Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Want to talk about anything Hardware related? This is the place, you can discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Problems Installing New GPU
Old
  (#1)
Ava
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA 780
Processor: i7-4770k 3.5GHz
Mainboard: Asus Maximus Vi Gene
Memory: 16GB Patriot Viper 3 2133
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 750W 80+ Gold
Default Problems Installing New GPU - 02-20-2013, 01:38 | posts: 17 | Location: USA

I have been trying to troubleshoot this for two days now with no success.

I've had my current build for two years now and decided I wanted to upgrade my hot as all hell 560Ti for something cooler and quieter. After researching for awhile, I found Gigabyte AMD Radeon HD 7850 2 GB. My mobo is MSI P67A-GD65. This is my second 7850 as I sent the first one back thinking it was an issue on the card's side only to have the same exact issue occur again.

When I put the card in, I get no display. I've tried resetting it, replugging, making sure its in correctly and trying different power cords. The fans are on so I know it is getting power.

I attempted to update my BIOS via setup screen and it froze. After waiting awhile to make sure it was definitely frozen, I reset the computer and attempted to use MSI's Live Update program. I was updated to 1.10, but I don't believe that is the most recent version since the site lists 4.3. I don't know how to flash update so I'm relying on the program. Unfortunately, it won't list any further updates.

After all of this, I reconnect the card to get the same exact issue I had the first time I put it in. No display and possibly no post (but I have no idea how to identify that without a display). I don't think it is an issue with post however since the system runs without beeps, restarting, etc.

I'm not sure if I should return the card and find a new one or if this issue will extend to that one as well because of a lack of compatibility due to older BIOS. I'm mainly trying to find some answers as to how to combat this. Thanks in advance.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
mrmonsoon
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Asus 7870+2509M+2511X
Processor: Intel I7 950/Silver Arrow
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth X58
Memory: Patriot DDR3-1600 (24GIG)
Soundcard: Asus DX2+ AVR 391
PSU: BFG 1000 Watt
Default 02-20-2013, 04:19 | posts: 697

1) have you tried it in another 16X slot???

2) Are you sure you plugged in the supplemental power cords???

I had a 6950 and it was one failure after another till they finally gave me a 7870.

BTW, it was an asus cuda 2 card.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Ava
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA 780
Processor: i7-4770k 3.5GHz
Mainboard: Asus Maximus Vi Gene
Memory: 16GB Patriot Viper 3 2133
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 750W 80+ Gold
Default 02-20-2013, 18:28 | posts: 17 | Location: USA

It only takes one PCI-E plug and I haven't tried it in a different slot, but I know that slot works fine because I can replace my old card and there is no problems. Would trying a different slot still be worth it?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
IcE
Ancient Guru
 
IcE's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 780
Processor: i5 3570K @4.0
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: 8GB G.Skill Sniper 1866
Soundcard: SBZ + Aune T1 + CAL
PSU: Enermax NAXN 82+ 750W
Default 02-20-2013, 19:10 | posts: 9,051 | Location: Toledo

They probably hoodwinked you and sent back the same card or something. Just send it back again.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 7970CF @ Qnix 1440p 110Hz
Processor: i7 930
Mainboard: ASUS P6X58D Premium
Memory: 6GB Corsair Dominators
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default 02-20-2013, 19:49 | posts: 3,205 | Location: Lebanon

Have you recently tried if the integrated GPU gives any output? Connect the monitor to the motherboard's video outputs. Try to do so while the card is plugged and unplugged.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Xtreme1979
Maha Guru
 
Xtreme1979's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 680 2GB O/C
Processor: 2600K 4.4-4.7gHZ 1.30v
Mainboard: MSI P67A-C43 B3
Memory: DDR3 Ripjaws Z 2133 4x4gb
Soundcard: X-Fi/Klipsch ProMedia 2.1
PSU: SeaSonic X650 Gold
Default 02-20-2013, 20:12 | posts: 1,256 | Location: Bay City, MI

Quote:
Originally Posted by yasamoka View Post
Have you recently tried if the integrated GPU gives any output? Connect the monitor to the motherboard's video outputs. Try to do so while the card is plugged and unplugged.
P67 doesn't offer any integrated video functionality.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
IcE
Ancient Guru
 
IcE's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 780
Processor: i5 3570K @4.0
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: 8GB G.Skill Sniper 1866
Soundcard: SBZ + Aune T1 + CAL
PSU: Enermax NAXN 82+ 750W
Default 02-20-2013, 20:32 | posts: 9,051 | Location: Toledo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xtreme1979 View Post
P67 doesn't offer any integrated video functionality.
Not to mention he already said his old card works fine. It's basically guaranteed to be the new card.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon R7 240
Processor: AMD Athlon 5350
Mainboard: Asus AM1M-A
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Realtek® ALC887-VD
PSU: Unk 300watt
Default 02-20-2013, 21:08 | posts: 16,325 | Location: US East Coast

RMA the card (again)....


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Ava
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA 780
Processor: i7-4770k 3.5GHz
Mainboard: Asus Maximus Vi Gene
Memory: 16GB Patriot Viper 3 2133
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 750W 80+ Gold
Default 02-20-2013, 21:24 | posts: 17 | Location: USA

Is there any possibility that I just don't have the most recent BIOS that extends compatibility to read that card or should it have the capability to read it regardless? Just trying to decide if I should RMA the card or just get them to issue a refund towards a different card. I have always gone with Nvidia so this is not the best first impression with AMD.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
IcE
Ancient Guru
 
IcE's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 780
Processor: i5 3570K @4.0
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: 8GB G.Skill Sniper 1866
Soundcard: SBZ + Aune T1 + CAL
PSU: Enermax NAXN 82+ 750W
Default 02-20-2013, 22:09 | posts: 9,051 | Location: Toledo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ava View Post
Is there any possibility that I just don't have the most recent BIOS that extends compatibility to read that card or should it have the capability to read it regardless? Just trying to decide if I should RMA the card or just get them to issue a refund towards a different card. I have always gone with Nvidia so this is not the best first impression with AMD.
The issue has nothing to do with the BIOS. The BIOS doesn't really look for anything or run the card through a compatibility database. It just checks for functionality to allow POST to complete.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Loophole35
Ancient Guru
 
Loophole35's Avatar
 
Videocard: 670 FTW Sli H2O/780 TFIV
Processor: 2600k@4.8 H2O/2500k@4.5
Mainboard: P8Z68-V PRO/P8Z77-V
Memory: corsair ddr3 8GB@1866
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus/onboard
PSU: Corsair HX850w/TX850w
Default 02-20-2013, 22:28 | posts: 5,232 | Location: FLA,USA

Wait so you are going from a 560ti to a 7870 did you uninstall all drivers boot into safe mode and clean up any remaining drivers with a sweeping program then install the new GFX card or are you trying to boot with the nvidia drivers still on the computer and installed?

NVM just reread you can't post with new card RMA
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Ava
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA 780
Processor: i7-4770k 3.5GHz
Mainboard: Asus Maximus Vi Gene
Memory: 16GB Patriot Viper 3 2133
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 750W 80+ Gold
Default 02-20-2013, 22:29 | posts: 17 | Location: USA

Alright, that answers my question. Thanks. I'll RMA it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Loophole35 View Post
Wait so you are going from a 560ti to a 7870 did you uninstall all drivers boot into safe mode and clean up any remaining drivers with a sweeping program then install the new GFX card or are you trying to boot with the nvidia drivers still on the computer and installed?
I read that it wasn't completely necessary to clear out all the old drivers until after it booted with the new card. After that, then remove all drivers and install the new ones. Could that be causing an issue? I hope not because that would be a pain in the butt to remove all the drivers just to have the card be the issue still.

Last edited by Ava; 02-20-2013 at 22:32.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
IcE
Ancient Guru
 
IcE's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 780
Processor: i5 3570K @4.0
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: 8GB G.Skill Sniper 1866
Soundcard: SBZ + Aune T1 + CAL
PSU: Enermax NAXN 82+ 750W
Default 02-20-2013, 22:37 | posts: 9,051 | Location: Toledo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ava View Post
Alright, that answers my question. Thanks. I'll RMA it.



I read that it wasn't completely necessary to clear out all the old drivers until after it booted with the new card. After that, then remove all drivers and install the new ones. Could that be causing an issue? I hope not because that would be a pain in the butt to remove all the drivers just to have the card be the issue still.
No, nothing on your hard drive is causing the issue. If the system won't post with the card in, it is dead. Sorry bout your luck

I honestly wouldn't be surprised if the first time you RMA'd they "looked at it" and sent back the exact same one. Some companies have just trash RMA departments. Gigabyte is somewhat known for doing this.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Ava
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA 780
Processor: i7-4770k 3.5GHz
Mainboard: Asus Maximus Vi Gene
Memory: 16GB Patriot Viper 3 2133
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 750W 80+ Gold
Default 02-20-2013, 23:30 | posts: 17 | Location: USA

Alright, thank you to everyone that responded. I appreciate the help. Hopefully it works this next time.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.