Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section
Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything Catalyst related. AMD Catalyst drivers are for all AMD ATI based graphics cards. This is also the place to discuss modified Catalyst drivers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
GuildWars 2 Irritating problem not solved again..
Old
  (#1)
kurtferro
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 7870 Windfx3
Processor: Intel I5 2500k@4,5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus p67 sabertooth
Memory: 8GB Corsair 1600 C8 T1
Soundcard: Creative FX bla bla
PSU: CM Silent-Gold 600W
Exclamation GuildWars 2 Irritating problem not solved again.. - 01-21-2013, 21:42 | posts: 65 | Location: Italy

I wonder when AMD will optimize drivers for GW2, because there are various problems that the nvidia cards are not seen, I have two configurations, an amd 7870 and a nvidia 650ti, set in the same way, for now I just want to present one of the bug.

I would like to draw the attention of developers because after these months it is inconceivable that a game of this level, which has had considerable success, has not been considered. I invite you to participate.

Strange bug on the texture that is also reflected on the character, as if a light is not present everywhere, but only in certain areas of the map permanently.

the first three are amd and nvidia are the following, taken in the same area







Last edited by kurtferro; 01-21-2013 at 21:47.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
GhostXL
Ancient Guru
 
GhostXL's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX 780 SLI @ 1150
Processor: i7 4790K @ 4.8ghz on H90
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus VII HERO Z97
Memory: G.Skill Trident DDR3 2667
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: CORSAIR AX1200 watt
Default 01-22-2013, 06:48 | posts: 5,565 | Location: PA, USA

Your issues are not the drivers, but possibly hardware. GW2 is highly optimized on HD 7 series. I've never seen this issue on my 7970 crossfire or single card.

Possibly back off any OC, as that issue you experience is usually a problem with bad video memory, or too high of an OC on the video memory. Try catalyst 13.1 or 13.2.

If your video card came pre oc'd, then underclock it to default reference specs and see what happens. I'm aiming towards bad memory.

If you are forcing AA through CCCl, put it on application as well to see how that goes. Run multisampling instead of supersampling in CCC also. Forcing AF should not cause this issue.

Is your card running too hot?

It is very well possible that you could have a card with a bad memory chip or two. Not all games will show it.

Last edited by GhostXL; 01-22-2013 at 06:54.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
TheDukeSD
Newbie
 
Videocard: HD 7750
Processor: Athlon II X4 640
Mainboard: Asrock 970 Pro3 2.0
Memory: 2x 2GB DDR3 Kingmax
Soundcard: Audigy SE
PSU: Seasonic S12II-520 Bronze
Default 01-22-2013, 10:15 | posts: 32

I have relative similar problems with my HD 7750: the lines u posted in those screenshots.
In my case those lines are somehow white (not 100% white) and black, but in my case those lines are always visible in some particular places (ac dungeon mostly in path 2 and in the cave near Altar's Windings in Queensdale) not everywhere.

Keep in mind that I have everything set on Low or Disabled in Graphic settings in GW2, no overclock (card is not factory overclocked), everything in ccc is left on defaults and the temperatures don't pass 50 C .

Added 1 screenshot to see the black lines I'm talking about



they changed a bit the color of clothes if my char is on top of them and make it a bit brighter then it should be



(not the best screenshot but u can still see how it affects the color of the clothes)

L.E.: And a considerable fps drop that I can't explain:



I can't explain it because in overflow servers i have 75 fps, after server restarts i have 75 fps (1 day later it drops to 15 fps), quest instance in same area i have 75 fps.

All the above started ~ 1 week after game release. In the first week I didn't had them and it's the only game where I see such things.

L.E. 2: My settings:


Last edited by TheDukeSD; 01-22-2013 at 11:10.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
ibitato
Ancient Guru
 
ibitato's Avatar
 
Videocard: 4870X2+4870 1GB on S T260
Processor: C2Q Q9450@3.6 1.384v
Mainboard: Asus Rampage Formula
Memory: 4x2GB@1080 5.5.5.15 5:6
Soundcard: Supreme FX II HD
PSU: Tagan TG900-BZ PipeRock
Default 01-22-2013, 10:29 | posts: 4,856 | Location: Spain

worth a shot, disable adaptative AA
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Scyphe
Master Guru
 
Scyphe's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Radeon 7950@1150/1700
Processor: Intel Core i5 3570K
Mainboard: MSI Z77-GD65
Memory: G.Skill 4x4GB DDR3
Soundcard: Line6 POD HD300
PSU: Corsair RM750
Default 01-22-2013, 11:11 | posts: 413 | Location: Sweden

I was just about to say that some of these issues come from forcing settings in CCC that the game engine have issues with, causing various kinds of problems. I've had games which had flickering textures, untextured areas etc. when I forced anything from AF to AA (and everything inbetween) in CCC.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
kurtferro
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 7870 Windfx3
Processor: Intel I5 2500k@4,5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus p67 sabertooth
Memory: 8GB Corsair 1600 C8 T1
Soundcard: Creative FX bla bla
PSU: CM Silent-Gold 600W
Default 01-22-2013, 23:34 | posts: 65 | Location: Italy

I have not forced anything in the drivers, I have this problem since I bought the video card (i was with 560ti before) I was told by many players see the lines when I saw it, in other areas however are not seen, since I have the card tried with all the drivers out from 12.10 -11 beta-13.1 - 13.2 beta, two operating systems installed windows 7 and windows 8, the problem remains the same, it is usually only in the inland areas, the lines are sometimes blue and sometimes white sometimes black, the video card in the game is to 54 degrees, I tried with a downclock memory and/or gpu, I have not forced anything from the driver, i use sweetfx but i have the same without it, I did all the tests no adjustment affects the bug.

ps: if someone are interested to test with me I'm Scarlett Reaper on Far Shiverpeaks

Last edited by kurtferro; 01-22-2013 at 23:43.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
srps
Member Guru
 
Videocard: ATI Radeon HD6950 DCII
Processor: Intel Core I7 2600k
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H
Memory: 2x 4GB DDR3 @800x2 MHz
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
PSU: Corsair TX650
Default 01-23-2013, 10:27 | posts: 45

I don't have much to help here, since I've never had an issue with GW2 graphics with whatever driver (I don't have a HD7870 though), but I find that issue extremely weird, and weird is that I've never seen anything like that anywhere, so it doesn't seem like a widespread case, which makes it even weirder.

Does no setting change ingame affect that issue?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
ibitato
Ancient Guru
 
ibitato's Avatar
 
Videocard: 4870X2+4870 1GB on S T260
Processor: C2Q Q9450@3.6 1.384v
Mainboard: Asus Rampage Formula
Memory: 4x2GB@1080 5.5.5.15 5:6
Soundcard: Supreme FX II HD
PSU: Tagan TG900-BZ PipeRock
Default 01-23-2013, 10:42 | posts: 4,856 | Location: Spain

maybe something stupid, but have you tried uninstalling and reinstalling the game ?
in the middle, clean sweep the drivers and install them once your PC says "genric vga" as gpu device
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
kurtferro
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 7870 Windfx3
Processor: Intel I5 2500k@4,5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus p67 sabertooth
Memory: 8GB Corsair 1600 C8 T1
Soundcard: Creative FX bla bla
PSU: CM Silent-Gold 600W
Default 01-23-2013, 21:55 | posts: 65 | Location: Italy

Quote:
Originally Posted by ibitato View Post
maybe something stupid, but have you tried uninstalling and reinstalling the game ?
in the middle, clean sweep the drivers and install them once your PC says "genric vga" as gpu device
i do all possible test with 2 different operating system, with clear installation too, it's my work in realty, and i have most personal computers for tests, i use nvidia 650ti in my computer shop and 7870 at home, i can change all game setting and nothing change, most time ago i see this lines with my last card (560ti) but with driver updates before i changed it with ati i never see more this problem. but when i talk in chat with my party most say yes i see too and most say now not but sometimes yes.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
GhostXL
Ancient Guru
 
GhostXL's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX 780 SLI @ 1150
Processor: i7 4790K @ 4.8ghz on H90
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus VII HERO Z97
Memory: G.Skill Trident DDR3 2667
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: CORSAIR AX1200 watt
Default 01-24-2013, 02:38 | posts: 5,565 | Location: PA, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by kurtferro View Post
i do all possible test with 2 different operating system, with clear installation too, it's my work in realty, and i have most personal computers for tests, i use nvidia 650ti in my computer shop and 7870 at home, i can change all game setting and nothing change, most time ago i see this lines with my last card (560ti) but with driver updates before i changed it with ati i never see more this problem. but when i talk in chat with my party most say yes i see too and most say now not but sometimes yes.
It could just be a 7870/50 issues then. I haven't experienced this ever on any driver yet.

Still though, AA modes can cause glitches just like this.

I'd suggest looking for maybe an updated BIOS for your card, but if you are unsure of how to flash Video BIOS, I wouldn't try it without looking at a few guides first.

Any time in the past I experienced this, was incompatible AA modes or bad Memory.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
kurtferro
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 7870 Windfx3
Processor: Intel I5 2500k@4,5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus p67 sabertooth
Memory: 8GB Corsair 1600 C8 T1
Soundcard: Creative FX bla bla
PSU: CM Silent-Gold 600W
Default 01-24-2013, 23:07 | posts: 65 | Location: Italy

Quote:
Originally Posted by GhostXL View Post
It could just be a 7870/50 issues then. I haven't experienced this ever on any driver yet.

Still though, AA modes can cause glitches just like this.

I'd suggest looking for maybe an updated BIOS for your card, but if you are unsure of how to flash Video BIOS, I wouldn't try it without looking at a few guides first.

Any time in the past I experienced this, was incompatible AA modes or bad Memory.
For my card there is no bios update now, I do not think it is a memory problem because if that were the fault would be random, not always in the same fixed points, it seems to me a rendering error, and indeed there are differences between the series 79xx and 78xx series then simply at the level of drivers are not comparable, if we are in game I brought in an area where I have the problem so you can see at the moment if you do not happen, I have a problem with anti-aliasing and without, the lines remain the same, with any game setting and the driver and without sweetfx the problem remains.

Last edited by kurtferro; 01-24-2013 at 23:09.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Ghosty
Ancient Guru
 
Ghosty's Avatar
 
Videocard: -
Processor: -
Mainboard: -
Memory: -
Soundcard: -
PSU: -
Default 01-25-2013, 13:22 | posts: 3,285 | Location: UK

Problems i had with my card were resolved with a BIOS update. I was getting a lot of game crashes and horrible screen tearing. Also had that white line in Planetside 2.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
PF Prophet
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 2x7870 2gb Dual-X(short)
Processor: AMD FX-8350@4.6ghz
Mainboard: Crosshair V-Z
Memory: 4x8gb Gskill Ares 1866
Soundcard: CHV-Z + z5500
PSU: PCP&C turbo cool 1200w
Default 01-25-2013, 19:11 | posts: 157 | Location: Washington

I will chime in here, I run dual 7870's at the moment, and Havent seen any of this, I would suggest you manually update dx9, run ccleaner over the system(you would be shocked how many times this fixes weirdness with games...)

once you have done that, grab radeon pro, build a custome profile for the game that forces nothing(or that disables all driver tweaks), then test, if its still a problem try tweaking settings one by one and see what happens, I do max out mip maps and texture quality......
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
kurtferro
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 7870 Windfx3
Processor: Intel I5 2500k@4,5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus p67 sabertooth
Memory: 8GB Corsair 1600 C8 T1
Soundcard: Creative FX bla bla
PSU: CM Silent-Gold 600W
Default 01-25-2013, 21:25 | posts: 65 | Location: Italy

Already done all, are ten years I do computer assistance, it's my job, I'm a fairly advanced user, and as I said there is no update for the bios of my video card, even though I did not request directly to the forum gygabite . lines are only in some areas and perfectly follow the textures, in 90% of the maps, this problem does not exist. currently had no problems in other games.

http://www.gigabyte.com/products/pro...8&dl=1#utility

Last edited by kurtferro; 01-25-2013 at 21:28.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
PF Prophet
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 2x7870 2gb Dual-X(short)
Processor: AMD FX-8350@4.6ghz
Mainboard: Crosshair V-Z
Memory: 4x8gb Gskill Ares 1866
Soundcard: CHV-Z + z5500
PSU: PCP&C turbo cool 1200w
Default 01-25-2013, 21:49 | posts: 157 | Location: Washington

have you updated your motherboard bios?

I know it may sound crazy but, my 990fx sabertooth had issues with 3 dif bios that seemed to be videocard related, asus knew it but never made note that they fixed it, the current bios work great tho
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
kurtferro
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 7870 Windfx3
Processor: Intel I5 2500k@4,5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus p67 sabertooth
Memory: 8GB Corsair 1600 C8 T1
Soundcard: Creative FX bla bla
PSU: CM Silent-Gold 600W
Default 01-25-2013, 22:22 | posts: 65 | Location: Italy

yes i have the last one

Quote:
Version 3602

Description Sabertooth P67 BIOS 3602
1.Improve compatibility with Windows 8 OS.
2.Improve system stability.
3.Enhance compatibility with some USB devices.
4. Fixed Nvidia GTX 680 hang when runing with UEFI driver.
5.Support new CPUs. Please refer to our website at: http://support.asus.com/cpusupport/c...Language=en-us
File Size
3,14 (MBytes) 2012.11.22 update
Download from
Global (DLM) Global
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
PF Prophet
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 2x7870 2gb Dual-X(short)
Processor: AMD FX-8350@4.6ghz
Mainboard: Crosshair V-Z
Memory: 4x8gb Gskill Ares 1866
Soundcard: CHV-Z + z5500
PSU: PCP&C turbo cool 1200w
Default 01-25-2013, 22:41 | posts: 157 | Location: Washington

just figured i was worth a shot.

some other things to try, set the pci-e clock to 101-103 range sometimes for whatever reason this helps with some systems.

also deleting the local settings file for gw2 can help(i have had to do it 2x), for whatever reason patching sometimes borks up hidden settings(why they couldnt just make the config file a .ini or .cfg file i dont know....)

this is a weird bug, I have seen similar on both amd and nvidia systems in the past, I have not seen it with my 7870's or 6870's at all.....
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
kurtferro
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 7870 Windfx3
Processor: Intel I5 2500k@4,5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus p67 sabertooth
Memory: 8GB Corsair 1600 C8 T1
Soundcard: Creative FX bla bla
PSU: CM Silent-Gold 600W
Default 01-25-2013, 23:18 | posts: 65 | Location: Italy

Quote:
Originally Posted by PF Prophet View Post
just figured i was worth a shot.

some other things to try, set the pci-e clock to 101-103 range sometimes for whatever reason this helps with some systems.

also deleting the local settings file for gw2 can help(i have had to do it 2x), for whatever reason patching sometimes borks up hidden settings(why they couldnt just make the config file a .ini or .cfg file i dont know....)

this is a weird bug, I have seen similar on both amd and nvidia systems in the past, I have not seen it with my 7870's or 6870's at all.....

tested with my guildmate in the same place, he have 7870 gygabite like mine, and he see the same bug, is not random it's fix and the line follow textures margin perfectly, is a rendering problem, that because i think is a driver problem. can you try with singol gpu in the same place? is in the whisper secret area inside the portal.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
TheDukeSD
Newbie
 
Videocard: HD 7750
Processor: Athlon II X4 640
Mainboard: Asrock 970 Pro3 2.0
Memory: 2x 2GB DDR3 Kingmax
Soundcard: Audigy SE
PSU: Seasonic S12II-520 Bronze
Default 01-25-2013, 23:25 | posts: 32

Yesterday I even added an hdd, installed windows xp sp3 on it and checked that location. The lines where there so I eliminated a posible problem with Vista/Win7. Tested with GW2 and LoL, in both I get considerable lower fps then in Vista/Win7.

Today I put back my old HD 5670. I no longer see the white/black/blue lines in the places where with my HD 7750 were always present. I first looked in that place on my htpc (sempron 145 + hd 4650, unplayable I know but still good to find artefacts caused by a game engine) with the gw2.dat file copied from my pc (to see if gw2.dat is somehow corupted or not) and there were no white/black/blue lines so I decided to see if I have the lines with my HD 5670 in my pc (trying to see if it's an issue with the pcie slot or my mb).



The area in this pic was full with black lines and you can see in the pic that now with my HD 5670 there is not a single black line.

I will have to test the card in another motherboard to see if I can replicate the same problems or not. If yes then well either there is a problem with the drivers or with the bios of my hd 7750 or my hd 7750 was broken from the first day I bought it (those lines are present from the first day and with any driver 12.3-13.2). If no then my hd 7750 don't want to work well with my mb.

kurtferro can you please check and see if u get strange white/black/blue lines in the area I get them? It's where cave troll spawn in Queensdale.

Last edited by TheDukeSD; 01-25-2013 at 23:45.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
kurtferro
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 7870 Windfx3
Processor: Intel I5 2500k@4,5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus p67 sabertooth
Memory: 8GB Corsair 1600 C8 T1
Soundcard: Creative FX bla bla
PSU: CM Silent-Gold 600W
Default 01-25-2013, 23:54 | posts: 65 | Location: Italy

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheDukeSD View Post
kurtferro can you please check and see if u get strange white/black/blue lines in the area I get them? It's where cave troll spawn in Queensdale.
you got the same problem like me, yes most cave have this problems, line can be white black blu or green, some dungeon have this problem too. i think is a driver problem for 78xx series and now 77xx

Last edited by kurtferro; 01-26-2013 at 00:07.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
TheDukeSD
Newbie
 
Videocard: HD 7750
Processor: Athlon II X4 640
Mainboard: Asrock 970 Pro3 2.0
Memory: 2x 2GB DDR3 Kingmax
Soundcard: Audigy SE
PSU: Seasonic S12II-520 Bronze
Default 01-26-2013, 01:08 | posts: 32

by any chance the bios on your 7870 starts with 015.020 ?
trying to find out if maybe there was a bugged bios revision causing those problems.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Tommolo91
Newbie
 
Videocard: gigabyte 7870 2gb oc
Processor: intel i5-3570k 3.4ghz
Mainboard: asRock z77 extreme 3
Memory: vengeance blue 2x4
Soundcard:
PSU: XFX 650 80bronze plus
Default 01-26-2013, 01:46 | posts: 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by kurtferro View Post
tested with my guildmate in the same place, he have 7870 gygabite like mine, and he see the same bug, is not random it's fix and the line follow textures margin perfectly, is a rendering problem, that because i think is a driver problem. can you try with singol gpu in the same place? is in the whisper secret area inside the portal.
Hi i'm the guildmate with the same gpu and the same problem that Kurtferro have found just after the entrance of order of whisper's cave (dungeon).

I've seen the same problem at lionar's pass near a fortress but the problem is that i remember same "irritating problems" with my old sapphire 5770 1gb .
I haven't the eye to catch problems like that at the first shot but and i'm not sure that the problem was already existed with my old gpu, but now
i can see the bug, shown like margins of precise geometrical side.
Black/green are the colours
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
kurtferro
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 7870 Windfx3
Processor: Intel I5 2500k@4,5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus p67 sabertooth
Memory: 8GB Corsair 1600 C8 T1
Soundcard: Creative FX bla bla
PSU: CM Silent-Gold 600W
Default 01-26-2013, 09:57 | posts: 65 | Location: Italy

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheDukeSD View Post
by any chance the bios on your 7870 starts with 015.020 ?
trying to find out if maybe there was a bugged bios revision causing those problems.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
Black_ice_Spain
Ancient Guru
 
Black_ice_Spain's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7850 1gb @ 1120mhz
Processor: 2500K @ 4.4 / 1.28v
Mainboard: Z77P-D3
Memory: 8gb 1600 CL9
Soundcard: Xonar DG
PSU: AC Strike-X 600W
Default 01-26-2013, 19:24 | posts: 4,356 | Location: Spain

lightning differences could be caused by shadows? shadows < medium makes the lord room @ hills (WvW) very dark, higher than that works fine (and i think every1 has that problem, not only ATIs).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
kurtferro
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 7870 Windfx3
Processor: Intel I5 2500k@4,5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus p67 sabertooth
Memory: 8GB Corsair 1600 C8 T1
Soundcard: Creative FX bla bla
PSU: CM Silent-Gold 600W
Default 02-03-2013, 16:28 | posts: 65 | Location: Italy

updated bios with this:
http://www.gigabyte.com/products/pro...?pid=4154#bios

updated driver with 13.2 beta4

but i have always the same problem with textures..

just report here:
http://www.amdsurveys.com/se.ashx?s=5A1E27D20B2F3F36
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.