Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Frontpage news
Frontpage news Perhaps you have some news to report or want to check out the latest Guru3D headlines and comment ? Check it in here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Black Hole benchmark Download
Old
  (#1)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 5960K
Mainboard: X99
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default Black Hole benchmark Download - 01-23-2013, 19:46 | posts: 21,698 | Location: Guru3D testlab

Download the Black Hole benchmark (Beta). It tests the pure calculation speed of your cpu in double and integer (floating and integer). The bench has 2 tests, multithreaded and singlethreaded. Multith...

Black Hole benchmark Download
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
dark_surge
Master Guru
 
dark_surge's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 780 SC 3GB
Processor: Intel i7 3820 @4.0
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: G.SKILL DDR3 1600 16GB
Soundcard: X-FI Fatal1ty PCI-E
PSU: Corsair TX750
Default 01-23-2013, 20:36 | posts: 794 | Location: ND - US

Thanks!

Results:
 Click to show spoiler



Don't know if that's good or not. Just have to wait and see.

**Added**
Oops, I see there's already a thread for results. Sorry about that.

Last edited by dark_surge; 01-23-2013 at 20:51.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
SmileMan
Member Guru
 
Videocard: AMD hd7950 3GB
Processor: Intel i7 2600k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: OCZ MODXSTREAM 700W
Default 01-23-2013, 23:13 | posts: 78

No, you're right to post here. This is for the new beta, the other thread is from 4.1.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
airbud7
Ancient Guru
 
airbud7's Avatar
 
Videocard: HIS HD 6870
Processor: I3-2120
Mainboard: ASRock H61icafe
Memory: 8GB G.SKILL DDR3 1333
Soundcard: Xonar DX
PSU: PC Power&Cooling S61EPS
Default 01-24-2013, 00:24 | posts: 2,881 | Location: Evans Ga,USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by dark_surge View Post
Thanks!

Results:
 Click to show spoiler



Don't know if that's good or not. Just have to wait and see.

**Added**
Oops, I see there's already a thread for results. Sorry about that.

How did you save the image? ms paint? I get no right click.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
dark_surge
Master Guru
 
dark_surge's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 780 SC 3GB
Processor: Intel i7 3820 @4.0
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: G.SKILL DDR3 1600 16GB
Soundcard: X-FI Fatal1ty PCI-E
PSU: Corsair TX750
Default 01-24-2013, 00:46 | posts: 794 | Location: ND - US

Quote:
Originally Posted by airbud7 View Post
How did you save the image? ms paint? I get no right click.
I used GIMP to save the image. I say save, but I guess they call it exporting now. </semantics>

Last edited by dark_surge; 01-24-2013 at 00:51.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
BetA
Ancient Guru
 
BetA's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX670 PEOC@1350Mhz
Processor: Q9550@3,8Ghz@Vendetta2
Mainboard: Asus P5Q Ketīs mBIOS :)
Memory: 4x2048 OCZ-REAPER 1080Mhz
Soundcard: CreativeX-FI X-tremeGamer
PSU: Corsair VX550W 550 Watt
Default 01-24-2013, 19:56 | posts: 3,808 | Location: outside the Box...

hmmm, am i wrong or do i really allmost keep up with the i7 u have????

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
dark_surge
Master Guru
 
dark_surge's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 780 SC 3GB
Processor: Intel i7 3820 @4.0
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: G.SKILL DDR3 1600 16GB
Soundcard: X-FI Fatal1ty PCI-E
PSU: Corsair TX750
Default 01-24-2013, 20:42 | posts: 794 | Location: ND - US

Quote:
Originally Posted by BetA View Post
hmmm, am i wrong or do i really allmost keep up with the i7 u have????
Nah if anything I'm doing it wrong. I've noticed the same thing on the 4.1 benchmark thread. I think I just need to take a look in the BIOS and see if there's any throttling or power management junk or etc I've overlooked. Either that or this CPU isn't as good as I originally thought. I got it for practically nothing so it's a possibility.

**Added**
After playing around in the BIOS I managed this:

 Click to show spoiler



Not much better but oh well.

To be honest it's been almost a decade since I last overclocked anything or really messed around with the BIOS, especially with this Rampage IV. There's just a staggering amount of options to change when compared to any mobo I've ever owned in the past. Technology is already so fast nowadays and I've got a steady job so I haven't needed to squeeze every last drop of performance out of my electronics like I used to. I just do the basics of updating the BIOS when needed, turning off any throttling or whatnot, and making sure my clock speeds and timings are where they should be and then I leave it alone.

And on that note, if anybody else has a Rampage IV extreme and has any pointers I'd appreciate any help I can get.

**Added**
After googling your CPU I see you've got quite a nice OC on it. 2.83GHz to 3.8?

**Added**
@4.2GHz
 Click to show spoiler


Last edited by dark_surge; 01-24-2013 at 21:57.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
zipper
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 680M
Processor: i7 3630QM
Mainboard: MSI
Memory: 16 GB
Soundcard:
PSU: 180+ min battery
Default 01-24-2013, 21:22 | posts: 618 | Location: finland

My old laptop lags behind...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
SmileMan
Member Guru
 
Videocard: AMD hd7950 3GB
Processor: Intel i7 2600k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: OCZ MODXSTREAM 700W
Default 01-24-2013, 23:27 | posts: 78

Quote:
Originally Posted by dark_surge View Post
Nah if anything I'm doing it wrong. I've noticed the same thing on the 4.1 benchmark thread. I think I just need to take a look in the BIOS and see if there's any throttling or power management junk or etc I've overlooked. Either that or this CPU isn't as good as I originally thought. I got it for practically nothing so it's a possibility.

**Added**
After playing around in the BIOS I managed this:

 Click to show spoiler



Not much better but oh well.

To be honest it's been almost a decade since I last overclocked anything or really messed around with the BIOS, especially with this Rampage IV. There's just a staggering amount of options to change when compared to any mobo I've ever owned in the past. Technology is already so fast nowadays and I've got a steady job so I haven't needed to squeeze every last drop of performance out of my electronics like I used to. I just do the basics of updating the BIOS when needed, turning off any throttling or whatnot, and making sure my clock speeds and timings are where they should be and then I leave it alone.

And on that note, if anybody else has a Rampage IV extreme and has any pointers I'd appreciate any help I can get.

**Added**
After googling your CPU I see you've got quite a nice OC on it. 2.83GHz to 3.8?

**Added**
@4.2GHz
 Click to show spoiler
Clock for clock the old intel series aren't that much behind in pure calc speed. If you'd test an i5 2500k at the same speed of the c2q, you'll only see a difference of 200-300 points.
Anyway, the new series are cooler and can be clocked much higher (w/o ln2)
The reason why the difference quad threaded cpu vs 8threads is minimal, is because singlethreaded and quad threads will give around the same result.
That said, overclocking does help VERY much in this bench, especially multithreaded will scale up. Here will all 8threaded cpus gain much points, because the scale of the multithreaded test is much bigger .

I'll try 5.2ghz tomorrow.

Edit: People with overclocked phenoms are very welcome atm!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
SmileMan
Member Guru
 
Videocard: AMD hd7950 3GB
Processor: Intel i7 2600k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: OCZ MODXSTREAM 700W
Default 01-24-2013, 23:55 | posts: 78

Quote:
Originally Posted by zipper View Post
My old laptop lags behind...
Really, it's an okey score compared to some others I saw already.

Some scores:

Athlon 64 3700+ stock



I7 3770 stock (3.4ghz, for singlethreaded 3.9ghz, turbo always on 1 thread)

So it seems there IS still a big difference c2q if they were on same clock. Could you test that c2q on 3.5ghz?


I5 2500k @4.3ghz



I7 920 stock (2.63ghz)



I7 2600k @5ghz (will do 5.2 or more tomorrow)



I7 3930k @4.9ghz



I7 2630QM stock (2ghz)


For people who want to get the best score out of their systems, lowering RAM LATENCY (speed not really), makes pretty much sense in the score and will give it a 200-500 points boost.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX780 OC AmpFan
Processor: i7 4770K OC 4.7GHz @1.28v
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe
Memory: Crucial BLE 16GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: Chieftec NTRO88+ 650W
Default 01-25-2013, 00:04 | posts: 8,522 | Location: Urban`Jungle

Quote:
So it seems there IS still a big difference c2q if they were on same clock. Could you test that c2q on 3.5ghz?
Here is mine at ~ 3.56ghz

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
dark_surge
Master Guru
 
dark_surge's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 780 SC 3GB
Processor: Intel i7 3820 @4.0
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: G.SKILL DDR3 1600 16GB
Soundcard: X-FI Fatal1ty PCI-E
PSU: Corsair TX750
Default 01-25-2013, 00:23 | posts: 794 | Location: ND - US

Quote:
Originally Posted by SmileMan View Post
Clock for clock the old intel series aren't that much behind in pure calc speed. If you'd test an i5 2500k at the same speed of the c2q, you'll only see a difference of 200-300 points.
Anyway, the new series are cooler and can be clocked much higher (w/o ln2)
The reason why the difference quad threaded cpu vs 8threads is minimal, is because singlethreaded and quad threads will give around the same result.
That said, overclocking does help VERY much in this bench, especially multithreaded will scale up. Here will all 8threaded cpus gain much points, because the scale of the multithreaded test is much bigger .

I'll try 5.2ghz tomorrow.

Edit: People with overclocked phenoms are very welcome atm!
Wow, we have the creator himself here. Thank you for explaining that to me. I'm surprised there's so little difference between a lot of these CPUs.

I wish I still had my Phenom II 965 rig in one piece so I could test that for you.

Last edited by dark_surge; 01-25-2013 at 00:27.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
SmileMan
Member Guru
 
Videocard: AMD hd7950 3GB
Processor: Intel i7 2600k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: OCZ MODXSTREAM 700W
Default 01-25-2013, 00:33 | posts: 78

Np, could you plz experiment with your ram latency? Lower it a bit (1-2 cycles down or something) and test again. You'll have better scores.
Also, really close ALL programs. Even the smallest backgroundprograms like skype,... can affect your score pretty much.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
dark_surge
Master Guru
 
dark_surge's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 780 SC 3GB
Processor: Intel i7 3820 @4.0
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: G.SKILL DDR3 1600 16GB
Soundcard: X-FI Fatal1ty PCI-E
PSU: Corsair TX750
Default 01-25-2013, 03:27 | posts: 794 | Location: ND - US

@3.8GHz






For some reason I got a better score running the memory at 1600MHz than 1866. I'm assuming it's because the 3820 is only supposed to run up to 1600MHz when in quad channel?

I tried tightening my RAM timings but I couldn't manage anything lower than 8-9-9-23-1 @1.55v (I was at 9-9-9-24-1 @1.5v originally) and I didn't feel safe going much higher even though I've heard of people going up to 1.6 with this specific RAM.

Nonetheless, your advice has improved my score quite a bit. Thank you. It also got me back into OCing again a bit, although I've got a lot of catching up and re-educating to do before I feel as comfortable doing it as I once did. I feel like a junkie who's had his fix after 10 years of sobriety....that wasn't the best analogy.

Last edited by dark_surge; 01-25-2013 at 03:32.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
SmileMan
Member Guru
 
Videocard: AMD hd7950 3GB
Processor: Intel i7 2600k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: OCZ MODXSTREAM 700W
Default 01-25-2013, 09:15 | posts: 78

Quote:
Originally Posted by dark_surge View Post
@3.8GHz






For some reason I got a better score running the memory at 1600MHz than 1866. I'm assuming it's because the 3820 is only supposed to run up to 1600MHz when in quad channel?

I tried tightening my RAM timings but I couldn't manage anything lower than 8-9-9-23-1 @1.55v (I was at 9-9-9-24-1 @1.5v originally) and I didn't feel safe going much higher even though I've heard of people going up to 1.6 with this specific RAM.

Nonetheless, your advice has improved my score quite a bit. Thank you. It also got me back into OCing again a bit, although I've got a lot of catching up and re-educating to do before I feel as comfortable doing it as I once did. I feel like a junkie who's had his fix after 10 years of sobriety....that wasn't the best analogy.
Going over 1.6v with your ram isn't dangerous, I run my ram at 1.59v all the time. Because I've 2 kingston hyperX sticks and 2 ripjaws, but the kingstons need more voltage to get these 1600mhz...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
beta-sama
Member Guru
 
Videocard: ZTC GTX 680 AMP! Edition
Processor: i7-3770K @ 4.80Ghz 1.35v
Mainboard: MSI Big Bang Z77 MPower
Memory: Avexir 16GB @ 2400Mhz
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 01-25-2013, 12:19 | posts: 68 | Location: Belgium, Brussels



Uploaded with ImageShack.us
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
dark_surge
Master Guru
 
dark_surge's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 780 SC 3GB
Processor: Intel i7 3820 @4.0
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: G.SKILL DDR3 1600 16GB
Soundcard: X-FI Fatal1ty PCI-E
PSU: Corsair TX750
Default 01-25-2013, 16:15 | posts: 794 | Location: ND - US

Quote:
Originally Posted by SmileMan View Post
Going over 1.6v with your ram isn't dangerous, I run my ram at 1.59v all the time. Because I've 2 kingston hyperX sticks and 2 ripjaws, but the kingstons need more voltage to get these 1600mhz...
That's a relief. I'll try upping the voltage a tad then and see if I can tighten them up a bit more, although if I can't I'm happy with 8-9-9-24.

Thanks again for all your help!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
rflair
Don Commisso
 
rflair's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 980/290X
Processor: 3770K@4.4/Q9550@3.83
Mainboard: Asus P877V-Pro/Asus P5K-E
Memory: 16G 2GHz/8G 900MHz
Soundcard: Onboard/Fiio E10
PSU: Corsair HX850/PPC 860
Default 01-25-2013, 18:57 | posts: 3,083 | Location: Canada

12516

4644 4708 3164

Q9550@3.8GHz
   
Reply With Quote
my machine's results:
Old
  (#19)
DLD
Master Guru
 
DLD's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX770 Asus DirectCu2 OC
Processor: SandyB 2600K@4.4GHz
Mainboard: Asus Maximus IV gene-z
Memory: 2x8GB Mushkin1600Silver
Soundcard: on board 7.1
PSU: 600W Thermaltake ToughPwr
Smile my machine's results: - 01-26-2013, 19:50 | posts: 485 | Location: Serbia

   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.