Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI
Videocards - AMD - ATI AMD Radeon graphics cards. Do you have one or want to buy one? Use this forum to discuss anything concerning products using Radeon graphics cards, CrossFireX, from Radeon 9800 to HD 6900


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
RoyalQueen 7970
Old
  (#1)
loomx
Newbie
 
Videocard: 2x Club3D 7970 RoyalQueen
Processor: i7 3770k
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus V Gene
Memory: 16GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX
Soundcard: On Board
PSU: ANTEC Gamer 900w
Default RoyalQueen 7970 - 01-22-2013, 18:26 | posts: 34 | Location: UK - Oxon

Hi,

I have a couple Club 3D RoyalQueen 7970 's on the way, I was wondering if I could flash them to RoyalAce 7970s, from what it looks like they are all identical cards.

Or am I just better leaving it and overclocking the Queens myself.
I'm excited to see what score I get!

I currently have an ASUS DC2T 7970, but I need to get rid of it, because I cannot crossfire with that card, because it takes up three slots.
With that card alone I scored 10,446 points in 3DMark11
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 01-22-2013, 18:47 | posts: 23,945 | Location: NZ

Overclock the card using Afterburner.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
kevsamiga1974
Master Guru
 
kevsamiga1974's Avatar
 
Videocard: ULA
Processor: Z80A
Mainboard: 1982 Sinclair Research
Memory: Bubble Memory
Soundcard: Piezoelectric speakers
PSU: Solar Powered
Default 01-23-2013, 06:51 | posts: 758 | Location: England

Why not buy 5 of them and hexfire, then you'll have a royal flush...

Last edited by kevsamiga1974; 01-23-2013 at 06:53.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
SLI-756
Ancient Guru
 
SLI-756's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 760 SLI 4gb @1215
Processor: Devil's Canyon i5 @4.9
Mainboard: gigabyte z97 G1 Sniper
Memory: 8gb dominator gt @2400
Soundcard: asus xonar dx
PSU: xfx 850
Default 01-23-2013, 08:23 | posts: 7,110 | Location: Sunny Scotland

Damn i want a RoyalQueen too, i wouldn't flash them tbh just see how you go and anyways you may need to rma after finding a fault after a week or two.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
loomx
Newbie
 
Videocard: 2x Club3D 7970 RoyalQueen
Processor: i7 3770k
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus V Gene
Memory: 16GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX
Soundcard: On Board
PSU: ANTEC Gamer 900w
Default 01-23-2013, 23:52 | posts: 34 | Location: UK - Oxon

Sweet, I will be happy to use afterburner again, it wasn't supported on the DC2T.

Should be getting them Tuesday
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
loomx
Newbie
 
Videocard: 2x Club3D 7970 RoyalQueen
Processor: i7 3770k
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus V Gene
Memory: 16GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX
Soundcard: On Board
PSU: ANTEC Gamer 900w
Default 01-24-2013, 19:08 | posts: 34 | Location: UK - Oxon

Got them today! at Base clocks, without reinstalling catalyst drivers, or installing any CAP profiles I just scored 14,568 on 3DMark11 time to start fiddling!
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
7970, asus, club 3d, dc2t, royalqueen

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.