Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Game Tweaks and Modifications
Game Tweaks and Modifications This forum is dedicated to game modifications and tweaks. Here you can discuss performance and image quality modifications.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Skyrim Mods
Old
  (#1)
Ragingun
Master Guru
 
Ragingun's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7950 Eyefinity
Processor: AMD 8350@4.8 CM V8 Cooler
Mainboard: ASRock Extreme3
Memory: Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Audigy
PSU: Enermax Revolution 1050w
Default Skyrim Mods - 02-11-2013, 17:18 | posts: 759 | Location: Wisconsin, USA

Just started this game. Where do I download the Mods? Is it through Steam? Also, How much of visual effect do the Mods have? I game at 1200 res. Which Mods are the best?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
ibitato
Ancient Guru
 
ibitato's Avatar
 
Videocard: 4870X2+4870 1GB on S T260
Processor: C2Q Q9450@3.6 1.384v
Mainboard: Asus Rampage Formula
Memory: 4x2GB@1080 5.5.5.15 5:6
Soundcard: Supreme FX II HD
PSU: Tagan TG900-BZ PipeRock
Default 02-11-2013, 17:20 | posts: 4,854 | Location: Spain

http://www.skyrimnexus.com/
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Mufflore
Ancient Guru
 
Mufflore's Avatar
 
Videocard: KFA2 Anarchy 580@930/4650
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHz - blew it!
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67 UD4 B3
Memory: 8G Kngston 2.2GHz CL11 1T
Soundcard: Minimax+ & Dexa Opamps !!
PSU: Corsair Pro AX750
Default 02-11-2013, 18:04 | posts: 9,775 | Location: UK

You will be restricted which mods you can use.
Be sure to disable Aero to free up some video ram, you only have 1GB of mappable space.
2GB system ram is very low, especially with Vista, it will cause horrible stutters.

If you can overclock, it will help, but the main problem is lack of system ram to get the game running ok with no mods.
With many mods, 1GB video ram is a big limit.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Elder III
Maha Guru
 
Elder III's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI R9 290 4GB 5760x1080
Processor: Intel i7 3770K @ 4.2 Ghz
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD45
Memory: 12 GB DDR3
Soundcard: Realtek
PSU: Corsair CX-600
Default 02-11-2013, 18:33 | posts: 2,367 | Location: Ohio

Add some more RAM my friend - 2GB is not going to work well on most modern games.

As for mods - The Nexus was already linked for you and it's the #1 place for Skyrim Mods (and for many other games as well).
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Ragingun
Master Guru
 
Ragingun's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7950 Eyefinity
Processor: AMD 8350@4.8 CM V8 Cooler
Mainboard: ASRock Extreme3
Memory: Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Audigy
PSU: Enermax Revolution 1050w
Default 02-11-2013, 18:45 | posts: 759 | Location: Wisconsin, USA

Thanks for the link. My current system is being overhauled. No worries with being able to run it. Even now I've got everything at Ultra 8xAA and average 48fps but I will be changing my system.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Ragingun
Master Guru
 
Ragingun's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7950 Eyefinity
Processor: AMD 8350@4.8 CM V8 Cooler
Mainboard: ASRock Extreme3
Memory: Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Audigy
PSU: Enermax Revolution 1050w
Default 02-11-2013, 23:23 | posts: 759 | Location: Wisconsin, USA

What's the best all around texture package? There's a darn ton of them...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Blood487
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Asus Direct CUII 580(SLI)
Processor: I7 3930K (5GHZ)
Mainboard: Asus Rampage Extreme IV
Memory: DDR3(16GB) Corsair Dom
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 850W
Default 02-11-2013, 23:27 | posts: 201 | Location: United Kingdom

I think the best one I've seen is Skyrim2k (Correct me if the name is wrong)

Does quite a massive overhaul on Skyrim and replaces a TON of textures with 2K resolutions textures.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
ScoobyDooby
Ancient Guru
 
ScoobyDooby's Avatar
 
Videocard: PNY GTX 670 w/ Twin Turbo
Processor: 2600K @ 4.6ghz w/ H100
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68XP-UD4
Memory: 8GB Viper Xtreme @ 1866
Soundcard: Focusrite Saffire LE FW
PSU: Corsair HX1050
Default 02-12-2013, 00:54 | posts: 5,347 | Location: BC, Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ragingun View Post
Thanks for the link. My current system is being overhauled. No worries with being able to run it. Even now I've got everything at Ultra 8xAA and average 48fps but I will be changing my system.
Thats good that you will be upgrading.. currently Im running a *modest* amount of mods and using k enb.. able to play at 45-60 fps with dof and ambient occlusion off.. and thats with my 670 overclocked and 2600@ 4.6,, thats at 1920x1080 also.


Best mods to look for are the immersive weapons, Immersive diaglogue, static mesh mod, sky ui, better blood, and if your system will be able to handle it, lush grass and lush trees.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
ScoobyDooby
Ancient Guru
 
ScoobyDooby's Avatar
 
Videocard: PNY GTX 670 w/ Twin Turbo
Processor: 2600K @ 4.6ghz w/ H100
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68XP-UD4
Memory: 8GB Viper Xtreme @ 1866
Soundcard: Focusrite Saffire LE FW
PSU: Corsair HX1050
Default 02-12-2013, 00:59 | posts: 5,347 | Location: BC, Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ragingun View Post
What's the best all around texture package? There's a darn ton of them...
Most comprehensive one click mod is the 2K mod,. Imo though I prefer grabbing several different ones so that its easier to pick and choose and see what runs best with your system where if you go all in with something like 2k, it overhauls everything.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
CPC_RedDawn
Ancient Guru
 
CPC_RedDawn's Avatar
 
Videocard: 3GB HD7970OC/2GB HD7770
Processor: 4770K@4.5GHz/Q6600@3.6GHz
Mainboard: Z87-GD65 / P5K PREMIUM
Memory: 16GB@1866MHz/4GB@1066MHz
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster Z
PSU: 1200W/900W
Default 02-12-2013, 01:19 | posts: 5,646 | Location: Wolverhampton/United Kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScoobyDooby View Post
Thats good that you will be upgrading.. currently Im running a *modest* amount of mods and using k enb.. able to play at 45-60 fps with dof and ambient occlusion off.. and thats with my 670 overclocked and 2600@ 4.6,, thats at 1920x1080 also.


Best mods to look for are the immersive weapons, Immersive diaglogue, static mesh mod, sky ui, better blood, and if your system will be able to handle it, lush grass and lush trees.
I have:

ALL 2k texture mods,
Extreme ENB series graphics overhaul (SSAO enabled, and DOF enabled),
Distant smoke/fog enhancement mod,
Hi-res water texture,
Under water green fix,
Hi-res day and night sky,
enable 8xAA, 16xAF, 1080p Ultra settings.

and a few more too and I can still pull in around 60fps with the occasional drop to around 57-55fps but very rare.

I add in Lush trees, and lush grass mod and my minimum frame rate PLUMMETS to around 35fps!! These TWO mods I would seriously stick away from unless you have crossfire or SLi even disabling AA, and AF it still didnt help much.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
ScoobyDooby
Ancient Guru
 
ScoobyDooby's Avatar
 
Videocard: PNY GTX 670 w/ Twin Turbo
Processor: 2600K @ 4.6ghz w/ H100
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68XP-UD4
Memory: 8GB Viper Xtreme @ 1866
Soundcard: Focusrite Saffire LE FW
PSU: Corsair HX1050
Default 02-12-2013, 23:15 | posts: 5,347 | Location: BC, Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by CPC_RedDawn View Post
I have:

ALL 2k texture mods,
Extreme ENB series graphics overhaul (SSAO enabled, and DOF enabled),
Distant smoke/fog enhancement mod,
Hi-res water texture,
Under water green fix,
Hi-res day and night sky,
enable 8xAA, 16xAF, 1080p Ultra settings.

and a few more too and I can still pull in around 60fps with the occasional drop to around 57-55fps but very rare.

I add in Lush trees, and lush grass mod and my minimum frame rate PLUMMETS to around 35fps!! These TWO mods I would seriously stick away from unless you have crossfire or SLi even disabling AA, and AF it still didnt help much.
What are your ugrids set to?? I am wondering if by starting a new game with them set to 7 was a mistake as it may be bringing my fps down.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
stalkerfan
Master Guru
 
stalkerfan's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD7970 Vapor-X
Processor: AMD FX 8350
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3
Memory: 8GB Kingston DDR3
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: 750w Cooler Master
Default 02-12-2013, 23:25 | posts: 638 | Location: New Zealand

Any suggestions as to good shadow mods....mine look flickery and washed out.......maybe i tweaked the .ini early on and forgot what i changed.
Want shadows to be solid and deep....not all light and blurry
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Nichtswisser
Master Guru
 
Nichtswisser's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX 670 DC2 4GB
Processor: i5 2500K @4.2GHz @1,160V
Mainboard: ASUS P8P67 Pro Rev 3.0
Memory: GeIL Value Plus 8GB
Soundcard: DT 990 Pro @ASUS Xonar DX
PSU: OCZ ModX Pro 700W
Default 02-12-2013, 23:41 | posts: 263

Quote:
Originally Posted by stalkerfan View Post
Any suggestions as to good shadow mods....mine look flickery and washed out.......maybe i tweaked the .ini early on and forgot what i changed.
Want shadows to be solid and deep....not all light and blurry
There is not much you can do about that. Increasing the shadow map resolution in the .ini improves it somewhat. Yet don't expect too much.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
IAmGhostDog
Maha Guru
 
IAmGhostDog's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX HD7950 3GB
Processor: AMD FX8350 Black Edition
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Memory: Corsair XMS3 16GB DDR3
Soundcard: HT|Omega Claro
PSU: Enermax NAXN 82+ 750W
Default 02-13-2013, 13:36 | posts: 992 | Location: Milwaukee, Wi USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScoobyDooby View Post
What are your ugrids set to?? I am wondering if by starting a new game with them set to 7 was a mistake as it may be bringing my fps down.
You can always revert to lower setting by doing this:

Quote:
HOW TO REVERT A SAVE/GAME TO A PREVIOUS/LOWER UGRIDSTOLOAD VALUE

This is a very brief method of what is required to revert to the default or LOWER ugrids if you have decided the higher value your using is to much.... but don't want to start the game over or go back to a save hours/days/months when you were running a lower one.

1: Start the game with the current ugrids value..
2: Load the save game that you'd like to revert/change back.
3: Once the game is loaded, ALT+TAB or minimize the game.
4: Navigate to your Skyrim.ini file located typically in the documents/my games/skyrim/
5: Input the Ugrids value you'd like to use, DEFAULT is "5", otherwise if you want to go from 9 down to 7, put in 7.
6: Save the file and then maximize/tab back into skyrim that is already running.
7: hit the "~"/console key and type in "refreshini"
8: Save the game as a new save file.

Now you should be able to exit the game, and check your ini to ensure it still says it is ugrids 5, after which you can load the game, load the save you just made after you had used refreshini console command, and proceed on playing.

If you want to revert other saved game files, you must exit the game, change the ugrids to the value that was being used with that specific save and start at step one to convert it back safely.

The benefit of using this method is that you don't end up with a massive ini file with loads of unnecessary garbage filling it and it also seems to produce the least amount of issues.

If your having trouble alt tabbing, make sure you have a window open of anything.. be it chrome/ie/documents folder.. whatever... even calculator.... because skyrim typically doesn't like alt-tabbing out if there is no other program/window open at the time.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: HIS R9-280x Iceq X2 Turbo
Processor: i5-3570K
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: DDR3-2400 2x8GB
Soundcard: ALC898 + Microlab FC-730
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 02-13-2013, 14:45 | posts: 3,715 | Location: Australia

Don't forget the order of mods is very important, especially if you use a ton of them. It can get a little tedious! I have seen over the months in various threads (when searching) people having screenshots or listings etc of what they installed, and listed in the order of which they are installed. In many cases, entire mods were overwritten by other (potentially lesser quality for those components) mods! I don't know how you could say to list it, maybe putting the crappier mods first? . There are guides for this too, but they only cover circumstances of the mods they list.

I'm just 'thinking aloud' as I need to 'overhaul' my lists and mods :S
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Veteran
Ancient Guru
 
Veteran's Avatar
 
Videocard: 690@1359-Vmod on H20-24/7
Processor: 4930k@3.7ghz-Stock-H20
Mainboard: R4BE@Monoblock-H20
Memory: 16Gb Mushkin Redline1333
Soundcard: XonarXense-Sennheiser 350
PSU: Corsair AX 1200i
Default 02-13-2013, 15:25 | posts: 9,756 | Location: United kingdom

I suggest you wait for the new version of STEP to be released.
The Overhaul mod for Skyrim.
The new release is anyday now.


RECENT NEWS
- 12 February
Version 2.2.1 is coming soon with some significant changes. We will be moving the guide to the STEP Community wiki and hosting an asset with link to the guide here on the Nexus. We ask that STEP users download the PDF containing the link to the STEP Guide as a courtesy in order to keep STEP relevant and visible on the Nexus.


http://skyrim.nexusmods.com/mods/11
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.