Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Want to talk about anything Hardware related? This is the place, you can discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
G Skill Ripjaws Z, How good they are?
Old
  (#1)
Leito360
Newbie
 
Videocard: ASUS R9280X DirectCU II
Processor: AMD Phenom II 965 B.E. C3
Mainboard: ASUS CrosshairIII Formula
Memory: Ripjaws Z 4x4 @ 1600
Soundcard:
PSU: XFX B.E. 850W
Default G Skill Ripjaws Z, How good they are? - 02-07-2013, 19:39 | posts: 31 | Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina

Hi, i'm moving to 16 GB and a friend said to me that this ripjaws will perform great with my Crosshair III + 965 BE

http://www.gskill.com/products.php?index=469

How good are those memories??

I tried to get the samsung magic memory but I was unable to do so.

Any suggestions will be appreciated. I'm looking for 1600 @ CL7
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
1Bravo
Master Guru
 
Videocard: eVGA SC+ GTX 680
Processor: Intel i7-860 @ 4GHZ
Mainboard: eVGA P55 FTW
Memory: 12G G.SKILL Ripjaws DDR3
Soundcard: Xfi Extreme Music
PSU: Antec TP750W
Default 02-07-2013, 20:16 | posts: 156

Hi I don't have the exact same models but GSkills are no brainer.

GSkill is very well recognized memory around the overclocking/gaming community.

One thing is for sure. Their life time warranty really works. Last year one of my memory stick went bad and they replaced it not questions asked. Just RMA, send the old stick and they will send the new one within few days.

Pretty happy with their quality and support.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
pimp_gimp
Ancient Guru
 
pimp_gimp's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA Geforce GTX 680 SLI
Processor: Core i7-3770k 4.5Ghz/H220
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Premium
Memory: 8GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty
PSU: Corsair AX1200
Default 02-07-2013, 20:16 | posts: 5,837 | Location: Tacoma, Washington

Quote:
Originally Posted by Leito360 View Post
Hi, i'm moving to 16 GB and a friend said to me that this ripjaws will perform great with my Crosshair III + 965 BE

http://www.gskill.com/products.php?index=469

How good are those memories??

I tried to get the samsung magic memory but I was unable to do so.

Any suggestions will be appreciated. I'm looking for 1600 @ CL7
From my experience with G.Skill their memory is top notch stuff, as good or better than other brands like Corsair, etc.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX780 Amp! 1215MHz
Processor: Intel i7 4770K OC 4.7GHz
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe
Memory: Crucial BLE 16GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: Chieftec NTRO88+ 650W|52A
Default 02-07-2013, 20:29 | posts: 6,856 | Location: Urban`Jungle

Maybe get 1866mhz CL8 it would be better if you plan to OC/run into ram multiplier issue or for newer systems later on.
http://www.gskill.com/products.php?index=463

Also as others said they have good quality chips - mostly Samsung.

Last edited by -Tj-; 02-07-2013 at 20:32.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Leito360
Newbie
 
Videocard: ASUS R9280X DirectCU II
Processor: AMD Phenom II 965 B.E. C3
Mainboard: ASUS CrosshairIII Formula
Memory: Ripjaws Z 4x4 @ 1600
Soundcard:
PSU: XFX B.E. 850W
Default 02-08-2013, 04:35 | posts: 31 | Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina

That's a good point, but I'm like 95% sure that by the time I change the system there will be DDR4 out there.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 02-08-2013, 07:31 | posts: 23,606 | Location: NZ

Just don't try and overclock them....I have exact same ram in my lounge PC and those sticks don't overclock at all.

Btw why you want 16GB ram?

Last edited by Pill Monster; 02-08-2013 at 07:34.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Leito360
Newbie
 
Videocard: ASUS R9280X DirectCU II
Processor: AMD Phenom II 965 B.E. C3
Mainboard: ASUS CrosshairIII Formula
Memory: Ripjaws Z 4x4 @ 1600
Soundcard:
PSU: XFX B.E. 850W
Default 02-08-2013, 12:23 | posts: 31 | Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina

Yeah, I read reviews of the Snipers and they don't overclock as well, so I thought, by definition, that the ripjaws won't be the exception. Wait for the worse and you won't be disappointed.


The 16 gigs are mainly because I open lots of trashy tabs in my browser and also I often have more than a browser open at the time, with Photoshop running.
I don't like that "pagefile" crap, I'm very greedy when it comes to use space in the HDD.
And of course, because it is a whim
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 02-08-2013, 14:04 | posts: 23,606 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by Leito360 View Post
Yeah, I read reviews of the Snipers and they don't overclock as well, so I thought, by definition, that the ripjaws won't be the exception. Wait for the worse and you won't be disappointed.


The 16 gigs are mainly because I open lots of trashy tabs in my browser and also I often have more than a browser open at the time, with Photoshop running.
I don't like that "pagefile" crap, I'm very greedy when it comes to use space in the HDD.
And of course, because it is a whim
You should consider Kingston HyperX with Hynix IC's. Nothing beats Hynix when it comes to overclocking.

Btw DDR4 won't become mainstream until ~2015, DDR3 still has a long life ahead of it.

Last edited by Pill Monster; 02-08-2013 at 14:08.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Leito360
Newbie
 
Videocard: ASUS R9280X DirectCU II
Processor: AMD Phenom II 965 B.E. C3
Mainboard: ASUS CrosshairIII Formula
Memory: Ripjaws Z 4x4 @ 1600
Soundcard:
PSU: XFX B.E. 850W
Default 02-08-2013, 19:34 | posts: 31 | Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
You should consider Kingston HyperX with Hynix IC's. Nothing beats Hynix when it comes to overclocking.
Mmmmm... didn't the HyperX got kinda hot??
I had a friend who sold them because of that.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 02-08-2013, 19:35 | posts: 23,606 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by Leito360 View Post
Mmmmm... didn't the HyperX got kinda hot??
I had a friend who sold them because of that.
Not at all, I have 2 sets of HyperX and they're great. Running my 1866 @2400 no problem.

Last edited by Pill Monster; 02-08-2013 at 19:55.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
kanej2007
Ancient Guru
 
kanej2007's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 580 SLI 900/1800/4200
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z68-VPro
Memory: 12Gb Corsair Vengeance C8
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X Ultra 7.1
PSU: Fractal Design R2 1000W
Default 02-10-2013, 04:57 | posts: 6,664 | Location: Dubai, UAE / London, UK

I highly recommend ANY ram made by G Skill.

Reason being I've owned several before & I've NEVER had ANY problems with them.

However, I have had several brands of ram which have gone wrong & they include Corsair & OCZ...

Currently I'm using Corsair as there is not much other choice. I'm able to use Kingston as an alternative but prefer Corsair.

I'd love to use G Skill but unfortunately they are not available here in Dubai. You CAN get them but are rare to find. You will not have much to choose from.

If your lucky there will only be 1-2 different ones...

I would have to buy them from abroad & should they go wrong I'm buggered...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX Titan H20 1398/7600
Processor: i7 3770K@5Ghz HT H20
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-WS
Memory: G.Skill 8GBx2 2400
Soundcard: Xonar Phoebus-PC360/HD598
PSU: SeaSonic Platinum-1000
Default 02-10-2013, 06:16 | posts: 6,193 | Location: USA

Btw G.Skill generally uses hynix ics in their ripjaws and higher end. thats ill i have been using since my first gskill kit
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX780 Amp! 1215MHz
Processor: Intel i7 4770K OC 4.7GHz
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe
Memory: Crucial BLE 16GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: Chieftec NTRO88+ 650W|52A
Default 02-10-2013, 06:47 | posts: 6,856 | Location: Urban`Jungle

idk not in RipjawZ 2133mhz or TridentX 2400mhz, both use Samsung chips. I checked few reviews and noticed that.

Last edited by -Tj-; 02-10-2013 at 07:00.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX Titan H20 1398/7600
Processor: i7 3770K@5Ghz HT H20
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-WS
Memory: G.Skill 8GBx2 2400
Soundcard: Xonar Phoebus-PC360/HD598
PSU: SeaSonic Platinum-1000
Default 02-10-2013, 08:12 | posts: 6,193 | Location: USA

Then they are using both then, because my previous 1600 and 1866 were hynix, ripjaws x. my current 2133 8GBx2 2133 CL9 is hynix as well

edit:http://vr-zone.com/articles/g.skill-...iew/15674.html

that uses hynix. apparently, if 240 is in the serial, its hynix, 340 is samsung

Last edited by Agent-A01; 02-10-2013 at 08:19.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Leito360
Newbie
 
Videocard: ASUS R9280X DirectCU II
Processor: AMD Phenom II 965 B.E. C3
Mainboard: ASUS CrosshairIII Formula
Memory: Ripjaws Z 4x4 @ 1600
Soundcard:
PSU: XFX B.E. 850W
Default 02-15-2013, 17:49 | posts: 31 | Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina

Quote:
Originally Posted by kanej2007 View Post
I highly recommend ANY ram made by G Skill.

Reason being I've owned several before & I've NEVER had ANY problems with them.

However, I have had several brands of ram which have gone wrong & they include Corsair & OCZ...

Currently I'm using Corsair as there is not much other choice. I'm able to use Kingston as an alternative but prefer Corsair.

I'd love to use G Skill but unfortunately they are not available here in Dubai. You CAN get them but are rare to find. You will not have much to choose from.

If your lucky there will only be 1-2 different ones...

I would have to buy them from abroad & should they go wrong I'm buggered...
I understand your issue. Here at Argentina, there are lots of problems regarding customs, that's why I didn't get my Magic Samsungs in first place... Well, it seems like the G Skills are good to go.... Looking backwards, I remember my first memory was going to be a couple of Ripjaws, but I remember being told that there were some problems with the warranty or something alike. Fortunately, i'm in time to correct my mistake.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Agent-A01 View Post
Then they are using both then, because my previous 1600 and 1866 were hynix, ripjaws x. my current 2133 8GBx2 2133 CL9 is hynix as well

edit:http://vr-zone.com/articles/g.skill-...iew/15674.html

that uses hynix. apparently, if 240 is in the serial, its hynix, 340 is samsung
Taking notes
It would be great if that rumor could be confirmed.

Last edited by Leito360; 02-15-2013 at 19:37.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Xtreme1979
Maha Guru
 
Xtreme1979's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 680 2GB O/C
Processor: 2600K 4.4-4.7gHZ 1.30v
Mainboard: MSI P67A-C43 B3
Memory: DDR3 Ripjaws Z 2133 4x4gb
Soundcard: X-Fi/Klipsch ProMedia 2.1
PSU: SeaSonic X650 Gold
Default 02-15-2013, 17:52 | posts: 1,256 | Location: Bay City, MI

I stand by G.Skill memory. I have had issues with Corsair in the past, but not a one problem with many G.Skill kits.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX Titan H20 1398/7600
Processor: i7 3770K@5Ghz HT H20
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-WS
Memory: G.Skill 8GBx2 2400
Soundcard: Xonar Phoebus-PC360/HD598
PSU: SeaSonic Platinum-1000
Default 02-15-2013, 19:10 | posts: 6,193 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Leito360 View Post
Taking notes
It would be great if that rumor could be confirmed.
Mine has 240, and is indeed hynix.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Darkest
Ancient Guru
 
Darkest's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950
Processor: i5 3570k
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77 D3H
Memory: G-Skill Ripjaws 8gb 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1 + HD650/DT990 Pro
PSU: OCZ ZS 550w
Default 02-15-2013, 19:21 | posts: 7,213

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
You should consider Kingston HyperX with Hynix IC's. Nothing beats Hynix when it comes to overclocking.
Samsung make some solid memory mind you, especially if you're interested in overclocking it. The 30nm stuff is fantastic. Think the price skyrocketed when people started to catch on, though.

Last edited by Darkest; 02-15-2013 at 19:23.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Leito360
Newbie
 
Videocard: ASUS R9280X DirectCU II
Processor: AMD Phenom II 965 B.E. C3
Mainboard: ASUS CrosshairIII Formula
Memory: Ripjaws Z 4x4 @ 1600
Soundcard:
PSU: XFX B.E. 850W
Default 02-15-2013, 19:38 | posts: 31 | Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina

What can you guys tell me about the "Compatibility"-thingy?

Because, for example, the RIpjawsZ said they're compatible with Intel chipsets, but the Snipers say they're also compatible with AMD chipsets, but still, both of them will work on any board.
Why they do this clarification regarding the AMD/Intel chipsets if the sticks will work in both of them?

I'm asking because I saw this Snipers... but I'm not sure about them, though.

http://www.gskill.com/products.php?index=338
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: HIS R9-280x Iceq X2 Turbo
Processor: i5-3570K
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: DDR3-2400 2x8GB
Soundcard: ALC898 + Microlab FC-730
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 02-15-2013, 19:51 | posts: 3,711 | Location: Australia

I would go DDR3-2133 RAM myself (should be fine in you system), only because it does provide performance gains over DDR3-1600, even with slower timings, and the cost is not much more (at least here) as DDR3-1600. Basically it is a worthwhile consideration unless you are on a super-strict budget.

Last edited by thatguy91; 02-15-2013 at 19:53.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
Leito360
Newbie
 
Videocard: ASUS R9280X DirectCU II
Processor: AMD Phenom II 965 B.E. C3
Mainboard: ASUS CrosshairIII Formula
Memory: Ripjaws Z 4x4 @ 1600
Soundcard:
PSU: XFX B.E. 850W
Default 02-15-2013, 21:25 | posts: 31 | Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina

Im on a super-strict budget unfortunately

BTW, if someone cas answer my question about the compatibility, it would be great.

Last edited by Leito360; 02-15-2013 at 21:33.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX Titan H20 1398/7600
Processor: i7 3770K@5Ghz HT H20
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-WS
Memory: G.Skill 8GBx2 2400
Soundcard: Xonar Phoebus-PC360/HD598
PSU: SeaSonic Platinum-1000
Default 02-15-2013, 21:42 | posts: 6,193 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Leito360 View Post
Im on a super-strict budget unfortunately

BTW, if someone cas answer my question about the compatibility, it would be great.
No idea why they mark as compatible. Pretty much all post 2012 DDR3 ram will work with any system. Basically, dont worry about it and get what you want.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
Odellot
Master Guru
 
Odellot's Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI & 750Ti Physx
Processor: i7 4930K @ 4.5/1.4v - X60
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: Gskill RipjawsX-2133/64GB
Soundcard: STX - T40 II / DT 990 Pro
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 1000w
Default 02-16-2013, 08:22 | posts: 247 | Location: Philippines

Gskill is great. I have RipjawsX 1866 4x8gb and overclocked it to 2200 no problem.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.