Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA
Videocards - NVIDIA This forum is all about NVIDIA graphics cards and their technology. Do you have a question regarding an older GeForce videocard? Want to tell people how stylish a game works on that new shiny watercooled GeForce GTX 580 or SLI gaming rig? Get in here!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
msi 660 ti broken?
Old
  (#1)
erwin10
Newbie
 
Videocard: msi 660 ti PE
Processor: i5
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: CM GX lite 700w
Default msi 660 ti broken? - 02-25-2013, 21:12 | posts: 7

Hi..
a few weeks ago i won a 660 ti PE.. and i had id running for some time..
Then i had some sort of power shortcut (dont know if thats the proper english word).. with some smoke comming out of the psu..

So i replaced my motherboard and psu ( cooler master gx 700 w)
But now when i boot with both powercables installed my system won't power up.. Only when i use no or just 1 (outside 1) of the power cables it starts (giving me message gpu needs power)..
I didnt had the feeling my gpu was broken but now it seems like it ..
Could it be anything else? i only have an old card ( that doesnt require extra power supply ) to test my system and then it works fine..
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
airbud7
Ancient Guru
 
airbud7's Avatar
 
Videocard: HIS HD 6870
Processor: I3-2120
Mainboard: ASRock H61icafe
Memory: 8GB G.SKILL DDR3 1333
Soundcard: Xonar DX
PSU: PC Power&Cooling S61EPS
Default 02-25-2013, 21:28 | posts: 2,883 | Location: Evans Ga,USA

Replace PSU......
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Marco Borsato
Member Guru
 
Marco Borsato's Avatar
 
Videocard: x2 GTX 660 Ti 1200/3600
Processor: Core i7 3770K @ 4.5 Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB
Soundcard: Sound Blaster X-Fi HD
PSU: Corsair HX-750
Default 02-25-2013, 21:30 | posts: 138 | Location: The Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by erwin10 View Post
Hi..
a few weeks ago i won a 660 ti PE.. and i had id running for some time..
Then i had some sort of power shortcut (dont know if thats the proper english word).. with some smoke comming out of the psu..

So i replaced my motherboard and psu ( cooler master gx 700 w)
But now when i boot with both powercables installed my system won't power up.. Only when i use no or just 1 (outside 1) of the power cables it starts (giving me message gpu needs power)..
I didnt had the feeling my gpu was broken but now it seems like it ..
Could it be anything else? i only have an old card ( that doesnt require extra power supply ) to test my system and then it works fine..
I'm affraid your card is gone, if a power supply decides to blow up it usually takes one or more components with it, that really sucks. What power supply was that?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
erwin10
Newbie
 
Videocard: msi 660 ti PE
Processor: i5
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: CM GX lite 700w
Default 02-25-2013, 21:42 | posts: 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marco Borsato View Post
I'm affraid your card is gone, if a power supply decides to blow up it usually takes one or more components with it, that really sucks. What power supply was that?
mm damn..

it was a corsair gs 700w but that kinda was my own fault., my system was open and not everything was well attached..
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Marco Borsato
Member Guru
 
Marco Borsato's Avatar
 
Videocard: x2 GTX 660 Ti 1200/3600
Processor: Core i7 3770K @ 4.5 Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB
Soundcard: Sound Blaster X-Fi HD
PSU: Corsair HX-750
Default 02-25-2013, 21:46 | posts: 138 | Location: The Netherlands

Too bad mate, good luck with it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
airbud7
Ancient Guru
 
airbud7's Avatar
 
Videocard: HIS HD 6870
Processor: I3-2120
Mainboard: ASRock H61icafe
Memory: 8GB G.SKILL DDR3 1333
Soundcard: Xonar DX
PSU: PC Power&Cooling S61EPS
Default 02-25-2013, 21:49 | posts: 2,883 | Location: Evans Ga,USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by erwin10 View Post
So i replaced my motherboard and psu ( cooler master gx 700 w)

Could it be anything else? i only have an old card ( that doesnt require extra power supply ) to test my system and then it works fine..


cooler master gx 700 w...........?

Replace Psu..../ Try another one?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
erwin10
Newbie
 
Videocard: msi 660 ti PE
Processor: i5
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: CM GX lite 700w
Default 02-25-2013, 22:16 | posts: 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by airbud7 View Post
cooler master gx 700 w...........?

Replace Psu..../ Try another one?
But its a new one >?

I will try anyway...

But can't it have something to do with new mobo or gpu bios ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon R7 240
Processor: AMD Athlon 5350
Mainboard: Asus AM1M-A
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Realtek® ALC887-VD
PSU: Unk 300watt
Default 02-25-2013, 23:22 | posts: 16,284 | Location: US East Coast

Try to RMA the graphics card....


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
elite69
Master Guru
 
elite69's Avatar
 
Videocard: not shore
Processor: core i5 later
Mainboard: asus later
Memory: ddr3 later
Soundcard: on board.pioneer
PSU: tacens v-850
Default 02-25-2013, 23:36 | posts: 349 | Location: portugal

mate dont you have another pc for testing the gpu a frend pc if you dont have other one if the psu its new dont spend more money on another the other mobo that you replaced its realy burned or you only switched the mobo couse you guessed it was burned if it wasnt you could try the gpu there sorry for my bad english sometimes
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.