Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Operating Systems
Operating Systems Is Windows 2000, XP or Vista giving you a hard time ? Wanna try out Linux ?


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
PC randomly freezes and requires hard restart on windows start up screen?
Old
  (#1)
DraZor
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 690
Processor: i5 2500K @ 4.5
Mainboard: P8P67 Pro B3
Memory: 2 x 8GB Trident X 2400
Soundcard: STX | HD650
PSU: Seasonic X760
Default PC randomly freezes and requires hard restart on windows start up screen? - 02-23-2013, 22:26 | posts: 306 | Location: NZ

Hey guys,

Randomly at times after turning my PC on, it'll get to the windows startup screen with the flying-in colors etc and will then just simply freeze and requires a hard restart (hold in power button).

Really annoying as it seems to do it at random.

Any ideas?


Thanks.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Mufflore
Ancient Guru
 
Mufflore's Avatar
 
Videocard: KFA2 Anarchy 580@930/4650
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHz - blew it!
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67 UD4 B3
Memory: 8G Kngston 2.2GHz CL11 1T
Soundcard: Minimax+ & Dexa Opamps !!
PSU: Corsair Pro AX750
Default 02-23-2013, 22:50 | posts: 9,769 | Location: UK

Reset the cmos, see if it improves.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
DraZor
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 690
Processor: i5 2500K @ 4.5
Mainboard: P8P67 Pro B3
Memory: 2 x 8GB Trident X 2400
Soundcard: STX | HD650
PSU: Seasonic X760
Default 02-26-2013, 00:07 | posts: 306 | Location: NZ

Thanks for the input.

I installed the latest BIOS, with no issues as of yet - I'll report back if I run into the lock-up again.

FTR I'm using latest firmware for SSD.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
volkov956
Ancient Guru
 
volkov956's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970 HD GHZ
Processor: ES 4GHZ Six Core 12MB
Mainboard:
Memory: 16GB DDR3 1600
Soundcard: SB XFI Elite Custom
PSU: 750 EPS
Default 02-26-2013, 02:15 | posts: 5,987 | Location: Канад

does it happen in safe mode?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 02-26-2013, 02:35 | posts: 23,958 | Location: NZ

Anything overcloaked?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Watcher
Maha Guru
 
Watcher's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 6850 OC CYCLONE 1 GB
Processor: Phenom IIX6 1090T@4.1ghz
Mainboard: ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0
Memory: G.SKILL RIPJAWS 8GB @1866
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
PSU: OCZ StealthXStream 2 600W
Default 02-26-2013, 03:03 | posts: 2,181 | Location: Canada

Look at Event logs, any errors?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
DraZor
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 690
Processor: i5 2500K @ 4.5
Mainboard: P8P67 Pro B3
Memory: 2 x 8GB Trident X 2400
Soundcard: STX | HD650
PSU: Seasonic X760
Default 02-26-2013, 21:15 | posts: 306 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by volkov956 View Post
does it happen in safe mode?
Havn't tried safe mode. Mind you it hasn't locked up for the last 3 start-ups which is good.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
Anything overcloaked?
Yes, CPU.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Watcher View Post
Look at Event logs, any errors?
Attached a few screenshots:

http://img248.imageshack.us/img248/4826/eventlog1.jpg
http://img823.imageshack.us/img823/5868/eventlog2.jpg
http://img837.imageshack.us/img837/1234/eventlog3.jpg
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 02-26-2013, 21:47 | posts: 23,958 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by DraZor View Post
Yes, CPU.
Reset your clocks back to stock speeds and see if that helps. If it fixes the problem then your overclock is unstable.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Watcher
Maha Guru
 
Watcher's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 6850 OC CYCLONE 1 GB
Processor: Phenom IIX6 1090T@4.1ghz
Mainboard: ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0
Memory: G.SKILL RIPJAWS 8GB @1866
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
PSU: OCZ StealthXStream 2 600W
Default 02-26-2013, 23:59 | posts: 2,181 | Location: Canada

Follow this MS Guide and turn off " Automatically restart ". This will result in further information that can be collected for further troubleshooting.

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2028504

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2028504#method3

http://www.google.ca/#hl=en&output=s...w=1600&bih=787 < Google search on code 41

Last edited by Watcher; 02-27-2013 at 00:20.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 02-27-2013, 00:03 | posts: 23,958 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by Watcher View Post
Follow this MS Guide and turn off " Automatically restart ". This will result in further information that can be collected for further troubleshooting.

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2028504

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2028504#method3
That's a code 41 which shows up in Event Log any time the PC is forced to restart, like when pressing the reset button for example...

Automatic Restart only works when there is a BSOD.....

Last edited by Pill Monster; 02-27-2013 at 00:06.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Watcher
Maha Guru
 
Watcher's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 6850 OC CYCLONE 1 GB
Processor: Phenom IIX6 1090T@4.1ghz
Mainboard: ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0
Memory: G.SKILL RIPJAWS 8GB @1866
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
PSU: OCZ StealthXStream 2 600W
Default 02-27-2013, 00:05 | posts: 2,181 | Location: Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
That's a code 41 which shows up in Event Log any time the PC is forced to restart, for example pressing the reset button...
The log files DraZor posted shows code 41 does it not?

Last edited by Watcher; 02-27-2013 at 00:12.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 02-27-2013, 00:08 | posts: 23,958 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by Watcher View Post
That log files DraZor posted shows code 41 does it not?
It doesn't mean anything except that the PC was forced to restart.

It's there because he pressed the reset switch for 4 secs and forced a power down....it's just a generic message.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Watcher
Maha Guru
 
Watcher's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 6850 OC CYCLONE 1 GB
Processor: Phenom IIX6 1090T@4.1ghz
Mainboard: ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0
Memory: G.SKILL RIPJAWS 8GB @1866
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
PSU: OCZ StealthXStream 2 600W
Default 02-27-2013, 00:13 | posts: 2,181 | Location: Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
It doesn't mean anything except that the PC was forced to restart.

It's there because he pressed the reset switch for 4 secs and forced a power down....it's just a generic message.
Yes, that's correct. I also stated " Follow this MS Guide and turn off " Automatically restart ". This will result in further information that can be collected for further troubleshooting. "
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Watcher
Maha Guru
 
Watcher's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 6850 OC CYCLONE 1 GB
Processor: Phenom IIX6 1090T@4.1ghz
Mainboard: ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0
Memory: G.SKILL RIPJAWS 8GB @1866
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
PSU: OCZ StealthXStream 2 600W
Default 02-27-2013, 00:16 | posts: 2,181 | Location: Canada

The MS article does indicate some issue that can cause code 41 such as over clocking.

Scenarios listed here:

Refer to Scenario 3 for detailed information.

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2028504#method3

Last edited by Watcher; 02-27-2013 at 00:19.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 02-27-2013, 01:03 | posts: 23,958 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by Watcher View Post
The MS article does indicate some issue that can cause code 41 such as over clocking.

Scenarios listed here:

Refer to Scenario 3 for detailed information.

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2028504#method3
Event 41 is listed in Event Log because the OP pressed the power button. He said this in his first post....

Quote:
Originally Posted by DraZor View Post
Hey guys,

.... it'll get to the windows startup screen with the flying-in colors etc and will then just simply freeze and requires a hard restart (hold in power button).

Last edited by Pill Monster; 02-27-2013 at 01:08.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Watcher
Maha Guru
 
Watcher's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 6850 OC CYCLONE 1 GB
Processor: Phenom IIX6 1090T@4.1ghz
Mainboard: ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0
Memory: G.SKILL RIPJAWS 8GB @1866
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
PSU: OCZ StealthXStream 2 600W
Default 02-27-2013, 02:56 | posts: 2,181 | Location: Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
Event 41 is listed in Event Log because the OP pressed the power button. He said this in his first post....
Yep, Pill Monster, I missed that. I took it as the PC is randomly rebooting.

Some of the items listed in method 3 would still apply to Windows not getting past the boot screen.

If there is no other errors in the event log, it's going to be trial and error to what might be causing the issue.

First item, as stated by Pill Monster, would be to remove any over clock that is present.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Mufflore
Ancient Guru
 
Mufflore's Avatar
 
Videocard: KFA2 Anarchy 580@930/4650
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHz - blew it!
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67 UD4 B3
Memory: 8G Kngston 2.2GHz CL11 1T
Soundcard: Minimax+ & Dexa Opamps !!
PSU: Corsair Pro AX750
Default 02-27-2013, 03:37 | posts: 9,769 | Location: UK

That should have been taken care of with the CMOS reset.
Hopefully he didnt re-apply it straight after, that would have completely defeated the point lol !
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
DraZor
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 690
Processor: i5 2500K @ 4.5
Mainboard: P8P67 Pro B3
Memory: 2 x 8GB Trident X 2400
Soundcard: STX | HD650
PSU: Seasonic X760
Default 03-05-2013, 09:14 | posts: 306 | Location: NZ

Thanks for all the input guys .

Have yet to experience another crash so all has been just fine so far (since I opened the thread I think )
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.