Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section
Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything Catalyst related. AMD Catalyst drivers are for all AMD ATI based graphics cards. This is also the place to discuss modified Catalyst drivers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
AMD PCI Express (3GIO) Filter and PCI Bus Driver requires manual updating.
Old
  (#1)
Watcher
Maha Guru
 
Watcher's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 6850 OC CYCLONE 1 GB
Processor: Phenom IIX6 1090T@4.1ghz
Mainboard: ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0
Memory: G.SKILL RIPJAWS 8GB @1866
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
PSU: OCZ StealthXStream 2 600W
Default AMD PCI Express (3GIO) Filter and PCI Bus Driver requires manual updating. - 01-13-2013, 03:14 | posts: 2,181 | Location: Canada

I've come across some information that all AMD GPU owners on AMD Chipset boards should know. The PCI Express driver seems to be missed and not updated during catalyst driver installation. I've noticed this issue on a number of computers and seems to be an issue with Windows not allowing this update of this particular driver. You can verify the version of the PCI Express driver by following the direction below.

In device manager under " System Devices " open the tree and you will either have one of the two following entries:
1) (3GIO) Filter or
2) PCI Bus

The " (3GIO) Filter " is from older Catalyst drivers while the " PCI Bus " entry is from the newer Catalyst drivers.

If your GPU is using the latest version of Catalyst driver, you should never have the " (3GIO) Filter " entry.

The current driver version for the PCI Express bus is version 9.0.0.0

The following procedure will allow you to update the " PCI Bus " to the latest driver version.

When you install your catalyst driver, the installer copies the files it uses to the directory " C:\AMD\Support " followed by the version of Catalyst driver you are using. For example on my computer the whole path is " C:\AMD\Support\12-10_vista_win7_win8_64_dd_ccc_whql_net4 "

The last folder listed " 12-10_vista_win7_win8_64_dd_ccc_whql_net4 " will change depending on the version of Catalyst driver you are using.

Now navigate to the " C:\AMD\Support\12-10_vista_win7_win8_64_dd_ccc_whql_net4\Packages\Dr ivers\amdkmpfd "

In the folder " amdkmpfd " you will find additional folders. The folder name will identify what operating system the files inside the folder you will use: Ex folder " W764A " = Windows 7 x64 OS , folder " W7 " = Windows 7 x86 OS

Now double click your entry in your device manager. You'll find " PCI Bus " listed under the main heading of " System Devices " and change to the driver tab. Click on update driver and browse to the folder that holds the files for your operating system. Allow Windows to update the driver and you will need to reboot your computer.

Once computer restarts, your will have the latest driver version installed for the PCI Express bus.

As always, make a system restore point before you perform any driver updating.

I'm curious on how wide spread this issue is and will be monitoring this thread for responses.

Please follow this procedure after updating your (3GIO) filter to the PCI Bus Driver: http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=377811

Last edited by Watcher; 09-22-2013 at 01:19.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Espionage724
Maha Guru
 
Espionage724's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI R7850 PE 2GD5/OC
Processor: AMD FX-8350
Mainboard: MSI 990FXA-GD80V2
Memory: DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) 8GB
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DG
PSU: hec HP585D 585W ATX12V
Default 01-13-2013, 04:29 | posts: 1,290 | Location: Charleroi, PA

Just gave this a look on a Windows 8 x64 install. I was using the "PCI Bus" driver provided from Microsoft, and it was never updated with installation of 12.10 Chipset drivers.

Manually updating it resulted in my system locking up for about a minute (literally, no activity at all), then my display went out and came back on, and I was prompted to reboot.

I now have:



Edit: 12.11 Beta 11 GPU driver package has more updated drivers I noticed:


Last edited by Espionage724; 01-13-2013 at 04:45.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Watcher
Maha Guru
 
Watcher's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 6850 OC CYCLONE 1 GB
Processor: Phenom IIX6 1090T@4.1ghz
Mainboard: ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0
Memory: G.SKILL RIPJAWS 8GB @1866
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
PSU: OCZ StealthXStream 2 600W
Default 01-13-2013, 04:39 | posts: 2,181 | Location: Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by Espionage724 View Post
Just gave this a look on a Windows 8 x64 install. I was using the "PCI Bus" driver provided from Microsoft, and it was never updated with installation of 12.10 Chipset drivers.

Manually updating it resulted in my system locking up for about a minute (literally, no activity at all), then my display went out and came back on, and I was prompted to reboot.

I now have:

The newest version for Windows 8 might be 8.982.0.0

Windows 7 newest version is 9.0.0.0

Have you tried the beta driver for Windows 7 / 8 . It may have a newer driver : http://www.guru3d.com/files_details/..._download.html

Do you play any games? Try gaming and see how the computer performs with the driver you just installed.

If you have any issues, you can always roll back the driver to the earlier version.

Let us know.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
plywood99
Member Guru
 
plywood99's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970 @1300 / 1750
Processor: AMD 8350 @5ghz
Mainboard: Sabertooth 990FX Rev.2
Memory: 32gigs Ripjaws 1600
Soundcard: mobo sound
PSU: PCP&C Silencer 750
Default 01-13-2013, 05:02 | posts: 125 | Location: Ohio

Win8 64 pro here.

Amd driver was not installed. Just followed your guidelines and did a restart.
Updated with the 12.11 beta. Driver version showing as 9.0.0.0

Gonna play some games and see how things go.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
enix89
Newbie
 
Videocard: XFX ATI Radeon HD 5870
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z68-V GEN3
Memory: 8GB PNY DDR3 1600 mhz
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar Essence STX
PSU: Corsair HX750 750w
Default 01-13-2013, 05:09 | posts: 5 | Location: Venezuela

i dont see any pci bus or 3gi on system devices, i'm on widows 8 x64. ill post a screenshot in a while

edit: nvm i just read the part that says amd chipset

Last edited by enix89; 01-13-2013 at 05:32.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Plug2k
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: MSI -R9-295X2 8GB -4GB
Processor: i7 4790k @4.8ghz [Delid]
Mainboard: Gigabyte-z97soc Force
Memory: 2x Averix 2133 CL9 8GB 16
Soundcard: Creative ZXR + Sen650s
PSU: OCZ ZX 1250w PSU
Default 01-13-2013, 06:00 | posts: 1,084 | Location: Uk

I dont see any difference compaired to the 2006 win7 x64 pci bus driver i had installed.
think this is a placebo effect.

But surely there should be something that shows i mean between the original that came with windows 7 x64 its 2006 and the beta 11 pci bus driver is 2012 thats like almost 7 years newer ? lol

Surely something is better, then again if it was important you would have thought by now AMD/ATI or Microsoft would have reported to upgrade it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
inouext
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Amd Mobility 4250 / 6550
Processor: AMD Phenom II N850
Mainboard: Hewlett Packard 1440
Memory: 8GB DDR3 1333
Soundcard: n/a
PSU: n/a
Default 01-13-2013, 06:30 | posts: 47

Quote:
Originally Posted by Plug2k View Post
I dont see any difference compaired to the 2006 win7 x64 pci bus driver i had installed.
think this is a placebo effect.

But surely there should be something that shows i mean between the original that came with windows 7 x64 its 2006 and the beta 11 pci bus driver is 2012 thats like almost 7 years newer ? lol

Surely something is better, then again if it was important you would have thought by now AMD/ATI or Microsoft would have reported to upgrade it.
Same here.

Thanks for the guide anyway
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
plywood99
Member Guru
 
plywood99's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970 @1300 / 1750
Processor: AMD 8350 @5ghz
Mainboard: Sabertooth 990FX Rev.2
Memory: 32gigs Ripjaws 1600
Soundcard: mobo sound
PSU: PCP&C Silencer 750
Default 01-13-2013, 06:31 | posts: 125 | Location: Ohio

Played Far Cry 3 for an hour or so and didn't really notice a difference.

What exactly is this supposed to do?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Watcher
Maha Guru
 
Watcher's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 6850 OC CYCLONE 1 GB
Processor: Phenom IIX6 1090T@4.1ghz
Mainboard: ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0
Memory: G.SKILL RIPJAWS 8GB @1866
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
PSU: OCZ StealthXStream 2 600W
Default 01-13-2013, 07:02 | posts: 2,181 | Location: Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by plywood99 View Post
Played Far Cry 3 for an hour or so and didn't really notice a difference.

What exactly is this supposed to do?
Best practice is to have the latest driver installed for all your hardware to allow for better performance and bug fixes.

No different then updating your catalyst driver, audio driver, network card driver and so on.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Watcher
Maha Guru
 
Watcher's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 6850 OC CYCLONE 1 GB
Processor: Phenom IIX6 1090T@4.1ghz
Mainboard: ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0
Memory: G.SKILL RIPJAWS 8GB @1866
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
PSU: OCZ StealthXStream 2 600W
Default 01-15-2013, 21:54 | posts: 2,181 | Location: Canada

Just a reminder, while your updating your AMD PCI Express driver, you might as well repair your
System Environment Path at the same time:

http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=370748
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
crookedview
Newbie
 
Videocard: Radeon 7950 @ 1100/1400
Processor: Intel i7 4770K
Mainboard: Asus Z87-A
Memory: Ballistix 16GB DDR3 1600
Soundcard: Sound Blaster X-Fi
PSU: SeaSonic Platinum 660
Default 01-15-2013, 22:19 | posts: 16

Got my PCI Bus driver updated - thanks for the info. How about the AMD IO Driver and ATI I/O Communications Processor PCI Bus Controller?

For the IO Driver I have 1.0.0.15 (Provided by AMD)
For the PCI Bus Controller I have 6.1.7601.17514 (Provided by MS)

Using Win7 x64.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Watcher
Maha Guru
 
Watcher's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 6850 OC CYCLONE 1 GB
Processor: Phenom IIX6 1090T@4.1ghz
Mainboard: ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0
Memory: G.SKILL RIPJAWS 8GB @1866
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
PSU: OCZ StealthXStream 2 600W
Default 01-15-2013, 22:28 | posts: 2,181 | Location: Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by crookedview View Post
Got my PCI Bus driver updated - thanks for the info. How about the AMD IO Driver and ATI I/O Communications Processor PCI Bus Controller?

For the IO Driver I have 1.0.0.15 (Provided by AMD)
For the PCI Bus Controller I have 6.1.7601.17514 (Provided by MS)

Using Win7 x64.
The items you have listed are the up to date drivers for those devices.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
CrunchyBiscuit
Member Guru
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon HD6950 2GB
Processor: AMD Phenom II x4 970@3800
Mainboard: Asus M4A88T-M
Memory: Kingston HyperX 4GB DDR3
Soundcard: VIA HD Audio
PSU: Corsair TX650 V2
Default 01-15-2013, 22:43 | posts: 86

Thanks for this!

Turns out mine hadn't been properly updated since 2010
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Espionage724
Maha Guru
 
Espionage724's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI R7850 PE 2GD5/OC
Processor: AMD FX-8350
Mainboard: MSI 990FXA-GD80V2
Memory: DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) 8GB
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DG
PSU: hec HP585D 585W ATX12V
Default 01-15-2013, 23:12 | posts: 1,290 | Location: Charleroi, PA

Quote:
Originally Posted by plywood99 View Post
Played Far Cry 3 for an hour or so and didn't really notice a difference.

What exactly is this supposed to do?
If the driver exists, it has to exist for some reason (would of really liked to see a changelog or something from AMD though to see what was changed/fixed specifically). Although I didn't really notice any performance difference either.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
DM789
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 7850 PE 2GB dumping soon
Processor: AMD dumping soon
Mainboard: Gigabyte
Memory: 4GB
Soundcard: Realtek, Altec Lansing
PSU: Corsair TX750M
Default 01-16-2013, 13:32 | posts: 370 | Location: hooked on GTA V (PS3)

can anyone find out what are the changelog ?

because if it doesn't change anything, why did they make a new version of it, i have installed the new version, but nothing feels different.

@espionage :
when i updated mine, my system didn't lock itself, and my display didn't went blank, its weird why yours did that.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Terepin
Master Guru
 
Terepin's Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX780 AMP!
Processor: Core i7-4790K
Mainboard: ASUS MAXIMUS VII HERO
Memory: Corsair DDR3 2x4 GB @2133
Soundcard: Realtet ALC1150
PSU: Seasonic SS-860XP
Default 01-16-2013, 14:07 | posts: 325 | Location: Košice, Slovakia

Mine did that as well.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
ztooG
Newbie
 
Videocard: XFX 6950 2GB CDFC
Processor: Phenom II x4 980 BE @ 4.2
Mainboard: ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX
Memory: G.SKILLF3-14900CL9D-8GBXL
Soundcard: Onboard + T6100
PSU: Antec HCG-900W
Default 01-16-2013, 19:16 | posts: 13

Hey thanks man running on Win8 64 mine said it's from 2006. Updated and everything's okay but no difference, oh well.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Seren
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte HD7970 OC (1ghz)
Processor: AMD 8320 @ 4-4.3
Mainboard: Asus M5A97 Evo R2.0
Memory: 2x8GB Patriot VBM @1754
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: XFX 750w Core Edition
Default 01-16-2013, 20:25 | posts: 94 | Location: Perth, Western Australia

That version number -.-
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Watcher
Maha Guru
 
Watcher's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 6850 OC CYCLONE 1 GB
Processor: Phenom IIX6 1090T@4.1ghz
Mainboard: ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0
Memory: G.SKILL RIPJAWS 8GB @1866
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
PSU: OCZ StealthXStream 2 600W
Default 01-16-2013, 22:34 | posts: 2,181 | Location: Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by DM789 View Post
can anyone find out what are the changelog ?

because if it doesn't change anything, why did they make a new version of it, i have installed the new version, but nothing feels different.

@espionage :
when i updated mine, my system didn't lock itself, and my display didn't went blank, its weird why yours did that.
There seems to be some confusion about there being a separate change log for this driver. This is part and parcel of the catalyst driver package. This driver allows your AMD Chipset to function correctly between your OS and your installed GPU hardware.

You can think of this driver as part of the overall change log that comes out with every catalyst driver update.

You may not see any difference in game play but you don't know what is going on behind the scenes as far as OS to GPU operation and you don't know if there would be a situation were this driver would actually allow better performance.

Would you really want to take the chance on not having a driver that's not up to date when it's sole responsibility is the communication between the OS and the GPU hardware? I think not!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
Watcher
Maha Guru
 
Watcher's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 6850 OC CYCLONE 1 GB
Processor: Phenom IIX6 1090T@4.1ghz
Mainboard: ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0
Memory: G.SKILL RIPJAWS 8GB @1866
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
PSU: OCZ StealthXStream 2 600W
Default 01-16-2013, 22:58 | posts: 2,181 | Location: Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by Seren View Post
That version number -.-
If you are using the latest version of the Catalyst driver, you should perform the update as described on my first post.

If you are using an older version of the Catalyst driver, you may want to leave it.

Remember, you could always try the newer driver and if you experience any issues, you can always perform a driver roll back or a system restore to resolve any issues the newer driver may have caused.

If you would like to try the newer driver without installing the whole Catalyst driver, use the following steps.

1) Download the latest Catalyst driver.
2) Start the installer as you would if your are installing this version.
3) When the install windows appears and asked if you would like to do a custom or express install, just exit out of the installer. Your present Catalyst driver will be unaffected by this procedure.
4) The driver package will be present in the folders listed on my first post and you will be able to follow the driver update instructions from there.

Best practice is Always to make a system restore point before any driver update(s)

Last edited by Watcher; 01-17-2013 at 04:42.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
SlazsH
Member Guru
 
SlazsH's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI R9 280x 3GB OC
Processor: i7 4770k @ 4.3Ghz
Mainboard: z87 Asrock Extreme 4
Memory: CORSAIR DDR3 8GB @1600Mhz
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Silverstone 750w Strider+
Default 01-16-2013, 23:50 | posts: 70 | Location: Japan

I can confirm this on Win 7 X64. How can AMD miss that lol?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
GhostXL
Ancient Guru
 
GhostXL's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX 780 SLI @ 1150
Processor: i7 4790K @ 4.8ghz on H90
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus VII HERO Z97
Memory: G.Skill Trident DDR3 2667
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: CORSAIR AX1200 watt
Default 01-16-2013, 23:56 | posts: 5,632 | Location: PA, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by SlazsH View Post
I can confirm this on Win 7 X64. How can AMD miss that lol?
I'm on an Intel Chipset, and I have to manually update my bus drivers as well. I have to extract the Intel INF and manually search that file afterwards for the updated drivers.

So it's not just AMD.

I've come to believe it's windows automatically trying to say the stock driver is good enough, and no update is needed.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
Seren
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte HD7970 OC (1ghz)
Processor: AMD 8320 @ 4-4.3
Mainboard: Asus M5A97 Evo R2.0
Memory: 2x8GB Patriot VBM @1754
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: XFX 750w Core Edition
Default 01-17-2013, 00:07 | posts: 94 | Location: Perth, Western Australia

Quote:
Originally Posted by SlazsH View Post
I can confirm this on Win 7 X64. How can AMD miss that lol?
It hasn't been updating for me for years which possibly means it's not intended to as an update will likely not help anything if the current one is working.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
thehippo
Newbie
 
thehippo's Avatar
 
Videocard: HIS Radeon HD 7870
Processor: I7 3770K @ 4.5ghz
Mainboard: Z77 Extreme 4
Memory: G.Skill DDR3 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Audigy 2 zs
PSU: 600 watt
Default 01-17-2013, 01:41 | posts: 35

Quote:
Originally Posted by GhostXL View Post
I'm on an Intel Chipset, and I have to manually update my bus drivers as well. I have to extract the Intel INF and manually search that file afterwards for the updated drivers.

So it's not just AMD.

I've come to believe it's windows automatically trying to say the stock driver is good enough, and no update is needed.
*sidetrack*
I found an easier way of doing that: create a shortcut of the setup.exe then right click and go into it's properties then where it says target at the end of the "target" add -overall

from the readme:
-OVERALL
Updates ALL INF drivers on all available devices
even if third party drivers are currently installed.
This flag works in Interactive Mode only.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
Miken420
Member Guru
 
Miken420's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX HD5770 @950/1250 CFX
Processor: Phenom II X4 960T @4.0Ghz
Mainboard: Asus M4A78T-E 790GX
Memory: 8GB AMD DDR3 @1337 7-8-7
Soundcard: AMD HDMI Audio
PSU: Corsair TX650 V2
Default 01-17-2013, 02:01 | posts: 99 | Location: Chesilhurst NJ

Thanks a bunch for the guide! I've been holding onto these old Asus 7 series chipset drivers for so long just to be able to use the 3GIO driver from them.

Now I can finally delete that old 2009 crapola!
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.