Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA
Videocards - NVIDIA This forum is all about NVIDIA graphics cards and their technology. Do you have a question regarding an older GeForce videocard? Want to tell people how stylish a game works on that new shiny watercooled GeForce GTX 580 or SLI gaming rig? Get in here!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Can i run x2 670's on my PSU with adapters?
Old
  (#1)
signex
Ancient Guru
 
signex's Avatar
 
Videocard: .
Processor: .
Mainboard: .
Memory: .
Soundcard: M-Audio BX5+SBX10 ((Sub))
PSU: .
Default Can i run x2 670's on my PSU with adapters? - 02-19-2013, 03:24 | posts: 4,632 | Location: Netherlands

Hi,

I'm in the proces of building fastest PC for my budget possible.

I just bought a Palit gtx670 jetstream wich i put in SLi, second card i can buy next week.

But my PSU has only 1 6+2pin and 6pin pcie connector.
The card comes with one 2 molex to 6pin adapter, can my PSU handle these 2 in SLI?

My PSU is a Enermax Liberty 620w, it does have SLI certified logo.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
badbuck
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 2X EVGA 760 GTX IN SLI
Processor: I7 3770K
Mainboard: MSI MPOWER Z77
Memory: 8GB CORSAIR VENGEANCE1600
Soundcard: CREATIVE X-FI PCI-E
PSU: CORSAIR AX1200
Default 02-19-2013, 04:04 | posts: 103 | Location: DELAWARE USA

You need a better PSU for sure a 750 or more with sli cert your PSU would be pushed to hard

All that nice hardware dont skimp on the PSU get a good one

Last edited by badbuck; 02-19-2013 at 04:15.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
hallryu
Don Altobello
 
hallryu's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x HD7970 - QNIX/U2711
Processor: 3770k delid@4.6GHz - H320
Mainboard: GA-Z77X-UP7 (F5)
Memory: Dominator GT 2133 2x4GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X + SP2500
PSU: BeQuiet! DP Pro 1200W
Default 02-19-2013, 04:23 | posts: 11,396 | Location: England

http://www.guru3d.com/articles_pages..._review,8.html

Quote:
Here is Guru3D's power supply recommendation:

GeForce GTX 670 - On your average system the card requires you to have a 550 Watt power supply unit.
GeForce GTX 670 SLI - On your average system the cards require you to have a 750 Watt power supply unit as minimum.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Nichtswisser
Master Guru
 
Nichtswisser's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX 670 DC2 4GB
Processor: i5 2500K @4.2GHz @1,160V
Mainboard: ASUS P8P67 Pro Rev 3.0
Memory: GeIL Value Plus 8GB
Soundcard: DT 990 Pro @ASUS Xonar DX
PSU: OCZ ModX Pro 700W
Default 02-19-2013, 04:39 | posts: 263

Running two 670 with that 620W PSU would be really pushing it.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
signex
Ancient Guru
 
signex's Avatar
 
Videocard: .
Processor: .
Mainboard: .
Memory: .
Soundcard: M-Audio BX5+SBX10 ((Sub))
PSU: .
Default 02-19-2013, 11:43 | posts: 4,632 | Location: Netherlands

I won't be overclocking them.

I have to make due with this PSU sadly.

Also can't the 680 run on a powerful 750w in sli?
Cause i do know that Enermax makes very good and powerful PSU's.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
VultureX
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: GTX670 4GB SLI
Processor: Core i7 2700K @4.8GHz H2O
Mainboard: Asrock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Memory: 8GB G.Skill 2133MHz CL9
Soundcard: Xonar Essence ST - Z-5500
PSU: Corsair TX850 V2
Default 02-19-2013, 13:21 | posts: 2,140 | Location: Netherlands

Dangerous. I'd upgrade the psu.
I already had difficulties with a 650W PSU and one 670GTX while overclocking my CPU.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
signex
Ancient Guru
 
signex's Avatar
 
Videocard: .
Processor: .
Mainboard: .
Memory: .
Soundcard: M-Audio BX5+SBX10 ((Sub))
PSU: .
Default 02-20-2013, 15:18 | posts: 4,632 | Location: Netherlands

Alright, i gues you guys know better.

So i bought a Corsair CX750m modulair psu, will i be fine with this psu?
   
Reply With Quote
680 sli
Old
  (#8)
squidler80
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Evga Titan Sli
Processor: Core i7-3930k @ 4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth x79
Memory: 16Gb Rip Jaw @ 2133
Soundcard: On Board
PSU: Corsair AX1050
Default 680 sli - 02-20-2013, 15:54 | posts: 104 | Location: Canada

I've been running two 680 in sli no problem on a thermaltake 650w psu
I don't overclock anything though.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
CPC_RedDawn
Ancient Guru
 
CPC_RedDawn's Avatar
 
Videocard: 3GB HD7970OC/2GB HD7770
Processor: 4770K@4.5GHz/Q6600@3.6GHz
Mainboard: Z87-GD65 / P5K PREMIUM
Memory: 8GB@1600MHz/4GB@1066MHz
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster Z
PSU: 1200W/900W
Default 02-20-2013, 16:05 | posts: 5,376 | Location: Wolverhampton/United Kingdom

Two things you should NEVER skimp on when building a system.

The motherboard, this is vital for later upgrades, better support, its basically the mother of your PC so treat her well and splash a bit more cash on her.

But mainly the PSU, without a doubt the most important component to your PC. This does not mean you should get something overpowered like a 1500W PSU that is just silly. Buy a decent Wattage, with high amps, and make sure its a reputable brand as well for warranty support and reliability.

Go for something like a Silverstone or Corsair 800W just to be safe.
   
Reply With Quote
Just Upgreaded My psu
Old
  (#10)
squidler80
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Evga Titan Sli
Processor: Core i7-3930k @ 4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth x79
Memory: 16Gb Rip Jaw @ 2133
Soundcard: On Board
PSU: Corsair AX1050
Default Just Upgreaded My psu - 02-20-2013, 16:05 | posts: 104 | Location: Canada

I just upgraded my psu a couple days ago antcipating the launch of the titan

But i had 0 issues on 650 psu sense last may till now
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Davehillbo
Newbie
 
Videocard: MSI 660 Ti 2gb OC @1.3Ghz
Processor: 2xIntel Xeon E5420 @ 3Ghz
Mainboard: Intel D5400XS Skulltrail
Memory: 8gb Kingston DDR2-FB
Soundcard: IDT STAC9274D
PSU: Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000w
Default 02-20-2013, 16:07 | posts: 18 | Location: Salford

That PSU will be absolutely fine running that.

Based on your system with 2x 670 in SLI.

Minimum PSU Wattage: 421 W
Recommended : 471w


+3.3V +5V +12V
4.9 A 9.6 A 33.9 A
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
signex
Ancient Guru
 
signex's Avatar
 
Videocard: .
Processor: .
Mainboard: .
Memory: .
Soundcard: M-Audio BX5+SBX10 ((Sub))
PSU: .
Default 02-20-2013, 16:11 | posts: 4,632 | Location: Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by CPC_RedDawn View Post
Go for something like a Silverstone or Corsair 800W just to be safe.
I already purchased a corsair cx750m
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
signex
Ancient Guru
 
signex's Avatar
 
Videocard: .
Processor: .
Mainboard: .
Memory: .
Soundcard: M-Audio BX5+SBX10 ((Sub))
PSU: .
Default 02-20-2013, 16:13 | posts: 4,632 | Location: Netherlands

Kinda sucks that i can't run 2 670s on 620w, i really needed a new keyboard.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Davehillbo
Newbie
 
Videocard: MSI 660 Ti 2gb OC @1.3Ghz
Processor: 2xIntel Xeon E5420 @ 3Ghz
Mainboard: Intel D5400XS Skulltrail
Memory: 8gb Kingston DDR2-FB
Soundcard: IDT STAC9274D
PSU: Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000w
Default 02-20-2013, 16:16 | posts: 18 | Location: Salford

you can run 2 670s on a 620w easily! see post above by me!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
leeaids
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Nvidia Gtx 690
Processor: Intel I7 3930k @4.4
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth X79
Memory: Corsair platinum 16gb
Soundcard: Asus Xonar/ Mackie HR824s
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 02-20-2013, 19:13 | posts: 76 | Location: England

i agree a refrance 670 is 150w so 2 is 300w a 620w will be fine, just make sure you look at your 12v rail, if like my psu it can do 850w on the 12v side thats 70a 12v

if you want to se the ampage use of anything devide the watage by the voltage,

i used to have a 650 psu and used to use it with the 2 470s with no problems and there using 230w each
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
badbuck
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 2X EVGA 760 GTX IN SLI
Processor: I7 3770K
Mainboard: MSI MPOWER Z77
Memory: 8GB CORSAIR VENGEANCE1600
Soundcard: CREATIVE X-FI PCI-E
PSU: CORSAIR AX1200
Default 02-21-2013, 02:57 | posts: 103 | Location: DELAWARE USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by signex View Post
Alright, i gues you guys know better.

So i bought a Corsair CX750m modulair psu, will i be fine with this psu?
This will be fine much better and better to be safe then sorry
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
signex
Ancient Guru
 
signex's Avatar
 
Videocard: .
Processor: .
Mainboard: .
Memory: .
Soundcard: M-Audio BX5+SBX10 ((Sub))
PSU: .
Default 02-21-2013, 17:57 | posts: 4,632 | Location: Netherlands

^ It's too late peeps, i had already bought it, it came with my new case today.
I was expecting my case tomorrow, gues i got lucky.

I can say, i'm happy i bought this PSU, i love what they did with the 6+2pin connectors.
There are 2 connectors on one cable so it will also look nicer.

Still if i had known my enermax 620w would be enough i had not bought it as i also need new keyboard and mouse.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 02-21-2013, 22:04 | posts: 17,187 | Location: New Jersey, USA

you are better off with a little bit of headroom tbh, I would of went quality 750 minimum myself
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.