Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section
Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything Catalyst related. AMD Catalyst drivers are for all AMD ATI based graphics cards. This is also the place to discuss modified Catalyst drivers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Cat 13.x Beta Drivers: Are you experiencing a crash or black screen?
Old
  (#1)
Eastcoasthandle
Maha Guru
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default Cat 13.x Beta Drivers: Are you experiencing a crash or black screen? - 02-05-2013, 16:53 | posts: 1,550

I've been reading posts of people liking this driver. Reporting improvements, etc in games. Which is great news. However, I'm also reading reports of crashes and black screens while gaming, etc. Here are a few:

http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.ph...5&postcount=69
http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.ph...7&postcount=72
http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.ph...4&postcount=80
http://www.rage3d.com/board/showpost...2&postcount=10
http://www.rage3d.com/board/showpost...1&postcount=47
http://www.rage3d.com/board/showpost...1&postcount=52
http://www.overclock.net/t/1354904/o...#post_19201831
http://www.overclock.net/t/1354904/o...#post_19192148
http://www.overclock.net/t/1354904/o...#post_19207554
http://www.overclock.net/t/1354904/o...#post_19207968
http://www.overclock.net/t/1354904/o...#post_19210765
http://www.overclock.net/t/1354904/o...#post_19214505
http://www.overclock.net/t/1354904/o...#post_19216637
http://www.overclock.net/t/1354904/o...#post_19217887
http://www.overclock.net/t/1354904/o...#post_19218892
http://forum.notebookreview.com/alie...ml#post9060793
http://forum.notebookreview.com/alie...ml#post9063107


What information can be offered to fix the problem? Sure, you can report the issue here:
http://www.amdsurveys.com/se.ashx?s=5A1E27D20B2F3F36

But is there any short term fix? The only suggestion that I know of is to use original stock clocks. Not the stock overclock that some cards offer but the original base stock, reference clocks.

Last edited by rflair; 03-16-2013 at 05:32.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Scyphe
Master Guru
 
Scyphe's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Radeon 7950@1150/1700
Processor: Intel Core i5 3570K
Mainboard: MSI Z77-GD45
Memory: G.Skill ARES.LP 2x4GB
Soundcard: Line6 POD HD300
PSU: Corsair RM750
Default 02-05-2013, 18:35 | posts: 407 | Location: Sweden

I turn off power saving mode on monitor since I can never wake it up again after it goes to sleep (while the PC is still running), I just get a black screen and no signal after trying to wake the screen up. I turn off the monitor with it's power button instead. That's the only black screen bug I've seen with the 13.x drivers so far.

Reported my issue at any rate.

Last edited by Scyphe; 02-05-2013 at 18:38.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Lane
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 2x HD7970 - EK Waterblock
Processor: I7 4930K H2o EK Supremacy
Mainboard: Asus X79 Deluxe
Memory: G-Skill C9 2133mhz 16GB
Soundcard: X-FI Titanium HD + SP2500
PSU: CM 1000W
Default 02-05-2013, 19:34 | posts: 5,196 | Location: Switzerland

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eastcoasthandle View Post

But is there any short term fix? The only suggestion that I know of is to use original stock clocks. Not the stock overclock that some cards offer but the original base stock, reference clocks.
Like for the 12.11 beta drivers ( 11 revisions made in 1-2months ), thoses drivers are given " as they are ", and like you have seen quickly updated, this have the advantage to let AMD the possibility to release any driver, any fix really quick.. just report on the beta " driver " report pages, and they will test, and work on it. But this dont say the beta 5 will include the fix, as the optimisation and fix are certainly allready for a good part they have not been able to includes on the beta 2-3-4 ...

( with 13.2 beta 4... i have seen many setup with negative scaling on the Combined test of 3D Mark 11 Fires strike ( CFX work perfectly on all test, but absolutely not in this test ( score less of what you should have with 1x 7970 )) reducing drastically the score .. I have report it.. nothing more to do. )

Last edited by Lane; 02-05-2013 at 19:36.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Offler2
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte HD 7970OC, 3gb
Processor: Intel xeon X3360
Mainboard: Asus Rampage Extreme 1
Memory: Adata XPG2 4x2gb
Soundcard: Creative Xfi
PSU: Corsair HX-650w
Default 02-05-2013, 19:54 | posts: 185

I had few unexpected reboots, since 13.2 Beta 4, while the root cause was GPU overclocking, and not so much stable system memory timing.

Nothing what can be described as a driver issue for me, but surely the system is now more sensitive to incorrect Bios/clocking settings.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
n1hilist
Member Guru
 
n1hilist's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 770 OC 2GB
Processor: Core i7-2600K @ 4.4ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67-M PRO B3
Memory: 4x4GB Mushkin Silverline
Soundcard: RME Fireface 400
PSU: Corsair HX750W
Default 02-05-2013, 20:13 | posts: 118

13.2 Beta 3 gave me blackscreens and CTD's in Stalker: Call of Pripyat, although it's not the most stable game to begin with

Beta 4 seems to be rock solid in Shadow Of Chernobyl. And I think beta4 fixed Call of Pripyat.

(Yes, I'm on a Stalker binge lately, sick of all the boring games released lately.. we need more open world, brutal, harsh games like Stalker.

Also, I've stopped installing the Control Center, I find it irritating and I hardly ever change anything in there, so I just install the driver alone, not sure if that's related to any issues or not.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Despoiler
Master Guru
 
Despoiler's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte R9 290 WF3
Processor: Intel i5 2500k @4.3Ghz
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: 16GB G.Skill Sniper DDR3
Soundcard: Asus Xonar Essence STX
PSU: Seasonic X750
Default 02-05-2013, 21:29 | posts: 192 | Location: Madison, WI

Intermittently, my monitor goes into suspend and will not wake up while windows is loading. It only started with the 13.X drivers.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
ClockClocker
Master Guru
 
Videocard: HD 7950 Powercolor
Processor: Core i5 2500k
Mainboard: Asrock z68 Pro3
Memory: 8GB DDR 1333 Kingston
Soundcard:
PSU: Straight Power E9 580W
Default 02-05-2013, 21:59 | posts: 312

i only play a few games and they are hardly stressful for the GPU but i didn't had any crash with 13.2 beta 3 (dont see a reason for beta 4 because i dont play crysis) yet.

The only stressful thing i tried was running the new 3dMark with all its demos.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
SapientWolf
Newbie
 
Videocard: 5850 Crossfire
Processor: i5 750
Mainboard: Biostar T5XE CFX-SLI
Memory: 12GB DDR3
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar
PSU: Antec TruePower
Default 02-06-2013, 05:20 | posts: 4

I get DXGI Device Removed CTD errors in the Crysis 3 beta and my PC hasn't been able to recover from sleep since the 12.11 betas.

The new 3DMark is also crashy. I haven't been able to get through a run without hard locking. I hear the temp monitoring is the culprit so I'll try without it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
WiFry
Member Guru
 
WiFry's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS HD7870 Directcu II
Processor: Intel i5 2500K
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z68-V/GEN3
Memory: Corsair Vengeance DDR3
Soundcard: Infrasonic Quartet
PSU: Corsair HX650W
Default 02-06-2013, 08:42 | posts: 103 | Location: New Zealand

13.2 beta 3

Once would not wake up from sleep mode.
Press the reset button, flash of corrupted BIOS splash screen before returning to normal.

Skyrim (issue happened once):-
Black screen flash, frame drop, vsync turned off and fan speed increased.
Continued playing Skyrim, 3 minutes later another black screen flash, vsync turned back on, frame rate back to normal and fan speed decreased.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
DM789
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI 7850 PowerEdition 2GB
Processor: AMD
Mainboard: Gigabyte
Memory: 4GB
Soundcard: Realtek, Altec Lansing
PSU: Corsair TX750M
Default 02-06-2013, 15:51 | posts: 306

and you forgot to mention that the beta also caused the pc to froze at random during idle (not gaming at all and clock is default, not OCed).
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Eastcoasthandle
Maha Guru
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 02-06-2013, 17:15 | posts: 1,550

DM789 thanks for the additional information. The best thing you can do is go back to an earlier driver and just leave the betas alone for the time being. Hopefully, they will address whatever the problem is. Also, it maybe worth while to use the AMD uninstall program instead of the traditional method when going back to earlier drivers. For example Cat 12.XX. When I tried that CCC would not work and I was getting popup error when I clicked on CCC. Using their uninstall program to remove (the just installed) Cat 12.XX fixed it. Had to re-install Cat 12.XX again but it's fixed now.
http://sites.amd.com/us/game/downloa...l-utility.aspx
(for win7)

All you do is just click on it and it will uninstall the drivers for you. There is no popup GUI while it uninstalls so you will be left at desktop for a few moments. Once complete a popup screen will inform you. That's if you never used it before.

----------------------
Update:
Blackop2 is suffering from graphical corruption with beta 5:
http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/sh...5&postcount=11
http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.ph...4&postcount=32

As noted in the OP Blackop2 is suffering from blackscreen/ctd with earlier beta.

Edit:
Since I mentioned CCC I will also like to mention this odd little quirk that happens when you click on some random feature in CCC.
http://www.overclock.net/t/1356302/a...s-same-problem
As you can see CCC will black itself out. It's random and doesn't happen often but if you are experiencing that make sure you report it to be fixed.
http://www.amdsurveys.com/se.ashx?s=5A1E27D20B2F3F36

Last edited by Eastcoasthandle; 02-06-2013 at 17:29.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Zemial
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire Radeon 7970 @ CF
Processor: Intel 4770K @ 4.5GHz
Mainboard: MSI Mpower Z87
Memory: G.Skill Ares 1866 Mhz
Soundcard: Focusrite Saffire Pro 24
PSU: Nexus RX-1K 1000W
Default 02-07-2013, 10:19 | posts: 63 | Location: Finland

I had issues with my Sapphire Radeon HD 7970 Dual-x OC card. The 13.2beta caused black screen of death, sound stutter and fan hitting 100% and then hole system freeze. Only thing helped was hard reset. I did fresh install of Windows 7 64bit, drivers and everything possible that I could think of, always the same problem.

I was going to RMA my card, but final thing what I did was fresh install of windows 7, install Catalyst 12.10 driver and switch BIOS 2(Sapphires OC profile bios 1000MHz/1450MHZ) to BIOS 1(clocks 950MHz/1425MHz). Everything worked fine with catalyst 12.10, I ranned furmark, OCCT GPU, Sisoft GPU tests without a single error.

Today I maked system restore point to my Windows 7 and then install Catalyst 13.2beta5 top over catalyst 12.10. I run new 3dmark test, furmark etc, everything seems to work like it should. Now I've been playing games like Skyrim, BF3 and The walking dead and no problems what so ever. I think the problem was related somehow into BIOS 2 settings in my card..?

I keep testing, if there comes some problems I'll report back!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
warlord
Master Guru
 
warlord's Avatar
 
Videocard: amd 7850 cf
Processor: i7 3770k @4.8 HT
Mainboard: Msi Mpower Z77
Memory: 32gb ddr3 geil evo
Soundcard: creative
PSU: ax1200i corsair
Default 02-07-2013, 10:24 | posts: 495

these drivers are smooth and stable, not a single problem, every bug or defect is a hardware installation/os problem, end of story.!

i oc'ed so much, i have more than 10000 points on 3dmark fire strike with just 2 7850s.! skyrim, dmc, crysis 3 beta all are stable..!!


13.2beta5 + win8x64mce
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
theprophet
Newbie
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD7870 GHz
Processor: Amd Phenom II x4 945
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Fortron / FSP
Default 02-07-2013, 10:33 | posts: 4

Same thing here : with the 13.x drivers (official 13.1, all 13.2 beta), when my monitor goes to power saving mode, I can't manage to wake it up, even by powering it off/on. The computer sometimes hang and sometimes not (I let some music play to be able to know whether it hanged or not).
With the 12.11 beta 11, everything works mostly fine : monitor can go to power saving mode without computer hanging. Sometimes, the monitor just goes black instead of power saving but when I move the mouse or hit a key, it comes back to the desktop. The 12.11 beta 8 had all working fine.
(using a Sapphire HD 7870 GHz edition)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Eastcoasthandle
Maha Guru
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 02-07-2013, 20:44 | posts: 1,550

Quote:
Originally Posted by theprophet View Post
Same thing here : with the 13.x drivers (official 13.1, all 13.2 beta), when my monitor goes to power saving mode, I can't manage to wake it up, even by powering it off/on. The computer sometimes hang and sometimes not (I let some music play to be able to know whether it hanged or not).
With the 12.11 beta 11, everything works mostly fine : monitor can go to power saving mode without computer hanging. Sometimes, the monitor just goes black instead of power saving but when I move the mouse or hit a key, it comes back to the desktop. The 12.11 beta 8 had all working fine.
(using a Sapphire HD 7870 GHz edition)
All you can do is report the problem using their survey. Hopefully, it will be fixed but in the meantime stick with the drivers that work. The end result of all this is by the time the whql 13.3 (assuming that it is 13.3) rolls out that all of this is fixed and we all can use the drivers.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
zuperxtreme
Newbie
 
Videocard: Saphire HD 7870 OC
Processor: Intel i5 2500k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: coolermaster
Default 02-07-2013, 21:16 | posts: 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by warlord View Post
these drivers are smooth and stable, not a single problem, every bug or defect is a hardware installation/os problem, end of story.!

i oc'ed so much, i have more than 10000 points on 3dmark fire strike with just 2 7850s.! skyrim, dmc, crysis 3 beta all are stable..!!


13.2beta5 + win8x64mce
Just because you aren't experiencing issues does not mean other people aren't.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
ClockClocker
Master Guru
 
Videocard: HD 7950 Powercolor
Processor: Core i5 2500k
Mainboard: Asrock z68 Pro3
Memory: 8GB DDR 1333 Kingston
Soundcard:
PSU: Straight Power E9 580W
Default 02-07-2013, 21:30 | posts: 312

did some more testing and it seems like this drivers hate overclocking.
Driver crashs a lot. After lowering my OC it seem to get better.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
theprophet
Newbie
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD7870 GHz
Processor: Amd Phenom II x4 945
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Fortron / FSP
Default 02-08-2013, 10:25 | posts: 4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eastcoasthandle View Post
All you can do is report the problem using their survey. Hopefully, it will be fixed but in the meantime stick with the drivers that work. The end result of all this is by the time the whql 13.3 (assuming that it is 13.3) rolls out that all of this is fixed and we all can use the drivers.
Yes, I reported for 13.1 whql and 13.2 betas. Thanks for the info.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
...PACMAN...
Newbie
 
...PACMAN...'s Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD 7850 OC 2GB
Processor: FX 4100
Mainboard: M5A99X Evo
Memory: 8GB Corsair XMS3
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: 800w
Default 02-08-2013, 11:54 | posts: 27

I can confirm that on cat 13.2 betas up until 13.2 beta 4 I had a stable over clock of 1050/1450...

On cat 13.2 beta 5 I kept getting gsods with a looping sound which meant I had to hard reset. Backed it down to 1050/1350 and I haven't had a single lock up since. Added bonus is that even with this reduced over clock on the beta 5s I'm getting excellent smooth performance and higher frame rates in everything @1080p (yes even far cry 3 and ac 3) this is all on win 8 pro.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
IPlayNaked
Banned
 
Videocard: XFire 7950 1200/1850
Processor: Intel i5 2500k 5 Ghz
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD55
Memory: 8GB Corsair Dominator
Soundcard: Logitech G930
PSU: Corsair 650w
Default 02-08-2013, 13:13 | posts: 6,559

My OC is stable, but I was getting blue screens after upgrading.

Upgrading my MB BIOS helped, as the most recent update had an "improve VGA compatibility" change in it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
Eastcoasthandle
Maha Guru
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 02-08-2013, 21:23 | posts: 1,550

Anyone else noticed that reduced OC or using original OEM stock clock helped with stability with the beta drivers?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
WiFry
Member Guru
 
WiFry's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS HD7870 Directcu II
Processor: Intel i5 2500K
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z68-V/GEN3
Memory: Corsair Vengeance DDR3
Soundcard: Infrasonic Quartet
PSU: Corsair HX650W
Default 02-09-2013, 22:03 | posts: 103 | Location: New Zealand

Gone back to 12.11 beta 11 with CAP 2.
While there is still a little image corruption in DX9 with these, I do not get random CTD in Skyrim.

AMD when are you going to make drivers which resolve problems without gaining new ones.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
Eastcoasthandle
Maha Guru
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 02-10-2013, 00:27 | posts: 1,550

Quote:
Originally Posted by WiFry View Post
Gone back to 12.11 beta 11 with CAP 2.
While there is still a little image corruption in DX9 with these, I do not get random CTD in Skyrim.

AMD when are you going to make drivers which resolve problems without gaining new ones.
You might get away with it if you lower your OC'ing for your GPU/Memory. I wonder if you get the same performance at lower gpu/memory clock rates with the beta drivers then with older drivers at higher clock rates.

Last edited by Eastcoasthandle; 02-10-2013 at 00:31.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
brutlern
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Asus GTX760 DirectCUII
Processor: Intel i5-2500K @ 4 Ghz
Mainboard: Asrock Z68 Ex3 Gen3
Memory: 2 x 4 GB DDR3 1600Mhz
Soundcard: onboard Realtek HD audio
PSU: Corsair VX550
Default 02-10-2013, 12:55 | posts: 147 | Location: Romania

I also had 2 crashes so far with 13.2 beta 3, one in Dead Space 3 and one in World of Tanks. If it happens again going to try beta 5, but for now only two crashes is not such a big issue.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
Tyestor
Newbie
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 6950 2GB
Processor: i5 2500k @ 4.0ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-z77x-D3H
Memory: 12GB G.Skill Ripjaws
Soundcard: Xonar DGX & AT ATH-M50
PSU: Antec TruePower 750w
Default 02-10-2013, 13:18 | posts: 33 | Location: Brisbane, Australia

I'm getting weird black screen flashes while playing Neverwinter. Not sure if it's the drivers, the game or a combination of both. Neverwinter is in beta and I'm using the beta drivers too (13.2 Beta 5).
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.