Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Frontpage news
Frontpage news Perhaps you have some news to report or want to check out the latest Guru3D headlines and comment ? Check it in here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
CryEngine 3 Presentation at Crytek
Old
  (#1)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 4770K
Mainboard: Z77
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default CryEngine 3 Presentation at Crytek - 01-29-2013, 08:43 | posts: 21,571 | Location: Guru3D testlab

Crytek held a Crysis 3 Community Day, in which Sean Tracy showcased some nice and new graphical features of CryEngine 3 - that will also be supported by the upcoming Crysis 3 game.¬* ...

CryEngine 3 Presentation at Crytek
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
SLI-756
Ancient Guru
 
SLI-756's Avatar
 
Videocard: 760 SLI 4gb 1215/ 6800
Processor: Devil's Canyon i5 @4.8
Mainboard: gigabyte z97 G1 Sniper
Memory: 8gb dominator gt @2400
Soundcard: asus xonar dx
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
Default 01-29-2013, 10:57 | posts: 7,606 | Location: Sunny Scotland

Really impressive stuff, if i had a 690 i'd be sitting rather pleased with the world in general right now, just being honest i just wish my 680 was gonna be enough for this, i don't use any AA, blur nor Post Processing and it'll still destroy my £500 card, i mean lets take a step back here folks and have another look, this game is gonna need around £750 of gpu power to run 1080 60fps Ultra.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Texter
Maha Guru
 
Texter's Avatar
 
Videocard: Club3d GF6800GT 256MB AGP
Processor: AMD Athlon XP2800+
Mainboard: Asus A7N8X nforce2
Memory: 2x512 MB Samsung DDR-333
Soundcard: Creative Audigy Platinum
PSU: Thermaltake 420W SPP
Default 01-29-2013, 12:25 | posts: 2,386 | Location: Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by SLI-756 View Post
this game is gonna need around £750 of gpu power to run 1080 60fps Ultra.
No it's going to need the actual high end £500 GPU that nVidia was supposed to release 1 year ago.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Denial
Ancient Guru
 
Denial's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 980
Processor: i7-3770K
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus 5 Formula
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR3 2133
Soundcard: ZxR & HD800 Lyr/PC350SE
PSU: Seasonic 1000w
Default 01-29-2013, 14:03 | posts: 7,246 | Location: Above Earth in a Big Rocket Ship

Quote:
Originally Posted by Texter View Post
No it's going to need the actual high end £500 GPU that nVidia was supposed to release 1 year ago.
You mean the one where they couldn't get good yields on half? Right.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
DireBadger
Master Guru
 
DireBadger's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 770
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth P67
Memory: 8Gb G.SKILL 2133mhz
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Elite Pro
PSU: Corsair TX750M
Default 01-29-2013, 15:06 | posts: 351 | Location: Scotland

These guys are as bad as DICE, moar lens flare...

@Texter - It will probably ned two to three of those hahaha, remember Crysis was supposed to run smooth maxed out on an 8800GTX.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Techio
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7950 925MHZ
Processor: Intel i7 960 @ 3.4GHZ
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-XD58A-UDR3
Memory: 3 Sticks 6GB
Soundcard: Pioneer HTP-522
PSU: Corsair HX650W
Default 01-29-2013, 15:30 | posts: 156

Just came off from the Beta, it doesn't really require super strong computers. I ran all on max settings but reduced the AA and stuff down to the lowest. Game does look really nice for a change.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Redemption80
Ancient Guru
 
Redemption80's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 570
Processor: i7-2600K @ 4.5ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 PRO Intel P67
Memory: G.Skill RipJawsX 8GB
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar D2
PSU: Corsair GS800
Default 01-29-2013, 16:43 | posts: 15,093 | Location: Glasgow

Quote:
Originally Posted by Texter View Post
No it's going to need the actual high end £500 GPU that nVidia was supposed to release 1 year ago.
Such a card never existed last year.

Unless youíre meaning some sort of GK110 card, but that was clearly not ready in 2012, and in 2013 will be around £800 not £500.

This engine will perform as well as you want it to perform.
If your one of the lucky ones who dislikes post processing, motion blur, AA and lens flare then you won't need much hardware at all as those things can all be disabled, even then the Iím sure you will still be able to get 60fps if you fiddle with some settings, and probably not even notice much, if any difference.

Maxing it at 60/120fps just for the sake of maxing it is a different story, but those people tend to be hardware enthusiasts so will already have the best GPU/CPU combo going.

Unfortunately post processing, lens flare, AA etc are all very important to me and I wonít be turning any of those off, so will need to be a new GPU for me, but i always skip a generation so Iím due one anyway
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
IPlayNaked
Banned
 
Videocard: XFire 7950 1200/1850
Processor: Intel i5 2500k 5 Ghz
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD55
Memory: 8GB Corsair Dominator
Soundcard: Logitech G930
PSU: Corsair 650w
Default 01-29-2013, 18:28 | posts: 6,559

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redemption80 View Post
Such a card never existed last year.

Unless youíre meaning some sort of GK110 card, but that was clearly not ready in 2012, and in 2013 will be around £800 not £500.

This engine will perform as well as you want it to perform.
If your one of the lucky ones who dislikes post processing, motion blur, AA and lens flare then you won't need much hardware at all as those things can all be disabled, even then the Iím sure you will still be able to get 60fps if you fiddle with some settings, and probably not even notice much, if any difference.

Maxing it at 60/120fps just for the sake of maxing it is a different story, but those people tend to be hardware enthusiasts so will already have the best GPU/CPU combo going.

Unfortunately post processing, lens flare, AA etc are all very important to me and I wonít be turning any of those off, so will need to be a new GPU for me, but i always skip a generation so Iím due one anyway
The number of people who still believe the rumor that GK110 was somehow intended to be the 6xx series is insane. Moving from 40nm to 28nm and increasing the die size by like, double, on a new architecture, yeah, that was their move, sure guys. Maybe if they wanted to see how quick a yield-less fab could go out of business.

For some perspective, the die of the presumed 780 (current K20) has more transistors than a 690. No way they were going to try to do all of that in a single generation.

Last edited by IPlayNaked; 01-29-2013 at 18:38.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
FULMTL
Ancient Guru
 
FULMTL's Avatar
 
Videocard: AOC 27"
Processor: Intel N2830 laptop :(
Mainboard: New build later
Memory: DEAD
Soundcard: ShureSRH940+ JDS Labs C5D
PSU: DEAD
Default 01-29-2013, 19:04 | posts: 6,735 | Location: Portland, Oregon

I hope there is an early "demo" so I can mess with the editor.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
SLI-756
Ancient Guru
 
SLI-756's Avatar
 
Videocard: 760 SLI 4gb 1215/ 6800
Processor: Devil's Canyon i5 @4.8
Mainboard: gigabyte z97 G1 Sniper
Memory: 8gb dominator gt @2400
Soundcard: asus xonar dx
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
Default 01-29-2013, 21:32 | posts: 7,606 | Location: Sunny Scotland

Quote:
Originally Posted by FULMTL View Post
I hope there is an early "demo" so I can mess with the editor.
Not to mention save a bit of cash too eh?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
FULMTL
Ancient Guru
 
FULMTL's Avatar
 
Videocard: AOC 27"
Processor: Intel N2830 laptop :(
Mainboard: New build later
Memory: DEAD
Soundcard: ShureSRH940+ JDS Labs C5D
PSU: DEAD
Default 01-30-2013, 07:19 | posts: 6,735 | Location: Portland, Oregon

Quote:
Originally Posted by SLI-756 View Post
Not to mention save a bit of cash too eh?
Nah, I don't care for the game itself. Messing with an editor is more fun.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.