Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI
Videocards - AMD - ATI AMD Radeon graphics cards. Do you have one or want to buy one? Use this forum to discuss anything concerning products using Radeon graphics cards, CrossFireX, from Radeon 9800 to HD 6900


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
The AMD GSOD thread
Old
  (#1)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950 CFX + Qnix QX2710
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: SB Z/Aune T1/AD700/DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default The AMD GSOD thread - 02-26-2013, 21:35 | posts: 26,090 | Location: Hampshire UK

GSOD - Grey Screen Of Death

This is what it looks like, kinda, can be various colors

I've been encountering this issue since I got the HD 7950 last thursday. First off I thought it was too high of an overclock until today I did some googling around and found that it's a pretty common issue that's been plaguing AMD gpus since the HD 4xxx series of cards.

The reasons, from what I understand after doing a fair bit of research, could be:

1. Too high of an overclock of vram - Certain cards are fine at stock clocks but develop GSOD when overclocking vram a tad too far.
2. Driver related issue - Some people seem to have fixed this with installing different drivers.
3. gpu hardware acceleration - This gets mentioned a lot. People who run into GSODs exclusively while the gpu is idle (browsing etc) have found that disabling hardware acceleration in their browser and photoshop etc fixed their problem
4. Some only have GSOD at 3D clocks when playing games
5. Others say it is a problem when using 2 monitors - When one is connected via DVI and the other one via HDMI. It's suggested that connecting HDMI cable into a mini DP adapter and then into the mini DP on the gpu fixes problems.
6. I'm sure there was another scenario but can't remember now, will edit post later.

My GSOD happens exclusively when the gpu is idle. Somehow I'm thinking it's the DVI+HDMI problem here. My HD 7950 is clocked at 1100/1500 @1.237/1.6. I ran a few loops of 3D Mark 2011 today, not a single artifact, all 6 runs finished without a problem, max temp was 64C and all was good. Until I started browsing the net, then it happened. I even just ran 3D Mark 2011 just now with same voltages but at 1100/1550 and it finished no problem, 2 runs, not a single hickup.

That makes me think that it's not the vram not getting enough volts or the 1500mhz memory clock being too high. I will try to run 3D Mark 2011 again with 1600mhz and post back. I have disconnected my 2nd monitor (32" LCD TV) while running this last 3D Mark run.

Please come into this thread and post your experience and possible solutions for this problem.

Last edited by eclap; 02-26-2013 at 21:40.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Fox2232
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Accelero7970 1125/1500MHz
Processor: i5-2500k@4.5GHz NH-D14
Mainboard: MSI Z68A-GD80[g3]
Memory: 4x4GB 1600MHz 9,9,9,24
Soundcard: Essence ST / AKG K-701
PSU: FSP Gold series 750W
Default 02-26-2013, 21:59 | posts: 1,363 | Location: EU, CZ, Brno

Try to set idle clocks to 500/750 GPU/mem.
That is how I got rid of occasional Firefox idle "flicker". Caused by jumping from 300/150 to 500/750 and back.

Done via:
C:\Users\<user>\AppData\Local\ATI\ACE\Profiles.xml
or:
C:\Users\<user>\AppData\Local\ATI\ACE\Profiles\<pr ofile>.xml
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950 CFX + Qnix QX2710
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: SB Z/Aune T1/AD700/DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 02-26-2013, 22:03 | posts: 26,090 | Location: Hampshire UK

I'm not having any flicker issues. Just noticed that even if I set my core/mem clocks to 450/900 for 2D mode, when 2D mode is applied MSIA is showing 300/150 for core/mem.

weird. I don't mind the low clocks, the voltage has been upped from 0.805 to 0.850 for idle clocks, lets see what that does to stability.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
The Postman
Maha Guru
 
The Postman's Avatar
 
Videocard: 290x CF EK H2O
Processor: I7 4770k 4.6ghz
Mainboard: Z87X-UD5H
Memory: Corsair 16GB DDR3
Soundcard: Soundblaster Z
PSU: Antec HCP 1200w
Default 02-27-2013, 01:36 | posts: 1,693 | Location: Boston

Eclap

If that doesnt work, I would recommend installing beta 4 drivers and disable ulps.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950 CFX + Qnix QX2710
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: SB Z/Aune T1/AD700/DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 02-27-2013, 01:39 | posts: 26,090 | Location: Hampshire UK

so far so good, been playing crysis 3 and browsing and now watching coach Carter. solid so far. it's too early to draw conclusions. Will run some benchmarks after i finish watching the film to mix it up a bit. doesn't disabling ulps force higher clocks btw?

Last edited by eclap; 02-27-2013 at 01:44.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
The Postman
Maha Guru
 
The Postman's Avatar
 
Videocard: 290x CF EK H2O
Processor: I7 4770k 4.6ghz
Mainboard: Z87X-UD5H
Memory: Corsair 16GB DDR3
Soundcard: Soundblaster Z
PSU: Antec HCP 1200w
Default 02-27-2013, 02:31 | posts: 1,693 | Location: Boston

It disables zero core feature. If you overclock your card, it is highly advisable to disable ulps. It sets your card at 300 core 150 mem

To be clear this is a feature is mostly talked for CFX solutions but I heard about having good results for single card PCs.

The easiest way to disable ulps is by installing Trixx (then go to settings and disable it). I have Trixx and AB with no problems.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950 CFX + Qnix QX2710
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: SB Z/Aune T1/AD700/DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 02-27-2013, 02:35 | posts: 26,090 | Location: Hampshire UK

my idle clocks are 300/150 though.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
The Postman
Maha Guru
 
The Postman's Avatar
 
Videocard: 290x CF EK H2O
Processor: I7 4770k 4.6ghz
Mainboard: Z87X-UD5H
Memory: Corsair 16GB DDR3
Soundcard: Soundblaster Z
PSU: Antec HCP 1200w
Default 02-27-2013, 03:30 | posts: 1,693 | Location: Boston

Yes, but you still have ulps enabled. Only try it if problem occurs again.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
kevsamiga1974
Master Guru
 
kevsamiga1974's Avatar
 
Videocard: ULA
Processor: Z80A
Mainboard: 1982 Sinclair Research
Memory: Bubble Memory
Soundcard: Piezoelectric speakers
PSU: Solar Powered
Default 02-27-2013, 06:36 | posts: 756 | Location: England

I heard only about the GSOD issue affecting 5K series cards and above. A fix for it was supposed to be in Catalyst 10.1HF/10.2/10.3 specifically for that on 5K series checking back through the release notes.

In all of my travels, both single cards and in crossfire I haven't ever encountered it on 4K series discrete cards with any driver I've ever tried or bios version, can't speak for any mobility variants.

I believe it's a 5K series plus bug/issue...

Last edited by kevsamiga1974; 02-27-2013 at 06:40.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
volkov956
Ancient Guru
 
volkov956's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970 HD GHZ
Processor: ES 4GHZ Six Core 12MB
Mainboard:
Memory: 16GB DDR3 1600
Soundcard: SB XFI Elite Custom
PSU: 750 EPS
Default 02-27-2013, 07:03 | posts: 5,988 | Location: Канад

I fixed the GSOD on a 5870 with the help of ati-amd providing a newer bios which had something to do with Volts dropping when they shouldnt
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 02-27-2013, 08:38 | posts: 23,950 | Location: NZ

GSOD is common on ATI cards that use GDDR5 memory. It's usually only caused by 2 things; low voltage or unstable overclock.

I did have one occasion where the drivers were responsible, but this is very rare.

Yours is due to 2D voltage not responding fast enough when the clocks ramp up, this happens when 2D volts are too low.
Sapphire have released newer BIOS revisions with higher voltage to prevent this from happening.

Last edited by Pill Monster; 02-27-2013 at 08:43.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950 CFX + Qnix QX2710
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: SB Z/Aune T1/AD700/DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 02-27-2013, 13:05 | posts: 26,090 | Location: Hampshire UK

I hope it's the low idle voltage. the card came with fz1 bios (or whatever it was called) that runs 1.25v solid, doesn't allow for under volting. not sure what the voltage is with that bios in idle, but probably more than 0.805v I was running. running f43 since I got the card btw, which probably sets lower voltages. it's a pretty low asic card, 69.6 iirc. so I'm hoping bumping idle voltage will cure this for me. I've also had a hd 4890 and hd 6870 in recent past and never had this issue, but I never played about with different bioses. can someone running a gigabyte hd7950 with fz1 confirm their idle voltage pls? or even f43 idle voltage? thanks.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
PNeV
Maha Guru
 
PNeV's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 7950 @ 1150/1650
Processor: 3570K @ 4.4GHZ
Mainboard: ASRock Extreme4 Z77
Memory: 8GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Antec HCG M 620W
Default 02-28-2013, 02:08 | posts: 1,739 | Location: Northampton, United Kingdom

I had that issue on a VTX 7950. I made a thread on it as it was not stable at out of the box speeds (which was 880/1250). I just returned it and got my MSI.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Lane
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 2x HD7970 - EK Waterblock
Processor: I7 4930K H2o EK Supremacy
Mainboard: Asus X79 Deluxe
Memory: G-Skill C9 2133mhz 16GB
Soundcard: X-FI Titanium HD + SP2500
PSU: CM 1000W
Default 02-28-2013, 05:29 | posts: 5,461 | Location: Switzerland

If it happend to you, just return the card .. i still dont understand why peoples try to fix something who should work normally ..

I have never get this problem hopefully on any of my gpu's, but if i buy a card who do something like that one day, i will just go back the shop i have buy it and change it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950 CFX + Qnix QX2710
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: SB Z/Aune T1/AD700/DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 02-28-2013, 07:20 | posts: 26,090 | Location: Hampshire UK

taking it back today. had enough.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 02-28-2013, 07:39 | posts: 23,950 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by eclap View Post
taking it back today. had enough.
Fair enough. Btw what brand card do you have?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950 CFX + Qnix QX2710
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: SB Z/Aune T1/AD700/DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 02-28-2013, 11:12 | posts: 26,090 | Location: Hampshire UK

it was a gigabyte wf3 mate.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
serbicu
Maha Guru
 
serbicu's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX780 DCU2OC
Processor: I7-2700K|4.8Ghz|H80
Mainboard: Sabertooth Z77
Memory: 8G Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: X-FI Titanium Fatal1ty
PSU: Corsair HX850W
Default 02-28-2013, 14:18 | posts: 1,270 | Location: Romania

Well i was thinking of getting a MSI 7950 TF3 boost edition(or maybe the Sapphire Vapor -x?) but i see many people have been having problems including this GSOD thing.
My question to you guys is how much of a good experience is the 7950.I owned a couple of ATI gpus(from x1900xt,2900Pro to 5850HD) and never had any problems with them.

On topic: i'm sorry about your card Eclap, and btw how's the 7950 as a whole PC experience?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 02-28-2013, 14:35 | posts: 23,950 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by serbicu View Post
Well i was thinking of getting a MSI 7950 TF3 boost edition(or maybe the Sapphire Vapor -x?) but i see many people have been having problems including this GSOD thing.
My question to you guys is how much of a good experience is the 7950.I owned a couple of ATI gpus(from x1900xt,2900Pro to 5850HD) and never had any problems with them.

On topic: i'm sorry about your card Eclap, and btw how's the 7950 as a whole PC experience?
7950 is awesome.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
serbicu
Maha Guru
 
serbicu's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX780 DCU2OC
Processor: I7-2700K|4.8Ghz|H80
Mainboard: Sabertooth Z77
Memory: 8G Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: X-FI Titanium Fatal1ty
PSU: Corsair HX850W
Default 02-28-2013, 14:53 | posts: 1,270 | Location: Romania

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
7950 is awesome.
So no problems with Vapor-x? I want one but i'm still considering the MSI TF3
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 02-28-2013, 14:59 | posts: 23,950 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by serbicu View Post
So no problems with Vapor-x? I want one but i'm still considering the MSI TF3
Only issue is high vrm temps when applying more than 1.25v.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 7970CF @ Qnix 1440p 110Hz
Processor: i7 930
Mainboard: ASUS P6X58D Premium
Memory: 6GB Corsair Dominators
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default 02-28-2013, 15:09 | posts: 3,199 | Location: Lebanon

Quote:
Originally Posted by serbicu View Post
Well i was thinking of getting a MSI 7950 TF3 boost edition(or maybe the Sapphire Vapor -x?) but i see many people have been having problems including this GSOD thing.
My question to you guys is how much of a good experience is the 7950.I owned a couple of ATI gpus(from x1900xt,2900Pro to 5850HD) and never had any problems with them.

On topic: i'm sorry about your card Eclap, and btw how's the 7950 as a whole PC experience?
Epic. Have tried out 3 7950s that belong to my friends, 2 MSI 7950 TF3s and 1 Gigabyte 7950. The TF3s heat up a little more and are more noisy than the Gigabyte WF3 which has the epic 3-fan cooler. TF3s are built like a tank, though.

@eclap: My friend has a Gigabyte 7950 (I got it for him). Although you've returned your card, I'll check out his idle voltage for curiosity's sake this weekend.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
Only issue is high vrm temps when applying more than 1.25v.
That's mostly with all 79xx cards, it seems? 1.25V is a rather high voltage. VRM temps hitting high 70s is something regular with all these cards. Gigabyte 7970, MSI 7970, MSI 7950 TF3s.

Last edited by yasamoka; 02-28-2013 at 15:11.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 02-28-2013, 15:11 | posts: 23,950 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by serbicu View Post
btw how's the 7950 as a whole PC experience?
7950 is the best deal in town. The price/performance factor is unbeatable due to the overclocking headroom these cards have.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 7970CF @ Qnix 1440p 110Hz
Processor: i7 930
Mainboard: ASUS P6X58D Premium
Memory: 6GB Corsair Dominators
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default 02-28-2013, 15:14 | posts: 3,199 | Location: Lebanon

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
7950 is the best deal in town. The price/performance factor is unbeatable due to the overclocking headroom these cards have.
That's so true I wish I got 7950s instead of 7970s, honestly. Still, 7970s OC further, I guess, and clock for clock are around 10% faster or so.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 02-28-2013, 15:18 | posts: 23,950 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by yasamoka View Post
That's so true I wish I got 7950s instead of 7970s, honestly. Still, 7970s OC further, I guess, and clock for clock are around 10% faster or so.
Yeah the 7970's do perform well.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.