Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI
Videocards - AMD - ATI AMD Radeon graphics cards. Do you have one or want to buy one? Use this forum to discuss anything concerning products using Radeon graphics cards, CrossFireX, from Radeon 9800 to HD 6900


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Card won't overclock anymore?
Old
  (#1)
Colt M4
Maha Guru
 
Colt M4's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7970OC 1125/1625
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K
Mainboard: Asus P67 Sabertooth
Memory: 16gb Corsair 1600mhz
Soundcard: Realtek
PSU: Corsair TX750W
Default Card won't overclock anymore? - 12-15-2012, 02:26 | posts: 815 | Location: Eden, NY

Well i was running my 7970 at 1125/1625 since april 12 with various drivers until last friday when my system started crashing cause of the overclock. I reinstalled the drivers, msi afterburner then the whole OS only to have it still crash. So I remove the overclock and it has worked fine all week. But now i want to overclock again and its doing it all again it will not overclock no matter what voltage. I am running on the 12.11 beta 11 and msi afterburner 2.3
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
nsegative
Newbie
 
Videocard: XFX 8800 GTX 768mb
Processor: Q6600 @ 3.6 ghz
Mainboard: Abit IP35-PRO
Memory: DD2 @ 800 mhz 4-4-4-12
Soundcard: X-Fi | HDH959 + 4.1
PSU: 620HX
Default 12-15-2012, 03:00 | posts: 24

I'm having a similar problem too:

2500k 4.7 ghz
7950 crossfire
850TX
windows 8

I had my 7950 crossfire running at 1100mhz for a good month without any issue. I then started playing a game that only used one gpu for a week and when I went back to play something using both gpus my games lock up instantly if I use crossfire and that overclock. If I turn off overclock and use cards by themselves they work fine.

Crossfire stock 900 mhz - Fine
Crossfire 1000 mhz oc - semi stable, locks at times. can close by forcing task manager
Crossfire 1000-1100 = instant ingame lock, can close by forcing task manager

I took the cards out, swapped psu cables, placed the top card in other slot but it still does it. Reinstalled drivers and tried older 12.11 beta 8 but it stills occured.

The reason why I think it might be the PSU:

if i turn crossfire off and use the 1100hz overclock it doesn't matter which card is in the primary slot, they both work fine and I tested them for hours at 100% gpu usage.


It's only if I turn the OC crossfire that it locks up (it doesn't lock the entire pc up, just the game. I can alt tab out and force it to quit).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
BlackZero
Ancient Guru
 
BlackZero's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 7970 OC
Processor: 2600K H2O
Mainboard: Asus P67 Pro
Memory: G.Skill 2133
Soundcard: X-Fi + 2400ES
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 12-15-2012, 07:20 | posts: 8,109 | Location: United Kingdom

@ Colt M4

Try uninstalling all drivers/overclocking utilities and then running genetix_cleanup, do not restart the pc after running the cleaning software or you'll have to enter safe mode and uninstall the standard vga drivers to avoid a black screen at boot.

@ nsegative

Have you disabled ULPS? The TX 850 is sufficient for an overclocked crossfire 7950 based system, assuming they use reference based 2x 75w PCI-e power connectors.

Last edited by BlackZero; 12-15-2012 at 16:24.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Colt M4
Maha Guru
 
Colt M4's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7970OC 1125/1625
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K
Mainboard: Asus P67 Sabertooth
Memory: 16gb Corsair 1600mhz
Soundcard: Realtek
PSU: Corsair TX750W
Default 12-15-2012, 07:36 | posts: 815 | Location: Eden, NY

genetix cleanup? i can clean ab out?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
BlackZero
Ancient Guru
 
BlackZero's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 7970 OC
Processor: 2600K H2O
Mainboard: Asus P67 Pro
Memory: G.Skill 2133
Soundcard: X-Fi + 2400ES
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 12-15-2012, 10:26 | posts: 8,109 | Location: United Kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by Colt M4 View Post
genetix cleanup? i can clean ab out?
Yes, from here Genetix Cleaner v5.01. It should clean everything, just be sure to uninstall all third party overclocking utilities.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
nsegative
Newbie
 
Videocard: XFX 8800 GTX 768mb
Processor: Q6600 @ 3.6 ghz
Mainboard: Abit IP35-PRO
Memory: DD2 @ 800 mhz 4-4-4-12
Soundcard: X-Fi | HDH959 + 4.1
PSU: 620HX
Default 12-15-2012, 12:47 | posts: 24

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackZero View Post
@ Colt M4

Try uninstalling all drivers/overclocking utilities and then running genetix_cleanup, do not restart the pc after running the cleaning software or you'll have to enter safe mode and uninstall the standard vga drivers to avoid a black screen at boot.

@ nsegative

Have you disabled ULPS? The TX 850 is borderline for an overclocked crossfire 7950 based system, could easily be due to the psu. Try to see if you can test with another more powerful psu.
It turned out that it's my secondary IPS screen that's causing the problem. It's connected via hdmi into gpu and dvi into screen. As soon as I unplug it and play my 1100 clocks work fine. Plug it back in and games lock up.

Not sure if ULPS would do anything but i'll look into it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
BlackZero
Ancient Guru
 
BlackZero's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 7970 OC
Processor: 2600K H2O
Mainboard: Asus P67 Pro
Memory: G.Skill 2133
Soundcard: X-Fi + 2400ES
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 12-15-2012, 15:07 | posts: 8,109 | Location: United Kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by nsegative View Post

Not sure if ULPS would do anything but i'll look into it.
You'll find that ULPS is the first thing you'd want to disable for trouble free crossfire overclocking. The simplest way is to use Sapphire's Trixx utility as it has the option built in.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
nsegative
Newbie
 
Videocard: XFX 8800 GTX 768mb
Processor: Q6600 @ 3.6 ghz
Mainboard: Abit IP35-PRO
Memory: DD2 @ 800 mhz 4-4-4-12
Soundcard: X-Fi | HDH959 + 4.1
PSU: 620HX
Default 12-15-2012, 16:10 | posts: 24

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackZero View Post
You'll find that ULPS is the first thing you'd want to disable for trouble free crossfire overclocking. The simplest way is to use Sapphire's Trixx utility as it has the option built in.
Disabling the ULPS with trixx solved my lock ups completely even with the 2nd screen using hdmi/dvi. Much thanks.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
BlackZero
Ancient Guru
 
BlackZero's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 7970 OC
Processor: 2600K H2O
Mainboard: Asus P67 Pro
Memory: G.Skill 2133
Soundcard: X-Fi + 2400ES
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 12-15-2012, 16:21 | posts: 8,109 | Location: United Kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by nsegative View Post
Disabling the ULPS with trixx solved my lock ups completely even with the 2nd screen using hdmi/dvi. Much thanks.
I'm glad it got fixed.

I should also clarify that the TX 850 should be more than sufficient for an overclocked crossfire 7950 based system as the reference design only uses 2 x 75w PCi-e power cables rather than a single 75w and 150w that 79770 and some non-ref 7950 cards use.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Colt M4
Maha Guru
 
Colt M4's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7970OC 1125/1625
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K
Mainboard: Asus P67 Sabertooth
Memory: 16gb Corsair 1600mhz
Soundcard: Realtek
PSU: Corsair TX750W
Default 12-15-2012, 17:12 | posts: 815 | Location: Eden, NY

Well I didn't use the genetix cleaner but I used driver sweeper 3.2 unistalled everything including ab then reinstalled 12.11 beta 11 but it still crashes. Its like the voltage falls off or isn't being applied. Going to try trixx

Edit trixx doesn't work. According to tech up it isn't applying the right voltage or any voltage.

Last edited by Colt M4; 12-15-2012 at 17:35.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Matt26LFC
Maha Guru
 
Matt26LFC's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970Ghz CF Qnix2710 96Hz
Processor: i5 3570K/Raystorm/120.5
Mainboard: Z77X-UD5H
Memory: 8GB 1866Mhz Platinums
Soundcard: ALC889 / HD449s
PSU: HX1050
Default 12-15-2012, 17:38 | posts: 2,478 | Location: UK

Maybe try a WHQL driver, like the 12.10 ones. Or have you already had AB 2.3.0 already running great with 12.11 BETA 11s?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Colt M4
Maha Guru
 
Colt M4's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7970OC 1125/1625
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K
Mainboard: Asus P67 Sabertooth
Memory: 16gb Corsair 1600mhz
Soundcard: Realtek
PSU: Corsair TX750W
Default 12-15-2012, 17:40 | posts: 815 | Location: Eden, NY

I had it running with the beta 4 for about 4 or 5 weeks. I am going try the 12.10 then. How much slower is the 12.10 than the 12.11?

Last edited by Colt M4; 12-15-2012 at 17:43.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Matt26LFC
Maha Guru
 
Matt26LFC's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970Ghz CF Qnix2710 96Hz
Processor: i5 3570K/Raystorm/120.5
Mainboard: Z77X-UD5H
Memory: 8GB 1866Mhz Platinums
Soundcard: ALC889 / HD449s
PSU: HX1050
Default 12-15-2012, 17:45 | posts: 2,478 | Location: UK

I don't know mate, I run 6000 series cards, so all the good stuff in the latest drivers doesn't really do anything for me as I believe its more for the GCN architecture.

Your 7970 is a beast anyway, it'll run anything really well with or without 12.11

At least if you try with 12.10 and its OK it could be because AB 2.3.0 isn't cool with the BETA11 version of 12.11 and you may have to wait for say 2.3.1 to be released.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
BlackZero
Ancient Guru
 
BlackZero's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 7970 OC
Processor: 2600K H2O
Mainboard: Asus P67 Pro
Memory: G.Skill 2133
Soundcard: X-Fi + 2400ES
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 12-15-2012, 17:54 | posts: 8,109 | Location: United Kingdom

Assuming driver cleaner cleared out the system (I can not be sure as I do not use it) and 'tech up' is able to read the voltages being applied correctly and you understand the difference between actual voltage and set voltage (vdroop) and are using the applications accordingly then either ovp is kicking in or there is still some software conflict as 'applying' voltage should work. Whether it's stable and works in games is another matter.

What is the stock voltage on the card? Perhaps providing a gpu-z sensors tab screenshot with the windowed render test could prove useful.

Something like this.



Also, if you have any doubts it's better to ask. You can not expect people to provide assistance if it means going around in circles because you are not willing to follow instructions.

Last edited by BlackZero; 12-15-2012 at 18:16.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Colt M4
Maha Guru
 
Colt M4's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7970OC 1125/1625
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K
Mainboard: Asus P67 Sabertooth
Memory: 16gb Corsair 1600mhz
Soundcard: Realtek
PSU: Corsair TX750W
Default 12-15-2012, 18:18 | posts: 815 | Location: Eden, NY

Stock voltage is 1.112 https://www.dropbox.com/s/e78zzhsx7k1p4ey/Untitled.png

I have always used driver sweeper it cleans out everything including the registery

Last edited by Colt M4; 12-15-2012 at 18:22.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
BlackZero
Ancient Guru
 
BlackZero's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 7970 OC
Processor: 2600K H2O
Mainboard: Asus P67 Pro
Memory: G.Skill 2133
Soundcard: X-Fi + 2400ES
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 12-15-2012, 18:36 | posts: 8,109 | Location: United Kingdom

I don't think either of us wants to discuss the pros and cons of what driver cleaning software to use and all such utilities are required to clean out the registry, though many do not recommend driver sweeper. A quick goggle search will likely highlight why, as my recommendation was based on experience.

In any case, according to that screenshot all is well at stock clocks i.e voltages/temps etc. Another similar screenshot, but with the higher clocks and voltages applied through afterburner or trixx would be helpful.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Colt M4
Maha Guru
 
Colt M4's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7970OC 1125/1625
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K
Mainboard: Asus P67 Sabertooth
Memory: 16gb Corsair 1600mhz
Soundcard: Realtek
PSU: Corsair TX750W
Default 12-15-2012, 18:49 | posts: 815 | Location: Eden, NY

Well it crashed to quick for me to get a screenshot but this is what it did. I applied 1.2 volts stock clocks started render test. Starts at 1.15 then 1.146 then 1.145, 1.143, 1.141, 1.136, 1.135, 1.134, 1.127, 1.126, 1.125, 1.124, 1.121, then last one i saw 1.107 crash all in about 45 seconds.

Also i didn't use the genetix cleaner cause I don't feel comfortable using a command line program.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
BlackZero
Ancient Guru
 
BlackZero's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 7970 OC
Processor: 2600K H2O
Mainboard: Asus P67 Pro
Memory: G.Skill 2133
Soundcard: X-Fi + 2400ES
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 12-15-2012, 18:58 | posts: 8,109 | Location: United Kingdom

Being GUI based or command line based does not effect the utility's effectiveness, it's also only a matter of pressing a single key.

I am not sure what clocks you applied for that test but that is less relevant, that does sound like there is a hardware error of sorts or the card is gradually limiting power as the load increases. Did you increase the power limit slider to +20%?

I am also assuming you did not make any changes to the bios or drivers between the time when all worked well and the issues appeared?


Edit:

It could also be caused by overheating components as it does sound a lot like a protection of some sort kicking in.

Last edited by BlackZero; 12-15-2012 at 19:03.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Colt M4
Maha Guru
 
Colt M4's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7970OC 1125/1625
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K
Mainboard: Asus P67 Sabertooth
Memory: 16gb Corsair 1600mhz
Soundcard: Realtek
PSU: Corsair TX750W
Default 12-15-2012, 19:07 | posts: 815 | Location: Eden, NY

yeah last friday it completely stopped working I had been using this version of afterburner with the 12.11 beta 4 since they came out. https://www.dropbox.com/s/6n8nzw5ptp82irn/Untitled1.png

Not sure if this could be a cause since I never see my temps over 60 and my vrm temps don't go above 70 but I have a Prolimatech MK-26 installed but i was using that cooler for 5 weeks before this started.

Last edited by Colt M4; 12-15-2012 at 19:10.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
BlackZero
Ancient Guru
 
BlackZero's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 7970 OC
Processor: 2600K H2O
Mainboard: Asus P67 Pro
Memory: G.Skill 2133
Soundcard: X-Fi + 2400ES
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 12-15-2012, 19:22 | posts: 8,109 | Location: United Kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by Colt M4 View Post
yeah last friday it completely stopped working I had been using this version of afterburner with the 12.11 beta 4 since they came out. https://www.dropbox.com/s/6n8nzw5ptp82irn/Untitled1.png

Not sure if this could be a cause since I never see my temps over 60 and my vrm temps don't go above 70 but I have a Prolimatech MK-26 installed but i was using that cooler for 5 weeks before this started.
That is most likely the cause if I was to guess. Something is probably overheating, try remounting or using the old cooler.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
Colt M4
Maha Guru
 
Colt M4's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7970OC 1125/1625
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K
Mainboard: Asus P67 Sabertooth
Memory: 16gb Corsair 1600mhz
Soundcard: Realtek
PSU: Corsair TX750W
Default 12-15-2012, 19:36 | posts: 815 | Location: Eden, NY

My question is it was working for a month or so and the temps never went above 60 and i am using the stock vrm and memory heatsinks?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
BlackZero
Ancient Guru
 
BlackZero's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 7970 OC
Processor: 2600K H2O
Mainboard: Asus P67 Pro
Memory: G.Skill 2133
Soundcard: X-Fi + 2400ES
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 12-15-2012, 19:49 | posts: 8,109 | Location: United Kingdom

No one can answer that short of inspecting the hardware. Try removing the sink and see if it makes any difference. You've tried everything else.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
Colt M4
Maha Guru
 
Colt M4's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7970OC 1125/1625
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K
Mainboard: Asus P67 Sabertooth
Memory: 16gb Corsair 1600mhz
Soundcard: Realtek
PSU: Corsair TX750W
Default 12-15-2012, 20:54 | posts: 815 | Location: Eden, NY

trying that right now I also tried the 12.8 right before hand they did the exact same thing.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
Colt M4
Maha Guru
 
Colt M4's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7970OC 1125/1625
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K
Mainboard: Asus P67 Sabertooth
Memory: 16gb Corsair 1600mhz
Soundcard: Realtek
PSU: Corsair TX750W
Default 12-15-2012, 22:43 | posts: 815 | Location: Eden, NY

Thanks so much for the help mate I think I got it fixed. I pulled the cooler off and reapplied the paste using the credit card method. The problem was defiantly heat wise cause i did a run of heaven so 4 minutes of bench marking at 1.2 volts and it hit 59 instead of 64 when it crashed at 40 seconds and it didn't droop as much started at 1.188 and ended up stable at 1.137. So my last question is what amount of droop acceptable?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
BlackZero
Ancient Guru
 
BlackZero's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 7970 OC
Processor: 2600K H2O
Mainboard: Asus P67 Pro
Memory: G.Skill 2133
Soundcard: X-Fi + 2400ES
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 12-15-2012, 22:52 | posts: 8,109 | Location: United Kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by Colt M4 View Post
Thanks so much for the help mate I think I got it fixed. I pulled the cooler off and reapplied the paste using the credit card method. The problem was defiantly heat wise cause i did a run of heaven so 4 minutes of bench marking at 1.2 volts and it hit 59 instead of 64 when it crashed at 40 seconds and it didn't droop as much started at 1.188 and ended up stable at 1.137. So my last question is what amount of droop acceptable?
You can't do anything about vdroop as far as software is concerned, keep going until you are stable, the final voltage is actual voltage and as long as temps are good that's all that matters.

I also suggest carefully checking the mount and figuring out what was overheating because if it took it a month to start playing up it may happen again, and even though it's unlikely, it could even damage something.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.