Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA
Videocards - NVIDIA This forum is all about NVIDIA graphics cards and their technology. Do you have a question regarding an older GeForce videocard? Want to tell people how stylish a game works on that new shiny watercooled GeForce GTX 580 or SLI gaming rig? Get in here!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Good CPU for 680GTX SLI setup?
Old
  (#1)
rdupont1981
Newbie
 
Videocard: Radeon HD 5970
Processor: Phenom II x6 1055t
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 850
Default Good CPU for 680GTX SLI setup? - 01-28-2013, 06:08 | posts: 1

So im building a new gaming rig and wondering if someone could recommend a good processor for a 680GTX SLI rig. I want to stick with an intel, as i have had bad luck with amd. Would an i5 be good enough? Or would I need a higher end i7 to prevent any CPU bottleneck?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
ESlik
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: 2 EVGA Titans SLI
Processor: i7 4930K @4.4ghz.
Mainboard: Asus x79 RIVE
Memory: 16 gigs ddr3 @ 2400
Soundcard: ROG Xonar Phoebus
PSU: AX 1200i
Default 01-28-2013, 10:22 | posts: 2,036 | Location: Sault Ste. Marie Ont. CA

Intel 3770K.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Undying
Ancient Guru
 
Undying's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 280X
Processor: i5 @ 4.8Ghz
Mainboard: -
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard: -
PSU: -
Default 01-28-2013, 10:45 | posts: 4,343 | Location: Serbia, NS

I7 3930k
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
SLI-756
Banned
 
Videocard: 760 SLI 4gb 1215/ 6800
Processor: Devil's Canyon i5 @4.8
Mainboard: gigabyte z97 G1 Sniper
Memory: 8gb dominator gt @2400
Soundcard: asus xonar dx
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
Default 01-28-2013, 11:06 | posts: 7,606 | Location: Sunny Scotland

Delidded 3570k OCed to the max with Noctua d 14 strapped to it's back.
Just kidding.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Odellot
Master Guru
 
Odellot's Avatar
 
Videocard: 980 SLI-G10 & 750Ti Physx
Processor: i7 4930K @ 4.5/1.4v - X60
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: Gskill RipjawsX-2133/64GB
Soundcard: STX - T40 II / DT 990 Pro
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 1000w
Cool 01-28-2013, 11:26 | posts: 267 | Location: Philippines

Quote:
Originally Posted by ESlik View Post
Intel 3770K.
This.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
DiceAir
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 2x Club3D R9-280x RK
Processor: i7-4790k Stock
Mainboard: MSI z97 Gaming 5
Memory: 16GB corsair 1600MHz
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair ax850w
Default 01-30-2013, 07:48 | posts: 516 | Location: South Africa

A pc for nasa
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
army_cadet
Member Guru
 
army_cadet's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 7970
Processor: 4930K 4.2ghz
Mainboard: Asus rampage iv extreme
Memory: Gskill 16gb 2400mhz
Soundcard: Asus Xonar Essence STX
PSU: AX1200iw
Default 01-31-2013, 10:44 | posts: 94 | Location: United Kingdom

3570k
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
War child
Master Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA 780 SLI
Processor: Intel 3570k @ 4.5ghz
Mainboard: Sabertooth Z77
Memory: GSkill Ripjaw 8Gb 2133mhz
Soundcard: Asus Xonar Essence STX
PSU: Seasonic 850W
Default 01-31-2013, 12:18 | posts: 251 | Location: Oslo

3570k or 3770k

Basically it comes down to how much cash ya got!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
jcSihle
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Inno 3d + POV GTX 580 SLI
Processor: i7 2600
Mainboard: MSI G45
Memory: Kingston Hyperx 16Gb 1600
Soundcard: Xonar DX & ROCCAT KAVE
PSU: XFX PRO 850W CORE SERIES
Default 02-01-2013, 14:55 | posts: 151 | Location: Durban South Africa

2600K @ 4gh would suffice
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Loophole35
Ancient Guru
 
Loophole35's Avatar
 
Videocard: 670 FTW Sli H2O/780 TFIV
Processor: 2600k@4.8 H2O/2500k@4.5
Mainboard: P8Z68-V PRO/P8Z77-V
Memory: corsair ddr3 8GB@1866
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus/onboard
PSU: Corsair HX850w/TX850w
Default 02-01-2013, 16:15 | posts: 5,465 | Location: FLA,USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcSihle View Post
2600K @ 4gh would suffice
You would want pci-e 3.0 so i would say 3570K or 3770K and a good quality mobo.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
pimp_gimp
Ancient Guru
 
pimp_gimp's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA Geforce GTX 980 SLI
Processor: Core i7-3770k 4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Premium
Memory: 8GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty
PSU: Corsair AX1200
Default 02-01-2013, 16:16 | posts: 5,887 | Location: Tacoma, Washington

3770k does nicely.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
jcSihle
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Inno 3d + POV GTX 580 SLI
Processor: i7 2600
Mainboard: MSI G45
Memory: Kingston Hyperx 16Gb 1600
Soundcard: Xonar DX & ROCCAT KAVE
PSU: XFX PRO 850W CORE SERIES
Default 02-01-2013, 16:44 | posts: 151 | Location: Durban South Africa

Quote:
Originally Posted by Loophole35 View Post
You would want pci-e 3.0 so i would say 3570K or 3770K and a good quality mobo.
pci-e 3.0 works just dandy with a 2600k on a Z77 platform
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
GhostXL
Ancient Guru
 
GhostXL's Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX 980 @ 1510/7800
Processor: i7 4790K @ 4.8ghz on H90
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus VII HERO Z97
Memory: G.Skill Trident DDR3 2667
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: CORSAIR AX1200 watt
Default 02-01-2013, 16:56 | posts: 5,703 | Location: PA, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcSihle View Post
pci-e 3.0 works just dandy with a 2600k on a Z77 platform
No it doesn't as Intel i7 2nd gen does not support PCI-e 3.0. The cards would run in 2.0. The CPU just does not have the instructions and capabilities at all.

2500K/2600K/2700K can't do 3.0 ever period.

You need a Z68/Z77 platform WITH an i7 3rd gen aka i7 3750/3770k.

You can get a hack on SOME X79 boards paired with for example 3930K for 3.0 to work properly, but it's hit and miss.


OP I hope this clears up any confusion and helps.

For Xfire or SLI of any high end PCI-e 3.0 cards, you should have at least a 3570K and Z68 with 3.0 or a Z77 to get the best out of your cards.

Last edited by GhostXL; 02-01-2013 at 17:00.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
aayman_farzand
Master Guru
 
aayman_farzand's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xASUS DC2 GTX670 TOP
Processor: 3770K @4.5 | Kuhler 620
Mainboard: MSI Z68 GD65-G3
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 4x4GB
Soundcard: ASUS Essence STX
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 02-01-2013, 17:20 | posts: 783

Isn't the difference between PCI-e 2.0 and 3.0 like... 1 FPS? My 2500K @4.5ghz does just fine with my setup, except for BF3 MP which is highly CPU intensive (aiming for 120fps, I always get above 60 anyway).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Loophole35
Ancient Guru
 
Loophole35's Avatar
 
Videocard: 670 FTW Sli H2O/780 TFIV
Processor: 2600k@4.8 H2O/2500k@4.5
Mainboard: P8Z68-V PRO/P8Z77-V
Memory: corsair ddr3 8GB@1866
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus/onboard
PSU: Corsair HX850w/TX850w
Default 02-01-2013, 17:34 | posts: 5,465 | Location: FLA,USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by aayman_farzand View Post
Isn't the difference between PCI-e 2.0 and 3.0 like... 1 FPS? My 2500K @4.5ghz does just fine with my setup, except for BF3 MP which is highly CPU intensive (aiming for 120fps, I always get above 60 anyway).
When running sli you drop down to 8x/8x pci-e 3.0 which has the same band width as 16x/16x pci-e 2.0. Keep in mind this is disregarding mobo that have say a plx chip or the like to give you more pci lanes but those tend to add latency and the overall results are the same as just 8x/8x.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SC SLI/Qnix 2710
Processor: 2600k 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 02-01-2013, 18:47 | posts: 18,933 | Location: New Jersey, USA

High end tri and quad gpus benefit the most from pci e 3.0. For a single card or 2 way sli pci e 2.0 is enough. OP the 680's love high clocked k model 1155 and 2011 cpu's
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
pimp_gimp
Ancient Guru
 
pimp_gimp's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA Geforce GTX 980 SLI
Processor: Core i7-3770k 4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Premium
Memory: 8GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty
PSU: Corsair AX1200
Default 02-01-2013, 22:49 | posts: 5,887 | Location: Tacoma, Washington

Quote:
Originally Posted by Loophole35 View Post
When running sli you drop down to 8x/8x pci-e 3.0 which has the same band width as 16x/16x pci-e 2.0. Keep in mind this is disregarding mobo that have say a plx chip or the like to give you more pci lanes but those tend to add latency and the overall results are the same as just 8x/8x.
The latency is unnoticeable.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
gerardfraser
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: R9 290 Crossfire
Processor: 3770K
Mainboard: MSI Z77-GD65
Memory: DDR3-2133
Soundcard:
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default 02-01-2013, 23:52 | posts: 1,466 | Location: Canada

I owned 680SLI 2600k 5Ghz PCI-E 2.0 (16/16) and 3770k 4.7 SLI Runs-PCI-E 3.0 (8/8) no difference in FPS in any game.

Even played CPU 3770k 4700MHzMB

SLI Runs---PCI-E 3.0 (8/8)
Physx Runs---PCI-E 3.0 (8/4/4) Pyhsx running PCI-E 2.0
No different in FPS.
IF you do higher than 2560x1440 there may be a difference but I did not test that resolution.
Even so 1920x1080 will give you higher FPS then compared to any resolution higher than anything above 1920x1080
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
GhostXL
Ancient Guru
 
GhostXL's Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX 980 @ 1510/7800
Processor: i7 4790K @ 4.8ghz on H90
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus VII HERO Z97
Memory: G.Skill Trident DDR3 2667
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: CORSAIR AX1200 watt
Default 02-02-2013, 00:58 | posts: 5,703 | Location: PA, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by aayman_farzand View Post
Isn't the difference between PCI-e 2.0 and 3.0 like... 1 FPS? My 2500K @4.5ghz does just fine with my setup, except for BF3 MP which is highly CPU intensive (aiming for 120fps, I always get above 60 anyway).
For today's cards yes the FPS gains are minimal. 1-5 FPS on average for any given situation.

But really if you are buying flagship 3.0 cards, then there is very little reason to buy a 2.0 cpu/board. May as well spend an extra 50 on 3.0 compliant parts.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
zimzoid
Maha Guru
 
zimzoid's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUSdc2 780Sli-Asus Swift
Processor: i7 4930K/Corsair H110
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Black Ed
Memory: GSkillRipjawsZ4x4 2133mhz
Soundcard: SB Zx Denon Klipsch 5.1
PSU: CM V1200w Platinum
Default 02-02-2013, 01:42 | posts: 933 | Location: New Zealand

This is a bonus of the x79 platform i get full 3.0 pcie x16 on each slot, but need to apply reg patch for the 3.0 to work
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.