Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Frontpage news
Frontpage news Perhaps you have some news to report or want to check out the latest Guru3D headlines and comment ? Check it in here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Google Maps app now available for iOS
Old
  (#1)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 4770K
Mainboard: Z77
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default Google Maps app now available for iOS - 12-14-2012, 08:02 | posts: 21,012 | Location: Guru3D testlab

In case you missed it.*Google announced the completion of a Google Maps app for iOS, a new service created from ground-up specifically for the iOS platform. Google's app can be downloaded for free v...

Google Maps app now available for iOS
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
naike
Maha Guru
 
naike's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus EAH5870
Processor: Phenom II x4 965BE
Mainboard: Asus M4A89GTD Pro/USB3
Memory: 4GB OCZ
Soundcard: Asus Xonar ST & HD555's
PSU: Antec Quattro 850W
Default 12-14-2012, 13:53 | posts: 2,021

This something new?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Denial
Ancient Guru
 
Denial's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 980
Processor: i7-3770K
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus 5 Formula
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR3 2133
Soundcard: ZxR & HD800 Lyr/PC350SE
PSU: Seasonic 1000w
Default 12-14-2012, 14:15 | posts: 7,102 | Location: Above Earth in a Big Rocket Ship

Quote:
Originally Posted by naike View Post
This something new?
Not only is it new to iOS but it's superior to the Android version.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Exodite
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 6950 2GB @ Stock
Processor: Intel i7 2600K @ 1.15V
Mainboard: ASUS P8P67 Pro B3
Memory: 8GB Kingston PC10600
Soundcard: Realtek 892
PSU: Seasonic SS-460FL
Default 12-14-2012, 14:47 | posts: 1,652 | Location: LuleŚ, Sweden

Quote:
Originally Posted by Denial View Post
Not only is it new to iOS but it's superior to the Android version.
I really wouldn't go that far.

It's different than the Android version, arguably more adapted to the iOS demographic, but personally I prefer how the Android version exposes more options and parameters by default.

Which is really why I use Android in the first place I guess.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
hallryu
Don Altobello
 
hallryu's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x HD7970 - QNIX/U2711
Processor: 3770k delid@4.6GHz - H320
Mainboard: GA-Z77X-UP7 (F5)
Memory: Dominator GT 2133 2x4GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X + SP2500
PSU: BeQuiet! DP Pro 1200W
Default 12-14-2012, 15:02 | posts: 11,362 | Location: England

Thank the maker, Apple maps are poo!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
PhazeDelta1
Ancient Guru
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 770 Classified
Processor: Intel i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z87
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Creative SB Z
PSU: Seasonic X-850
Default 12-14-2012, 15:12 | posts: 13,418 | Location: USA

While Google does have good maps and a a pretty decent navigation system, I still prefer the TomTom app hands down.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
UZ7
Ancient Guru
 
UZ7's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 290 - XL2720T
Processor: i7 2600K
Mainboard: Asus Maximus V Gene
Memory: 8GB Samsung 30nm
Soundcard: SupremeFX III
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 12-14-2012, 20:47 | posts: 5,234 | Location: Everyday Rain Florida

I used to use Navigon (by Garmin) but lately I've just been using Google. All I have to say is GPS xxx xxx xxx or give me directions to 5 guys and it will automatically give me gps and I get real time traffic check and all that jazz, pretty accurate I must say.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
nick0323
Master Guru
 
nick0323's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 670 Windforce 3X
Processor: i5 2500k / 4.5GHz @1.275v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68 V-Pro Gen 3
Memory: Corsair Ven 2x4GB 1866MHz
Soundcard: Recon3D Fatal1ty Pro
PSU: Corsair CX750M
Default 12-14-2012, 23:17 | posts: 543 | Location: Old England

Navigon Europe has gone down £20 on the Windows Marketplace to £50. And for the latest update there is nothing but praise over what a fine app it is.

But £50 is a bump considering I only want UK maps, why can't they offer a UK version? Scrongle heads.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Sash
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: video
Processor: cpu
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: psu
Default 12-15-2012, 08:35 | posts: 7,004

it even has traffic information, something that apple failed to add in their maps,
this is 1000 better than apple's maps
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
lucidus
Ancient Guru
 
lucidus's Avatar
 
Videocard: 780
Processor: i7 920 3.7GHz
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe
Memory: 6GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair TX750
Default 12-15-2012, 08:46 | posts: 6,780 | Location: Dubai

Not available in my country's app store :-/
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Mr.Bigtime
Ancient Guru
 
Mr.Bigtime's Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX 680 @ 27" SA950
Processor: I7 4770K @ 3.5 GHZ
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 PRO
Memory: 16GB DDR3 1600 MHZ
Soundcard: ONBOARD & LOGITECH Z906
PSU: Coolermaster something
Default 12-15-2012, 09:00 | posts: 18,429 | Location: Turkey

not to my region.damn.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.