Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA
Videocards - NVIDIA This forum is all about NVIDIA graphics cards and their technology. Do you have a question regarding an older GeForce videocard? Want to tell people how stylish a game works on that new shiny watercooled GeForce GTX 580 or SLI gaming rig? Get in here!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Graphics card fps help!
Old
  (#1)
stexa
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA GeForce GTX 660 Ti F
Processor: i5 2500k @ 3.3ghz
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: TX650M PSU
Default Graphics card fps help! - 01-06-2013, 00:26 | posts: 8

recently bought an EVGA GeForce GTX 660 Ti FTW Signature 2, On Battlefield 3 I get 70+ fps on ultra which is fine but when it comes to games like CoD4 or Team fortress 2 I get no where near as much fps as I got with my old card which was the GTS 450?


PC SPECS:

i5 2500k @ 3.4ghz
8GB Ram
TX650M PSU
1 TB


I've installed the latest drivers of the nvidia website.



My GTS 450 outperforms the 660 Ti how?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 7970CF @ 1100/1375 H2O
Processor: 5820K @ 4.3GHz 1.25V H2O
Mainboard: MSI X99S SLi Plus
Memory: 16GB Crucial DDR4-2133
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default 01-06-2013, 01:08 | posts: 3,380 | Location: Lebanon

Numbers. We need numbers.

How much FPS are you getting with the GTX660Ti on CoD and TF2, and how much FPS did you use to get with your GTS450? Did you check the clockspeeds these cards run at when running the game?

Maybe the GTX660Ti is not going into 3D clocks mode? (Use GPU-Z / MSI AB / EVGA Precision etc...)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
stexa
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA GeForce GTX 660 Ti F
Processor: i5 2500k @ 3.3ghz
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: TX650M PSU
Default 01-06-2013, 01:13 | posts: 8

COD4:

GTS 450 - 250 FPS constant
660 Ti - 250/150

TF2:

GTS 450 - 250/300 FPS
660 Ti - 150 FPS/LOWER
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
nicugoalkeper
Master Guru
 
nicugoalkeper's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 660 OC 2GB
Processor: Q6600 G0 @ 3600
Mainboard: Asus P5E
Memory: 4Gb DDR2 800 Geil Ultra
Soundcard: Soundmax
PSU: CoolMaster 620 Real Power
Default 01-06-2013, 11:51 | posts: 791 | Location: RO TM

Wat drivers do you use , did you tried different ones on new card, trie to oc your cpu a bit to see if you get a better score, but first see how the graphic cqrd works whit msi on game how much it use, memory speed and cpu. And did you used same gpu option on 450 like on 660.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
lehtv
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7950 3GB
Processor: i7-3770K @ 4.2 GHz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V
Memory: 2x4GB Samsung 1333
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DX + SH PC-350
PSU: Seasonic X-660
Default 01-06-2013, 11:57 | posts: 3,094

Why would you even want 250 FPS? What's your monitor?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
stexa
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA GeForce GTX 660 Ti F
Processor: i5 2500k @ 3.3ghz
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: TX650M PSU
Default 01-06-2013, 12:01 | posts: 8

Right, Some jumps on cod4 require a higher FPS so that you can jump further and move around the map faster. So I do need to have that higher FPS for advantage whilst playing, Yes I may not be able to see the change in quality but the FPS advantage on COD4 is crucial to how a player plays at LAN events etc... So I do need 250 fps, Also I use the latest drivers of the nvidia website + Yes I have used the same settings on all games.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
stexa
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA GeForce GTX 660 Ti F
Processor: i5 2500k @ 3.3ghz
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: TX650M PSU
Default 01-06-2013, 12:03 | posts: 8

Also in a cod4 mod called promod 250 fps is need to do certain jumps etc...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
lehtv
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7950 3GB
Processor: i7-3770K @ 4.2 GHz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V
Memory: 2x4GB Samsung 1333
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DX + SH PC-350
PSU: Seasonic X-660
Default 01-06-2013, 12:50 | posts: 3,094

Oh OK.

My guess is that the GPU downclocks to 2D mode because it thinks it doesn't have to work hard to maintain highly playable framerates. Which is basically true. It's happened to me in plenty of games

I think you can use NVIDIA Inspector, or even the control panel, to force 3D clocks at all times in-game. Of course it'd be good to verify whether the clocks actually change while in game - monitor with GPU-Z
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
3dPlayer
Banned
 
Videocard: Have
Processor: a
Mainboard: good
Memory: day
Soundcard: or
PSU: not
Default 01-06-2013, 12:57 | posts: 1,822

Quote:
Originally Posted by stexa View Post
Right, Some jumps on cod4 require a higher FPS so that you can jump further and move around the map faster. So I do need to have that higher FPS for advantage whilst playing, Yes I may not be able to see the change in quality but the FPS advantage on COD4 is crucial to how a player plays at LAN events etc... So I do need 250 fps, Also I use the latest drivers of the nvidia website + Yes I have used the same settings on all games.
That's the dumbest thing i've ever heard, more fps equals to less input lag therefore faster responsive, but from 100 to 250 i don't think you will notice what you are saying.

When i start reading your post i thought you were being ironic or trolling. haha

I see what you mean because i used to play CS:S but oh man, really 250?!

Can you make some videos to prove your theory, cap at 100 and in the next cap at 250.I'll wait for the proof.

I don't see the point of buying an FPS game to learn how to jump faster. hehe

Last edited by 3dPlayer; 01-06-2013 at 13:00.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
stexa
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA GeForce GTX 660 Ti F
Processor: i5 2500k @ 3.3ghz
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: TX650M PSU
Default 01-06-2013, 14:43 | posts: 8

Not dumb at all.

Id just like to add that what stexa is saying is correct. In CoD4 the higher the FPS the better. The game engine has a glitch in it where if you have an fps of 125, 250, 333 you actually jump further. It allows you to jump/run onto parts of the map that are typically not allowed or not intended.

Stexa:-

You might have variable vsync enabled in your Nvidia Control Panel or prehaps you have AA/AF turned on try using FXAA/TXAA.
You can find older drivers here although I would have thought the older drivers wont have support for the 6 series cards.

If you ever play cod4 then you will see...
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
gexa
Newbie
 
Videocard: nVIDIA GT550Ti 1gb
Processor: i5 3570k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: a **** one
Default 01-06-2013, 14:53 | posts: 6

Quote:
Originally Posted by dr.noob View Post
That's the dumbest thing i've ever heard, more fps equals to less input lag therefore faster responsive, but from 100 to 250 i don't think you will notice what you are saying.

When i start reading your post i thought you were being ironic or trolling. haha

I see what you mean because i used to play CS:S but oh man, really 250?!

Can you make some videos to prove your theory, cap at 100 and in the next cap at 250.I'll wait for the proof.

I don't see the point of buying an FPS game to learn how to jump faster. hehe
no that's the dumbest thing iv heard, if you don't know anything about the game why comment on the game, it DOES require 250 fps to jump higher and you have a big advantage if you do this, instead of commenting about the game try to help his problem and if you don't know don't reply
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
lehtv
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7950 3GB
Processor: i7-3770K @ 4.2 GHz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V
Memory: 2x4GB Samsung 1333
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DX + SH PC-350
PSU: Seasonic X-660
Default 01-06-2013, 15:38 | posts: 3,094

Quote:
Originally Posted by stexa View Post
Not dumb at all.

Id just like to add that what stexa is saying is correct. In CoD4 the higher the FPS the better. The game engine has a glitch in it where if you have an fps of 125, 250, 333 you actually jump further. It allows you to jump/run onto parts of the map that are typically not allowed or not intended.

Stexa:-

You might have variable vsync enabled in your Nvidia Control Panel or prehaps you have AA/AF turned on try using FXAA/TXAA.
You can find older drivers here although I would have thought the older drivers wont have support for the 6 series cards.

If you ever play cod4 then you will see...
Uh, you're speaking to yourself. Seems to me you intended to post under a new account named gexa but accidentally logged in with the other account.

Double accounts are forbidden by forum rules

Last edited by lehtv; 01-06-2013 at 15:57.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
stexa
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA GeForce GTX 660 Ti F
Processor: i5 2500k @ 3.3ghz
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: TX650M PSU
Default 01-06-2013, 15:43 | posts: 8

gexa is my mate you tool haha,

Also this is from another forum.

Caveman
Registered+
Join Date
Feb 2010
Posts
69
Thanks
0
Thanked
4 times in 4 posts
Caveman's system
Re: Graphics card fps help!
Id just like to add that what stexa is saying is correct. In CoD4 the higher the FPS the better. The game engine has a glitch in it where if you have an fps of 125, 250, 333 you actually jump further. It allows you to jump/run onto parts of the map that are typically not allowed or not intended.

Stexa:-

You might have variable vsync enabled in your Nvidia Control Panel or prehaps you have AA/AF turned on try using FXAA/TXAA.
You can find older drivers here although I would have thought the older drivers wont have support for the 6 series cards.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
gexa
Newbie
 
Videocard: nVIDIA GT550Ti 1gb
Processor: i5 3570k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: a **** one
Default 01-06-2013, 15:43 | posts: 6

Quote:
Originally Posted by lehtv View Post
Uh, you're speaking to yourself. Seems to me you intended to post under a new account named gexa but accidentally logged in with the other account.

Double accounts are forbidden by forum rules
no we arnt the same person we know each other but are different people
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
lehtv
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7950 3GB
Processor: i7-3770K @ 4.2 GHz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V
Memory: 2x4GB Samsung 1333
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DX + SH PC-350
PSU: Seasonic X-660
Default 01-06-2013, 15:50 | posts: 3,094

Quote:
Originally Posted by stexa
gexa is my mate you tool haha,
Personal insults are also against forum rules. I suggest you try to look at the situation from my perspective and think about what it looked like.

Quote:
Originally Posted by stexa
Also this is from another forum.
What forum?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
stexa
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA GeForce GTX 660 Ti F
Processor: i5 2500k @ 3.3ghz
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: TX650M PSU
Default 01-06-2013, 15:51 | posts: 8

You call that a personal insult?! Get outside more.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
gexa
Newbie
 
Videocard: nVIDIA GT550Ti 1gb
Processor: i5 3570k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: a **** one
Default 01-06-2013, 15:51 | posts: 6

Quote:
Originally Posted by lehtv View Post
Personal insults are also against forum rules. I suggest you try to look at the situation from my perspective and think about what it looked like.
tool? lol ste you're in trouble now!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
stexa
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA GeForce GTX 660 Ti F
Processor: i5 2500k @ 3.3ghz
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: TX650M PSU
Default 01-06-2013, 15:51 | posts: 8

http://forums.hexus.net/graphics-car...ps-help-2.html
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
lehtv
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7950 3GB
Processor: i7-3770K @ 4.2 GHz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V
Memory: 2x4GB Samsung 1333
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DX + SH PC-350
PSU: Seasonic X-660
Default 01-06-2013, 15:53 | posts: 3,094

Quote:
Originally Posted by stexa View Post
You call that a personal insult?! Get outside more.
Yeah, that is an insult. A mild one but an insult nonetheless. Tool is the same as a dumbass or an idiot.

edit: looks like I confused anandtech forum rules with guru3d. Nevermind.

Anyway, did you try what I suggested?

Last edited by lehtv; 01-06-2013 at 16:01.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
Dr.Phil
Newbie
 
Videocard: 7990
Processor: i7-3970X
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Rosewill HERCULES-1600
Default 01-06-2013, 16:07 | posts: 2

Now it don't take a doctor for me to tell you that gexa stexa is one person with a split personality.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
gexa
Newbie
 
Videocard: nVIDIA GT550Ti 1gb
Processor: i5 3570k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: a **** one
Default 01-06-2013, 16:16 | posts: 6

Quote:
Originally Posted by dr.phil View Post
now it don't take a doctor for me to tell you that gexa stexa is one person with a split personality.
*facedesk*
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
gexa
Newbie
 
Videocard: nVIDIA GT550Ti 1gb
Processor: i5 3570k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: a **** one
Default 01-06-2013, 16:20 | posts: 6

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr.Phil View Post
Now it don't take a doctor for me to tell you that gexa stexa is one person with a split personality.
http://steamcommunity.com/profiles/76561198070168141/ my profile
http://steamcommunity.com/profiles/76561198049601822 stes profile
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
bobdude
Maha Guru
 
bobdude's Avatar
 
Videocard: PS4
Processor: x86-64 AMD Jaguar 8 core
Mainboard: PS4
Memory: GDDR5 8GB
Soundcard: PS4
PSU: PS4
Default 01-06-2013, 16:33 | posts: 1,920 | Location: AZ

whow dude i thout i was the only one who had 2 steam accounts
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
gexa
Newbie
 
Videocard: nVIDIA GT550Ti 1gb
Processor: i5 3570k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: a **** one
Default 01-06-2013, 16:36 | posts: 6

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobdude View Post
whow dude i thout i was the only one who had 2 steam accounts
if we were the same guy do you think we would buy the same games? no stop being retards
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.