Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section
Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything Catalyst related. AMD Catalyst drivers are for all AMD ATI based graphics cards. This is also the place to discuss modified Catalyst drivers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Ati Driver opencl bug
Old
  (#1)
Billerdo
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD7850 1gb
Processor: Intel C2Q Q8200
Mainboard: P5QL PRO
Memory: 8gb Buffalo DDR2 @800mhz
Soundcard: ALC1200
PSU: Cooler Master GX 550
Default Ati Driver opencl bug - 02-24-2013, 22:29 | posts: 48 | Location: Naples, Italy

Hi, i have a problem. After amd catalyst driver 13.1 whql installation, gpuz detected a bug in opencl. Tried to uninstall this driver to install 12.11 beta 11, and still the problem persist, this problem it's not only detected by gpuz because i tried to run luxmark and it's crashed twice, so, wich is the problem? There is a way to fix it? i use driver sweeper and ccleaner to make fresh installation.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
dellon132
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: HD 5570 1 GB DDR3
Processor: Intel E2180 3.2Ghz
Mainboard: Asrock
Memory: 3GB DDR2
Soundcard:
PSU: 450 Watt Power Supply
Default 02-24-2013, 22:57 | posts: 1,799

Quote:
Originally Posted by Billerdo View Post
Hi, i have a problem. After amd catalyst driver 13.1 whql installation, gpuz detected a bug in opencl. Tried to uninstall this driver to install 12.11 beta 11, and still the problem persist, this problem it's not only detected by gpuz because i tried to run luxmark and it's crashed twice, so, wich is the problem? There is a way to fix it? i use driver sweeper and ccleaner to make fresh installation.
The reason you are currently experiencing this is due to Opencl leaving files or registry entries behind in your system. Driver Sweeper cannot fix this problem because driver sweeper does not completely remove the Opencl entries. To remove them you would need to use a tool such as the latest version of ATIMAN or the AMD tool (Not Recommended unless you are currently running a Windows 7 operating System)

There is also another software you can use to fix the problem but I can't quite remember the name.

Ok found the software, its called MSI Cleanup Utility
Download Link:
http://gallery.technet.microsoft.com...ility-3889c8db

You should use this tool only if you run into a similar problem with an MSI package. Do not use it to clean up your ATI drivers. You can still use driver cleaner but I recommend uninstalling all your driver using express uninstall and then running driver sweeper to clean up the files and registry entries left behind by the AMD uninstaller.

Last edited by dellon132; 02-24-2013 at 23:25.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Billerdo
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD7850 1gb
Processor: Intel C2Q Q8200
Mainboard: P5QL PRO
Memory: 8gb Buffalo DDR2 @800mhz
Soundcard: ALC1200
PSU: Cooler Master GX 550
Default 02-25-2013, 00:04 | posts: 48 | Location: Naples, Italy

tried with atiman, the problem is still here :-(
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
dellon132
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: HD 5570 1 GB DDR3
Processor: Intel E2180 3.2Ghz
Mainboard: Asrock
Memory: 3GB DDR2
Soundcard:
PSU: 450 Watt Power Supply
Default 02-25-2013, 00:22 | posts: 1,799

Quote:
Originally Posted by Billerdo View Post
tried with atiman, the problem is still here :-(
Use the MSI Cleaner to get rid of Opencl files then install last working version of Opencl for your Graphic Card (Opencl that you tested)
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
TheOriginalTO
Master Guru
 
Videocard: ATI 5870m
Processor: Intel Core i7 Q720
Mainboard: ASUS G73JH
Memory: 6.00
Soundcard:
PSU: Rbbx05
Default 02-25-2013, 00:32 | posts: 281

Is this why furmark may not be working for me as well, even though GPU-z etc do work? I did notice the check mark for GPU-z for opencl is no longer checked though as of recently...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX660SC SLI
Processor: Core i7 2600K
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Creative Recon3D PCIe
PSU: SeaSonic M12II 620 Bronze
Default 02-25-2013, 00:40 | posts: 15,598 | Location: US East Coast

Furmark shouldn't be affected by OpenCL as it doesn't use it. Furmark uses OpenGL.


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
TheOriginalTO
Master Guru
 
Videocard: ATI 5870m
Processor: Intel Core i7 Q720
Mainboard: ASUS G73JH
Memory: 6.00
Soundcard:
PSU: Rbbx05
Default 02-25-2013, 02:39 | posts: 281

ok, then why do all my opengl games work, but furmark does not?? IDK, thanks for the info. though.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Billerdo
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD7850 1gb
Processor: Intel C2Q Q8200
Mainboard: P5QL PRO
Memory: 8gb Buffalo DDR2 @800mhz
Soundcard: ALC1200
PSU: Cooler Master GX 550
Default 02-25-2013, 09:00 | posts: 48 | Location: Naples, Italy

With msi cleaner i can't see any opencl installation, so i can't fix the msi installer. I just wanna know if this problem can be hardware related or it's only software bound.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Billerdo
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD7850 1gb
Processor: Intel C2Q Q8200
Mainboard: P5QL PRO
Memory: 8gb Buffalo DDR2 @800mhz
Soundcard: ALC1200
PSU: Cooler Master GX 550
Default 02-25-2013, 10:25 | posts: 48 | Location: Naples, Italy

uninstalled and cleaned with ccleaner + driversweeper (uninstalled atiman too, it's a good tool but i don't like it), and installed 13.2 beta 6, problem it's solved for windows 7 os, but i have another hdd with Windows xp 32 bit, and through gpuz in win xp i don't see opencl checked but i have no errors. It's normal that gpuz in win xp don't check opencl?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Falkentyne
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD 7970 Ghz Ed.
Processor: Core i7 2600k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 1000W
Default 02-26-2013, 00:30 | posts: 399

I don't think OpenCL is for XP. Maybe it works, but I don't know
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
dellon132
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: HD 5570 1 GB DDR3
Processor: Intel E2180 3.2Ghz
Mainboard: Asrock
Memory: 3GB DDR2
Soundcard:
PSU: 450 Watt Power Supply
Default 02-26-2013, 04:06 | posts: 1,799

Quote:
Originally Posted by Billerdo View Post
uninstalled and cleaned with ccleaner + driversweeper (uninstalled atiman too, it's a good tool but i don't like it), and installed 13.2 beta 6, problem it's solved for windows 7 os, but i have another hdd with Windows xp 32 bit, and through gpuz in win xp i don't see opencl checked but i have no errors. It's normal that gpuz in win xp don't check opencl?
Here is the long answer...If AMD included an OpencL package for Windows XP then it does support windows XP. So, if there is no Opencl driver in the Diver package, that means Windows XP is not supported.

Here is the short answer...No, it does not support Windows Xp. Here is the link to the OpencL Requirement Page
http://developer.amd.com/tools/heter...compatibility/
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Scyphe
Master Guru
 
Scyphe's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Radeon 7950@1150/1700
Processor: Intel Core i5 3570K
Mainboard: MSI Z77-GD45
Memory: G.Skill ARES.LP 2x4GB
Soundcard: Line6 POD HD300
PSU: Corsair RM750
Default 02-26-2013, 07:31 | posts: 407 | Location: Sweden

The latest versions of OpenCL runtimes (or some part of drivers connection OpenCL to the HW) has negatively affected OpenCL performance since 12.11b11. POCLBM (bitcoin mining with OpenCL on my 7950) performance dropped 10% simply by installing any of the Never Settle Drivers. Reported.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Darr
Newbie
 
Videocard: EAH5550 & Hd3XXX onboard
Processor: AMD Athlon X2
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Xion 1000 watt
Default 02-27-2013, 06:58 | posts: 8

Opencl works in windows XP as long as your graphics card is an hd4000 and higher. If upon installation of the driver, opencl is not working go to the ATI directory (11.12 and lower) or the AMD directory (12.1 and above), go to the support subdirectory, then the driver version you're trying to install subdirectory, then the packages subdirectory, then the apps subdirectory, then the opencl subdirectory and double click on the (opencl.msi). This will rerun the opencl installer, choose the repair option and it should fix the installation.

Last edited by Darr; 02-27-2013 at 07:05. Reason: missed a subdirectory
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.