Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA
Videocards - NVIDIA This forum is all about NVIDIA graphics cards and their technology. Do you have a question regarding an older GeForce videocard? Want to tell people how stylish a game works on that new shiny watercooled GeForce GTX 580 or SLI gaming rig? Get in here!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
SLI bridge for Titan?
Old
  (#1)
ESlik
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: 2 EVGA Titans SLI
Processor: i7 4930K @4.4ghz.
Mainboard: Asus x79 RIVE
Memory: 16 gigs ddr3 @ 2400
Soundcard: ROG Xonar Phoebus
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default SLI bridge for Titan? - 02-25-2013, 17:19 | posts: 1,949 | Location: Sault Ste. Marie Ont. CA

Hey guys..I pre-ordered two Titans,and I assume the SLI bridge I have now will work? Is there a special bridge designed for Titan? Maximum PC had some pics of Tri SLI,and the bridge itself looked awesome. Am I OK with the bridge I have now? Thanks all.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Veteran
Ancient Guru
 
Veteran's Avatar
 
Videocard: 690@1372-Vmod on H20-24/7
Processor: 4930k@4.7ghz-1.29v-H20
Mainboard: R4BE@Monoblock-H20
Memory: 16Gb Mushkin Redline2133
Soundcard: SupremeFX-Sennheiser 350
PSU: Corsair AX 1200i
Default 02-25-2013, 17:28 | posts: 10,039 | Location: United kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by ESlik View Post
Hey guys..I pre-ordered two Titans,and I assume the SLI bridge I have now will work? Is there a special bridge designed for Titan? Maximum PC had some pics of Tri SLI,and the bridge itself looked awesome. Am I OK with the bridge I have now? Thanks all.
Normal bridge will be ok.
Also those fancy SLI bridges are hard to get if you can get them at all.
Ive yet to see anybody get similar fancy one for the 690.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
TwoPlusTwo
Master Guru
 
TwoPlusTwo's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x GTX Titan SLI
Processor: 3930k @ 4.6 GHz + H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: 16 GB Dominator DDR3 2133
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: Corsair AX1200
Default 02-25-2013, 17:44 | posts: 261 | Location: Southeast (USA)

I was actually wondering the same thing, thanks for posting this.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
ESlik
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: 2 EVGA Titans SLI
Processor: i7 4930K @4.4ghz.
Mainboard: Asus x79 RIVE
Memory: 16 gigs ddr3 @ 2400
Soundcard: ROG Xonar Phoebus
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default 02-25-2013, 17:47 | posts: 1,949 | Location: Sault Ste. Marie Ont. CA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Veteran View Post
Normal bridge will be ok.
Also those fancy SLI bridges are hard to get if you can get them at all.
Ive yet to see anybody get similar fancy one for the 690.
Thanks Veteran. I wasn't quite sure. I would like to get my hands on one of those neat looking bridges,but I have no clue how to even google it. What the hell would they call it? I tried google for "fancy SLI bridge",but nothing there. Any idea who makes them? Thanks again.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
ESlik
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: 2 EVGA Titans SLI
Processor: i7 4930K @4.4ghz.
Mainboard: Asus x79 RIVE
Memory: 16 gigs ddr3 @ 2400
Soundcard: ROG Xonar Phoebus
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default 02-25-2013, 17:58 | posts: 1,949 | Location: Sault Ste. Marie Ont. CA

I did more searching,and it seems EVGA built them for the Titan SLI demo only. According to manuelg,they have no intention of releasing that design to the general public. Too bad. It sure would look nice with all SLI set ups.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Veteran
Ancient Guru
 
Veteran's Avatar
 
Videocard: 690@1372-Vmod on H20-24/7
Processor: 4930k@4.7ghz-1.29v-H20
Mainboard: R4BE@Monoblock-H20
Memory: 16Gb Mushkin Redline2133
Soundcard: SupremeFX-Sennheiser 350
PSU: Corsair AX 1200i
Default 02-26-2013, 00:04 | posts: 10,039 | Location: United kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by ESlik View Post
I did more searching,and it seems EVGA built them for the Titan SLI demo only. According to manuelg,they have no intention of releasing that design to the general public. Too bad. It sure would look nice with all SLI set ups.
Yeah i kinda knew 99% that you couldnt get one, But now 100% now that you have confirmed it from EVGA.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.5Ghz HT On
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 02-26-2013, 00:16 | posts: 18,065 | Location: New Jersey, USA

for $999 bucks for a titan it should come with 1 of those fancy sli bridges
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
HeavyHemi
Ancient Guru
 
HeavyHemi's Avatar
 
Videocard: SLI TITAN SC @ 1097/3105
Processor: i7 980x 4.3 Ghz 1.35 v
Mainboard: EVGA X58 E758
Memory: 12Gb Corsair Dom 2000
Soundcard: Asus Xonar Phoebus
PSU: CORSAIR AX1200
Default 02-26-2013, 02:03 | posts: 3,512 | Location: Wooing whilst wearing only socks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
for $999 bucks for a titan it should come with 1 of those fancy sli bridges
Maybe if you ordered two? Heh heh.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
ESlik
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: 2 EVGA Titans SLI
Processor: i7 4930K @4.4ghz.
Mainboard: Asus x79 RIVE
Memory: 16 gigs ddr3 @ 2400
Soundcard: ROG Xonar Phoebus
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default 02-26-2013, 05:18 | posts: 1,949 | Location: Sault Ste. Marie Ont. CA

Quote:
Originally Posted by HeavyHemi View Post
Maybe if you ordered two? Heh heh.
I DID order two of them,and there's no SLI bridge included at all.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
JeyNyce
Maha Guru
 
JeyNyce's Avatar
 
Videocard: Galaxy 670GTX 4GB OC
Processor: I7-3820 Sandy Bridge-E
Mainboard: INtel DX79SI
Memory: CORSAIR XMS3 32GB
Soundcard: SB Z & Logitech Z5500
PSU: 850 Watt PSU
Default 02-26-2013, 09:00 | posts: 1,949 | Location: New York

You have 2 680 and now you upgrading to 2 Titans. What kinda of a performance bump are you looking for?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
eternitykh
Master Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 670 FTW+ 4GB SLI
Processor: 3770K @ 4.8Ghz on Water
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth z77
Memory: 16GB 4xDIMM Vengeance1866
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DX
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 02-26-2013, 18:28 | posts: 322

he's looking for the kind of performance boost you'd expect from 2 680s to 2 titans.

:|
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
ESlik
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: 2 EVGA Titans SLI
Processor: i7 4930K @4.4ghz.
Mainboard: Asus x79 RIVE
Memory: 16 gigs ddr3 @ 2400
Soundcard: ROG Xonar Phoebus
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default 02-26-2013, 19:29 | posts: 1,949 | Location: Sault Ste. Marie Ont. CA

It's not just performance,it's the cooling,size,less noise etc. I have the Thermaltake Level 10 Gaming Station case,and air flow is limited compared to most other PC cases. Being a compartmental design,the cooling and increased air flow is important. I don't have any performance, heat or noise etc. issues with my present configuration,but the Titans will make everything even better. That's my story,and I'm sticking to it. It sure helps justify what I'm doing.lol.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
eternitykh
Master Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 670 FTW+ 4GB SLI
Processor: 3770K @ 4.8Ghz on Water
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth z77
Memory: 16GB 4xDIMM Vengeance1866
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DX
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 02-26-2013, 20:09 | posts: 322

i wasn't bagging on you at all, everyone has their reasons if they know what they are doing. i said that half jokingly. but just remember the titan isn't realistically any more efficient than a 680, it's the same architecture with more SMX/Cores. it's just more powerful. but i guess the cooler is nicer, and they did test that noise is lower.

whatever your results are, i hope you'll be happy with your upgrade. and i bet you will make a lot of people jealous with twin titans haha


edit:
oh and to be on topic, as others have mentioned, those nice special SLI bridges are for marketing and demo purpose only, you wont be able to purchase them.

you wont need anything special either, any good old sli bridge will work. or you can custom make your own sli cover i made one a while back, let's see if i can find a picture of it.

edit2:
found it:




Last edited by eternitykh; 02-26-2013 at 20:31.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.5Ghz HT On
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 02-26-2013, 21:33 | posts: 18,065 | Location: New Jersey, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by ESlik View Post
I DID order two of them,and there's no SLI bridge included at all.
too bad it looked cool in the photo
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
ESlik
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: 2 EVGA Titans SLI
Processor: i7 4930K @4.4ghz.
Mainboard: Asus x79 RIVE
Memory: 16 gigs ddr3 @ 2400
Soundcard: ROG Xonar Phoebus
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default 02-27-2013, 14:00 | posts: 1,949 | Location: Sault Ste. Marie Ont. CA

Quote:
Originally Posted by eternitykh View Post
i wasn't bagging on you at all, everyone has their reasons if they know what they are doing. i said that half jokingly. but just remember the titan isn't realistically any more efficient than a 680, it's the same architecture with more SMX/Cores. it's just more powerful. but i guess the cooler is nicer, and they did test that noise is lower.

whatever your results are, i hope you'll be happy with your upgrade. and i bet you will make a lot of people jealous with twin titans haha


edit:
oh and to be on topic, as others have mentioned, those nice special SLI bridges are for marketing and demo purpose only, you wont be able to purchase them.

you wont need anything special either, any good old sli bridge will work. or you can custom make your own sli cover i made one a while back, let's see if i can find a picture of it.

edit2:
found it:



You made that SLI bridge? Very nice. How much to make one for me? Really,I will buy,if you will make.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
eternitykh
Master Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 670 FTW+ 4GB SLI
Processor: 3770K @ 4.8Ghz on Water
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth z77
Memory: 16GB 4xDIMM Vengeance1866
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DX
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 02-27-2013, 18:35 | posts: 322

yes i did make it, but sorry i dont make them to sell.

you can make one too, it's really not that hard, just find a rigid bridge with the right length

i didn't make the actual bridge, i only made the cover.

get creative! some people use braided cable sleeving on flex-bridges and those look nice too. mines literally a brushed aluminum 5.25 bay cover, i just dremel'd it, and used some super thick mounting tape on a rigid bridge. it was actually originally a 3-way bridge, but i dremel'd that too, as i couldn't find a 2way rigid bridge of that's double width with that length.

and i've seen other's that have done a much better job than me, so yeah get creative! if you have some basic electric tools at home, it'd be a breeze.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
JeyNyce
Maha Guru
 
JeyNyce's Avatar
 
Videocard: Galaxy 670GTX 4GB OC
Processor: I7-3820 Sandy Bridge-E
Mainboard: INtel DX79SI
Memory: CORSAIR XMS3 32GB
Soundcard: SB Z & Logitech Z5500
PSU: 850 Watt PSU
Default 02-27-2013, 18:48 | posts: 1,949 | Location: New York

Quote:
Originally Posted by eternitykh View Post
he's looking for the kind of performance boost you'd expect from 2 680s to 2 titans.

:|
I was waiting for some smart @$$ to give an answer like that, LOL
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.5Ghz HT On
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 02-27-2013, 22:13 | posts: 18,065 | Location: New Jersey, USA

http://www.neogaf.com/forum/showpost...postcount=1736
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.