Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Games, Gaming & Game-demos
Games, Gaming & Game-demos You can talk about the latest games here and more ..


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
far cry 3 game locks up at exact moment every time
Old
  (#1)
gsxrjunkie
Maha Guru
 
gsxrjunkie's Avatar
 
Videocard: BFG gts250oc
Processor: amd athlon 64 x2 6000+
Mainboard: ASUS CROSSHAIR AM2
Memory: 2GB Corsair XMS2800DDR2
Soundcard: x-fi xtreme gamer/creativ
PSU: ThermaltakeToughpower 650
Default far cry 3 game locks up at exact moment every time - 12-11-2012, 05:09 | posts: 943 | Location: california

in game after i activate the first radio tower slide down the line im suppose to open a map/at this point every time i play the game it freezes,my computer doesnt freeze,just the game.is there something i can do?thanks
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
kanej2007
Ancient Guru
 
kanej2007's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 580 SLI 900/1800/4200
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z68-VPro
Memory: 12Gb Corsair Vengeance C8
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X Ultra 7.1
PSU: Fractal Design R2 1000W
Default 12-11-2012, 05:28 | posts: 6,353 | Location: Dubai, UAE / London, UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by gsxrjunkie View Post
in game after i activate the first radio tower slide down the line im suppose to open a map/at this point every time i play the game it freezes,my computer doesnt freeze,just the game.is there something i can do?thanks
Maybe bad/unstable overclock? Try updating your Nvidia drivers & update Far Cry 3. This should not only stop freezing/crashing but should also give you better performance.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
gsxrjunkie
Maha Guru
 
gsxrjunkie's Avatar
 
Videocard: BFG gts250oc
Processor: amd athlon 64 x2 6000+
Mainboard: ASUS CROSSHAIR AM2
Memory: 2GB Corsair XMS2800DDR2
Soundcard: x-fi xtreme gamer/creativ
PSU: ThermaltakeToughpower 650
Default 12-11-2012, 05:40 | posts: 943 | Location: california

Quote:
Originally Posted by kanej2007 View Post
Maybe bad/unstable overclock? Try updating your Nvidia drivers & update Far Cry 3. This should not only stop freezing/crashing but should also give you better performance.
i dont have anything overclocked and have the latest drivers
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
INSTG8R
Maha Guru
 
INSTG8R's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7970 OC Edition
Processor: i7 2600K@4.6/AC Kryos H20
Mainboard: ASUS P67 Sabertooth
Memory: 8GB Corsair Vengence 1600
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatality Champion
PSU: Seasonic X-1050 80+ Gold
Default 12-11-2012, 05:44 | posts: 1,196 | Location: Lost in Norway

Usually when you unlock a tower it switches to a "Flyover" sequence highlighting important things in the area you have just opened up. Does that happen or is it after that? I don't remember if it does that Flyover on the first tower or not tho.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
kanej2007
Ancient Guru
 
kanej2007's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 580 SLI 900/1800/4200
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z68-VPro
Memory: 12Gb Corsair Vengeance C8
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X Ultra 7.1
PSU: Fractal Design R2 1000W
Default 12-11-2012, 06:50 | posts: 6,353 | Location: Dubai, UAE / London, UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by gsxrjunkie View Post
i dont have anything overclocked and have the latest drivers
You MAY have the latest drivers but do you have the LATEST update for Far Cry 3???

Start by updating the game and trying again, hopefully it won't freeze.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Ice Cube
Banned
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 670
Processor: 2700K@4.5GHz/ Corsair H70
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V
Memory: Gskill RipJaws 8GB-1600
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Seasonic 850W(80+Gold)
Default 12-11-2012, 07:08 | posts: 191 | Location: Refrigerator

Are you using a genuine copy of Fay Cry?
Have you replaced the executable with a no-disc version or something like that?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
KingpinZero
Maha Guru
 
KingpinZero's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabite GTX680 2GB SLI
Processor: i7-3770k @4.6/Hyper 212+E
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 extreme 3
Memory: G.Skill ARES 1600mhz 8gb
Soundcard: Realtek Crystal HD
PSU: CX750W 80+
Default 12-11-2012, 07:37 | posts: 847 | Location: Rome

What settings are you using? If your specs are correct try to run the game at the lowest details possible with 1280x720 resolution.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
SLI-756
Ancient Guru
 
SLI-756's Avatar
 
Videocard: hd4000
Processor: 3570k @4.8
Mainboard: gigabyte z77x up4
Memory: dominator gt @2400mhz
Soundcard: asus xonar dx
PSU: xfx 850
Default 12-11-2012, 07:48 | posts: 5,710 | Location: Sunny Scotland

Quote:
Originally Posted by gsxrjunkie View Post
i dont have anything overclocked and have the latest drivers
All the same try giving your cpu more juice, i had exact same problem today while rendering a vid in windows movie maker, it would get to around 50% completion then crash, -gave cpu more juice problem solved.(admittedly i've been testing a higher OC the last couple days).the same happens often when testing a cpu OC on CineBench, more often than not if OC fails it needs more juice.
Far Cry3 could probably have two of your cpus for breakfast i'd imagine.
   
Reply With Quote
Fixed
Old
  (#9)
Buddy
Newbie
 
Videocard: SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 7850
Processor: Intel i5-3550 Ivy Bridge
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 700W
Default Fixed - 12-16-2012, 19:44 | posts: 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by gsxrjunkie View Post
in game after i activate the first radio tower slide down the line im suppose to open a map/at this point every time i play the game it freezes,my computer doesnt freeze,just the game.is there something i can do?thanks
I had the same problem. The "M" key it tells you to hit in not correct. I hit each key till I found the Q key got the game moving.

I hope this helps.

I love being a Beta Tester

Last edited by Buddy; 12-16-2012 at 19:50.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.