Go Back Forums > General Chat > Frontpage news
Frontpage news Perhaps you have some news to report or want to check out the latest Guru3D headlines and comment ? Check it in here.

Thread Tools Display Modes
Google Maps app now available for iOS
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 5960K
Mainboard: X99
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default Google Maps app now available for iOS - 12-14-2012, 09:02 | posts: 24,142 | Location: Guru3D testlab

In case you missed it.*Google announced the completion of a Google Maps app for iOS, a new service created from ground-up specifically for the iOS platform. Google's app can be downloaded for free v...

Google Maps app now available for iOS
Reply With Quote
Maha Guru
naike's Avatar
Videocard: Asus EAH5870
Processor: Phenom II x4 965BE
Mainboard: Asus M4A89GTD Pro/USB3
Memory: 4GB OCZ
Soundcard: Asus Xonar ST & HD555's
PSU: Antec Quattro 850W
Default 12-14-2012, 14:53 | posts: 2,021

This something new?
Reply With Quote
Ancient Guru
Denial's Avatar
Videocard: EVGA GTX 980
Processor: i7-4790K
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus VII Hero
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR3 2133
Soundcard: ZxR & HD800 Lyr/PC350SE
PSU: Seasonic 1000w
Default 12-14-2012, 15:15 | posts: 8,482 | Location: Dark Hallway

Originally Posted by naike View Post
This something new?
Not only is it new to iOS but it's superior to the Android version.
Reply With Quote
Maha Guru
Videocard: Gigabyte 6950 2GB @ Stock
Processor: Intel i7 2600K @ 1.15V
Mainboard: ASUS P8P67 Pro B3
Memory: 8GB Kingston PC10600
Soundcard: Realtek 892
PSU: Seasonic SS-460FL
Default 12-14-2012, 15:47 | posts: 1,652 | Location: LuleŚ, Sweden

Originally Posted by Denial View Post
Not only is it new to iOS but it's superior to the Android version.
I really wouldn't go that far.

It's different than the Android version, arguably more adapted to the iOS demographic, but personally I prefer how the Android version exposes more options and parameters by default.

Which is really why I use Android in the first place I guess.
Reply With Quote
Don Altobello
hallryu's Avatar
Videocard: 2x HD7970 - QNIX/U2711
Processor: 3770k delid@4.8GHz - H320
Mainboard: GA-Z77X-UP7 (F5)
Memory: Dominator GT 2134 2x4GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X + SP2500
PSU: BeQuiet! DP Pro 1200W
Default 12-14-2012, 16:02 | posts: 11,457 | Location: England

Thank the maker, Apple maps are poo!
Reply With Quote
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
Videocard: EVGA 970 FTW+
Processor: Intel i7 4790k
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z97X-UD5H-BK
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Magni 2 Uber/Modi 2 Uber
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 860
Default 12-14-2012, 16:12 | posts: 15,003 | Location: USA

While Google does have good maps and a a pretty decent navigation system, I still prefer the TomTom app hands down.
Reply With Quote
Ancient Guru
UZ7's Avatar
Videocard: MSI GTX 970 / 970M
Processor: i7 4770K / 6820HK
Mainboard: Asus Maximus VI Gene /MSI
Memory: 8GB Samsung /16GB DDR4
Soundcard: SupremeFX / MSI
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 12-14-2012, 21:47 | posts: 5,372 | Location: Everyday Rain Florida

I used to use Navigon (by Garmin) but lately I've just been using Google. All I have to say is GPS xxx xxx xxx or give me directions to 5 guys and it will automatically give me gps and I get real time traffic check and all that jazz, pretty accurate I must say.
Reply With Quote
Master Guru
nick0323's Avatar
Videocard: Palit GTX970 Jetstream OC
Processor: i5 2500k / 4.5GHz @1.275v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68 V-Pro Gen 3
Memory: Corsair Ven 4x4GB 1866MHz
Soundcard: Recon3D Fatal1ty Pro
PSU: Corsair CX750M
Default 12-15-2012, 00:17 | posts: 657 | Location: Old England

Navigon Europe has gone down £20 on the Windows Marketplace to £50. And for the latest update there is nothing but praise over what a fine app it is.

But £50 is a bump considering I only want UK maps, why can't they offer a UK version? Scrongle heads.
Reply With Quote
Ancient Guru
Videocard: video
Processor: cpu
PSU: psu
Default 12-15-2012, 09:35 | posts: 6,998

it even has traffic information, something that apple failed to add in their maps,
this is 1000 better than apple's maps
Reply With Quote
Ancient Guru
lucidus's Avatar
Videocard: 780
Processor: i7 6700K
Mainboard: Soon ...
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 32GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: EVGA 850w Supernova G2
Default 12-15-2012, 09:46 | posts: 8,153 | Location: Mumbai/Dubai

Not available in my country's app store :-/
Reply With Quote
Ancient Guru
Mr.Bigtime's Avatar
Videocard: Zotac GTX980 AMP! Extreme
Processor: I7 4770K @ 4.5 GHZ
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 PRO
Memory: 16GB DDR3 1600 MHZ
PSU: Aurum PRO 1200W
Default 12-15-2012, 10:00 | posts: 19,952 | Location: Turkey

not to my region.damn.
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by:
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.