Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Frontpage news
Frontpage news Perhaps you have some news to report or want to check out the latest Guru3D headlines and comment ? Check it in here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
GeForce GTX Titan Overclock Guide
Old
  (#1)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 4770
Mainboard: Z77
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default GeForce GTX Titan Overclock Guide - 02-21-2013, 13:57 | posts: 19,564 | Location: Guru3D testlab

Today an article slash guide dedicated on overclocking the GeForce GTX Titan. Can we take it over 1100 MHz ? Sure we can, fairly easily even. Armed with a new trick or two overclocking will never be t...

GeForce GTX Titan Overclock Guide
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Koniakki
Maha Guru
 
Koniakki's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit 780Ti JS@1280/7500
Processor: Intel 3770k@4.6G's
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 OC Formula
Memory: Kingston P-X 16GB@2400Mhz
Soundcard: Asrock SPDIF-OUT
PSU: XFX BLACK PRO 750W GOLD
Default 02-21-2013, 15:19 | posts: 1,325 | Location: Inside My Thoughts..

WOW!!! Just finished all 3 articles. What a reading marathon! I have been reading for the past 1 hour!!

So besides HILBERT'S AMAZING REVIEWS/ARTICLES as always, we can conclude at the end that a Titan@1150-1200 is about equal or a bit faster in 19x10 and about equal in 25x16 compared to a STOCK GTX 690.

Although I would had love to see an overclocked GTX 690 thrown in the Overclock guide, I really say about the Titan.. Not bad, not bad at all.

Although the prices are MSRP, I would wait to see for how much these would sell after 6months and also see the performance after drivers mature more.

But at the end, its NOT really that bad.. Quite satisfying performance I must say.

Last edited by Koniakki; 02-21-2013 at 15:22.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
wenimin
Newbie
 
wenimin's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 780 Lightning (SLI)
Processor: i7 3770K (4.5GHz)
Mainboard: Asus Maximus V Formula/Th
Memory: G.Skill Extreme3 ARES 4x4
Soundcard: NVIDIA HighDefinit° Audio
PSU: CM Silent Pro M850
Default 02-21-2013, 16:15 | posts: 26 | Location: France

Yeah,nice time for me reading this 3 reviews,in my quiet room,it was like food.
I can not imagine if MSI make a tweaked GTX Titan,but it's already powerfull,i think the target for all anthousiasts gamers is to not go under 61-60 fps in max settings(and not under 70 fps with a 120 Hz monitor in 2D).
i'm curious to see this card in stereoscopic 3D

Thanks,Hilbert and Guru3D for all this work and all this precious informations.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
keroro185
Newbie
 
Videocard: ATI HD 5970 X2
Processor: I7 975
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Enermax Rev. 85+ 1.25K
Default 02-21-2013, 16:35 | posts: 4

Got a question:
In this article, you manually overclocked the gpu core to ~1000Mhz. Due to Gpu Boost 2.0 though, the card sometimes automatically went even further to a maximum of ~1170Mhz.
My question is, what would happen if you manually set the core clock to say 1150Mhz (with max fan, max power limit, max temp limit)? Doesn't this theoretically squeezes the most performance out of the card?

Last edited by keroro185; 02-21-2013 at 16:37.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Mufflore
Ancient Guru
 
Mufflore's Avatar
 
Videocard: KFA2 Anarchy 580@930/4650
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHz - blew it!
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67 UD4 B3
Memory: 8G Kngston 2.2GHz CL11 1T
Soundcard: Minimax+ & Dexa Opamps !!
PSU: Corsair Pro AX750
Default 02-21-2013, 18:33 | posts: 9,776 | Location: UK

The voltages are peculiar!
On page 1 it says
"At default your card will be locked at a maximum Core voltage of 1.162 mV"
(around 1 mV mentioned a few times on the page)

On page 2, in the bullet points it says
"Voltage 1200 Mv "

Thats quite a large variance of voltage, from 1mV to 1GV lol
(ps neither are correct)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
IPlayNaked
Banned
 
Videocard: XFire 7950 1200/1850
Processor: Intel i5 2500k 5 Ghz
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD55
Memory: 8GB Corsair Dominator
Soundcard: Logitech G930
PSU: Corsair 650w
Default 02-21-2013, 18:39 | posts: 6,559

Quote:
Originally Posted by keroro185 View Post
Got a question:
In this article, you manually overclocked the gpu core to ~1000Mhz. Due to Gpu Boost 2.0 though, the card sometimes automatically went even further to a maximum of ~1170Mhz.
My question is, what would happen if you manually set the core clock to say 1150Mhz (with max fan, max power limit, max temp limit)? Doesn't this theoretically squeezes the most performance out of the card?
You can't. The boost can't be controlled like that. You get to control the offset. The 10xx whatever setting is the max overclock. Beyond that you have to pray for the boost to kick in.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 02-21-2013, 21:34 | posts: 17,148 | Location: New Jersey, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by IPlayNaked View Post
You can't. The boost can't be controlled like that. You get to control the offset. The 10xx whatever setting is the max overclock. Beyond that you have to pray for the boost to kick in.
my boost fires up straight away in benchmarks in gaming. no praying involved
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Koniakki
Maha Guru
 
Koniakki's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit 780Ti JS@1280/7500
Processor: Intel 3770k@4.6G's
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 OC Formula
Memory: Kingston P-X 16GB@2400Mhz
Soundcard: Asrock SPDIF-OUT
PSU: XFX BLACK PRO 750W GOLD
Default 02-21-2013, 22:36 | posts: 1,325 | Location: Inside My Thoughts..

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---tk--- View Post
my boost fires up straight away in benchmarks in gaming. No praying involved

lol!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 02-21-2013, 22:42 | posts: 17,148 | Location: New Jersey, USA

gk110 boost is actually much improved. gk104 is designed to start to throttle at 70c. you can actually raise that with titan. think its default is 80c and can be changed.


Uploaded with ImageShack.us
this is my gpuz, with the increased power target and voltage I am running at 1280, not what gpuz reports
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
IPlayNaked
Banned
 
Videocard: XFire 7950 1200/1850
Processor: Intel i5 2500k 5 Ghz
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD55
Memory: 8GB Corsair Dominator
Soundcard: Logitech G930
PSU: Corsair 650w
Default 02-21-2013, 23:15 | posts: 6,559

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
gk110 boost is actually much improved. gk104 is designed to start to throttle at 70c. you can actually raise that with titan. think its default is 80c and can be changed.


Uploaded with ImageShack.us
this is my gpuz, with the increased power target and voltage I am running at 1280, not what gpuz reports
That's cool, but it's inconsistent, and entirely dependent on the game/load you're running. Also, the power target for Titan is only 6% higher than its TDP.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 02-21-2013, 23:20 | posts: 17,148 | Location: New Jersey, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by IPlayNaked View Post
That's cool, but it's inconsistent, and entirely dependent on the game/load you're running. Also, the power target for Titan is only 6% higher than its TDP.
games go to the power target and benchmarks, I`m so titan will be no different. the power target of 106% will most likely be raised by a bios flash like gk104. games benchmarks go right to the boost clock in my sig. unless your talking about playing pac man. then it would most likely run at a very low clock
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
IPlayNaked
Banned
 
Videocard: XFire 7950 1200/1850
Processor: Intel i5 2500k 5 Ghz
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD55
Memory: 8GB Corsair Dominator
Soundcard: Logitech G930
PSU: Corsair 650w
Default 02-21-2013, 23:44 | posts: 6,559

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
games go to the power target and benchmarks, I`m so titan will be no different. the power target of 106% will most likely be raised by a bios flash like gk104. games benchmarks go right to the boost clock in my sig. unless your talking about playing pac man. then it would most likely run at a very low clock
First and foremost, Titan still has a hard TDP limit, just like GTX 680 cards. Titan cannot and will not cross this limit, as it’s built into the firmware of the card and essentially enforced by NVIDIA through their agreements with their partners. This TDP limit is 106% of Titan’s base TDP of 250W, or 265W. No matter what you throw at Titan or how you cool it, it will not let itself pull more than 265W sustained.

Per Anandtech.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 02-21-2013, 23:48 | posts: 17,148 | Location: New Jersey, USA

so what? I just ran a valley maxed at 106% at it is 1280 on both gpus. when you get a titan or a gk104 gpu we can discuss this further.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
IPlayNaked
Banned
 
Videocard: XFire 7950 1200/1850
Processor: Intel i5 2500k 5 Ghz
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD55
Memory: 8GB Corsair Dominator
Soundcard: Logitech G930
PSU: Corsair 650w
Default 02-21-2013, 23:50 | posts: 6,559

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
so what? I just ran a valley maxed at 106% at it is 1280 on both gpus. when you get a titan or a gk104 gpu we can discuss this further.
Once you get a Titan, we can discuss this further.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Loophole35
Ancient Guru
 
Loophole35's Avatar
 
Videocard: 670 FTW Sli H2O/780 TFIV
Processor: 2600k@4.8 H2O/2500k@4.5
Mainboard: P8Z68-V PRO/P8Z77-V
Memory: corsair ddr3 8GB@1866
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus/onboard
PSU: Corsair HX850w/TX850w
Default 02-21-2013, 23:51 | posts: 4,653 | Location: FLA,USA

I'd imagine that some board partners like MSI and EVGA among other will find a way aroun the 265W wall put before them. AHHHHHHH just thinking of a Titan Classified or a Titan Lightning.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 02-21-2013, 23:53 | posts: 17,148 | Location: New Jersey, USA

no doubt, they said gk104 couldnt raise the power target and voltage too, albeit just to 1.21v
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Loophole35
Ancient Guru
 
Loophole35's Avatar
 
Videocard: 670 FTW Sli H2O/780 TFIV
Processor: 2600k@4.8 H2O/2500k@4.5
Mainboard: P8Z68-V PRO/P8Z77-V
Memory: corsair ddr3 8GB@1866
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus/onboard
PSU: Corsair HX850w/TX850w
Default 02-21-2013, 23:57 | posts: 4,653 | Location: FLA,USA

"They" also said GK104 could not overclock good both me and you are at 1280 boost with 7Ghz+ mem on air what do "They" know.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 02-22-2013, 00:00 | posts: 17,148 | Location: New Jersey, USA

are you running unlocked bios too? best I could do was 1254 stable and maybe 1280 in benchies stock bios
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Loophole35
Ancient Guru
 
Loophole35's Avatar
 
Videocard: 670 FTW Sli H2O/780 TFIV
Processor: 2600k@4.8 H2O/2500k@4.5
Mainboard: P8Z68-V PRO/P8Z77-V
Memory: corsair ddr3 8GB@1866
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus/onboard
PSU: Corsair HX850w/TX850w
Default 02-22-2013, 00:05 | posts: 4,653 | Location: FLA,USA

Unlocked BIOS and full stable for me has been 1264/7008, 1280/7114 bench never ran my setup in sli on stock BIOS but on one 670 stock BIOS my max bench was 1306/7208 and 24/7 was 1296/7008. I game sometimes in my bench profile but I get an occasional random driver crash so dropped the clocks a bit but not enough to notice.

Last edited by Loophole35; 02-22-2013 at 00:07.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 02-22-2013, 00:14 | posts: 17,148 | Location: New Jersey, USA

sometime "they" think they know everything. its like talking to a brick wall lol.
you dont have a problem oc the memory in windows? gpu 1 would work for a few days then it would be stuck on the 0 offset. so I flashed the memory oc in the bios to 7200

Last edited by ---TK---; 02-22-2013 at 00:17.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
Loophole35
Ancient Guru
 
Loophole35's Avatar
 
Videocard: 670 FTW Sli H2O/780 TFIV
Processor: 2600k@4.8 H2O/2500k@4.5
Mainboard: P8Z68-V PRO/P8Z77-V
Memory: corsair ddr3 8GB@1866
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus/onboard
PSU: Corsair HX850w/TX850w
Default 02-22-2013, 00:21 | posts: 4,653 | Location: FLA,USA

No I remember you saying something about that in your 680sli thread when you and a few others were helping me with O.C.ing my memory to hit 15K in 3Dmark11. Mine have not had the return to zero bug I had that before with my 6950CF setup but cured ith with a clean install of MSI afterburner.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 02-22-2013, 00:25 | posts: 17,148 | Location: New Jersey, USA

weird had sli 580 in this rig for 2 years and not 1 problem oc the memory. I`m just going to leave it flashed at 7200. its 100% stable
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
Loophole35
Ancient Guru
 
Loophole35's Avatar
 
Videocard: 670 FTW Sli H2O/780 TFIV
Processor: 2600k@4.8 H2O/2500k@4.5
Mainboard: P8Z68-V PRO/P8Z77-V
Memory: corsair ddr3 8GB@1866
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus/onboard
PSU: Corsair HX850w/TX850w
Default 02-22-2013, 00:27 | posts: 4,653 | Location: FLA,USA

Don't mess with perfection. lol
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 02-22-2013, 00:37 | posts: 17,148 | Location: New Jersey, USA

I just saw that they didnt include a backplate and it got ram chips on the back.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
PhazeDelta1
Ancient Guru
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 770 Classified SLI
Processor: Intel i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z87
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Creative SB Z
PSU: Seasonic X-1050
Default 02-22-2013, 00:41 | posts: 11,984 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
I just saw that they didnt include a backplate and it got ram chips on the back.
EVGA will remedy that problem eventually.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.