Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Want to talk about anything Hardware related? This is the place, you can discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Monitor Wavy Line Problem
Old
  (#1)
Markusfen
Newbie
 
Markusfen's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI HD7850 2gb @ 1050mhz
Processor: AMD 955 BE @ 3.8ghz
Mainboard:
Memory: 8GB G.Skills Ripjaws DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: Antec 620w
Default Monitor Wavy Line Problem - 12-21-2012, 18:51 | posts: 42 | Location: Manchester, UK

Hi all.

I have recently bought a new GPU (MSI HD7850) and since then have developed very faint wavy lines on my monitor when playing games. These lines are very hard to describe, they are not solid, more like 'ghost' looking and are horizontal across the screen. I guess you could call it a wave effect and easier to see against a dark background.

At first I thought it was the GPU, but I tried with a GTX460 and I had the same problem (tested in GW2). I have tried changing the VGA cables (that's all my monitor can take) and even changed the vga/dvi adapter attached to the gpu.

Am I looking at potentially getting a new monitor here, or am i missing something blatantly obvious?

Oh and there is no other electrical equipment around the PC. Just the monitor and modem.

Hope you can help
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
naike
Maha Guru
 
naike's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus EAH5870
Processor: Phenom II x4 965BE
Mainboard: Asus M4A89GTD Pro/USB3
Memory: 4GB OCZ
Soundcard: Asus Xonar ST & HD555's
PSU: Antec Quattro 850W
Default 12-21-2012, 19:29 | posts: 2,013

How old is the monitor?
Did it occur to you that it might be a good idea to post the monitor specs, model etc.?..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Markusfen
Newbie
 
Markusfen's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI HD7850 2gb @ 1050mhz
Processor: AMD 955 BE @ 3.8ghz
Mainboard:
Memory: 8GB G.Skills Ripjaws DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: Antec 620w
Default 12-21-2012, 22:01 | posts: 42 | Location: Manchester, UK

The monitor is about 3 years old.

It is an LCD Acer X233H
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
clawhamer
Maha Guru
 
clawhamer's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780 Classified
Processor: Intel i7 4770K 4.4GHz
Mainboard: ASUS M6H Z87
Memory: Corsair Pt. 8GB 1866MHz
Soundcard: SupremeFX
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 12-21-2012, 23:39 | posts: 1,879 | Location: canada

You got another computer or laptop you could test the monitor with?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Markusfen
Newbie
 
Markusfen's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI HD7850 2gb @ 1050mhz
Processor: AMD 955 BE @ 3.8ghz
Mainboard:
Memory: 8GB G.Skills Ripjaws DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: Antec 620w
Default 12-22-2012, 17:05 | posts: 42 | Location: Manchester, UK

I tried it with another monitor, same problem.

Could it be that the PSU is going ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
naike
Maha Guru
 
naike's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus EAH5870
Processor: Phenom II x4 965BE
Mainboard: Asus M4A89GTD Pro/USB3
Memory: 4GB OCZ
Soundcard: Asus Xonar ST & HD555's
PSU: Antec Quattro 850W
Default 12-22-2012, 18:42 | posts: 2,013

Could it be software related?
Does it occur in bios as well?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
BABA-The Hacker
Master Guru
 
BABA-The Hacker's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX560 DirectCUII OC
Processor: i5-3470 IvyBridge 3.2/3.6
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68 M-PRO
Memory: G-Skill 8GB DDR3 1333 MHz
Soundcard: Realtek High Definition
PSU: Gigabyte Superb 550w
Default 12-22-2012, 18:56 | posts: 421 | Location: Xylanthia

did u asked anyone (maid or anyone)...if they hard pressured cleaned it?....or

had it been stressed to other SCREEN REFRESH RATES?


Wires earthed????

Last edited by BABA-The Hacker; 12-22-2012 at 19:09.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Markusfen
Newbie
 
Markusfen's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI HD7850 2gb @ 1050mhz
Processor: AMD 955 BE @ 3.8ghz
Mainboard:
Memory: 8GB G.Skills Ripjaws DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: Antec 620w
Default 12-23-2012, 11:03 | posts: 42 | Location: Manchester, UK

Baba, what do you mean?

Question. Is my PSU http://www.********************/show...odid=CA-148-AN powerful enough for a 7850 ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
BABA-The Hacker
Master Guru
 
BABA-The Hacker's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX560 DirectCUII OC
Processor: i5-3470 IvyBridge 3.2/3.6
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68 M-PRO
Memory: G-Skill 8GB DDR3 1333 MHz
Soundcard: Realtek High Definition
PSU: Gigabyte Superb 550w
Default 12-23-2012, 21:50 | posts: 421 | Location: Xylanthia

nah,////


most of the times..."low cost" chassis..and electrical power do make the topic...how?

- Not grounded electrical system-they do make interference!
-Bad computer case: not within standards


That's why i've asked if .... ur current [electric power] system...ok? *wires earthed*


Yeah...

Get an ELECTRICAL TEST SCREWDRIVER :



(knw how to use it...easy)

check the outer parts of your computer case and ur PSU....

It should not light!!!!!



Give a feedback after checking it out....

Last edited by BABA-The Hacker; 12-23-2012 at 21:54.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
BABA-The Hacker
Master Guru
 
BABA-The Hacker's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX560 DirectCUII OC
Processor: i5-3470 IvyBridge 3.2/3.6
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68 M-PRO
Memory: G-Skill 8GB DDR3 1333 MHz
Soundcard: Realtek High Definition
PSU: Gigabyte Superb 550w
Default 12-23-2012, 21:58 | posts: 421 | Location: Xylanthia

Only on a specific game..the problem arose??
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
naike
Maha Guru
 
naike's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus EAH5870
Processor: Phenom II x4 965BE
Mainboard: Asus M4A89GTD Pro/USB3
Memory: 4GB OCZ
Soundcard: Asus Xonar ST & HD555's
PSU: Antec Quattro 850W
Default 12-23-2012, 22:31 | posts: 2,013

Let me get this straight...
It just appeared, and now any monitor and any GPU it will reproduce the problem?

Last edited by naike; 12-23-2012 at 22:33.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
SoloCreep
Master Guru
 
SoloCreep's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 680 SC Signature
Processor: AMD FX-6200 BE 4.4 Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: CorsairXMS3 DDR3 1600 8gb
Soundcard: SupremeFX X-Fi 2
PSU: CORSAIR HX750 80+ Gold
Default 12-24-2012, 02:22 | posts: 196 | Location: Wa

Screen tearing? Are you using Vsync? Just starting here at the basics as tearing can be wavy like you're describing.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Markusfen
Newbie
 
Markusfen's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI HD7850 2gb @ 1050mhz
Processor: AMD 955 BE @ 3.8ghz
Mainboard:
Memory: 8GB G.Skills Ripjaws DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: Antec 620w
Default 12-24-2012, 06:15 | posts: 42 | Location: Manchester, UK

@naike Yes, that's correct

@Solocreep Yes, I am using Vsync. It's not screen tearing. It doesn't look like a graphical glitch.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
cartdog
Maha Guru
 
cartdog's Avatar
 
Videocard: SLi GTX680 FTW 4GB EKWB
Processor: i7 3930K EKWB 4.3GHZ
Mainboard: Gigabyte UP4
Memory: Corsair Plat 2133mhz 32GB
Soundcard: X-Fi
PSU: SilverStone Strider 1kw
Default 12-26-2012, 14:49 | posts: 1,548 | Location: Australia mate!

Have a look at monitor refresh rate settings, aswell as nvidia refresh rate settings. 59-60hz
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
naike
Maha Guru
 
naike's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus EAH5870
Processor: Phenom II x4 965BE
Mainboard: Asus M4A89GTD Pro/USB3
Memory: 4GB OCZ
Soundcard: Asus Xonar ST & HD555's
PSU: Antec Quattro 850W
Default 12-26-2012, 17:29 | posts: 2,013

The problem you describe sounds really like a monitor that's going to break any moment.
Could it be the cable?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
must_kill_ati
Maha Guru
 
must_kill_ati's Avatar
 
Videocard: Msi Gaming 780 Oc
Processor: I5 3570k @4.2
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 Gaming
Memory: CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB
Soundcard: Xonar DSX
PSU: Corsair 850w
Default 12-26-2012, 17:32 | posts: 1,226 | Location: Iowa

Is the monitor cable touching, or very close to, your power cord?
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.