Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Frontpage news
Frontpage news Perhaps you have some news to report or want to check out the latest Guru3D headlines and comment ? Check it in here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
ASUS AMD SaberTooth motherboard with PCI Express 3.0
Old
  (#1)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 4770K
Mainboard: Z77
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default ASUS AMD SaberTooth motherboard with PCI Express 3.0 - 02-19-2013, 08:05 | posts: 21,291 | Location: Guru3D testlab

ASUS introduces the Sabertooth 990FX/GEN3 R2.0, a new motherboard it claims is world's first AMD-based motherboard with PCI Express 3.0 support. The board is available in the US and EU beginning toda...

ASUS AMD SaberTooth motherboard with PCI Express 3.0
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
BLEH!
Ancient Guru
 
BLEH!'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970 CF @ Stock
Processor: 980X @ 4 GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P6T7 WS-SC
Memory: 12 GB Corsair @ 1866 MHz
Soundcard: Saffire Pro40/KRK Rokit 5
PSU: Enermax Revo 1500W
Default 02-19-2013, 11:23 | posts: 4,900 | Location: London

I saw somewhere they may have used 3 splitter chips to combine the two x16 gen 2 lanes into one gen3 x16 lane somehow, which can then be divided into 2 x 8 gen 3 lanes.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
WhiteLightning
Ancient Guru
 
WhiteLightning's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780GTX ACX
Processor: i7-2600k HT @ 4.5 +H70 PP
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 GAMING
Memory: Gskill 2133Mhz 8GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair 1000 watt
Default 02-19-2013, 11:33 | posts: 23,431 | Location: Hoek van Holland, Netherlands

Nice board!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
antonyfrn
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 760 SC ACX 4Gb
Processor: AMD FX 8350 + H100i
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooh 990FX R2.0
Memory: 16GB (4x4GB) Corsair DDR3
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X & Z-5500
PSU: Corsair RM 850
Default 02-19-2013, 11:38 | posts: 962 | Location: London

I got the R2 board and its rock-solid very nice mobo kind of shame about this saw it just before Xmass on Asus forums after I got my Sabertooth R2
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
orac2
Newbie
 
orac2's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GeForce GTX 670 OC/PE
Processor: AMD FX 8350
Mainboard: Asus Sabretooth Rev 2.0
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8gb LP
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DX/Sennheiser
PSU: Th/Tk ToughPower 750w
Default 02-21-2013, 16:12 | posts: 38 | Location: Bonny Scotland

have the rev 2.0 board here too,looking at the new board it has no pci x1 slot.which i use for my ASUS Xonar sound card?................
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Mr_ALLroy
Maha Guru
 
Mr_ALLroy's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX780 Gaming SLI
Processor: Intel i7-4770k @4.4
Mainboard: Asus Z87-Deluxe
Memory: Dominator Plat 1866 16Gig
Soundcard: Soundblaster Zx
PSU: Silverstone Gold 1000W
Default 02-22-2013, 01:02 | posts: 1,808 | Location: Calgary Canada®

Quote:
Originally Posted by orac2 View Post
have the rev 2.0 board here too,looking at the new board it has no pci x1 slot.which i use for my ASUS Xonar sound card?................
You can still use a pci x8 or pci x16 slot. My pci x1 is covered with my sli so I use the available two for my nic and for my soundcard.

As for PCI-E 3.0 vs PCI-E 2.0 , I've read there is little to no improvements going from 2 to 3 with the current gpu tech.

Last edited by Mr_ALLroy; 02-22-2013 at 01:07.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon R7 240
Processor: AMD Athlon 5350
Mainboard: Asus AM1M-A
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Go!
PSU: Unk 300watt
Default 02-22-2013, 03:23 | posts: 16,583 | Location: US East Coast

Does AMD use an integrated PCIe controller now? If not, what difference would the processor make?


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 02-22-2013, 11:00 | posts: 24,207 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by sykozis View Post
Does AMD use an integrated PCIe controller now? If not, what difference would the processor make?
That's what I was wondering since afaik the PCI-E controller isn't on the CPU...
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.