Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Frontpage news
Frontpage news Perhaps you have some news to report or want to check out the latest Guru3D headlines and comment ? Check it in here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Logitech Halts Harmony line of products
Old
  (#1)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 4770K
Mainboard: Z77
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default Logitech Halts Harmony line of products - 01-24-2013, 07:48 | posts: 21,126 | Location: Guru3D testlab

Logitech is going sell their department for remote controls and digital video security products. Next to that it is going to stop *this year already with speakerdocks and accessories for game-console...

Logitech Halts Harmony line of products
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Svarog
Ancient Guru
 
Svarog's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 680 4GB
Processor: Intel Core 4770K
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
Memory: 8GB G.Skill ARES 2133 MHz
Soundcard: SoundBlaster ZxR
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 760
Default 01-24-2013, 09:22 | posts: 3,797 | Location: The Netherlands

Owning a couple of Harmony 300's here. Loving them.

Shame they stop with this.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
mackintosh
Member Guru
 
mackintosh's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 670 3-way SLI
Processor: i7 950 @ 4Ghz
Mainboard: EVGA X58 Classified E760
Memory: Dominator 2133 12GB
Soundcard: AVR-1911 & HD 650s
PSU: Enermax Revolution 1250W
Default 01-24-2013, 11:01 | posts: 122 | Location: Warsaw, Poland

Indeed, I've been using their remotes for a while now, currently on the Harmony One+. I literally cannot imagine controlling my home cinema setup without it. I hope the division gets picked up and the development and support continues.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
dcx_badass
Ancient Guru
 
dcx_badass's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX570 1280mb
Processor: I5 4670k
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z87X-D3H
Memory: 8GB DDR3 1333mhz
Soundcard: Realtek ALC892
PSU: 600w OCZ StealthXstream
Default 01-24-2013, 11:49 | posts: 9,861 | Location: Yorkshire [UK]

I've got five of the Harmony 300's, great remotes, if they kill it I hope they release stand alone software because atm the only way to use it is via a browser.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Svarog
Ancient Guru
 
Svarog's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 680 4GB
Processor: Intel Core 4770K
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
Memory: 8GB G.Skill ARES 2133 MHz
Soundcard: SoundBlaster ZxR
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 760
Default 01-24-2013, 13:54 | posts: 3,797 | Location: The Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by dcx_badass View Post
I've got five of the Harmony 300's, great remotes, if they kill it I hope they release stand alone software because atm the only way to use it is via a browser.
That, and i'm also worried if it ever breaks down : / Wouldn't know what kind of remote to get then.

Logitech equipment is so rock solid. My current G500 is over 3 years old and it still looks like it came right out of the package.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
-=WolverinE=-
Member Guru
 
-=WolverinE=-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus GTX560Ti DirectCu II
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K
Mainboard: Asrock P67 Extreme6
Memory: Corsair Dominator 8GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar Essence STX
PSU: Fractal Design Newton R3
Default 01-24-2013, 14:07 | posts: 68

Wtf is going on these days?! I can't believe what I'm reading anymore. Everyone's either filing bankruptcy or cutting production lines / products go EOF. Time to kill myself, lol.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
WindtalkerCS
Master Guru
 
WindtalkerCS's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x EVGA GTX 280's
Processor: Intel i7 920 @ 4.0ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte X58-UD5
Memory: OCZ PC-12800 3x2gig
Soundcard: Presonus Firepod
PSU: Enermax Revolution 1050w
Default 01-24-2013, 14:38 | posts: 442 | Location: Upstate NY

Maybe they should have stopped making the idiotic touchscreen remotes and made more regular remotes.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Ven0m
Maha Guru
 
Ven0m's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX 680 D2CU TOP
Processor: i7 920 @ 4GHz
Mainboard: ASUS Rampage II Extreme
Memory: 12GB Patriot Viper
Soundcard: Xonar D2X>Custom amp>K712
PSU: Seasonic M12D 850W
Default 01-24-2013, 15:07 | posts: 1,472 | Location: Warsaw, Poland

Quote:
Originally Posted by WindtalkerCS View Post
Maybe they should have stopped making the idiotic touchscreen remotes and made more regular remotes.
These weren't that bad. I've bought & programmed Harmony 900 for my parents and they love profiles and channel icons that open the channel, as well as a possibility to hide the receivers.
Still, it's kinda niche product.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
WindtalkerCS
Master Guru
 
WindtalkerCS's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x EVGA GTX 280's
Processor: Intel i7 920 @ 4.0ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte X58-UD5
Memory: OCZ PC-12800 3x2gig
Soundcard: Presonus Firepod
PSU: Enermax Revolution 1050w
Default 01-24-2013, 15:09 | posts: 442 | Location: Upstate NY

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ven0m View Post
These weren't that bad. I've bought & programmed Harmony 900 for my parents and they love profiles and channel icons that open the channel, as well as a possibility to hide the receivers.
Still, it's kinda niche product.
I like having the screen too, I just don't like the touchscreen. Having the screen with adjacent buttons was great. The problem is that with a touchscreen you can't look at what you need to press (since there is nothing tactile to go by) and also point it at the device you want to control. You should be able to use a remote without looking at it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
dark_surge
Master Guru
 
dark_surge's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 780 SC 3GB
Processor: Intel i7 3820 @4.0
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: G.SKILL DDR3 1600 16GB
Soundcard: X-FI Fatal1ty PCI-E
PSU: Corsair TX750
Default 01-24-2013, 15:34 | posts: 794 | Location: ND - US

I used to have a Harmony remote as well (500 series..I think). It was a great remote and I loved being able to control my TV, receiver, 360, air conditioner, and the lights in my house with it but in the end I settled for a DirecTV universal remote just for simplicities sake.

Still, they had some of the best remotes imo so it's sad to see them discontinued.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
rflair
Don Commisso
 
rflair's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 980/290X
Processor: 3770K@4.4/Q9550@3.83
Mainboard: Asus P877V-Pro/Asus P5K-E
Memory: 16G 2GHz/8G 900MHz
Soundcard: Onboard/Fiio E10
PSU: Corsair HX850/PPC 860
Default 01-24-2013, 15:48 | posts: 2,960 | Location: Canada

Have the Harmony 650, love it.

Logitech should keep the remotes business, though I am sure someone will buy that division.

If anything it sounds like Logitech realized that their core market, PC users, have been shopping elsewhere and wish to refocus on the PC. They make great products.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
CronoGraal
Ancient Guru
 
CronoGraal's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX Radeon HD6870 1GB
Processor: Intel Q9450 @ 3.4ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte X48-DQ6
Memory: 2x2GB Corsair Dominator
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar Essence STX
PSU: Corsair 750W TX
Default 01-24-2013, 16:56 | posts: 3,811 | Location: Sweden

Quote:
Originally Posted by RoadKillNL View Post
That, and i'm also worried if it ever breaks down : / Wouldn't know what kind of remote to get then.

Logitech equipment is so rock solid. My current G500 is over 3 years old and it still looks like it came right out of the package.
Yep, my MX518 has been working for half a decade now. Not once has it screwed up.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon R7 240
Processor: AMD Athlon 5350
Mainboard: Asus AM1M-A
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Go!
PSU: Unk 300watt
Default 01-24-2013, 17:20 | posts: 16,495 | Location: US East Coast

Economies went to ****....and Logitech charges too much for a product line that's going to have very limited sales.... Honestly, I've never seen where the price tag on Harmony remotes was even remotely justified. Maybe if they charged a reasonable price, they'd have made more money....


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
MonstroMart
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GB GeForce GTX 670 OC 2GB
Processor: Intel Core I5 750 @ 3840
Mainboard: Asus P7P55D Pro @ 160
Memory: Cor Ven 8GB DDR3-1600 CL8
Soundcard: Auzentech X-Fi Prelude
PSU: OCZ GameXStream 700W
Default 01-24-2013, 18:01 | posts: 204 | Location: Quebec, Canada

Harmony 880 owner here.

What will they do with the web site used by the drivers ? If the new owner close it the drivers wont work anymore and the remote db wont be updated anymore.

Last edited by MonstroMart; 01-24-2013 at 18:03.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
dark_surge
Master Guru
 
dark_surge's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 780 SC 3GB
Processor: Intel i7 3820 @4.0
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: G.SKILL DDR3 1600 16GB
Soundcard: X-FI Fatal1ty PCI-E
PSU: Corsair TX750
Default 01-24-2013, 21:40 | posts: 794 | Location: ND - US

It seems it's not just the remotes that are getting the axe. Say goodbye to their headsets and well made Steering Wheels as well. Source

I wish I still had my G27. I had a solid steel frame I made myself and bolted on a bucket seat from an old Renault of mine (it had to of weighed over 130lbs..but it was durable ) and it served me well until I sold it to a buddy of mine and his house burned down a few months later.

Last edited by dark_surge; 01-24-2013 at 21:50.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
proFits
Ancient Guru
 
proFits's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 680
Processor: Intel i7 950
Mainboard: ASUS P6X58D PREMIUM
Memory: Corsair 2x8GB 1600MHZ
Soundcard: Turtle Beach Headphones
PSU: Thermaltake 850W modular
Default 01-24-2013, 23:18 | posts: 5,857 | Location: Montreal

Have a 1100 and it's too expensive for what it does honestly. received it as a gift so can't complain on the enjoyability of the device though.

I use it mostly because it also controls the Xbox so I don't ever have to change controllers except for games.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
dcx_badass
Ancient Guru
 
dcx_badass's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX570 1280mb
Processor: I5 4670k
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z87X-D3H
Memory: 8GB DDR3 1333mhz
Soundcard: Realtek ALC892
PSU: 600w OCZ StealthXstream
Default 01-24-2013, 23:52 | posts: 9,861 | Location: Yorkshire [UK]

Quote:
Originally Posted by sykozis View Post
Economies went to ****....and Logitech charges too much for a product line that's going to have very limited sales.... Honestly, I've never seen where the price tag on Harmony remotes was even remotely justified. Maybe if they charged a reasonable price, they'd have made more money....
You mean like this? Three Harmony 300's for 9.32 total inc shipping (3.11 each) direct from Logitech.. Got my other two 300's for 9.99 each which I don't think is bad, but no where near the others for value. Gotta love misprices!

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Nato.dbnz
Ancient Guru
 
Nato.dbnz's Avatar
 
Videocard: 5870 Crossfire
Processor: 2500k 4.5GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P8P67 Pro
Memory: 8Gb Dominator 1600
Soundcard: Xonar STX + HD598
PSU: Silverstone Strider 1000W
Default 01-25-2013, 02:10 | posts: 3,263 | Location: Auckland NZ

Ugh Logitech keep killing their best products! Squeezebox...now the remotes.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
ROMA_TUROK
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GeForce GTX 670
Processor: i5-3470 3.20GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z77M-D3H
Memory: 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 1600MHz
Soundcard:
PSU: 650 W
Default 01-25-2013, 19:52 | posts: 146

Have Harmony 300
I don't like it at all
delay time on several press buttons
position of buttons not easy to use on XBMC
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
Stormyandcold
Maha Guru
 
Stormyandcold's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nvidia GTX 680m 4GB
Processor: Intel i7 3610QM 2.3-3.3
Mainboard: Pwn PCs/Clevo P150em
Memory: 8GB DDR3 1600mhz
Soundcard: RME Babyface (Awesome)
PSU: 180watt laptop psu
Default 01-27-2013, 03:18 | posts: 2,417 | Location: Wolverhampton, UK

As a once hardcore fps gamer I got through quite a few Logitech mice, but, the build-quality was always excellent especially compared to MS V3 mice. Logitech would last me at least 6 months while I could get through one V3 every 2-3months.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.