Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Want to talk about anything Hardware related? This is the place, you can discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Is 350 watt case power supply enough for these components?
Old
  (#1)
blade203
Newbie
 
Videocard: ATI Radeon HD 4850 1 GB
Processor: Intel Core 2 DUO E6600
Mainboard: Fujitsu Siemens MS-7293VP
Memory: 4 GB DDR2 KINGSTON 800MHZ
Soundcard: SB Audigy, Cr.Inspire 5.1
PSU: Enermax 500 Watt
Question Is 350 watt case power supply enough for these components? - 12-11-2012, 21:57 | posts: 31

CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E6600

MBU: FUJITSU SIEMENS MS-7293VP

RAM: 2X2 GB DDR2 800 MHZ

2X SATA 250 GB, 1X 350 GB ATA 100, 1XLG DVD-RW

GFX: ATI Radeon HD 4850, 1 GB DDR3 overclocked

5 USB slots busy with: 1. Wireless Logitech Mouse 2. Wifi receiver NetGear 3. USB key 16GB 4. Ferrari GT Racing Wheel 5. Logitech G15 keyboard

There are onboard GFX,sound card,lan card, but all disabled.

Thanks for answer also i would be grateful if someone adviced me what i can upgrade or should and why PC works so far with 350 WATT just fine i think, but my question is, if some device might not be lacking its juice, or if i add something else, if it will work.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
BLEH!
Ancient Guru
 
BLEH!'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 2*7970 @ 1000/1500
Processor: 3930K @ 4.2 GHz, 1.26 V
Mainboard: Gigabyte X79S-UP5
Memory: 16GB@1866MHz@9-10-9-27
Soundcard: Saffire Pro40/KRK Rokit 5
PSU: Enermax Revo 1500W
Default 12-11-2012, 22:59 | posts: 4,133 | Location: Not Far North Enough (England)

Depends on the brand. If it's a nice reasonably made PSU, it might suffice, though personally I'd go for 400W for a bit of overhead. If it's a cheap piece of crap though...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
naike
Maha Guru
 
naike's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus EAH5870
Processor: Phenom II x4 965BE
Mainboard: Asus M4A89GTD Pro/USB3
Memory: 4GB OCZ
Soundcard: Asus Xonar ST & HD555's
PSU: Antec Quattro 850W
Default 12-11-2012, 23:02 | posts: 2,013

Go for 80+ bronze at least, single 12v rail is preferable, and a modular PSU is always nice (= you can remove/attach cables as you like).
I used this calculator online to estimate my requirements http://www.extreme.outervision.com/p...ulatorlite.jsp

TBH, I think it shoots over a little but that's better than having too little juice.

Last edited by naike; 12-11-2012 at 23:05.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
blade203
Newbie
 
Videocard: ATI Radeon HD 4850 1 GB
Processor: Intel Core 2 DUO E6600
Mainboard: Fujitsu Siemens MS-7293VP
Memory: 4 GB DDR2 KINGSTON 800MHZ
Soundcard: SB Audigy, Cr.Inspire 5.1
PSU: Enermax 500 Watt
Default 12-11-2012, 23:18 | posts: 31

Thinking of it, is it normal that mu CPU heats up to 66 Celsius 10 minutes after i start my PC? It doesnt go higher though, think Cooler keeps it that way automatically?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
naike
Maha Guru
 
naike's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus EAH5870
Processor: Phenom II x4 965BE
Mainboard: Asus M4A89GTD Pro/USB3
Memory: 4GB OCZ
Soundcard: Asus Xonar ST & HD555's
PSU: Antec Quattro 850W
Default 12-11-2012, 23:21 | posts: 2,013

When was the last time you reapplied thermal paste and cleaned your case/hardware?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
blade203
Newbie
 
Videocard: ATI Radeon HD 4850 1 GB
Processor: Intel Core 2 DUO E6600
Mainboard: Fujitsu Siemens MS-7293VP
Memory: 4 GB DDR2 KINGSTON 800MHZ
Soundcard: SB Audigy, Cr.Inspire 5.1
PSU: Enermax 500 Watt
Default 12-11-2012, 23:23 | posts: 31

Quote:
Originally Posted by naike View Post
When was the last time you reapplied thermal paste and cleaned your case/hardware?
Case/Cooler is clean, paste might be a bit old though, 8 months? But is that temperature normal?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
blade203
Newbie
 
Videocard: ATI Radeon HD 4850 1 GB
Processor: Intel Core 2 DUO E6600
Mainboard: Fujitsu Siemens MS-7293VP
Memory: 4 GB DDR2 KINGSTON 800MHZ
Soundcard: SB Audigy, Cr.Inspire 5.1
PSU: Enermax 500 Watt
Default 12-11-2012, 23:28 | posts: 31

Quote:
Originally Posted by BLEH! View Post
Depends on the brand. If it's a nice reasonably made PSU, it might suffice, though personally I'd go for 400W for a bit of overhead. If it's a cheap piece of crap though...
Oh and the brand of PSU is DELTA ELECTRONICS INC., if thats even a brand
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Faces Of Death
Maha Guru
 
Faces Of Death's Avatar
 
Videocard: Dual nVidia GTX680 4GB
Processor: Dual Xeon E5-2687W
Mainboard: Asus Z9PE-D8 WS
Memory: 128GB Samsung ECC/REG
Soundcard: Charlie Greens Special
PSU: Enermax Platimax 1500w
Default 12-12-2012, 10:38 | posts: 880 | Location: Derby, England

lol, sounds like a piece of junk PSU, invest in something better, or forever have the fire extinguisher at hand
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
DSparil
Ancient Guru
 
DSparil's Avatar
 
Videocard: HIS 7870 IceQ GHz 2GB
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.3 w/YASYA
Mainboard: ASUS M5A97
Memory: 8GB G.Skill 1866
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Xtreme
PSU: TT Toughpower XT 675
Default 12-13-2012, 20:19 | posts: 2,842 | Location: Tampa Bay, FL

Quote:
Originally Posted by blade203 View Post
Case/Cooler is clean, paste might be a bit old though, 8 months? But is that temperature normal?
That isn't old, and thermal paste should be fine for long beyond 8 months. 66 is a bit high for the CPU though. What are you using to check your temps with? Be sure to check it while idle and then during load. If its going above 66 on a regular basis, that is a problem. If thats the absolute max only during full load, you're ok.

As for the PSU, I'd find a good deal on a solid 400W unit. There are many out there, and a good 80+ certified one will save you $$ in the long run. I made the mistake of skimping on the PSU when I did my newer build and ended up having to buy another one not even a year later. Its not worth it, trust me Heres a great deal on a totally decent one and Antec makes a good PSU http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817371029. If you wanted to shell out a few more, you could get one thats even more efficient and Bronze, Silver or Gold certified.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
blade203
Newbie
 
Videocard: ATI Radeon HD 4850 1 GB
Processor: Intel Core 2 DUO E6600
Mainboard: Fujitsu Siemens MS-7293VP
Memory: 4 GB DDR2 KINGSTON 800MHZ
Soundcard: SB Audigy, Cr.Inspire 5.1
PSU: Enermax 500 Watt
Default 12-13-2012, 21:58 | posts: 31

Thanks for all advices, appreciated Ill probably buy a decent 400 Watt.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX660SC SLI
Processor: Core i7 2600K
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Creative Recon3D PCIe
PSU: SeaSonic M12II 620 Bronze
Default 12-14-2012, 00:02 | posts: 15,585 | Location: US East Coast

Delta is actually a decent PSU manufacturer. Not "top of the line"....but there are far worse you could buy.



Delta builds power supplies for desktops, servers, industrial equipment, networking equipment.... They are probably the oldest of the power supply companies (nearing 40 years in business).


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
blade203
Newbie
 
Videocard: ATI Radeon HD 4850 1 GB
Processor: Intel Core 2 DUO E6600
Mainboard: Fujitsu Siemens MS-7293VP
Memory: 4 GB DDR2 KINGSTON 800MHZ
Soundcard: SB Audigy, Cr.Inspire 5.1
PSU: Enermax 500 Watt
Default 12-14-2012, 07:12 | posts: 31

Well, now iam confused So is it sufficient or not lol.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
sverek
Maha Guru
 
sverek's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7850
Processor: i5 2500k
Mainboard: P8Z68-V
Memory: Corsair Ven. 8GB
Soundcard: Xonar DG
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 12-14-2012, 08:26 | posts: 1,410 | Location: Japan, Soka

go go PSU Calculator gadget!
http://www.extreme.outervision.com/p...ulatorlite.jsp

PSU wattage is like condoms, better have it than feel sorry later.

If you didn't have GPU, you would be fine. However 4850 consumes lots under load. So it difficult to tell.

Get good branded 500W and sleep in piece. TX corsair series 400W - 500W would do it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX660SC SLI
Processor: Core i7 2600K
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Creative Recon3D PCIe
PSU: SeaSonic M12II 620 Bronze
Default 12-14-2012, 11:46 | posts: 15,585 | Location: US East Coast

Quote:
Originally Posted by blade203 View Post
Well, now iam confused So is it sufficient or not lol.
No, it's not sufficient. You do need a larger PSU.


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
blade203
Newbie
 
Videocard: ATI Radeon HD 4850 1 GB
Processor: Intel Core 2 DUO E6600
Mainboard: Fujitsu Siemens MS-7293VP
Memory: 4 GB DDR2 KINGSTON 800MHZ
Soundcard: SB Audigy, Cr.Inspire 5.1
PSU: Enermax 500 Watt
Default 12-14-2012, 17:49 | posts: 31

Ok thanks again for all advices, appreciated
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.