Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section
Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything Catalyst related. AMD Catalyst drivers are for all AMD ATI based graphics cards. This is also the place to discuss modified Catalyst drivers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Top single GPU's just became obsolete (crysis 3)
Old
  (#1)
lorikano
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 2x Sapphire 7950 w/boost
Processor: Core i7 3770k @4.5ghz
Mainboard:
Memory: 8gb DDR3 1600mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: corsair tx750 v2
Default Top single GPU's just became obsolete (crysis 3) - 02-20-2013, 14:22 | posts: 174 | Location: Surface of the Sun



http://www.pcgameshardware.de/Crysis...arten-1056218/

gtx 680 or 7970 doesn't matter because Crysis has engulfed all of 'em
My opinion ? Im waiting for 8000 series
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
3dPlayer
Banned
 
Videocard: Have
Processor: a
Mainboard: good
Memory: day
Soundcard: or
PSU: not
Default 02-20-2013, 14:24 | posts: 1,824

So you are saying that you need to play at maximum settings? LMAO (all this fest because of one single game that lasts 5-6h?The MP seems to be a bit boring, so i've heard on the video reviews in the Youtube)

And not everyone plays in fullhd...

Last edited by 3dPlayer; 02-20-2013 at 14:27.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
lorikano
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 2x Sapphire 7950 w/boost
Processor: Core i7 3770k @4.5ghz
Mainboard:
Memory: 8gb DDR3 1600mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: corsair tx750 v2
Default 02-20-2013, 14:31 | posts: 174 | Location: Surface of the Sun

Quote:
Originally Posted by dr.noob View Post
So you are saying that you need to play at maximum settings? LMAO (all this fest because of one single game that lasts 5-6h?The MP seems to be a bit boring, so i've heard on the video reviews in the Youtube)

And not everyone plays in fullhd...
I won't lie when I say that if I was about to buy a top GPU I would expect to play all very high no matter what game ,thats why we have High End GPU's and they are meant to do just that - play 'very high'
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
CPC_RedDawn
Ancient Guru
 
CPC_RedDawn's Avatar
 
Videocard: 3GB HD7970OC/2GB HD7770
Processor: 4770K@4.5GHz/Q6600@3.6GHz
Mainboard: Z87-GD65 / P5K PREMIUM
Memory: 16GB@1866MHz/4GB@1066MHz
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster Z
PSU: 1200W/900W
Default 02-20-2013, 14:34 | posts: 5,760 | Location: Wolverhampton/United Kingdom

Yea true. I used to be like that, it was either max settings at my max resolution and I had to have 60fps no matter what!

But now I simply dont card anymore. If I have to turn a setting off or tweak an .ini file a little or use a mod then so be it. As long as the game is fun then I dont care. And my single HD7970 did very well in the multiplayer beta. Getting 45fps at max settings with 8XAA everything on Ultra. So not bad, but I set the game to low preset, added 4xAA, Hi-res textures enabled, and it still looks insanely good with fps always above 60.

One more thing to think about, its pretty funny how Crysis 3 has just come out... and Nvidia are releasing a brand new GPU (TITAN) and our already very powerful cards are struggling in a game that looks barely any different from low to Ultra settings.... Think about that for a while, just take that in.... We know Nvidia and ATI used to pay developers to botch the games code or drivers so that the game would break on the others cards or would perform terrible in order to sell more cards. So why not do it to your own cards, whilst you release this all powerful overpriced card...??
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
CPC_RedDawn
Ancient Guru
 
CPC_RedDawn's Avatar
 
Videocard: 3GB HD7970OC/2GB HD7770
Processor: 4770K@4.5GHz/Q6600@3.6GHz
Mainboard: Z87-GD65 / P5K PREMIUM
Memory: 16GB@1866MHz/4GB@1066MHz
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster Z
PSU: 1200W/900W
Default 02-20-2013, 14:38 | posts: 5,760 | Location: Wolverhampton/United Kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by lorikano View Post
I won't lie when I say that if I was about to buy a top GPU I would expect to play all very high no matter what game ,thats why we have High End GPU's and they are meant to do just that - play 'very high'
Yes you are right they are meant to play very high and they can on most games. Don't blame the manufacturers, blame the devs who cant be bothered to optimize their games properly, or blame console manufacturers for holding out on the new consoles for so long. Believe it, our cards even the previous gen cards, and even the previous ones before them, and before them are so much more powerful than consoles its silly. If you watched the John Carmack keynote at Quakecon he stated this to no end going out his way to destroy current consoles hardware and say that he was simply dumbfounded when he started working on consoles at time of release and how powerful they were but then within a year PC hardware took over and now, and this is what he said, we have graphics cards that are 10x the power of consoles if used right.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Derko1
Master Guru
 
Derko1's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x HD7970 1270/1800
Processor: i7 3770k @ 4.8Ghz 1.42v
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Fatal1ty 1000w
Default 02-20-2013, 15:43 | posts: 374

Quote:
Originally Posted by lorikano View Post
I won't lie when I say that if I was about to buy a top GPU I would expect to play all very high no matter what game ,thats why we have High End GPU's and they are meant to do just that - play 'very high'
The other thing to not forget here... is that these "top of the line" GPUs came out around a year ago. So yea. That's all.

I've got two 7970s... so I'm fine.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Fox2232
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Accelero7970 1125/1500MHz
Processor: i5-2500k@4.5GHz NH-D14
Mainboard: MSI Z68A-GD80[g3]
Memory: 4x4GB 1600MHz 9,9,9,24
Soundcard: Essence ST / AKG K-701
PSU: FSP Gold series 750W
Default 02-20-2013, 16:17 | posts: 1,363 | Location: EU, CZ, Brno

Quote:
Originally Posted by lorikano View Post
I won't lie when I say that if I was about to buy a top GPU I would expect to play all very high no matter what game ,thats why we have High End GPU's and they are meant to do just that - play 'very high'
I'll share secret. Game playability in not as much decided by hardware you run it on, but developers makes decisions on which technology to use.

If I make High Density Voxel based engine as base for environment and then use raytracing to calculate accurately all shadows, lightning, color diffusion, ...
You would have to wait for next gen hardware in matter of lovely quantum based computers.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
moab600
Ancient Guru
 
moab600's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 780 AMP 1267/7300MHZ
Processor: Core I7 4790K 4.6GHZ DC
Mainboard: Asus Z97 PRO 1204
Memory: 8GB DDRIII 1866MHZ
Soundcard: Asus Xonar STX II Z906
PSU: SeaSonic M12II 650W 85+Br
Default 02-20-2013, 16:27 | posts: 4,396 | Location: Israel

GTX 680 and 7970 are more than enough for everyone, omg i can't run crysis 3 on FULL MAXED with 60fps all the time.. biggie..., i use mix of high and very high with 2xsmaa and i get 80-100+- FPS.

As long as game entertaining that all that account.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
kevsamiga1974
Master Guru
 
kevsamiga1974's Avatar
 
Videocard: ULA
Processor: Z80A
Mainboard: 1982 Sinclair Research
Memory: Bubble Memory
Soundcard: Piezoelectric speakers
PSU: Solar Powered
Default 02-22-2013, 02:24 | posts: 756 | Location: England

Agreed, a game, playing, entertainment, not like your watching a tech demo or anything.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Raiga
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: GPU
Processor: CPU
Mainboard: Chipset
Memory: RAM
Soundcard:
PSU: PSU
Default 02-22-2013, 04:56 | posts: 1,022

Quote:
Originally Posted by lorikano View Post


http://www.pcgameshardware.de/Crysis...arten-1056218/

gtx 680 or 7970 doesn't matter because Crysis has engulfed all of 'em
My opinion ? Im waiting for 8000 series
Crysis 3 to me is a tech demo, with minor elements of gameplay made in manipulative way to give it an impression of full fledged gaming experience.

Something close to the lines of 3Dmark's tech demo's, but evolved to be playable and with a story.

I'd take Crysis 3 performance with a pinch of salt...in recognizing it as making GPU's obsolete as a game.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
nikitash
Banned
 
Videocard: MSI R6870 HAWK
Processor: AMD FX 8350 4.0 ghz
Mainboard: MSI 890GXM-G65
Memory: 8GB DDR3 Gskill1600MHZCL9
Soundcard: Realtek Lossless HD codec
PSU: Coolermaster 600W Silent
Default 02-22-2013, 05:49 | posts: 337 | Location: India

Quote:
Originally Posted by lorikano View Post


http://www.pcgameshardware.de/Crysis...arten-1056218/

gtx 680 or 7970 doesn't matter because Crysis has engulfed all of 'em
My opinion ? Im waiting for 8000 series
Your brain is outdated this game is not optimized for current generation card they just made a benchmark tool for PC by porting codes of the game from consoles. If one game dont run smooth on ur GPU and others works perfectly then its game problem not ur GPU fault.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Espionage724
Maha Guru
 
Espionage724's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI R7850 PE 2GD5/OC
Processor: TBA
Mainboard: TBA
Memory: DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) 8GB
Soundcard: TBA
PSU: hec HP585D 585W ATX12V
Default 02-22-2013, 05:54 | posts: 1,262 | Location: Charleroi, PA

Does Crysis 3 have the huge river of un-seen tessellation underground that only boosts GPU usage for no reason (this exists in Crysis 2)?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
GREGIX
Master Guru
 
GREGIX's Avatar
 
Videocard: C3D 7870 Tahiti LE
Processor: i2500k@4.5/4.2
Mainboard: asrock p67 pro3
Memory: 2x4gb kingston 1333 cl9
Soundcard: AsusDX+ML SOLO 7C
PSU: 550 ocz in Aerocool 3T
Default 02-22-2013, 07:05 | posts: 243 | Location: Poland

USe sweetfx for smooth lines instead AAx8(why the hell so high??) and all ur games will do fine with max settings at ~60 FPS.
I'll stick with my new card 2 or 3 years...like with last 1, 6850 oced msi...that is on my sec PC now. And still doin fine...wit c2d processor@3.6ghz, muuuch better than previous 8800GT, can even play bf3 or fc3 with decent settings in FHD.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
ASLayerAODsk
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 2x R9 280x Gb/His
Processor: Intel i7 4820k 3.7/3.9 WC
Mainboard: Asus P9X79LE
Memory: DDR3 16G Patriot 1600
Soundcard: XonarSTX/NAD7120/B&WDM610
PSU: CMaster SilentPro 1Kw
Default 02-22-2013, 08:18 | posts: 690 | Location: Canada

did they ever add any destruction to it at all? or is it still a pretty version of CoD?
..and just as boring?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Mr Terry Turnip
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Intel iGPU
Processor: Intel 4670K @4.3Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Z87 Pro
Memory: 8GB Corsair
Soundcard: ATI HD Audio
PSU: Corsair RM850W
Default 02-22-2013, 08:35 | posts: 247 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by dr.noob View Post

And not everyone plays in fullhd...
Seriously lol my god, it's 2013, 1080p could not be any MORE bog standard, this is the BASIC resolution, just because some rare individuals are stuck a few years back, does not mean the bog standard BASIC 1080p resolution of today should not be the landmark and the starting point for performance analysis.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lorikano View Post
I won't lie when I say that if I was about to buy a top GPU I would expect to play all very high no matter what game ,thats why we have High End GPU's and they are meant to do just that - play 'very high'
I very much agree with this and I feel very similar, not exactly the same, but I for sure agree with the principle of this, specially with the price they are charging for high end GPU's these days.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CPC_RedDawn View Post
Don't blame the manufacturers, blame the devs who cant be bothered to optimize their games properly, or blame console manufacturers for holding out on the new consoles for so long.

I VERY much agree with this to a point, but be careful with the Don't blame the manufacturers bit, because I assure you, if a game is well optimized, Nvidia will actually PAY THEM to make it more demanding, for example, Crysis 2, and Borderlands 2, the MOMENT a game is well optimized it totally NEGATES the need to buy a new GPU, anybody who does not think this goes on is EXTREMELY clueless.

look into it.

I stopped reading after those posts as this thread is only going to wind me up when people BLINDLY jump in to defend Nvidia/ATI etc.

Last edited by Mr Terry Turnip; 02-22-2013 at 08:37.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
PNeV
Maha Guru
 
PNeV's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 7950 @ 1150/1650
Processor: 3570K @ 4.4GHZ
Mainboard: ASRock Extreme4 Z77
Memory: 8GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Antec HCG M 620W
Default 02-22-2013, 09:09 | posts: 1,738 | Location: Northampton, United Kingdom

I would like to think I can run Very High at FXAA or SMAA Low like I did in the Beta. Was getting 50-60fps at those settings on my card.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Mr Terry Turnip
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Intel iGPU
Processor: Intel 4670K @4.3Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Z87 Pro
Memory: 8GB Corsair
Soundcard: ATI HD Audio
PSU: Corsair RM850W
Default 02-22-2013, 10:08 | posts: 247 | Location: UK

What the point in releasing a game with settings that cannot be used for 3 years.

It's because they are in league with Nvidia 'The way it's meant to be played' (no, literally) to sell GPU's and provide a sense of urgency to upgrade, somebody with a GTX 580 is doing Nvidia NO GOOD WHATSOEVER.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
drac
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX780 ACX SLI
Processor: i7 2600K
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 PRO V3
Memory: Geil 16GB 1866mhz
Soundcard: Essence STX II/G4ME One
PSU: Corsair AX1200i
Default 02-22-2013, 10:27 | posts: 1,339 | Location: Australia, QLD

Quote:
Originally Posted by kevsamiga1974 View Post
Agreed, a game, playing, entertainment, not like your watching a tech demo or anything.
In part your right, its not a tech demo. BUT comparing games at max settings that run average to games with high frame rate, the experience completely changes for me, from meh to completely Immersive. This is especially important if you are using 120hz, which on a side note has the same impact for me.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950 CFX + Qnix QX2710
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: SB Z/Aune T1/AD700/DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 02-22-2013, 10:29 | posts: 26,087 | Location: Hampshire UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by PNeV View Post
I would like to think I can run Very High at FXAA or SMAA Low like I did in the Beta. Was getting 50-60fps at those settings on my card.
yep, no problem.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950 CFX + Qnix QX2710
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: SB Z/Aune T1/AD700/DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 02-22-2013, 10:32 | posts: 26,087 | Location: Hampshire UK

in times when some use 2-3 way sli I don't expect every new game to max out on a single gpu. tbf there's been games that needed uber rigs ever since I remember.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
Mr Terry Turnip
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Intel iGPU
Processor: Intel 4670K @4.3Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Z87 Pro
Memory: 8GB Corsair
Soundcard: ATI HD Audio
PSU: Corsair RM850W
Default 02-22-2013, 10:41 | posts: 247 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by eclap View Post
in times when some use 2-3 way sli I don't expect every new game to max out on a single gpu.
And here lies the problem.

A high end card is no longer a high end card when you need 2 or 3 of them... to do the job of a high end GPU (seriously THINK, BF3 is NOT a new game!! but I need TWO of my 'HIGH END' GPU's if I wish to remain above only 60FPS! at only basic resolution of 1080p!! with a NORMAL 4xMSAA!!!) and the fact this is expected/accepted shows the brainwashing has worked a treat, if i wanted 120hz 120FPS or tripple monitors or 8xMSAA then, THEEEEN I would expect to buy a SECOND CARD.

The high end card should be the one you pay 500! for and CAN (that's why you just shelled out such a shocking amount for a GPU - this is NOT NORMAL, STOP ACCEPTING IT)

The very fact Nvidia when they release a GOOD new architecture, they cripple the cards by installing slow ass memory or clocking it right down, just shows how badly they are holding back, specifically to keep us just out of reach well, basically, let me explain how Nvidia make there money in ONE SIMPLE PICTURE.



There are allot of good guys on this forum and I mean no disrespect but, for example, when I read the Gefore TITAN thread, I swear down that is how I see a large portion of you in my mind, look at that donkeys face.

No disrespect intended.

Last edited by Mr Terry Turnip; 02-22-2013 at 10:54.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Deathchild
Maha Guru
 
Deathchild's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950CFX+Qnix2710
Processor: 3770K@4.8GHz delid
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77X D3H 1.1
Memory: C Vengeance 8GB 1866
Soundcard: VIA VT2021
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 760W
Default 02-22-2013, 11:04 | posts: 1,922 | Location: Estonia

Haha lol yeah.. It's pretty funny. XD


Nothing has been engulfed, they're all still very well capable. Just the game needs a bit more optimization.

Last edited by Deathchild; 02-22-2013 at 11:15.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950 CFX + Qnix QX2710
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: SB Z/Aune T1/AD700/DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 02-22-2013, 11:20 | posts: 26,087 | Location: Hampshire UK

problem is there isn't a 500 card worth buying. sure, you can buy a gtx 680 4gb for that money, but a 250 hd 7950 overclocked will be faster so it really is just a waste of money. also, if we could max every game on a single gpu nobody would go for multi gpu setups. fact remains that a 250 card can still max out 90+ % of games no problem. and again, we've had games that wouldn't run well on top rigs on release ever since I can remember. nothing new here.

Last edited by eclap; 02-22-2013 at 11:23.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
Mufflore
Ancient Guru
 
Mufflore's Avatar
 
Videocard: KFA2 Anarchy 580@930/4650
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHz - blew it!
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67 UD4 B3
Memory: 8G Kngston 2.2GHz CL11 1T
Soundcard: Minimax+ & Dexa Opamps !!
PSU: Corsair Pro AX750
Default 02-22-2013, 11:21 | posts: 9,775 | Location: UK

The game is what it is.
Current gen hardware is what it is. Its incrementally better as expected and is ahead of AMD. You dont have to buy it.

Crysis 1 was way ahead of its day, nobody could run it maxed for years.
Crysis 2 wasnt such a groundbreaker, people complained, and it had issues.
Crysis 3 has been designed to be ahead of its time again.

Its not a surprise in any way that newer games and hardware are released close to each other.
Its been like this from the start.

When you know something is bad, fine, create a stink.
Right now, its just ranting.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
Raiga
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: GPU
Processor: CPU
Mainboard: Chipset
Memory: RAM
Soundcard:
PSU: PSU
Default 02-22-2013, 11:27 | posts: 1,022

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mufflore View Post
Crysis 1 was way ahead of its day, nobody could run it maxed for years.
I completely agree

But...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mufflore View Post
Crysis 3 has been designed to be ahead of its time again.
How?
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.