Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Frontpage news
Frontpage news Perhaps you have some news to report or want to check out the latest Guru3D headlines and comment ? Check it in here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
NVIDIA GeForce Titan With 6 GB Memory and 235W TDP
Old
  (#1)
SLI-756
I have restricted access
 
Videocard: 760 SLI 4gb 1215/ 7000
Processor: Devil's Canyon i5 @4.8
Mainboard: gigabyte z97 G1 Sniper
Memory: 8gb dominator gt @2400
Soundcard: asus xonar dx
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
Default NVIDIA GeForce Titan With 6 GB Memory and 235W TDP - 02-05-2013, 07:26 | posts: 7,534 | Location: Sunny Scotland


http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/GeForce_700_Series

-------

The latest reports of NVIDIAs upcoming GeForce Titan GK110 mammoth have arrived revealing that the card is confirmed to feature a massive 6 GB memory buffer. Additionally, review samples of the card have already been shipped to various tech blogs including PCPer and TechReport as revealed by News Editor of Rade3D Caveman-jim (Videocardz)...


link is in first post on this page here >
http://www.overclock.net/t/1355652/t...s-revealed/230

Last edited by SLI-756; 02-10-2013 at 16:40.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Spets
Maha Guru
 
Spets's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX780Ti+GTX750Ti+G-Sync
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.5
Mainboard: GA-Z68X-UD7-B3
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws 16gb 2133
Soundcard:
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA
Default 02-05-2013, 07:43 | posts: 2,070

Going to be one monster of a card.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Fusion_XT
Maha Guru
 
Fusion_XT's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX TITAN HO
Processor: Intel i7 980X HO
Mainboard: Gigabyte X58A-UD7
Memory: 6GB Corsair Dominator 1T
Soundcard: AuzenTech Forte w/ Z-5400
PSU: Corsair HX1000
Default 02-05-2013, 07:43 | posts: 812 | Location: Netherlands



Ow hell yes !!!! If its good its gonna go into my RIG !
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
HeavyHemi
Ancient Guru
 
HeavyHemi's Avatar
 
Videocard: SLI TITAN SC @ 1097/3105
Processor: i7 980x 4.3 Ghz 1.35 v
Mainboard: EVGA X58 E758
Memory: 12Gb Corsair Dom 2000
Soundcard: Asus Xonar Phoebus
PSU: CORSAIR AX1200
Default 02-05-2013, 07:43 | posts: 3,558 | Location: Wooing whilst wearing only socks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SLI-756 View Post
The latest reports of NVIDIAs upcoming GeForce Titan GK110 mammoth have arrived revealing that the card is confirmed to feature a massive 6 GB memory buffer. Additionally, review samples of the card have already been shipped to various tech blogs including PCPer and TechReport as revealed by News Editor of Rade3D Caveman-jim (Videocardz)...


link is in first post on this page here >
http://www.overclock.net/t/1355652/t...s-revealed/230
This has already been posted.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
SLI-756
I have restricted access
 
Videocard: 760 SLI 4gb 1215/ 7000
Processor: Devil's Canyon i5 @4.8
Mainboard: gigabyte z97 G1 Sniper
Memory: 8gb dominator gt @2400
Soundcard: asus xonar dx
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
Default 02-05-2013, 07:49 | posts: 7,534 | Location: Sunny Scotland

Quote:
Originally Posted by HeavyHemi View Post
This has already been posted.
The link in that forum? Or general Titan whisperings? I looked for the previous thread and it wasn't on page one so thought what the hey! folks will wanna see this.
We now know for sure vram size and tdp, where has this been posted already?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Texter
Maha Guru
 
Texter's Avatar
 
Videocard: Club3d GF6800GT 256MB AGP
Processor: AMD Athlon XP2800+
Mainboard: Asus A7N8X nforce2
Memory: 2x512 MB Samsung DDR-333
Soundcard: Creative Audigy Platinum
PSU: Thermaltake 420W SPP
Default 02-05-2013, 07:54 | posts: 2,346 | Location: Netherlands

TPU's front page has the RAM amount today.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
SLI-756
I have restricted access
 
Videocard: 760 SLI 4gb 1215/ 7000
Processor: Devil's Canyon i5 @4.8
Mainboard: gigabyte z97 G1 Sniper
Memory: 8gb dominator gt @2400
Soundcard: asus xonar dx
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
Default 02-05-2013, 07:56 | posts: 7,534 | Location: Sunny Scotland

Quote:
Originally Posted by Texter View Post
TPU's front page has the RAM amount today.
Stupid amount, at least for gaming, it'll push the price up too. I'm really not interested now, though the no doubt steep price was always gonna be difficult to manage.
But perhaps it'll push the other GPUs down a bit in price then everyone's a winner
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
HeavyHemi
Ancient Guru
 
HeavyHemi's Avatar
 
Videocard: SLI TITAN SC @ 1097/3105
Processor: i7 980x 4.3 Ghz 1.35 v
Mainboard: EVGA X58 E758
Memory: 12Gb Corsair Dom 2000
Soundcard: Asus Xonar Phoebus
PSU: CORSAIR AX1200
Default 02-05-2013, 07:57 | posts: 3,558 | Location: Wooing whilst wearing only socks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SLI-756 View Post
The link in that forum? Or general Titan whisperings? I looked for the previous thread and it wasn't on page one so thought what the hey! folks will wanna see this.
We now know for sure vram size and tdp, where has this been posted already?
http://www.techpowerup.com/179605/Fi...-Revealed.html

No we don't know anything more than what we knew a few days ago. It's still all rumor. The link to the supposed information is dead.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
SLI-756
I have restricted access
 
Videocard: 760 SLI 4gb 1215/ 7000
Processor: Devil's Canyon i5 @4.8
Mainboard: gigabyte z97 G1 Sniper
Memory: 8gb dominator gt @2400
Soundcard: asus xonar dx
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
Default 02-05-2013, 07:58 | posts: 7,534 | Location: Sunny Scotland

Quote:
Originally Posted by HeavyHemi View Post
The extreme 3dmark11 result was the first real bit of info (though someone tried but failed in labelling it a 690 score), then the info arrived about it being in reviewers hands, now this, the actual vram size and tdp.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
HeavyHemi
Ancient Guru
 
HeavyHemi's Avatar
 
Videocard: SLI TITAN SC @ 1097/3105
Processor: i7 980x 4.3 Ghz 1.35 v
Mainboard: EVGA X58 E758
Memory: 12Gb Corsair Dom 2000
Soundcard: Asus Xonar Phoebus
PSU: CORSAIR AX1200
Default 02-05-2013, 07:59 | posts: 3,558 | Location: Wooing whilst wearing only socks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SLI-756 View Post
That was the first real bit of info, then the info arrived about it being in reviewers hands, now this, the actual vram size and tdp.
You mean, actual rumors from a dead link.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
SLI-756
I have restricted access
 
Videocard: 760 SLI 4gb 1215/ 7000
Processor: Devil's Canyon i5 @4.8
Mainboard: gigabyte z97 G1 Sniper
Memory: 8gb dominator gt @2400
Soundcard: asus xonar dx
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
Default 02-05-2013, 08:00 | posts: 7,534 | Location: Sunny Scotland

Quote:
Originally Posted by HeavyHemi View Post
You mean, actual rumors from a dead link.
Best requesting thread shut down and report me at same time.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
HeavyHemi
Ancient Guru
 
HeavyHemi's Avatar
 
Videocard: SLI TITAN SC @ 1097/3105
Processor: i7 980x 4.3 Ghz 1.35 v
Mainboard: EVGA X58 E758
Memory: 12Gb Corsair Dom 2000
Soundcard: Asus Xonar Phoebus
PSU: CORSAIR AX1200
Default 02-05-2013, 08:05 | posts: 3,558 | Location: Wooing whilst wearing only socks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SLI-756 View Post
Best requesting thread shut down and report me at same time.
Why would I do that? It's still simply rumors. I'd personally like to see this be true. However based on past history of stuff like this, I'm skeptical. Calm down.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Darren Hodgson
Ancient Guru
 
Darren Hodgson's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA NVIDIA GTX 980 SC
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe v2103
Memory: 16GB Corsair Veng 1600MHz
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: XFX PRO Black Ed. 850W
Default 02-05-2013, 08:18 | posts: 12,132 | Location: England

I have to question whether any graphics card needs 6 GB of VRAM for the average user who isn't running multiple screens. Yes, I know 8xMSAA in some DirectX 11 games can require more than the 2 GB of VRAM available on a standard GTX 660/670/680 but I'd have thought the logical amount would be 4 GB. That would keep costs down and be more than enough for most people running 1920x10xx and 2560x1xxx displays. My guess is that NVIDIA have done this so this card outclasses everything that has gone before it.

I'm strangely unexcited about the arrival of a new graphics card. True, I have GTX 680 SLI which offers faster performance than a single card anyway so any new single GPU card is not going to be as impressive for performance as it is for owners of non-SLI systems. Secondly, until the new consoles arrive in late 2013 (or early 2014), I'm pretty sure that most games coming out in 2013 will not require a monster card with 6 GB of VRAM either. Plus there's no new version of DirectX to wet our appetites.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Texter
Maha Guru
 
Texter's Avatar
 
Videocard: Club3d GF6800GT 256MB AGP
Processor: AMD Athlon XP2800+
Mainboard: Asus A7N8X nforce2
Memory: 2x512 MB Samsung DDR-333
Soundcard: Creative Audigy Platinum
PSU: Thermaltake 420W SPP
Default 02-05-2013, 08:20 | posts: 2,346 | Location: Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by SLI-756 View Post
Stupid amount, at least for gaming, it'll push the price up too.
4GB on a 680 is pointless, 6GB on a GK110 is comfortable.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
bemaniac
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 295X2
Processor: 3820 @ 4.5ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte X79 UD3
Memory: 8gb Geil Corsa 2133mhz
Soundcard: ZXR>RXV1073>Q500+PB2000
PSU: Silentpro Gold 1200watt
Default 02-05-2013, 08:24 | posts: 69 | Location: Portsmouth

So can anyone think of an application that uses 5gb of vram? Maybe max payne 3 over 3x2560x1600 with maximum AA would use up all the 6gb?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Nono06
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 680 GTX SLI (1215/6884)
Processor: Core i7 950@4.3GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte X58A-UD5 v2.0
Memory: 6GB (8-9-8-24-1T)@1870
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty
PSU: BeQuiet 1000W
Default 02-05-2013, 08:35 | posts: 752 | Location: France

For me, the pictures coming from chiphell are used of their original context. It is written tesla K20 on it. It is not a geforce but only the tesla cards released few weeks ago.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
southamptonfc
Maha Guru
 
southamptonfc's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI TF 780TI
Processor: 2700k @ 4.7
Mainboard: Asus P8P67
Memory: 16Gb 1866
Soundcard: SB XFI
PSU: Seasonic X-750W
Default 02-05-2013, 08:51 | posts: 956 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by SLI-756 View Post
Stupid amount, at least for gaming, it'll push the price up too.
The Tesla GF110 has 6GB of RAM, deal with it!

Or would you rather they re-engineered it with 3GB of RAM so it has less than your 680?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
SLI-756
I have restricted access
 
Videocard: 760 SLI 4gb 1215/ 7000
Processor: Devil's Canyon i5 @4.8
Mainboard: gigabyte z97 G1 Sniper
Memory: 8gb dominator gt @2400
Soundcard: asus xonar dx
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
Default 02-05-2013, 08:53 | posts: 7,534 | Location: Sunny Scotland

Quote:
Originally Posted by southamptonfc View Post
The Tesla GF110 has 6GB of RAM, deal with it!

Or would you rather they re-engineered it with 3GB of RAM so it has less than your 680?
3gb would be better yes, and i'm under no illusion that the 680 is in the big picture anything more than mid-range hardware.
With more vram it means more can go wrong.
Folks should be worried about the limited quantity tbh, and if HH gets one.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Fusion_XT
Maha Guru
 
Fusion_XT's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX TITAN HO
Processor: Intel i7 980X HO
Mainboard: Gigabyte X58A-UD7
Memory: 6GB Corsair Dominator 1T
Soundcard: AuzenTech Forte w/ Z-5400
PSU: Corsair HX1000
Default 02-05-2013, 09:03 | posts: 812 | Location: Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by SLI-756 View Post
3gb would be better yes, and i'm under no illusion that the 680 is in the big picture anything more than mid-range hardware.
With more vram it means more can go wrong.
Folks should be worried about the limited quantity tbh, and if HH gets one.
The GTX690 in my country and heck even de GTX680 is nowhere near in full stock at any shop.

So i really hope the Titan will be here and not a ''Paper'' Launch.. meaning i have to wait another month before i can order it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
(.)(.)
Ancient Guru
 
(.)(.)'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 580sli (water)
Processor: 2600k @ 4.7
Mainboard: Asus M4E
Memory: Corsair Vengence
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: Enermax Rev 1250w
Default 02-05-2013, 09:11 | posts: 5,153 | Location: Logd n jst 2 change avatar

My 2 gtx580's cost me NZ$1600 and i cant even max every game out. Now when looking at whats available at the moment, gamewise, that **** aint right. Should not need to spend that kind of money on gfx cards just to play games that look like metro, the witcher 2 and crysis/2 at 60fps and up.

So unless theres going to be some revolution in gfx sometime soon, well then im not wasting anymore money on gfx cards, as the price vs performance is not there.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
southamptonfc
Maha Guru
 
southamptonfc's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI TF 780TI
Processor: 2700k @ 4.7
Mainboard: Asus P8P67
Memory: 16Gb 1866
Soundcard: SB XFI
PSU: Seasonic X-750W
Default 02-05-2013, 09:57 | posts: 956 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by SLI-756 View Post
3gb would be better yes, and i'm under no illusion that the 680 is in the big picture anything more than mid-range hardware.
With more vram it means more can go wrong.
Fair enough, they should probably reduce the stream processor count as well so less can go wrong.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
SLI-756
I have restricted access
 
Videocard: 760 SLI 4gb 1215/ 7000
Processor: Devil's Canyon i5 @4.8
Mainboard: gigabyte z97 G1 Sniper
Memory: 8gb dominator gt @2400
Soundcard: asus xonar dx
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
Default 02-05-2013, 10:01 | posts: 7,534 | Location: Sunny Scotland

Quote:
Originally Posted by southamptonfc View Post
Fair enough, they should probably reduce the stream processor count as well so less can go wrong.
I should have said 'needlessly' go wrong cause 6gb vram is needless.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
Undying
Ancient Guru
 
Undying's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 280X
Processor: i5 @ 4.8Ghz
Mainboard: -
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard: -
PSU: -
Default 02-05-2013, 10:10 | posts: 4,274 | Location: Serbia, NS

Quote:
Originally Posted by Texter View Post
4GB on a 680 is pointless, 6GB on a GK110 is comfortable.
You mean 6GB on GK110 is pointless and 4GB is comfortable...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
Texter
Maha Guru
 
Texter's Avatar
 
Videocard: Club3d GF6800GT 256MB AGP
Processor: AMD Athlon XP2800+
Mainboard: Asus A7N8X nforce2
Memory: 2x512 MB Samsung DDR-333
Soundcard: Creative Audigy Platinum
PSU: Thermaltake 420W SPP
Default 02-05-2013, 10:21 | posts: 2,346 | Location: Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by Undying View Post
You mean 6GB on GK110 is pointless and 4GB is comfortable...
No both would be comfortable and the former the only option over 3. Unless you want 12.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
Darren Hodgson
Ancient Guru
 
Darren Hodgson's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA NVIDIA GTX 980 SC
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe v2103
Memory: 16GB Corsair Veng 1600MHz
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: XFX PRO Black Ed. 850W
Default 02-05-2013, 13:48 | posts: 12,132 | Location: England

Quote:
Originally Posted by Undying View Post
You mean 6GB on GK110 is pointless and 4GB is comfortable...
Agreed.

The average PC gamer, which includes myself, plays games on a single 1920x1200 or 2560x1600 display and simply will not need a card with more than 4 GB for the foreseeable future. By the time they do then the hardware would be obsolete anyway and too slow to run modern games.

It is enthusiasts that want 6 GB for multi-monitor gaming but considering that they probably make up less than 1% of the user base then I have to question whether making the cards stupidly expensive is a sensible thing to do in this economy. I want a powerful high-end card at some point but I don't want one that costs me more for VRAM don't need. The GTX 680 may have had less VRAM than the AMD cards but in retrospect 2 GB was plenty for most people except for mere handful of games. Most games I play barely use more than half my cards VRAM!!!
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.