Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA
Videocards - NVIDIA This forum is all about NVIDIA graphics cards and their technology. Do you have a question regarding an older GeForce videocard? Want to tell people how stylish a game works on that new shiny watercooled GeForce GTX 580 or SLI gaming rig? Get in here!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#51)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX Titan H20 1472/7600
Processor: i7 5820K 4.7GHz H20
Mainboard: ASUS X99-A
Memory: Crucial 4x4GB 2666
Soundcard: Xonar Phoebus-PC360/HD598
PSU: SeaSonic Platinum-1000
Default 02-12-2013, 01:49 | posts: 6,883 | Location: USA

Do you guys need help using this? Its Quite easy
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#52)
npdoss
Member Guru
 
npdoss's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming N780 TF
Processor: Intel-3570K@4.4ghz@1.22v
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO
Memory: CORSAIR4x4G1600mhz88824
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: corsair 750W 12v@60A
Default 02-12-2013, 05:08 | posts: 72 | Location: USA

I have been messing with it and trying deference values and flashed my card many times with it with no problem.
when you disable throttle make sure your temperature under 80c under stress test (good one is OCCTPT4.3.2)
To disable throttle and boost:
Set base clock same as boost clock same as boost limit.
Set the power min(mw) @max your card power limit mine is 300 watts so i set 300000mw same as def(mw)same as max
set max voltage1 at 1,21and voltage 2 at the same
set P00 voltage at 1.21
move the boost table up until the yellow marked clocks has your clock at minimum.
you are done,
Here is screen shots again:
http://s1293.beta.photobucket.com/user/npdoss/library/1215
Remember to back up your bios before you do anything and make a boot able usb with dos nvflash and your backup bios file so you can start in dos and reflash back you old bios when needed to..

Last edited by npdoss; 02-12-2013 at 05:17.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#53)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX Titan H20 1472/7600
Processor: i7 5820K 4.7GHz H20
Mainboard: ASUS X99-A
Memory: Crucial 4x4GB 2666
Soundcard: Xonar Phoebus-PC360/HD598
PSU: SeaSonic Platinum-1000
Default 02-12-2013, 05:28 | posts: 6,883 | Location: USA

^ ive already tried that yesterday and the only thing it did was make it crash as soon as i started up any workload.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#54)
Bentez
Maha Guru
 
Bentez's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 780 SLI | U2711
Processor: i5 2500K @ 4.8GHz | H100
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DX
PSU: Corsair HX1050
Default 02-12-2013, 08:27 | posts: 1,196 | Location: Southampton, UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by npdoss View Post
I have been messing with it and trying deference values and flashed my card many times with it with no problem.
when you disable throttle make sure your temperature under 80c under stress test (good one is OCCTPT4.3.2)
To disable throttle and boost:
Set base clock same as boost clock same as boost limit.
Set the power min(mw) @max your card power limit mine is 300 watts so i set 300000mw same as def(mw)same as max
set max voltage1 at 1,21and voltage 2 at the same
set P00 voltage at 1.21
move the boost table up until the yellow marked clocks has your clock at minimum.
you are done,
Here is screen shots again:
http://s1293.beta.photobucket.com/user/npdoss/library/1215
Remember to back up your bios before you do anything and make a boot able usb with dos nvflash and your backup bios file so you can start in dos and reflash back you old bios when needed to..
This is what I tried when I ran into problems! Think it might havebeen the power ccontrol setting as I only had the first two set to 100%

Agent what settings are you using?

Last edited by Bentez; 02-12-2013 at 08:30.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#55)
Nono06
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 680 GTX SLI (1215/6884)
Processor: Core i7 5960x@4.6GHz
Mainboard: Asus x99 Deluxe
Memory: 16GB(14-15-15-34-2T)@2800
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty
PSU: BeQuiet 1000W
Default 02-12-2013, 09:31 | posts: 778 | Location: France

Quote:
Originally Posted by Agent-A01 View Post
^ ive already tried that yesterday and the only thing it did was make it crash as soon as i started up any workload.
Have you tried with nvinspector and limiting the state to P2.
It works great for me. Even with original BIOS. It is working even better with KGB mod bios.
As you can see, temp is 80C and there no throttling...

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#56)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX Titan H20 1472/7600
Processor: i7 5820K 4.7GHz H20
Mainboard: ASUS X99-A
Memory: Crucial 4x4GB 2666
Soundcard: Xonar Phoebus-PC360/HD598
PSU: SeaSonic Platinum-1000
Default 02-12-2013, 15:18 | posts: 6,883 | Location: USA

^ i dont get throttling in games regardless of temps, but running 3dmark is another story..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#57)
npdoss
Member Guru
 
npdoss's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming N780 TF
Processor: Intel-3570K@4.4ghz@1.22v
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO
Memory: CORSAIR4x4G1600mhz88824
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: corsair 750W 12v@60A
Default 02-12-2013, 15:43 | posts: 72 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Agent-A01 View Post
^ i dont get throttling in games regardless of temps, but running 3dmark is another story..
Then you need to drop the voltage a little and check gpuz to see when it does it could be power limit or temperature or gpu limit without thottling the card gets hot underload and if it pass 95c it drops the clock to 900 for safety
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#58)
npdoss
Member Guru
 
npdoss's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming N780 TF
Processor: Intel-3570K@4.4ghz@1.22v
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO
Memory: CORSAIR4x4G1600mhz88824
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: corsair 750W 12v@60A
Default 02-12-2013, 15:57 | posts: 72 | Location: USA

Here is my settings that I'm using right now :
http://s1293.beta.photobucket.com/us...ry/bios%20edit
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#59)
Bentez
Maha Guru
 
Bentez's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 780 SLI | U2711
Processor: i5 2500K @ 4.8GHz | H100
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DX
PSU: Corsair HX1050
Default 02-12-2013, 19:05 | posts: 1,196 | Location: Southampton, UK

Should 236250 be that max mW for a 670 with x2 6pin power cables?

For the second set of figures the max is listed as 220000mW which is showing as 113% where as the 236250mW on the left shows as 150%
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#60)
npdoss
Member Guru
 
npdoss's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming N780 TF
Processor: Intel-3570K@4.4ghz@1.22v
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO
Memory: CORSAIR4x4G1600mhz88824
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: corsair 750W 12v@60A
Default 02-12-2013, 19:10 | posts: 72 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bentez View Post
Should 236250 be that max mW for a 670 with x2 6pin power cables?

For the second set of figures the max is listed as 220000mW which is showing as 113% where as the 236250mW on the left shows as 150%
x2 6pin=150 watts +75 watts from pcie=225w, so i would use 220000 mw in all except the 236250mw leave that one alone
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#61)
Nono06
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 680 GTX SLI (1215/6884)
Processor: Core i7 5960x@4.6GHz
Mainboard: Asus x99 Deluxe
Memory: 16GB(14-15-15-34-2T)@2800
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty
PSU: BeQuiet 1000W
Default 02-13-2013, 00:50 | posts: 778 | Location: France

Quote:
Originally Posted by Agent-A01 View Post
^ i dont get throttling in games regardless of temps, but running 3dmark is another story..
My previous picture was after a 6-7 minutes run in Heaven 3.0 with all options at max (aax8, tes at extreme..)

Here is a picture of a 15 min loop on graphic test 2 in extreme mode:



Voltage is constant and clock is quite stable.
At least for my setup, P2 let me have a stable OC that I could not reach in P0 (mainly because voltage was toggling suppose).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#62)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX Titan H20 1472/7600
Processor: i7 5820K 4.7GHz H20
Mainboard: ASUS X99-A
Memory: Crucial 4x4GB 2666
Soundcard: Xonar Phoebus-PC360/HD598
PSU: SeaSonic Platinum-1000
Default 02-13-2013, 00:56 | posts: 6,883 | Location: USA

^ what about power usage? mine was hitting 140% in that run
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#63)
Nono06
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 680 GTX SLI (1215/6884)
Processor: Core i7 5960x@4.6GHz
Mainboard: Asus x99 Deluxe
Memory: 16GB(14-15-15-34-2T)@2800
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty
PSU: BeQuiet 1000W
Default 02-13-2013, 11:35 | posts: 778 | Location: France

As you can see in the picture, max is at 123.012% (was 128% for the second card (not on the picture))
But my OC is not as high as yours and I do not want to use more than 1187mv since my cards are already hot with the current settings.
Limiting the max Pstate to P2 can be done via nvinspector and does not require bios update.
It seems that the "Kepler bios tweaker" proposed by npdoss let you force that in the bios directly.
Anyway, it is working fine for me but maybe not suitable for your setup... the only way to know is to try

Last edited by Nono06; 02-13-2013 at 11:42.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#64)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SC SLI/Qnix 2710
Processor: 2600k 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 02-13-2013, 18:28 | posts: 18,955 | Location: New Jersey, USA

Is there a guide to limiting the p states in nvinspector. I'd like to try it first that way. My cards have 1 6 pin and 1 8 pin if that matters any
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#65)
Nono06
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 680 GTX SLI (1215/6884)
Processor: Core i7 5960x@4.6GHz
Mainboard: Asus x99 Deluxe
Memory: 16GB(14-15-15-34-2T)@2800
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty
PSU: BeQuiet 1000W
Default 02-13-2013, 21:56 | posts: 778 | Location: France

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
Is there a guide to limiting the p states in nvinspector. I'd like to try it first that way. My cards have 1 6 pin and 1 8 pin if that matters any
Maybe not the correct place to discuss that so I will try to be quick.
The "-setpstatelimit" (as many other params) are only accessible in command line.

Here is my DOS command that is launched at system start:
"C:\Program Files (x86)\NvidiaInspector\nvidiaInspector.exe" -setBaseClockOffset:0,0,150 -setMemoryClockOffset:0,0,500 -setVoltageOffset:0,0,200000 -setPowerTarget:0,135 -setGpuClock:0,2,1215 -setMemoryClock:0,2,3442 -setpstatelimit:0,2 -setBaseClockOffset:1,0,150 -setMemoryClockOffset:1,0,500 -setVoltageOffset:1,0,200000 -setPowerTarget:1,135 -setGpuClock:1,2,1215 -setMemoryClock:1,2,3442 -setpstatelimit:1,2

The option you are looking for is: -setpstatelimit:<gpuIndex>,<pstateId>
In your case (sli) you need both -setpstatelimit:0,2 and -setpstatelimit:1,2

Then if you open Inspector, you will see that before the current Pstate (P8 normally) you have a star and if you put the mouse cursor on it, it should say "Limit: P2"

You have to go to the OC table and change the values for P2 state but also for P0 because values in P2 are capped by P0 one. For voltage, it is a bit different since it is using the ref voltage at max but it is also capped by the offset used in P0 minus 2 steps (not sure it is clear but CrazyNutz explained it well in its KGB files)

You can set ridiculously high values for P0 (they will not be used anyway) therefore they will not limit you in P2.
It is also easier to configure since you provide directly the clocks you are targeting (as it was with previous GC generation).
Well that is not really short…

Last edited by Nono06; 02-13-2013 at 22:01.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#66)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SC SLI/Qnix 2710
Processor: 2600k 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 02-14-2013, 02:03 | posts: 18,955 | Location: New Jersey, USA

The option you are looking for is: -setpstatelimit:<gpuIndex>,<pstateId>
In your case (sli) you need both -setpstatelimit:0,2 and -setpstatelimit:1,2
is this all I need to set?
and how do I set that as a dos command on start up, never done that.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#67)
Nono06
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 680 GTX SLI (1215/6884)
Processor: Core i7 5960x@4.6GHz
Mainboard: Asus x99 Deluxe
Memory: 16GB(14-15-15-34-2T)@2800
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty
PSU: BeQuiet 1000W
Default 02-14-2013, 15:11 | posts: 778 | Location: France

Yes it is the only thing you need to limit max Pstate to P2.
But if you do not change the clocks for that State with Inspector (Afterburner, Precision... do not allow that as far as know) you will use the default bios values. It is what I tried to explained in my previous post

Here is a guide I found after a quick search (maybe more understandable when written by a native English speaker )
http://www.overclock.net/t/1267918/g...d-undervolting

But I do not recommend to use the "-forcepstate" command (forcing the card to be always in P2 even if doing nothing). "-setpstatelimit" is doing the same job but let your card return to P8 when Idle.

For running a DOS command at win startup, create a bat file (text file), copy paste your dos command in it, then create a shortcut to it and put it in "Startup" directory (in Start memu). The command will be executed automatically when reaching the desktop.

Last edited by Nono06; 02-14-2013 at 15:21.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#68)
npdoss
Member Guru
 
npdoss's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming N780 TF
Processor: Intel-3570K@4.4ghz@1.22v
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO
Memory: CORSAIR4x4G1600mhz88824
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: corsair 750W 12v@60A
Default 02-15-2013, 20:27 | posts: 72 | Location: USA

I really recommend an after market cooling for your GPU when you disable throttling,
My room temperature is 23c went from 35c idle and 95c+ load on stock cooling to 26c idle and 56c load with ARCTIC Accelero Twin Turbo II VGA Cooler and the fans don't go any higher than 42% <it's 39.99 from newegg> (GPU overclocked to 1215 on 1,2voltage and ram is 1660) i can push it more now but i don't need to.

Last edited by npdoss; 02-15-2013 at 20:31.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#69)
npdoss
Member Guru
 
npdoss's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming N780 TF
Processor: Intel-3570K@4.4ghz@1.22v
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO
Memory: CORSAIR4x4G1600mhz88824
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: corsair 750W 12v@60A
Default 02-15-2013, 20:29 | posts: 72 | Location: USA

I will not buy a VGA with a stock cooling anymore....
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#70)
Dragam
Banned
 
Videocard: Msi gtx 680 sli
Processor: i7 920 c0 @ 3,8
Mainboard: Asus p6t deluxe rev1
Memory: Ocz platinum 6 gb @ 1444
Soundcard: Creative soundblaster pro
PSU: Thermaltake 1200w
Default 02-15-2013, 22:38 | posts: 97 | Location: Denmark

Quote:
Originally Posted by npdoss View Post
I will not buy a VGA with a stock cooling anymore....
Same... i will have patience next time, and not just buy reference cards, cause i cba to wait for custom cards...

Ill wait for maxwell with twinfrozr cooler i think.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#71)
npdoss
Member Guru
 
npdoss's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming N780 TF
Processor: Intel-3570K@4.4ghz@1.22v
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO
Memory: CORSAIR4x4G1600mhz88824
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: corsair 750W 12v@60A
Default 02-16-2013, 01:36 | posts: 72 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragam View Post
Same... i will have patience next time, and not just buy reference cards, cause i cba to wait for custom cards...

Ill wait for maxwell with twinfrozr cooler i think.
Yeah i got it the day it came out but i will not do this mistake again hopefully
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#72)
SLI-756
Ancient Guru
 
SLI-756's Avatar
 
Videocard: 760 SLI 4gb 1215/ 6800
Processor: Devil's Canyon i5 @4.8
Mainboard: gigabyte z97 G1 Sniper
Memory: 8gb dominator gt @2400
Soundcard: asus xonar dx
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
Default 03-17-2013, 14:26 | posts: 7,606 | Location: Sunny Scotland

Drop the kgb and sticky this? Hahahaaa
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#73)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SC SLI/Qnix 2710
Processor: 2600k 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 03-17-2013, 14:36 | posts: 18,955 | Location: New Jersey, USA

it is called progress
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#74)
SLI-756
Ancient Guru
 
SLI-756's Avatar
 
Videocard: 760 SLI 4gb 1215/ 6800
Processor: Devil's Canyon i5 @4.8
Mainboard: gigabyte z97 G1 Sniper
Memory: 8gb dominator gt @2400
Soundcard: asus xonar dx
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
Default 03-17-2013, 14:38 | posts: 7,606 | Location: Sunny Scotland

LOL a risky bios flash utility with instructions in German hahaha
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#75)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SC SLI/Qnix 2710
Processor: 2600k 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 03-17-2013, 14:40 | posts: 18,955 | Location: New Jersey, USA

I never used it to bios flash, I use it to mod my bios and use nvflash, I am sure coolbits was stickied at one point but you do not see it now as its been long replaced
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.