Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Want to talk about anything Hardware related? This is the place, you can discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Will this be able to handle two 670's in SLI?
Old
  (#1)
Justhavocman
Member Guru
 
Justhavocman's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus GTX 670 DC2
Processor: i7-2600
Mainboard: Foxxcon H61MXV
Memory: 8GB Corsair XMS3
Soundcard:
PSU: XFX PRO750W Core Edition
Default Will this be able to handle two 670's in SLI? - 12-27-2012, 11:51 | posts: 99 | Location: Greece

Hey there , im upgrading my psu to http://www.visionstudio.gr/prodinfo....step=undefined , i know it can handle a single 670 with easy but will it be able to handle two in SLI?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 12-27-2012, 11:54 | posts: 24,263 | Location: NZ

Yeah.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
PhazeDelta1
Ancient Guru
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780Ti Classified SLI
Processor: Intel i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z87
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Creative SB Z
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 1200 P2
Default 12-27-2012, 11:55 | posts: 13,604 | Location: USA

No. That PSU only has 2 x 6+2 pin pci-e cables.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 12-27-2012, 11:59 | posts: 24,263 | Location: NZ

I guess not.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Justhavocman
Member Guru
 
Justhavocman's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus GTX 670 DC2
Processor: i7-2600
Mainboard: Foxxcon H61MXV
Memory: 8GB Corsair XMS3
Soundcard:
PSU: XFX PRO750W Core Edition
Default 12-27-2012, 12:00 | posts: 99 | Location: Greece

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
Yeah.
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhazeDelta1 View Post
No. That PSU only has 2 x 6+2 pin pci-e cables.
Seems like we've got two opinions here :p Could you recommend a PSU that is SLI capable for under 100 euros?

site source : http://www.skroutz.gr/
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 12-27-2012, 12:09 | posts: 24,263 | Location: NZ

http://www.visionstudio.gr/prodinfo....step=undefined
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
PhazeDelta1
Ancient Guru
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780Ti Classified SLI
Processor: Intel i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z87
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Creative SB Z
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 1200 P2
Default 12-27-2012, 12:11 | posts: 13,604 | Location: USA

Ill second that recommendation.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
kanej2007
Ancient Guru
 
kanej2007's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 580 SLI 900/1800/4200
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z68-VPro
Memory: 12Gb Corsair Vengeance C8
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X Ultra 7.1
PSU: Fractal Design R2 1000W
Default 12-27-2012, 14:15 | posts: 6,878 | Location: Dubai, UAE / London, UK

Always best to get a quality psu, at least it's guaranteed to give out the power it says.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Zareph
Maha Guru
 
Zareph's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 670 FTW @ 1241
Processor: Core i7-920 C0 @ 4.01GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte EX58-UD3R FK
Memory: 16GB G.Skill RipjawZ 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeGamer + T6100
PSU: Corsair TX650W
Smile 12-28-2012, 14:04 | posts: 2,632 | Location: Denmark

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justhavocman View Post
Seems like we've got two opinions here :p Could you recommend a PSU that is SLI capable for under 100 euros?

site source : http://www.skroutz.gr/
I just happen to know for a fact that as it's got a single 12v rail, it's more than likely that it can run 2x GTX 670.

Example: my i7 920 is a C0, and breaking the 3.8GHz barrier takes quite the voltage increase, just to reach 4.0. That's a C0 for you. So that's some extra power consumption there. Back on topic:

Now, I also just got an eVGA GTX 670 FTW. And it just so happens my brother, whom I'm building a rig for once the last few parts arrive, has gotten the exact same card. Now as they've both arrived before the other parts, we decided to test them in SLI in my rig for a day - just for kicks.

Turns out my 650 watts Corsair TX650 is more than capable of handling them both at once. Tried it in Battlefield 3 maxed for hours, tried it in Hitman: Absolution, and Far Cry 3 - even Heaven benchmark 3.0. All maxed of course. It's also got a single 12v rail, with 56 amps on it (something like that, can't remember exactly) - which in this case is plenty to run two 670 FTW Editions at once, along with an overclocked i7-920 C0.

So judging from my own experience, the PSU that you linked should be able to handle it just fine, as it's also only got a single 12v rail (can't find out how many amps it's on, but I'd imagine 60-62ish?), is the same brand (Corsair), and is in theory capable of handling 50 watts more than mine. I obviously can't take any responsibility if your results vary, but I highly doubt it.

People overrate wattage big-time, and most often underrate the significance of amps on the 12v rail(s).

EDIT (and further proof):
http://www.evga.com/forums/fb.ashx?m=1682853
http://www.evga.com/forums/tm.aspx?h...page=1#1678369


Hope I could be of any help; it took a while to type this wall-of-text
Zareph / Peezee

Last edited by Zareph; 12-28-2012 at 14:07.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 12-28-2012, 14:10 | posts: 24,263 | Location: NZ

^You wrote that big long post for nothing...

In case you missed it:
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhazeDelta1 View Post
No. That PSU only has 2 x 6+2 pin pci-e cables.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Zareph
Maha Guru
 
Zareph's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 670 FTW @ 1241
Processor: Core i7-920 C0 @ 4.01GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte EX58-UD3R FK
Memory: 16GB G.Skill RipjawZ 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeGamer + T6100
PSU: Corsair TX650W
Default 12-28-2012, 14:50 | posts: 2,632 | Location: Denmark

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
^You wrote that big long post for nothing...

In case you missed it:
I admit that I may be slightly high, but even my GTX 670 FTW came with two molex-to-6-pin converter cables. Works for me like that in SLI. And my Corsair TX650W also has only 2x 6+2 pin connectors.

I'm still pretty damn sure that 700W Corsair, with a single 12v rail, should be enough. Assuming he has 4 molex cables free.

Last edited by Zareph; 12-28-2012 at 14:54.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SC SLI/Qnix 2710
Processor: 2600k 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 12-28-2012, 15:00 | posts: 18,793 | Location: New Jersey, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
thirded
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Xtreme1979
Maha Guru
 
Xtreme1979's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 680 2GB O/C
Processor: 2600K 4.4-4.7gHZ 1.30v
Mainboard: MSI P67A-C43 B3
Memory: DDR3 Ripjaws Z 2133 4x4gb
Soundcard: X-Fi/Klipsch ProMedia 2.1
PSU: SeaSonic X650 Gold
Default 12-28-2012, 15:03 | posts: 1,256 | Location: Bay City, MI

So yeah the PSU can handle the load, it just doesn't have the proper connectors. You can use adapters although this is normally frowned upon as seen by some responses.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 12-28-2012, 15:06 | posts: 24,263 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peezee View Post
I admit that I may be slightly high, but even my GTX 670 FTW came with two molex-to-6-pin converter cables. Works for me like that in SLI. And my Corsair TX650W also has only 2x 6+2 pin connectors.

I'm still pretty damn sure that 700W Corsair, with a single 12v rail, should be enough. Assuming he has 4 molex cables free.
That may be a last resort if you already own the PSU and are looking to add an extra GPU.

However, the OP is buying new PSU so has absolutely no reason to shortchange himself by purchasing a model with only half the required PCI-E connectors.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SC SLI/Qnix 2710
Processor: 2600k 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 12-28-2012, 15:23 | posts: 18,793 | Location: New Jersey, USA

Guys join me in the fight against (HAUI) hardware advice under the influence. This is serious and not a laughing matter.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 12-28-2012, 15:34 | posts: 24,263 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
Guys join me in the fight against (HAUI) hardware advice under the influence. This is serious and not a laughing matter.
I agree it's serious but I still lol'd when reading your comment.
Sorry.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Xtreme1979
Maha Guru
 
Xtreme1979's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 680 2GB O/C
Processor: 2600K 4.4-4.7gHZ 1.30v
Mainboard: MSI P67A-C43 B3
Memory: DDR3 Ripjaws Z 2133 4x4gb
Soundcard: X-Fi/Klipsch ProMedia 2.1
PSU: SeaSonic X650 Gold
Default 12-28-2012, 16:14 | posts: 1,256 | Location: Bay City, MI

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---tk--- View Post
guys join me in the fight against (haui) hardware advice under the influence. This is serious and not a laughing matter.
+
rofl
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
clawhamer
Maha Guru
 
clawhamer's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780 Classy 1228MHz
Processor: i7 4770K 4.4GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus VI Hero z87
Memory: Corsair Pt. 8GB 1866MHz
Soundcard: SupremeFX
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 12-28-2012, 18:50 | posts: 2,387 | Location: canada

HAUI... < that is funny


Recommending spending money (and time) on a part that doesnít cut it, isnít funny.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
jcSihle
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Inno 3d + POV GTX 580 SLI
Processor: i7 2600
Mainboard: MSI G45
Memory: Kingston Hyperx 16Gb 1600
Soundcard: Xonar DX & ROCCAT KAVE
PSU: XFX PRO 850W CORE SERIES
Default 12-30-2012, 11:05 | posts: 151 | Location: Durban South Africa

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
Guys join me in the fight against (HAUI) hardware advice under the influence. This is serious and not a laughing matter.
Hahahahahahahahahahhaha
Seconded
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.