suddenly it went blank and pc froze. after restart it was artifacting and it never recovered.. i even tried to reflow it but it didnt work at all...

luckily that was 6 months ago , and i bought that one from ebay for 50 usd...

- does your setup run 4way crossfire on bf3 ?

Last edited by Constant; 03-04-2013 at 22:34.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
kevsamiga1974
Master Guru
 
kevsamiga1974's Avatar
 
Videocard: ULA
Processor: Z80A
Mainboard: 1982 Sinclair Research
Memory: Bubble Memory
Soundcard: Piezoelectric speakers
PSU: Solar Powered
Default 03-04-2013, 22:34 | posts: 741 | Location: England

I need to know also whether your using 32 or 64 bit windows 8.

Yes furmark is a card killer, more so for the 4K series that has no hardware protection against it.

No it's 2 separate 4870x2 in x2 machines on a LAN.

Won't risk quadding up on a Corsair 650TX despite the m/b being capable, and the Corsair being able to operate outside specs. 4870x2 quadfire is nice for toasting marshmallows though out the back when running furmark...

One installed is bad enough, heat rises and all...


Last edited by kevsamiga1974; 03-04-2013 at 22:43.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Constant
Member Guru
 
Constant's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX680 SC 2GB
Processor: Intel i7 3770K @4.7
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z77
Memory: Corsair DDR3 2x4g 1600mhz
Soundcard: Onboard + Logitech
PSU: Tt Toughpower 1500w
Default 03-04-2013, 22:35 | posts: 48 | Location: Athens Greece

64bit windows 8 is my current os

i hate it...



i use the top radiator of my corsair case for warming my hands...

Last edited by Constant; 03-04-2013 at 22:42.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
kevsamiga1974
Master Guru
 
kevsamiga1974's Avatar
 
Videocard: ULA
Processor: Z80A
Mainboard: 1982 Sinclair Research
Memory: Bubble Memory
Soundcard: Piezoelectric speakers
PSU: Solar Powered
Default 03-04-2013, 22:46 | posts: 741 | Location: England

I'm still on air cooled unmodified cards.

Artic accellero S2 killed them in months as well, not enough VRM heatsink surface area of the modded coolers.

The cards are still beastly when they work well in a game, when they don't the scaling can be quite awful.

At least there is 5 years worth of drivers...more than others have.

Last edited by kevsamiga1974; 03-04-2013 at 22:51.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Constant
Member Guru
 
Constant's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX680 SC 2GB
Processor: Intel i7 3770K @4.7
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z77
Memory: Corsair DDR3 2x4g 1600mhz
Soundcard: Onboard + Logitech
PSU: Tt Toughpower 1500w
Default 03-04-2013, 22:50 | posts: 48 | Location: Athens Greece

i had problems with oem heatsinks too...

thats when i decided i had either to change card or get watercooling , and since im addicted to moding i went H2O.. cpu is oc to 3.3 from 3 and gpus have higher bios clocks

now max temp is 55 for both gpu and cpu.. 3 radiators though

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
kevsamiga1974
Master Guru
 
kevsamiga1974's Avatar
 
Videocard: ULA
Processor: Z80A
Mainboard: 1982 Sinclair Research
Memory: Bubble Memory
Soundcard: Piezoelectric speakers
PSU: Solar Powered
Default 03-04-2013, 22:52 | posts: 741 | Location: England

It's always been the 4870x2 VRM temps I found you can't get under complete control, no matter what or how expensive of stuff you stick on there...

Even water...

Not really into modding (apart from ghetto mods) or overclocking apart from CPU.

The GDDR5 memory on 4870x2 is so fast already, that it only makes sense (from a FPS perspective) to really overclock the core should I try it.

Even after making my own drivers, and trying all drivers dating back to 8.7, I always found 11.9 to be the most decent reliable all round driver for 4870x2.

Last edited by kevsamiga1974; 03-04-2013 at 23:01.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
Constant
Member Guru
 
Constant's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX680 SC 2GB
Processor: Intel i7 3770K @4.7
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z77
Memory: Corsair DDR3 2x4g 1600mhz
Soundcard: Onboard + Logitech
PSU: Tt Toughpower 1500w
Default 03-04-2013, 23:03 | posts: 48 | Location: Athens Greece

well we now have to find the most decent driver for 2x4870x2

im willing to change os

Last edited by Constant; 03-04-2013 at 23:10.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
kn00tcn
Maha Guru
 
kn00tcn's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 4870x2
Processor: Intel Q9550 3.6ghz
Mainboard: Asus P5Q-E
Memory: OCZ 2x2gb 5-4-4-15 840mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 750TX
Default 03-05-2013, 03:29 | posts: 1,555 | Location: Toronto

i'm on vista well i doubt that would be better than 7

so only BF3 is the challenge? what about other games, you ever run into good scaling until you look at too large of an environment? (i see this in crysis2, shift2 night races, war of the roses)

are you sure it got targeted correctly? try making a profile in CCC or RP to disable CF to see if it correctly detects the game, then could try forcing another dx10 game profile that is known to have quad CF support
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
Constant
Member Guru
 
Constant's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX680 SC 2GB
Processor: Intel i7 3770K @4.7
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z77
Memory: Corsair DDR3 2x4g 1600mhz
Soundcard: Onboard + Logitech
PSU: Tt Toughpower 1500w
Default 03-05-2013, 07:24 | posts: 48 | Location: Athens Greece

Quote:
Originally Posted by kn00tcn View Post
i'm on vista well i doubt that would be better than 7

so only BF3 is the challenge? what about other games, you ever run into good scaling until you look at too large of an environment? (i see this in crysis2, shift2 night races, war of the roses)

are you sure it got targeted correctly? try making a profile in CCC or RP to disable CF to see if it correctly detects the game, then could try forcing another dx10 game profile that is known to have quad CF support
i will try so , once i get back home this evening.

BF3 was the first game that put me into thoughts , i was not that much into modern games ... used to play Diablo 2 LOD till 2011....
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
Constant
Member Guru
 
Constant's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX680 SC 2GB
Processor: Intel i7 3770K @4.7
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z77
Memory: Corsair DDR3 2x4g 1600mhz
Soundcard: Onboard + Logitech
PSU: Tt Toughpower 1500w
Default 03-05-2013, 20:05 | posts: 48 | Location: Athens Greece

After many driver swaps radeonpro decided it was about time it seized working

I get no OSD anymore , and settings only aply on certain games...

I even reinstalled directx but didn't fix that...

Tried rolling back on previous drivers..

Windows 7 here I come.....
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
kevsamiga1974
Master Guru
 
kevsamiga1974's Avatar
 
Videocard: ULA
Processor: Z80A
Mainboard: 1982 Sinclair Research
Memory: Bubble Memory
Soundcard: Piezoelectric speakers
PSU: Solar Powered
Default 03-05-2013, 21:00 | posts: 741 | Location: England

Yes, smart choice.

If you want access to 5 years worth of drivers for 4870x2 that works as intended, instead of just 1 or 2 that's forced to pretend it's a Windows 8 driver when it's really a Windows 7 one dressed up.

Then your going to have to ditch the chimpanzee tablet OS and go back to 7.

Last edited by kevsamiga1974; 03-05-2013 at 21:02.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.